Meath 2018

Replying To Crinigan:  "That's not a bad shout actually. Still has lot to offer and obviously management don't fancy the existing gks in Meath championship. None of them are truly outstanding in any case in my opinion.

But if going back for likes of Gallagher, I hope Niall McLoughlin, Davy Dalton and David Larkin are also being looked at again, if available.

Would love to see Shane O Rourke involved too but only if management deal with him as special case and leave him with his club until championship in the summer."
It was just something I heard over the weekend I'm not sure if its true maybe someone else on here might no more.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 11/12/2017 14:07:57    2064839

Replying To Blackspot09:  "It was just something I heard over the weekend I'm not sure if its true maybe someone else on here might no more."
It is true David Gallagher is on the panel. Joe Sheridan, David Gallagher and Adam McDermott from Dunshaughlin are the three keepers.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 11/12/2017 15:27:10    2064852

That is true...

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 12/12/2017 00:09:17    2064908

I cant fathom why Joe is being given a shot in goal. There are young u21 goal keepers that should be given that spot surely and trained. Give them the experience at least. And I don't want this to be a shot at Joe as its not but the man is CLEARLY not an intercounty standard keeper and this was proven multiple times last year in the O byrne cup.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 630 - 12/12/2017 07:59:33    2064910

Replying To BigJoe14:  "It is true David Gallagher is on the panel. Joe Sheridan, David Gallagher and Adam McDermott from Dunshaughlin are the three keepers."
Is Daire Rowe on the panel??

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 12/12/2017 08:12:03    2064911

Agh seriously lads, thats got to be a joke. David Gallagher must be in his late 30's by now. He played minor and U21 at the same time as me and i'm the wrong side of 35. I'm all for bringing in an experienced head but to say our keepers are Joe (not a goalkeeper) and Gally (over 35) plus McDermott (i don't know very much about him) and we're ignoring the Hannigans, Burlinghams, Johnny Lynch and Andy Colgan (dunboyne keeper i think!!)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 12/12/2017 11:42:18    2064921

Replying To brian:  "Agh seriously lads, thats got to be a joke. David Gallagher must be in his late 30's by now. He played minor and U21 at the same time as me and i'm the wrong side of 35. I'm all for bringing in an experienced head but to say our keepers are Joe (not a goalkeeper) and Gally (over 35) plus McDermott (i don't know very much about him) and we're ignoring the Hannigans, Burlinghams, Johnny Lynch and Andy Colgan (dunboyne keeper i think!!)"
It's certainly providing the detractors with plenty of ammo...

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 12/12/2017 12:15:42    2064966

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Is Daire Rowe on the panel??"
Was wondering the same. He seems to be going very well at the moment

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 12/12/2017 12:16:36    2064967

i would be extremely worried for this year. The signs are not good with all this goal keeper crap and i believe the 6 day training regime is not working with attendance very poor. I hope this is not the case but i fear the belief is completely gone.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 12/12/2017 15:34:24    2064994

Replying To pretender:  "i would be extremely worried for this year. The signs are not good with all this goal keeper crap and i believe the 6 day training regime is not working with attendance very poor. I hope this is not the case but i fear the belief is completely gone."
Nihil Sine Labore.

We need to start working smarter not harder. Is it any wonder why we are seeing all the injuries over the past few years?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 12/12/2017 16:19:44    2065003

Replying To bert09:  "Nihil Sine Labore.

We need to start working smarter not harder. Is it any wonder why we are seeing all the injuries over the past few years?"
Agree 100% SMARTER is the key word ..QUALITY rather than QUANTITY in training is what matters. . On field up to now we are simply not smart enough .Clear examples.no apparent plan for kickouts, NO plan at all for forward play ...no movement to take a pass by using open spaces. We have runners who run up blind alleyways far too often..AND will keep doing it.from match to match. At times up to now our players seem frozen with fear when moving out of defence and delivering to attack stage.Why all the unesessary lateral play nearly every time? We look far too slow in our reaction time particularily when the opposition are awarded a free . To see so called established players guilty on most of these issues is still totally unacceptable! To see so called leaders going missing ,and even standing with hands on hips when needed is out.Drop that player/s NOW ! Ok we can accept new players need time to develop.God knows we need several players now. Let those new players see you have to meet a standard for commitment. No excuses ah he is tired, he is double marked, no palsy walsy hyping . Deliver or else gate! Change of culture required badly.....players short now no doubt. will take time to build proper foundation ..Andy has a massive task and has to be given time. He is not a fool ,and knows he has a mountain to climb He has my total support in laying that foundation stone because more of what we have had for years ..... no thanks!
I wish our hurlers the very best for 2018.......Now starting from a low base maybe our new CO.Board can give THEM more resourses .

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 12/12/2017 19:06:38    2065019

This 6 days a week collective training is nonsense. Players should do their strength and conditioning in their own time, like the Dublin players. Either treat them like adults or forget about it.

Training should be purely tactics based with necessary drills and skills based around implementing those clear tactics. For e.g. Angle and direction of attack, movement off set piece scenarios, working the ball into scoring zones and not kicking aimlessly from silly angles and defensive formations when the ball is lost.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 12/12/2017 19:48:35    2065024

Replying To BigJoe14:  "It is true David Gallagher is on the panel. Joe Sheridan, David Gallagher and Adam McDermott from Dunshaughlin are the three keepers."
My god we are goin backwards

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 12/12/2017 21:21:02    2065033

Replying To Reco:  "My god we are goin backwards"
Just wonder how any one of those 3 could even be considered for goalkeeping position.? No disrespect to any of them,but not at inter county level now .but thanks lads for what ye have done in the past.
No its a new ball game NOW. Plan for the FUTURE. If not 2018 is written off before it even starts.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 12/12/2017 22:05:45    2065038

How people can come on this thread and talk about 'Train smarter not harder' and say things like 'no wonder we get so many injuries' 'no tactic for x, y or z...' is absolutely laughable. Nobody knows what goes on behind closed doors, how HARD/SMART the players are working.. I'm sure the team doctor and physios know enough about injuries and what cause them but maybe they should host an open session where the invite hoganstand posters to help them figure out how to prevent them from happening.. Colmenting on attendances ya training.. all this is through the grapevine and being spread from a few story tellers and nay sayers on this only damages the reputation of the team you all claim to support. 70% of the people posting negatively on this want to see Meath fail just so they have something to give out about. Leave the lads at it, support your county and don't comment on things your not qualified/in a position to comment on.

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 12/12/2017 22:55:01    2065044

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "How people can come on this thread and talk about 'Train smarter not harder' and say things like 'no wonder we get so many injuries' 'no tactic for x, y or z...' is absolutely laughable. Nobody knows what goes on behind closed doors, how HARD/SMART the players are working.. I'm sure the team doctor and physios know enough about injuries and what cause them but maybe they should host an open session where the invite hoganstand posters to help them figure out how to prevent them from happening.. Colmenting on attendances ya training.. all this is through the grapevine and being spread from a few story tellers and nay sayers on this only damages the reputation of the team you all claim to support. 70% of the people posting negatively on this want to see Meath fail just so they have something to give out about. Leave the lads at it, support your county and don't comment on things your not qualified/in a position to comment on."
Sick of it myself..

For the record Andy gave some players extra time off too.
The preparations are very good, so people are fibbing..
A lad said to me the other day that he heard Meath were changing etc in containers. I just laughed at him!

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 13/12/2017 09:03:54    2065060

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Sick of it myself..

For the record Andy gave some players extra time off too.
The preparations are very good, so people are fibbing..
A lad said to me the other day that he heard Meath were changing etc in containers. I just laughed at him!"
Id say that is it alright. I would hope that is the plan as to allow lads a bit of a break and bring in a few people to bolster the numbers to allow those who need the training to actually hava a good session. and as for the 6 days a week trainin I'm going to say bulls**t on that as every study would tell you that's no good as the guys don't have recovery time between work and that. I would like to think Andy is smarted than that. Whether its gym and then tactical training that would be the only way you could do it.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 630 - 13/12/2017 09:09:10    2065062

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "Id say that is it alright. I would hope that is the plan as to allow lads a bit of a break and bring in a few people to bolster the numbers to allow those who need the training to actually hava a good session. and as for the 6 days a week trainin I'm going to say bulls**t on that as every study would tell you that's no good as the guys don't have recovery time between work and that. I would like to think Andy is smarted than that. Whether its gym and then tactical training that would be the only way you could do it."
Yeh.....That the problem with a forum like this....people have different opinions. It seems it might look better if we all settled for mediocrity at this stage. I t might be better to remain totally subjective about everything. Any attempt at being objective and working off facts as displayed on the field in particular should be discouraged .If you do that your are not a real supporter??. The poor lads and the effort they put in . What about the honour bestowed on any man when given that Meath jersey. I say go for it Andy.Lay down the marker now. Toughen these lads up mentally . It will take time ,but lay that foundation stone now and f..k the faint hearted supporters.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 13/12/2017 10:43:28    2065072

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "Id say that is it alright. I would hope that is the plan as to allow lads a bit of a break and bring in a few people to bolster the numbers to allow those who need the training to actually hava a good session. and as for the 6 days a week trainin I'm going to say bulls**t on that as every study would tell you that's no good as the guys don't have recovery time between work and that. I would like to think Andy is smarted than that. Whether its gym and then tactical training that would be the only way you could do it."
No way it is 6 days of actual training...

Andy knows what he is doing and has a good backroom team. Certain players were given a test after the club season,the o was finished the latest.
That's a good thing because mentally you need that break too. Think they are all back now.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 13/12/2017 11:38:52    2065077

Replying To nobull456:  "Yeh.....That the problem with a forum like this....people have different opinions. It seems it might look better if we all settled for mediocrity at this stage. I t might be better to remain totally subjective about everything. Any attempt at being objective and working off facts as displayed on the field in particular should be discouraged .If you do that your are not a real supporter??. The poor lads and the effort they put in . What about the honour bestowed on any man when given that Meath jersey. I say go for it Andy.Lay down the marker now. Toughen these lads up mentally . It will take time ,but lay that foundation stone now and f..k the faint hearted supporters."
Opinions are fine it's false info that's is often the problem..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 13/12/2017 11:52:39    2065079