Meath 2018

See Jim Gavins comments re April club month. He says his players are re invigorated after spending a month with their clubs. I can understand that fully.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0503/960094-the-door-will-always-be-open-for-diarmuid-connolly/

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 04/05/2018 10:29:11    2096590

Lads....Paddy O'Rourke 2-5 scored last night. Think Andy made a mistake letting this chap walk. His scoring has been unreal with Skryne lately.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 04/05/2018 10:55:07    2096595

Replying To Furlong1949:  "If McEntee leaves this year or next that would mean we would have had 7 managers in 14 years. In the same time period Dublin had 3 managers . 7 managers in 14 years, yet we only spent 1 year in division 1 in that period. 7 managers in 14 years and this decade is our worst decade since the 1920s and not 1 defeat of top division 1 team in the championship since Dublin 2010.

Keep changing the manager hasnt led to sucess. The only way a traditional county in the doldrums has had sucess before was with a quality manager giving 4 or 5 years eg Boylan, Dywer, McGee, Walsh, Gilroy, Jimmy Barry Murphy, Nicholas English. Changing the managers is one of the reasons why Derry and laois r in div 4 . laois had McNulty for 3 years and reached a q final . Laois were not happy. He left and what happened next. Lally the current coach of Galway was Derry coach in 2014 when they reached league final. He left. Derry drop division after division , while Galway are the standout team in divsion 1 this year under Lally. Keep changing manager a couple of times and you start dropping divisions. We had 5 managers in 7 years and we ended in division 3 heading to div 4 in 2013. We cannot keep doing the same thing. We are just halting the development of another generation of Meath players . Criticise the management all u want. Nothing wrong with that. The management have made many mistakes. Criticism is normal and people are right to criticise. But calling for the managers head, chopping and changing the manager is a recipe for disaster if you look at past experiences."
Well said Furlong

MeathWawa (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 04/05/2018 11:08:13    2096597

Replying To MillerX:  "Brian, even in Eamonn O'Brien's time the players disappointed. That quarter final v Kildare in 2010 was as anaemic an effort as I have ever seen from a Meath team. For God sake the county stood behind them after the Leinster Final, including it must be said Barney Allen (who got flack from all quarters) and his County Board officers and the reward was as inept an effort as we are likely to see from a county team.

Matters have not changed since, despite three other managers, with matters coming to a head on that record losing day against Westmeath. To my mind action should have been taken there and then and stand the whole lot down. A shadow team may have been beaten out the gate by Tyrone in the ensuing qualifier but a very strong point would have been made. They were flying early in the game and sat or lay down or were simply not prepared (all cardinal sins in my opinion) but ended up out on their feet.

Mind you what was most frustrating was that they gave Tyrone plenty to think about in that qualifier. Changing managers is a waste of time, the old ruthlessness is gone and I am at a complete loss as to how we will get it back. All approaches have been taken, Banty, with a methodical no nonsense approach failed. On hindsight, at least we stood up to Dublin in a Leinster Final. Mick O'Dowd's softly, softly method failed and what is I presume to be a direct in your face, questioning your manhood type approach by Andy McEntee is now too hard on some gentle egos.

For Gods sake will ALL players who are deemed good enough to be called in to represent your county grow a pair."
Excellent post

MeathWawa (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 04/05/2018 11:09:32    2096598

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Lads....Paddy O'Rourke 2-5 scored last night. Think Andy made a mistake letting this chap walk. His scoring has been unreal with Skryne lately."
how could you stop him from walking? did you read his article? the man did not want to commit for another year so don't know how you can say andy let him walk. and anyway scoring 2-5 in a club league game is different from intercounty now in fairness.

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 04/05/2018 11:10:24    2096599

Replying To srgt_slaughter:  "how could you stop him from walking? did you read his article? the man did not want to commit for another year so don't know how you can say andy let him walk. and anyway scoring 2-5 in a club league game is different from intercounty now in fairness."
Paddy approached Andy and asked could he play out field...& Andy said no. This is fact. Few more issues involved aswell but at end of day he asked long before he decided to leave. It may be different playing club but at the end of the day the lad is out there playing out of his skin and getting the big scores. All im saying is if we had him playing out field he would 100% make a difference and if you saw him playing with Club yourself you would realise what a waste that we dont have have him. My opinion, not many agree but there ya go.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 04/05/2018 11:23:17    2096605

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Paddy approached Andy and asked could he play out field...& Andy said no. This is fact. Few more issues involved aswell but at end of day he asked long before he decided to leave. It may be different playing club but at the end of the day the lad is out there playing out of his skin and getting the big scores. All im saying is if we had him playing out field he would 100% make a difference and if you saw him playing with Club yourself you would realise what a waste that we dont have have him. My opinion, not many agree but there ya go."
ive seen him play for skryne on a number of occasions seen him against curraha in navan and wasnt great, read the match report . yes he scored 2-5 5 from frees so needs to be looked at with some perspective. Also he has played outfield for meath before and was a disaster by all accounts and im sure he'll agree. if he was scoring 2-5 from play on a regular basis then there's a case

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 04/05/2018 11:58:48    2096614

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Paddy approached Andy and asked could he play out field...& Andy said no. This is fact. Few more issues involved aswell but at end of day he asked long before he decided to leave. It may be different playing club but at the end of the day the lad is out there playing out of his skin and getting the big scores. All im saying is if we had him playing out field he would 100% make a difference and if you saw him playing with Club yourself you would realise what a waste that we dont have have him. My opinion, not many agree but there ya go."
Paddy a great lad for his club and playing well but playing intercounty a different story in my opinion for him . Might not have the pace now. But a huge loss is Rooney a player of great potential and youth on his side

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 04/05/2018 12:16:29    2096617

Replying To srgt_slaughter:  "ive seen him play for skryne on a number of occasions seen him against curraha in navan and wasnt great, read the match report . yes he scored 2-5 5 from frees so needs to be looked at with some perspective. Also he has played outfield for meath before and was a disaster by all accounts and im sure he'll agree. if he was scoring 2-5 from play on a regular basis then there's a case"
Yeah see im thinking hes playing out of his skin because he is trying to prove a point. Because as of late he has never played as good give or take 1 or 2 games, maybe im wrong....

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 04/05/2018 12:21:11    2096621

Completely different playing club league games marking club corner/full backs. He hasnt produced at all in this or any of the last few years in the club championship when marking a better quality player.

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 04/05/2018 12:23:23    2096622

Give up will Ye , he scored 1 good goal and another handy one . Kicked 5 frees and did nothing from play . The only time he touched the ball in second half was either a free or else he drove it wide and then was taken off ( management giving lads a run)

He 100% did not ask Andy to play outfield for meath either he left for his own reasons just don't believe what's been put up here cos it's all the paddy o Rourke fan club . Brilliant player for Skryne and he's the reason there doing so well ......in the league .

RoadRage (Meath) - Posts: 52 - 04/05/2018 14:33:08    2096654

Replying To RoadRage:  "Give up will Ye , he scored 1 good goal and another handy one . Kicked 5 frees and did nothing from play . The only time he touched the ball in second half was either a free or else he drove it wide and then was taken off ( management giving lads a run)

He 100% did not ask Andy to play outfield for meath either he left for his own reasons just don't believe what's been put up here cos it's all the paddy o Rourke fan club . Brilliant player for Skryne and he's the reason there doing so well ......in the league ."
He 100% did ask Andy...this my friend is a fact. Not arguing about it, info came from inside camp believe it or believe it not i dont really care tbh. I for one am not in the Paddy O'Rourke club voiced my opinion on him is all. You cant open your mouth on this forum lately without getting shot down, dont know why i bother.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 04/05/2018 14:51:36    2096661

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Some were saying that players leaving the panel is unprecedented. The stats prove it is a nationwide problem. Derry had 19 non returnees this year and the same number in 2017 and 2016. While smaller counties like Longford have 12, Leitrim 13, Sligo 13 and Wexford have 17 non returnees this year. That is a serious turnover for counties with smaller playing numbers. A county like Cork with 18 which is still a massive number would have the biggest football playing numbers outside, Dublin would be able to deal with it better..But still it is a masive problem for Cork. Anyway that is a side issue.

Some people are now saying our players have left since the league a few weeks before championship. This is unusual and unprecedented.Again this is not unusual and unprecedented. I cannot get my hands on exact numbers but here is some of the examples of players leaving hurling and football panels this year in 2018 after the league in recent weeks.

1 Yesterday Kieran Barret one of Waterfords best young hurlers left the Waterford senior hurling panel. His brother David Bennet had left the hurling panel earlier in the year.

2 Peter Kelly left the Dublin senior hurling panel last weekend.

3 Jack Guiney left the Wexford senior hurling panel 1 week ago.

4 Brendan Murphy left Carlow football panel 8 days ago.

5 Liam Silke left the Galway senior football panel last week and Cillian McDaid left Galway senior panel since the league ended. Two of Galways best young defenders.

6 Ben McCormack and Eoin Powderly left kildare senior football panel in April after the league this year. Ben McCormack is one of kildares best forwards.

7 Michael Carroll, Eoin McHugh and Peter Boyle have left the Donegal senior football panel recently.

8 Bonny Duggan, Gearoid O Connell and T O Connell have left Clare senior hurling panel recently.

9 Padraig Rath, Padraig Kelly , Conall McKeever and James Stewart have left the louth senior football recently ( I dont know if that was at the end of the league or after league ended. Ollie would be able to clarify that. )

While I have heard players have left Roscommon Laois footballers and hurlers and Derry and Wexford footballers since the league ended.

That is just a sample of some of players who have left since the league ended."
Furlong who is Padraig Kelly with Louth? I never heard of him. There are something like eight players that played under Colin Kelly last year that are not playing with Louth this year for one reason or nothing. By the way as an outside keep up the good work. I love reading your posts. As Royaldunne stated if people don't like them they don't have to read them.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 04/05/2018 16:11:17    2096684

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "He 100% did ask Andy...this my friend is a fact. Not arguing about it, info came from inside camp believe it or believe it not i dont really care tbh. I for one am not in the Paddy O'Rourke club voiced my opinion on him is all. You cant open your mouth on this forum lately without getting shot down, dont know why i bother."
I don't know if its true if he asked or not but Ive said it a number of times here, O'Rourke would be a serious addition out the field for Meath. He's a freak of an athlete with a savage strike of a ball. You can pass the ball sideways all you like but a sending diagonal ball into the likes of O'Rourke with a McKeever, a Newman or a Lenihan off him would be as good a variation tactic as any that we would have.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 04/05/2018 16:38:54    2096690

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "He 100% did ask Andy...this my friend is a fact. Not arguing about it, info came from inside camp believe it or believe it not i dont really care tbh. I for one am not in the Paddy O'Rourke club voiced my opinion on him is all. You cant open your mouth on this forum lately without getting shot down, dont know why i bother."
Hes aloud to argue with you..if you think paddy should be playing outfield then you didn't see him there in 2011 where paddy himself said it didn't work!! A disaster in fact..this argument is silly he's gone and that's it ! If he approached Andy about outfield then the correct decision was to shut it down straight away! Leave him kicking frees in club league games

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 04/05/2018 19:08:45    2096711

Replying To OLLIE:  "Furlong who is Padraig Kelly with Louth? I never heard of him. There are something like eight players that played under Colin Kelly last year that are not playing with Louth this year for one reason or nothing. By the way as an outside keep up the good work. I love reading your posts. As Royaldunne stated if people don't like them they don't have to read them."
Well said Ollie, I like nothing more than after a hard day at the office. Than logging in and seen a post by furlong. Always intriguing, and a enjoyable read. I might not always agree with the point been made, but by jasus he puts it across so well, you can't disagree with it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/05/2018 19:45:16    2096715

Replying To Crinigan:  "I don't know if its true if he asked or not but Ive said it a number of times here, O'Rourke would be a serious addition out the field for Meath. He's a freak of an athlete with a savage strike of a ball. You can pass the ball sideways all you like but a sending diagonal ball into the likes of O'Rourke with a McKeever, a Newman or a Lenihan off him would be as good a variation tactic as any that we would have."
He has been tried and was a disaster, and that was in his prime. What the hell use would he be now. ? Anyway with his attitude I wouldn't let him within a assess roar of any of the players if I was managing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/05/2018 19:47:40    2096716

Replying To Crinigan:  "I don't know if its true if he asked or not but Ive said it a number of times here, O'Rourke would be a serious addition out the field for Meath. He's a freak of an athlete with a savage strike of a ball. You can pass the ball sideways all you like but a sending diagonal ball into the likes of O'Rourke with a McKeever, a Newman or a Lenihan off him would be as good a variation tactic as any that we would have."
I have a distant memory of Paddy O'Rourke playing at full forward for Meath, the experiment did not work, so forget it!!!!!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 04/05/2018 20:08:57    2096719

Replying To royaldunne:  "He has been tried and was a disaster, and that was in his prime. What the hell use would he be now. ? Anyway with his attitude I wouldn't let him within a assess roar of any of the players if I was managing."
Completely agree

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 04/05/2018 20:50:55    2096723

All I have to say to all that is...........up Longford!!!!!..........if any of ur know colm Coyle, we ye tell him ring baz in Longford........need to organise stout in Longford with him that weekend!!!!... Lost his personal mobile no......this is a serious post BTW....tks lads....and ladies??!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 04/05/2018 21:31:45    2096731