Cavan Gaels v Slaughtneil

Replying To gotmilk:  "
Replying To keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "Any fear Cavan Gaels may get sidetracked in the meantime by their hurling/dual commitments? Oh, wait...oops!

keeper7 (Longford) - 23/11/2017 01:40:52 20

Get over it you fool"
Get over what? Just a bit of banter although I do think it's poor form all the efforts put into Cavan hurling & yet Cavan Gaels (in Cavan town) make no effort."
Keeper you constantly belittle anyone who doesn't hold hurling in the same regard you do. There are numerous clubs around the country that concentrate solely on one code, both hurling and football. Why should Cavan Gaels have a hurling side?"]How come a small rural area be so successful as a dual club while a club covering a large urban area can only concentrate on one? Especially after all the money & effort that's gone into Cavan Hurling Development! Why should they? Because they're a big GAA club so why shouldn't they?"]There is an interest for it in Slaughneil, no interest in Cavan gaels. Perhaps that's why? Why don't Longford have a rounders team? Why doesn't your club have a rounders team?"]Go away with your rounders. Slaughtneil didn't have a tradition of hurling but somehow managed to create one. My point is that every major urban area in the country has at least one big GAA club. There should be plenty room to cater for & promote an appetite for hurling in all such areas. If the likes of Castlerahan can make an effort so can Cavan Gaels. Loads of hurling initiatives happening over the last number of years in Breffni 3G, only around the corner from them."]Love this. So hurling should be compulsory in Cavan Gaels but another sport of the GAA in rounders is considered to be irrelevant. I love the game of hurling, I played it myself when I was younger and would love to see it stronger in Cavan and other areas but if there is no demand you can't force people to participate in it. The people of Cavan gaels are interested in football, not hurling. The people of Slaughtneil are interested in both. Now please quit with the snide remarks about cavan gaels not having a hurling side and discuss the upcoming ulster final.

For me I can only see one winner. Cavan gaels scored three goals on Sunday that came from shots dropping short. Can't see them having the same luck on Sunday. Slaughtneil are to strong and have been around the block enough to deal with this. Slaughtneil by 4."]A large GAA town with no demand for hurling? How do you think 'demand' is fabricated in similar county towns like Carrick-on-Shannon, Longford & Roscommon? They're even trying again in Enniskillen!!"]Lisbellaw is the only hurling club in Fermanagh. Lisnaskea were about but as far as i'm aware they are no longer taking part. The knocks had one a few years ago and it's no longer in existence. Just for the record there is a big difference between trying and there actually being an interest in it. Why did I never see you criticise Portumna for their lack of a football team?

Could you please get back to the ulster final and not the lack of hurling in Cavan Gaels."]There's about 6 underage hurling clubs in Fermanagh up to U14 level now. You not even aware of that??? Portumna hasn't a fraction of the population that Cavan Gaels have at their disposal so not a very good comparison.

Up Slaughtneil!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/11/2017 10:22:33    2063427

Replying To gotmilk:  "
Replying To keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "Any fear Cavan Gaels may get sidetracked in the meantime by their hurling/dual commitments? Oh, wait...oops!

Get over it you fool"
Get over what? Just a bit of banter although I do think it's poor form all the efforts put into Cavan hurling & yet Cavan Gaels (in Cavan town) make no effort."
Keeper you constantly belittle anyone who doesn't hold hurling in the same regard you do. There are numerous clubs around the country that concentrate solely on one code, both hurling and football. Why should Cavan Gaels have a hurling side?"]How come a small rural area be so successful as a dual club while a club covering a large urban area can only concentrate on one? Especially after all the money & effort that's gone into Cavan Hurling Development! Why should they? Because they're a big GAA club so why shouldn't they?"]There is an interest for it in Slaughneil, no interest in Cavan gaels. Perhaps that's why? Why don't Longford have a rounders team? Why doesn't your club have a rounders team?"]Go away with your rounders. Slaughtneil didn't have a tradition of hurling but somehow managed to create one. My point is that every major urban area in the country has at least one big GAA club. There should be plenty room to cater for & promote an appetite for hurling in all such areas. If the likes of Castlerahan can make an effort so can Cavan Gaels. Loads of hurling initiatives happening over the last number of years in Breffni 3G, only around the corner from them."]Love this. So hurling should be compulsory in Cavan Gaels but another sport of the GAA in rounders is considered to be irrelevant. I love the game of hurling, I played it myself when I was younger and would love to see it stronger in Cavan and other areas but if there is no demand you can't force people to participate in it. The people of Cavan gaels are interested in football, not hurling. The people of Slaughtneil are interested in both. Now please quit with the snide remarks about cavan gaels not having a hurling side and discuss the upcoming ulster final.

For me I can only see one winner. Cavan gaels scored three goals on Sunday that came from shots dropping short. Can't see them having the same luck on Sunday. Slaughtneil are to strong and have been around the block enough to deal with this. Slaughtneil by 4."]A large GAA town with no demand for hurling? How do you think 'demand' is fabricated in similar county towns like Carrick-on-Shannon, Longford & Roscommon? They're even trying again in Enniskillen!!"]Lisbellaw is the only hurling club in Fermanagh. Lisnaskea were about but as far as i'm aware they are no longer taking part. The knocks had one a few years ago and it's no longer in existence. Just for the record there is a big difference between trying and there actually being an interest in it. Why did I never see you criticise Portumna for their lack of a football team?

Could you please get back to the ulster final and not the lack of hurling in Cavan Gaels."]Give it a rest keeper. We all know hurling is a waste of time and money in counties like Cavan and Longford. Pumping money into a team of out of shape lads that can't get playing with their club football teams.

pass_it (Longford) - Posts: 59 - 24/11/2017 11:22:09    2063434

Replying To pass_it:  "
Replying To gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "[quote=keeper7:  "[quote=gotmilk:  "Any fear Cavan Gaels may get sidetracked in the meantime by their hurling/dual commitments? Oh, wait...oops!

Get over it you fool"

Could you please get back to the ulster final and not the lack of hurling in Cavan Gaels."]Give it a rest keeper. We all know hurling is a waste of time and money in counties like Cavan and Longford. Pumping money into a team of out of shape lads that can't get playing with their club football teams."]And pumping resources into football in Longford is value for money. Regardless how much is spent on them our County seniors still wouldn't kick it out to the Dubs. It is incumbent on GAA & all the County Boards to promote Gaelic Games not just football. It's easy to say there's no demand when hurling in Longford, Cavan or Fermanagh has never been properly promoted. Slaughtneil have proved that you can promote hurling in a GFC without it being in any way to the detriment of football.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/11/2017 11:42:20    2063436

Feeling pretty righteous and snobby today so I might head over to troll the NaP v Ballygunner thread about how Ballygunner are hurling only.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 24/11/2017 12:25:35    2063439

Replying To Breffni39:  "Feeling pretty righteous and snobby today so I might head over to troll the NaP v Ballygunner thread about how Ballygunner are hurling only."
Don't you know that's allowed Breff?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 24/11/2017 13:01:54    2063442

Actually Ballygunner have an associated Gaelic football club beside them so you'd look pretty foolish doing so.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/11/2017 13:09:18    2063444

In football's defense it's a much easier sell in hurling counties. The infrastructures and traditions are already there even in the hurling strongholds and any aspiring footballer will have meaningful competition readily available. The same cannot be said for hurling in the football strongholds. Any serious athlete will have very little competition available to him hurling wise so football is where it's at. Hurling's a good cross sport for young lads but football is where the glory and role models lie so follow through is difficult. It's good to see hurling people trying to revive it but you can hardly blame footballing folk if they want to dedicate their time to their sport.
Back to the topic, I think Gaels will be closer than people think. A fully fit Lyng will be a major boost and will add a bit of creativity to what is a very hard working and balanced team. Slaughtneil missing a few regulars which may impact them and while they were fantastic against Kilcar they may never play as well again. I think 4:1 is very good value. Is Murphy available for Gaels?

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 24/11/2017 13:50:53    2063449

Replying To keeper7:  "Actually Ballygunner have an associated Gaelic football club beside them so you'd look pretty foolish doing so."
Isn't Mullahoran only a few mile from Cavan town? Surely that should have the Cavan Gaels boys in the clear using your logic.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 24/11/2017 14:43:54    2063453

Replying To gotmilk:  "Isn't Mullahoran only a few mile from Cavan town? Surely that should have the Cavan Gaels boys in the clear using your logic."
It's 10 or 12 mile. They are neighbour clubs.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 24/11/2017 16:49:50    2063462

Replying To gotmilk:  "Isn't Mullahoran only a few mile from Cavan town? Surely that should have the Cavan Gaels boys in the clear using your logic."
More than few miles from Mullahoran to Cavan town!!! Geography clearly not your strong point.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/11/2017 17:09:27    2063464

Replying To keeper7:  "More than few miles from Mullahoran to Cavan town!!! Geography clearly not your strong point."
Keeper7 you should go for a walk sometime .
As another poster said 10/12 miles from Cavan Town your in mullahoran.
Whatever that has to do with Cavan Gaels v Slaughneil il never know.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 24/11/2017 18:16:51    2063471

Replying To FoolsGold:  "It's 10 or 12 mile. They are neighbour clubs."
They are not neighbouring clubs. It's almost 14 miles & you will pass by the Lacken & Ballinagh club pitches before getting from one to the other.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/11/2017 18:21:20    2063472

Yes I'm aware of that. It was a typo. I meant to say they aren't neighbour clubs .

Anyways some waffling on this thread.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 24/11/2017 18:47:23    2063474

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Keeper7 you should go for a walk sometime .
As another poster said 10/12 miles from Cavan Town your in mullahoran.
Whatever that has to do with Cavan Gaels v Slaughneil il never know."
Who is gonna go from Cavan town nearly 14 miles out the road to hurl for Mullahoran? My point is Cavan hurling will never progress until it's accommodated in the largest urban centre in the county. Cavan Gaels are best placed to provide this as they're the main town team & they had hurling in the club in the past. I realise this discussion has gone well off topic but hey...!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/11/2017 22:40:09    2063500

Replying To keeper7:  "Who is gonna go from Cavan town nearly 14 miles out the road to hurl for Mullahoran? My point is Cavan hurling will never progress until it's accommodated in the largest urban centre in the county. Cavan Gaels are best placed to provide this as they're the main town team & they had hurling in the club in the past. I realise this discussion has gone well off topic but hey...!"
Do Longford Slashers have a hurling team in Longford?
And if so who beat them in the Leinster Club Championship this year?
Look your Longford football manager LC even went to College in Cavan and played for St Pats, people can argue how does something like that improve Longford football.
If Cavan Gaels don't want to play hurling is down to them .
Any club in Longford who can't play football just get a Cavan Manager in and you will see improvement!!

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 25/11/2017 06:12:33    2063507

jaysus boys yous are talking some rubbish

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 25/11/2017 12:33:39    2063519

Replying To sammaguire1:  "jaysus boys yous are talking some rubbish"
Jesus christ can people learn to quote properly, this thread is unreadable, massive blocks of the same text repeated over and over.

Steve (Fermanagh) - Posts: 293 - 25/11/2017 13:10:03    2063522

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Do Longford Slashers have a hurling team in Longford?
And if so who beat them in the Leinster Club Championship this year?
Look your Longford football manager LC even went to College in Cavan and played for St Pats, people can argue how does something like that improve Longford football.
If Cavan Gaels don't want to play hurling is down to them .
Any club in Longford who can't play football just get a Cavan Manager in and you will see improvement!!"
Yes Slashers have a hurling team. Lost by a point to Wolfe Tones in a terrific county final here. What Longford manager LC went to school in St. Pat's? St. Mel's College in Longford has a better name for football than Pat's any day! Admittedly, Mickey Graham has done really well with Mullinalaghta so fair play to him.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/11/2017 18:33:21    2063540

Replying To keeper7:  "Longford have beaten bigger sides than Cavan have in recent years...& we've only half the population you have."
You lads are still selling DVD's of the time ye beat Kerry in 2004!!!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 01/12/2017 08:29:00    2064179

Replying To Reformation:  "You lads are still selling DVD's of the time ye beat Kerry in 2004!!!"
is there a DVD of the first round of the championship that year?

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 01/12/2017 13:03:38    2064217