Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018

Replying To s goldrick:  "ridiculous comment as teams still have 2 games to play."
That's why you'll notice I used the word 'currently'

They still won't have 9 points between them after the two games.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 23/03/2018 13:30:29    2087247

Replying To JonSmith:  "Oh dear...

The bottom 2 teams in 2016 had 9 points between them.
The 2018 bottom two currently have 3 between them."
The bottom 2 teams in 2016 had 9 points between them.
The 2018 bottom two currently have 3 between them.
JonSmith (Cavan) - Posts: 1415 - 22/03/2018 14:51:24 2086992

So what it tells you they are not division two standard yet and all it say's is the teams above them picked up handy points. If Cavan lose Sunday they will be division 2 and that they were not good enough for division 1. I hope this does not happen but it's possible we might well be playing in division 2 next season again and the two teams that get promoted may well be passing us on their way back down next season we don't know.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/03/2018 20:32:42    2087308

Replying To Breffni39:  "The constant references to TH on here would be really annoying if they weren't so cringingly and pitifully pathetic"
Clearly it is annoying you then.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 24/03/2018 11:12:23    2087384

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Clearly it is annoying you then."
At least TH is gone but not forgotten!

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 24/03/2018 15:46:07    2087432

Considering cavan are missing some great players mattie and team are playing well . I would love to see a new half back line i think that is were we are very weak . Its good to see fergal reilly back in the sqaud . Hope there is one big performance left in us and send tipp back down the long road .

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 24/03/2018 23:37:01    2087584

Best of luck to the boys today. Let's get the job done!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 25/03/2018 08:30:09    2087601

Replying To kildare blue:  "Best of luck to the boys today. Let's get the job done!"
Best of luck lads, give it all.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 25/03/2018 09:20:45    2087611

Replying To blueman1903:  "Best of luck lads, give it all."
Well one beautiful day for a game of football. All is ready now pitch cut pitch lined let's hope there is a big support for the game to create a good atmosphere and that Cavan get the result that is required. No pressure. The best off luck to all. Sean

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 25/03/2018 11:47:12    2087639

Let's do this boys. Good luck to the management and team today.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 25/03/2018 13:46:06    2087663

Best of luck to players & management today.

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 25/03/2018 14:02:55    2087666

YES!!! Get in! Didn't do it the easy way but the result is all that counts.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 25/03/2018 16:41:39    2087705

Well there's metal for ya.. things to sort out but lets give the rossies a rattle..

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 25/03/2018 16:45:06    2087706

Mighty win,fair play.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 25/03/2018 16:46:53    2087707

Great way to win a game....it showed great guts.. We should have learned enough from last week's game with the Rossies... their full back looks a bit small to me and we failed to take advantage of that last week so Mattie take note... Let's bury this hoodoo for ounce and for all...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 25/03/2018 18:07:59    2087795

Replying To shannon414:  "Mighty win,fair play."
Well done everyone, great to be back in top tier.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 25/03/2018 18:10:13    2087800

Great win today and fair play to Mattie and the lads. Didn't see promotion coming at the start of the campaign!

On today's game;
Was very similar to last Sunday, every time we looked to be getting on top we seemed to let Tipp get back on top. The red card was huge and without it, that goal probably would've finished us.

Thought the ref was poor for both - surely Coldrick should've reffed it rather than doing the line?

Galligan had another great game. His shot stopping has improved considerably. We seem to have more about us in terms of kickout strategy - that was our single biggest failing last year.

The penalty was needless and I think the Tipp man would've lost his balance had he not been touched.

Overall, the defence were decent tho. Ciaran Brady was excellent. As were mcloughlin and Martin reilly.

Gearoid was in and out of the game and still doesn't look fully fit. Clarke was moved to mark quinliven but should partner Gearoid from now on.

Mcvitty was very good, but missed a couple of scorable chances. He needs to stay in that full forward line - can win his own ball and beat a man. He's brilliant out the field but we need that kind of full forward too much.

Good to see Mackey play 70mins (or 81!) But he did seem to tire in parts. If himself and McKiernan can get fit we'll be much the better for it.

It would be great to beat roscommon and lift a trophy but the league final is a bonus really - Ballybofey is the big one! Donegal are very beatable and would represent a big scalp for this young team!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 25/03/2018 19:41:09    2087888

Well done. Didn't look good for a long time but we found a way to edge Tipp out. Now time to put this Ros hoodoo to bed.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 25/03/2018 19:47:19    2087891

If ye want it that bad.
Ye can have it, I'm delighted we have no major injuries and qualified yet way off championship pace.
Remember we are aiming at mid June
Hopefully both sides get time into lads in croker and benefit without injuries.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 25/03/2018 22:56:24    2088033

Cavanman47, agree with you about Mc Vitty, he's playing very well is good up front but we need him out the field comin frm deep. We do need soone with that ball winnin ability and not afraid to take on a man but I wouldn put Mc Vitty in ther.
Ciaran Brady has had a great campaign at 6 but apart from that our defence needs strengthen , a lot of missed tackles.
Also don't start movin Cillian all over the place that nonsense destroyed him last year
Love to take Roscommon down in Croke, if we could unearth a few fast players for full forward line to exploit the space at headquarters??? Well done to our neighbours nice win over the Dubs . And our Fermanagh neighbours too.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 26/03/2018 07:37:51    2088079

well done to cavan yesterday, great to look forward to div 1 football next year. tipp prob v unlucky but you need to ride your luck at times. Dara McVeety very consistent again and Martin Reilly popped up all over the pitch well done to all players! the last score was unreal off the left, how come Conor Madden only got on in injury time?? surely if he can do that he deserves at least ten min.

cavantown (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 26/03/2018 08:41:46    2088097