Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018

Roll on Sunday and revenge for Joe Stafford I say! An Cabhan abu!

pologrounds1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 29/03/2018 11:06:22    2089281

Replying To pologrounds1947:  "Roll on Sunday and revenge for Joe Stafford I say! An Cabhan abu!"
Roll on Sunday and revenge for Joe Stafford I say! An Cabhan abu!
pologrounds1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 29/03/2018 11:06:22

Revenge for what it's a fecking game of football with the chance to win a trophy not a war.

Time to move on enjoy the game for what it is a Division 2 league final no more or less and a chance to bring back a senior bit of silverware to the true genuine Cavan supporters who support them through thick and thin it's these supporters I hope Cavan win on Sunday. For years I have watched these die hard supporters follow Cavan all over the country and get nothing I think sadly after many had died getting promotion in 2017 I really understood what it was like for them. They were so happy and for once I understood how they felt. So for the true die hard please god the team walk up the steps Sunday to pick up the trophy. Enjoy your game. Sean

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 29/03/2018 12:05:20    2089300

Very well put Sean. Thank you.

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 29/03/2018 12:37:15    2089309

Like just about every other Gael in the county, the negativity at the start of the year was getting to me. However, ten minutes into the second half in Ennis, I saw Holla, McVitty, Mackey and the rest battling like f**k for each other and the jersey and I realised, 'these lads aren't going to quit' so why would the rest of us? The results at home that followed, the 10.30 train to Cork, the buzz, the craic and most importantly the pride this team aroused in us leads us to Sunday in Croke Park. It's your field lads, take that cup home, ye deserve it. Simple as.

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 29/03/2018 12:44:31    2089313

Best of luck to everybody involved on Sunday
. I've a feeling we can win this. What a boost for the championship opener that would be.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 29/03/2018 15:48:41    2089362

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Best of luck to everybody involved on Sunday
. I've a feeling we can win this. What a boost for the championship opener that would be."
You just get the feeling Sunday is the day to bury this annoying record once and for all.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 29/03/2018 16:04:52    2089369

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Best of luck to everybody involved on Sunday
. I've a feeling we can win this. What a boost for the championship opener that would be."
When we lost the Div 3 final to Roscommon in 2014 I don't think we ever really recovered our confidence that season so while these games are a 'bonus' they are also meaningful.

breffni47 (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 29/03/2018 16:26:39    2089371

Replying To fredflint:  "You just get the feeling Sunday is the day to bury this annoying record once and for all."
You just get the feeling Sunday is the day to bury this annoying record once and for all.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 950 - 29/03/2018 16:04:52 2089

With respect fredflint looking back it will take Cavan a long time to bury all the annoying records. Take next Sunday as the beginning of a new era.
We will not discuss what is going to happen in 2019 as to not destroy what may happen this year. Let's just concentrate on next Sunday and then think about what is coming up next.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 29/03/2018 16:34:13    2089375

Replying To breffni47:  "When we lost the Div 3 final to Roscommon in 2014 I don't think we ever really recovered our confidence that season so while these games are a 'bonus' they are also meaningful."
For too long we have beeen content to just being in finals and putting up a good show.
Now is the time to go that step further and win the bloody thing.
Let's go up to Div 1 as winners.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 30/03/2018 07:01:17    2089470

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "Well done to all concerned. Great achievement to get straight back up.

Few Construction comments on the game and peoples comments above:

Whether he would help in the backs or not. McVeety is needed in the forward line to create scoring chances.

Likewise Ciaran Brady is needed to run at teams from deep. Maybe needs to get taken away from the responsibility of holding the middle.

Not sure who the man is for the CB job instead instead, but certainly not Moynagh. One of the worst culprits for allowing lads to walk through.

Don't think Killian Clarke is a midfielder for county level. Not comfortable enough on the ball. We don't even hit kickouts to him so his size is wasted out there and he is a good man marker. I would move him back to full back and maybe push Faulkner to CB to hit lads coming running through.

Martin Reilly a great servant and still a key player.

Hoping that Conor Bradley will improve for the championship having got a few games. Clever player and could be a great addition to the forward line.

Don't really see what Oisin Kiernan adds to the mix at all..

McKiernan again anonymous and disappointing in a big game for a man of his size and ability. Both him and Magee appear to be fairly tame for big men.

A good man marking job on McVeety and we could be shown up to be a fairly blunt outfit. Hopefully that wont happen though as he is near unmarkable at the minute. A great leader."
Oisin Kiernan on Gaelic Life Team of the Week along witd Dara McVeety.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 30/03/2018 10:45:27    2089501

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "For too long we have beeen content to just being in finals and putting up a good show.
Let's go up to Div 1 as winners."
Replying To breffni47: "When we lost the Div 3 final to Roscommon in 2014 I don't think we ever really recovered our confidence that season so while these games are a 'bonus' they are also meaningful."
For too long we have beeen content to just being in finals and putting up a good show.
Let's go up to Div 1 as winners.
Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 30/03/2018 07:01:17 2

Off course they are meanigful breffni47

Inaroundthehouse: I am not sure as long as I have been in the park I never once heard anyone saying it's okay lads no pressure we are content with what we have. They try their best to win all their games and that's how it should be.
No matter the best of luck Sunday to the players and management.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 30/03/2018 11:13:47    2089508

Replying To seanorinn:  "You just get the feeling Sunday is the day to bury this annoying record once and for all.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 950 - 29/03/2018 16:04:52 2089

With respect fredflint looking back it will take Cavan a long time to bury all the annoying records. Take next Sunday as the beginning of a new era.
We will not discuss what is going to happen in 2019 as to not destroy what may happen this year. Let's just concentrate on next Sunday and then think about what is coming up next."
I was referring to our annoying record against Roscommon and no other annoying record you can think off.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 30/03/2018 12:52:09    2089524

Replying To fredflint:  "I was referring to our annoying record against Roscommon and no other annoying record you can think off."
I was referring to our annoying record against Roscommon and no other annoying record you can think off.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 951 - 30/03/2018 12:52:09 2
Understood but hard to say they have not been the better team this past few years but I agree with you I suppose it does become a bit annoying like my county Cork against Kerry but I wish your county well and please god for the true Cavan supporter a bit of silverware around 3-50pm Sunday.
I will be praying they do the business and once again for the true die hard supporter I hope they will bring the cup back with them for you.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 30/03/2018 14:08:25    2089535

Replying To seanorinn:  "I was referring to our annoying record against Roscommon and no other annoying record you can think off.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 951 - 30/03/2018 12:52:09 2
Understood but hard to say they have not been the better team this past few years but I agree with you I suppose it does become a bit annoying like my county Cork against Kerry but I wish your county well and please god for the true Cavan supporter a bit of silverware around 3-50pm Sunday.
I will be praying they do the business and once again for the true die hard supporter I hope they will bring the cup back with them for you."
Best of luck to the lads tomorrow.its important that we win this game. Too often we are satisfied at getting to finals. No point in always being tne bridesmaid.
We need to start like we finished last Sunday. No need for the slow build ups and back passing. We need to kick up on the kick outs From the start and not give Roscommon the space we gave Tipp. We used our get out of jail card last Sunday so it's need to be on top form tomorrow. The Cavan fans will be out in great numbers as usual and it's time for a celebration. An Cabhan abu.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 31/03/2018 11:35:00    2089668

Best of luck to the boys today, looking forward to a big performance from the team!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 01/04/2018 10:26:52    2089882

Besta luck to the lads today! Hoping for a good performance and a win to finally end this wee hoodoo the Rossies have over us.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 01/04/2018 12:42:44    2089913

Wow that was woeful. There was plenty of effort and huffing and puffing but no method or direction whatsoever. Every wrong option that could be taken was taken. We are so dependent on McVitty and Mackey it's not funny. Some of our other big players didn't turn up and the decision to take off McLoughlin at half time and not take off McVitty when he was badly injured was suicidal. It'll be a short summer unfortunately.

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 01/04/2018 15:50:17    2089954

Hard luck today Cavan. Gave it everything. More worrying was Dara McVitty going off with suspected pulled hamstring. What were they doing on the side line that he was'nt taken off at the first sign of trouble. Was left on for a good 5 minutes after first signs of trouble and has now probably done more damage.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 01/04/2018 16:01:15    2089960

Brave effort. But one of the worst defensive displays ive seen from Cavan in many years. Imagine what a really top team would do to that defence. McVitty , Mackey Reilly and Johnson were superb as always. Once again to many players went missing on the big day. How many times do we say that.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 01/04/2018 16:11:26    2089962

Replying To Joebe:  "Hard luck today Cavan. Gave it everything. More worrying was Dara McVitty going off with suspected pulled hamstring. What were they doing on the side line that he was'nt taken off at the first sign of trouble. Was left on for a good 5 minutes after first signs of trouble and has now probably done more damage."
Absolute lunacy, the poor lad went down twice calling for attention and they left him on! It'd be miraculous if he's available for Donegal game. Not to mention the killer goal came when he went down and we had possession.

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 01/04/2018 16:26:48    2089967