Meath 2018

I would be love to see Meath have a strong league campaign in 2018 equalling last years 4 wins and even a push for promotion to division one. Reaching a Leinster final may be out of our reach this year facing Dublin in a semi final (all going to plan against Longford) but i think the supporters in this county needs to see a spiritual meath performance and if we shake the dubs it should give us a big boost going into the qualifiers like the game in Parnell Park against Louth gave us going into that highly anticipated game against Kildare in 2017. Unfortunately with the loss of players for different reasons it'll be difficult but I'm hopeful we can improve under McEntee once again this year.

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 05/01/2018 05:00:21    2066878

I would be love to see Meath have a strong league campaign in 2018 equalling last years 4 wins and even a push for promotion to division one. Reaching a Leinster final may be out of our reach this year facing Dublin in a semi final (all going to plan against Longford) but i think the supporters in this county needs to see a spiritual meath performance and if we shake the dubs it should give us a big boost going into the qualifiers like the game in Parnell Park against Louth gave us going into that highly anticipated game against Kildare in 2017. Unfortunately with the loss of players for different reasons it'll be difficult but I'm hopeful we can improve under McEntee once again this year.

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 05/01/2018 05:00:40    2066879

Replying To NuttyMeathMan:  "I would be love to see Meath have a strong league campaign in 2018 equalling last years 4 wins and even a push for promotion to division one. Reaching a Leinster final may be out of our reach this year facing Dublin in a semi final (all going to plan against Longford) but i think the supporters in this county needs to see a spiritual meath performance and if we shake the dubs it should give us a big boost going into the qualifiers like the game in Parnell Park against Louth gave us going into that highly anticipated game against Kildare in 2017. Unfortunately with the loss of players for different reasons it'll be difficult but I'm hopeful we can improve under McEntee once again this year."
Sure look the hope for improvement is what keeps us going as supporters NuttyMeathMan and we're as entitled to dream as anyone else.

We've finished 3rd in div2 in 3 of the last 4 seasons so it's not unreasonable for us to set our target at least 1 step higher. Now I know circumstances change, we lose players through injury and travel etc but that's the same for all teams, we have to just try and minimize those loses if possible.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/01/2018 09:27:47    2066885

We should be aiming to be one of the top 10 in the country (which obviously means getting promotion) i dont think that is unrealistic,, barring the top 3 or 4 there is not much difference between the chasing pack, and all squads seem to be losing similar numbers of players

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 05/01/2018 12:16:34    2066930

It was not rationale to think Andy would be a huge success in his first year. In the first year a manager needs time to get to know the players. Vast majority of managers are unsuccessful in their first season. Their is the odd example of success . Usually its in Ulster where you have had best players, best managers and best tactics in the last 25 years( McGuinness and Harte). Overall the first year is not successful. Examples below

1 Cian O Neill . first year very poor with kildare. Yes promotion from div 3. But kildare should not have being in div 3. Bad loses to Clare and Westmeath in Croker. Many kildare suppportes at the end of his first season where saying kildare are at their lowest since before Micko. O Neill has a more successful second season with promotion to div 1.
2 Kevin Walsh had a very poor first season with Galway. And a poor second season. It was not til his third season in charge he got promotion to div 1
3 Kevin Mcstay first season was overall poor in Rossies. Yes kept Rossies in div 1. But poor championship. And could have lost his job after first season. Second season success with Connacht title
4 Donal Kingston had a very poor first season with Cork. In his second season he won Muster hurling title
5 Micheal Donoghue had a poor first season at Galway hurlers. Again successful second season
6 Pat Gilroy had two very poor first seasons with Dublin . Remeber the record defeats to kerry in 09 and to Meath in 2010. It was not till his third season he turned things around and won Sam in 2011.
7 Jimmy Barry Murphy had a very poor first season in charge of Cork . In his second season led Cork to Hurling final in 2014. JBM also had two or three poor seasons in charge in the 90s in his first spell in charge . With bad loses to Clare. it was not till 1999 he turned things around
8 Nicky English had two poor seasons in charge of Tipp hurlers in 90s. Also bad loses to Clare. He turned around in 2001 with All Ireland victory.
9 Mick Dywer had a good league in his debut season with kildare. He had a very poor season in the championship with a lose to louth. It took Dwyer his second spell and in his 5th season to make breakthrough with leinster win in 1998

And finally two men who had to face just as strong a Dublin as Andy has to
10 Sean Boylan took 4 years to win leinster. After his third year and been hammered by laois in 1985. Most Meath supporters wanted him gone, Only the players convinced him to stay. The rest is history.
11 Eugene McGee took over Offaly in 1976. He had two very poor first and second seasons. Most Offaly wanted him gone. He made some progress in his third season. But made real progress and success in his fourth winning leinster , Reached final in 5th season. And won All Ireland in his 6th season.

Its obvious it takes time to build a team. In the first year managers are getting to know players. It takes a second season and sometimes a third season for progress to made. Andy faces the same challenges McGee faced in 1976 and Boylan in 1983, facing such a strong Dublin. I believe it is going to take time. We need patience. I believe this season could be up and down. We might not see progress. But in the third season I can see progress and in the fourth and fifth season success. We have one of the youngest teams in the country. The average age is 23 , 24. Our players will not peak for another 2 or 3 years. Most players peak around 26 27 28. The odd great one like Trevour Giles are great players at 21 . But most take time. So we need patience. I believe Andy is the right man for the job. But there is no quick fix. It is going to take. Years to build us up again.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 10/01/2018 23:27:53    2067738

Replying To Furlong1949:  "It was not rationale to think Andy would be a huge success in his first year. In the first year a manager needs time to get to know the players. Vast majority of managers are unsuccessful in their first season. Their is the odd example of success . Usually its in Ulster where you have had best players, best managers and best tactics in the last 25 years( McGuinness and Harte). Overall the first year is not successful. Examples below

1 Cian O Neill . first year very poor with kildare. Yes promotion from div 3. But kildare should not have being in div 3. Bad loses to Clare and Westmeath in Croker. Many kildare suppportes at the end of his first season where saying kildare are at their lowest since before Micko. O Neill has a more successful second season with promotion to div 1.
2 Kevin Walsh had a very poor first season with Galway. And a poor second season. It was not til his third season in charge he got promotion to div 1
3 Kevin Mcstay first season was overall poor in Rossies. Yes kept Rossies in div 1. But poor championship. And could have lost his job after first season. Second season success with Connacht title
4 Donal Kingston had a very poor first season with Cork. In his second season he won Muster hurling title
5 Micheal Donoghue had a poor first season at Galway hurlers. Again successful second season
6 Pat Gilroy had two very poor first seasons with Dublin . Remeber the record defeats to kerry in 09 and to Meath in 2010. It was not till his third season he turned things around and won Sam in 2011.
7 Jimmy Barry Murphy had a very poor first season in charge of Cork . In his second season led Cork to Hurling final in 2014. JBM also had two or three poor seasons in charge in the 90s in his first spell in charge . With bad loses to Clare. it was not till 1999 he turned things around
8 Nicky English had two poor seasons in charge of Tipp hurlers in 90s. Also bad loses to Clare. He turned around in 2001 with All Ireland victory.
9 Mick Dywer had a good league in his debut season with kildare. He had a very poor season in the championship with a lose to louth. It took Dwyer his second spell and in his 5th season to make breakthrough with leinster win in 1998

And finally two men who had to face just as strong a Dublin as Andy has to
10 Sean Boylan took 4 years to win leinster. After his third year and been hammered by laois in 1985. Most Meath supporters wanted him gone, Only the players convinced him to stay. The rest is history.
11 Eugene McGee took over Offaly in 1976. He had two very poor first and second seasons. Most Offaly wanted him gone. He made some progress in his third season. But made real progress and success in his fourth winning leinster , Reached final in 5th season. And won All Ireland in his 6th season.

Its obvious it takes time to build a team. In the first year managers are getting to know players. It takes a second season and sometimes a third season for progress to made. Andy faces the same challenges McGee faced in 1976 and Boylan in 1983, facing such a strong Dublin. I believe it is going to take time. We need patience. I believe this season could be up and down. We might not see progress. But in the third season I can see progress and in the fourth and fifth season success. We have one of the youngest teams in the country. The average age is 23 , 24. Our players will not peak for another 2 or 3 years. Most players peak around 26 27 28. The odd great one like Trevour Giles are great players at 21 . But most take time. So we need patience. I believe Andy is the right man for the job. But there is no quick fix. It is going to take. Years to build us up again."
Great post and I agree with your points..

Only issue is, it's not a surprise to see players retire at 27/28 these days

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 11/01/2018 12:14:37    2067788

Lads are on bout this drinking ban but you look back at Boylans day when we were at our best and if a lad was caught in a pub he would have been lucky not to be dropped from team...they are either committed 100% or not committed at all.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/01/2018 13:31:43    2067797

I doubt very much if Andy will tolerate any slackness from ANY player. I doubt very much that ANDY would give any indication to ANY player that they would be an automatic starter later in the year. ANY player will have to earn their place based on results and efforts displayed on an ongoing bases. Opinions about who should be considered certain starters by posters here will carry no weight and rightly so. We don't see the whole picture anyway.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 11/01/2018 14:57:13    2067808

It probably a lot easier to stay committed when you are part of a winning team. I assume it is hard to train all year and stay off the beer if you know you are likely to be finished county before September with nothing to show for it.

I believe that Andy should go full tilt at the league this year and push for promotion from the outset. Play his strongest team and try and get into Div 1. A run in leinster and the qualifiers may follow a successful league campaign but playing in DIV 1 should be the target for next year which can only bring the players on.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 11/01/2018 15:07:08    2067811

Replying To nobull456:  "I doubt very much if Andy will tolerate any slackness from ANY player. I doubt very much that ANDY would give any indication to ANY player that they would be an automatic starter later in the year. ANY player will have to earn their place based on results and efforts displayed on an ongoing bases. Opinions about who should be considered certain starters by posters here will carry no weight and rightly so. We don't see the whole picture anyway."
At last - a truly sensible post! I also doubt that Andy has told anyone that they will absolutely be the 'playing' Captain!

Fair play Nobull!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 11/01/2018 15:51:08    2067824

Replying To nobull456:  "I doubt very much if Andy will tolerate any slackness from ANY player. I doubt very much that ANDY would give any indication to ANY player that they would be an automatic starter later in the year. ANY player will have to earn their place based on results and efforts displayed on an ongoing bases. Opinions about who should be considered certain starters by posters here will carry no weight and rightly so. We don't see the whole picture anyway."
None of anyone's opinions about anything on here will carry no weight anyway, because they are after all only opinions.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/01/2018 16:33:30    2067833

Replying To Foley91:  "It probably a lot easier to stay committed when you are part of a winning team. I assume it is hard to train all year and stay off the beer if you know you are likely to be finished county before September with nothing to show for it.

I believe that Andy should go full tilt at the league this year and push for promotion from the outset. Play his strongest team and try and get into Div 1. A run in leinster and the qualifiers may follow a successful league campaign but playing in DIV 1 should be the target for next year which can only bring the players on."
Name of the game, as i said if you're not dedicated and willing to give 100% don't bother, lads know the sacrifices and its these things that end up making a lad bitter and playing c**p or getting dropped or whatever. Not committed don't sign up...simple.
I reckon he will be going hell for leather on the team this year. We shouldnt be playing for anything less that to get to Div 1.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/01/2018 16:37:42    2067836

Replying To Royalblufill:  "At last - a truly sensible post! I also doubt that Andy has told anyone that they will absolutely be the 'playing' Captain!

Fair play Nobull!"
You know something we dont know about Captaincy?? There has been no mention on last two programs of who is but im presuming its still Biggy?

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/01/2018 16:42:12    2067837

At the end of the day if Meath don't get promotion to Division 1 for 2019, this year will be viewed as a failure. It won't be easy admitedly but that's the challenge facing Andy and the lads.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 11/01/2018 16:58:16    2067839

Replying To Foley91:  "It probably a lot easier to stay committed when you are part of a winning team. I assume it is hard to train all year and stay off the beer if you know you are likely to be finished county before September with nothing to show for it.

I believe that Andy should go full tilt at the league this year and push for promotion from the outset. Play his strongest team and try and get into Div 1. A run in leinster and the qualifiers may follow a successful league campaign but playing in DIV 1 should be the target for next year which can only bring the players on."
The only focus for this year is the league. Fitness and game readiness the entire focus of the squad is geared solely on Roscommon. I think that's why you are seeing relatively strong starting lineups in the OBC. A couple of wins starting out against Roscommon and Clare we'll be on our way.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 11/01/2018 18:11:16    2067853

Replying To RoylerKing:  "At the end of the day if Meath don't get promotion to Division 1 for 2019, this year will be viewed as a failure. It won't be easy admitedly but that's the challenge facing Andy and the lads."
Very ambitious i think. We will do well to stay in Div 2. I know everyone wants us to be up there with the best but we would be beaten out the door by Dublin , Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Monaghan and Kildare. To be honest i fear for us against Roscommon

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 11/01/2018 18:41:02    2067858

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "You know something we dont know about Captaincy?? There has been no mention on last two programs of who is but im presuming its still Biggy?"
Doubt it. Wise to leave it till after o Byrne I think when manager has an idea of core team. Would love to see biggies position being challenged

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1789 - 11/01/2018 18:42:40    2067859

Replying To Analyst:  "Very ambitious i think. We will do well to stay in Div 2. I know everyone wants us to be up there with the best but we would be beaten out the door by Dublin , Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Monaghan and Kildare. To be honest i fear for us against Roscommon"
My God Analyst could you be more pessimistic, yes div 1 would be tough but where better to learn your trade, meath will be competitive in div 1 I'm sure of it

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 11/01/2018 19:15:22    2067863

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "My God Analyst could you be more pessimistic, yes div 1 would be tough but where better to learn your trade, meath will be competitive in div 1 I'm sure of it"
D2 is the weakest it has been in years. There is no stand out team everyone one is at the same mediocre level, unfortunately that includes us from last year. We are peaking for the league and I would expect us the have too much intensity for the teams in the early rounds. 3 - 4 points away and taking care of business in Navan should be enough.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 11/01/2018 19:24:30    2067865

The way the League has gone for the last number of years, teams wishing to be promoted cannot afford to lose more than one game i.e drop 2 points

A step too far I reckon and I can see Meath finishing 3rd again. It just seems we are the Bridesmaids of Division 2

Realistically, if this team wants to be recognised the push to Div.1.

It has been an eternity since we have been a top player in the league

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 11/01/2018 21:14:50    2067875