Kimmage rant at Jim Gavin

Anyone hear PK on "Off the Ball"
Was highly emotive about Gavins attitude at the post match press conference , his lack of apology about the off close out tactics, confrontational approach with journalists, lack of emotion and comparing Mayos plight to Dublin's league defeat

"His lack of graciousness toward the losers. Do they hold him to account? Let me tell you one thing, if Jim Gavin was sitting here right now, and I lited those criticisms he would have no defence. He would accept that this was not the way for a Dublin manager to behave. He crossed a line, and it did not reflect well on him or his team."

Seems heavily OTT - any views ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 24/09/2017 22:00:54    2050065

Replying To ruanua:  "Anyone hear PK on "Off the Ball"
Was highly emotive about Gavins attitude at the post match press conference , his lack of apology about the off close out tactics, confrontational approach with journalists, lack of emotion and comparing Mayos plight to Dublin's league defeat

"His lack of graciousness toward the losers. Do they hold him to account? Let me tell you one thing, if Jim Gavin was sitting here right now, and I lited those criticisms he would have no defence. He would accept that this was not the way for a Dublin manager to behave. He crossed a line, and it did not reflect well on him or his team."

Seems heavily OTT - any views ?"
I'll be honest rua I didn't hear Kimmage but I've certainly heard a few journos giving out about Jim Gavin and the Dubs in terms of their lack of openess, Off the Ball on Sat being a prime example.

All I'll say is that the Dubs in the 00s were great friends with the media but that didn't work out too well!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 24/09/2017 22:28:17    2050075

Listened to it live, it was disgusting, abusive and a very personal attack beyond sport.

He is gone beyond sports journalism here and has dropped to a new low for a journalist, safe to say I will be boycotting that publication he writes for.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/09/2017 22:36:15    2050084

For anyone who didn't hear it here is a link to the podcast

http://www.offtheball.com/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/The_Off_The_Ball_Paper_Review/57669/Paul_Kimmage__Kieran_Cunningham

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/09/2017 22:40:02    2050087

he's right.

JIM GAVIN OUT !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/09/2017 23:03:21    2050098

in all seriousness, anyone can have an opinion, that's his. somehow I don't think Jim Gavin will be too bothered going asleep tonight knowing Paul Kimmage isn't his biggest fan. Of course being Dublin manager I will defend him and his 4 all irelands, 5 leinster, 4 national leagues and 1 defeat in 44 games between league and championship proves

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/09/2017 23:09:43    2050100

in all seriousness, anyone can have an opinion, that's his. somehow I don't think Jim Gavin will be too bothered going asleep tonight knowing Paul Kimmage isn't his biggest fan. Of course being Dublin manager I will defend him and his 4 all irelands, 5 leinster, 4 national leagues and 1 defeat in 44 games between league and championship proves how good he is for Dublin football.

he doesn't have to apologise to anybody in the media, he has the best interests of dublin football at heart and he is doing a superb job and long may that continue as far as I (and all dubs I'm sure) are concerned.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/09/2017 23:13:36    2050102

Kimmage seems to be permanently looking for something to be upset by these days tbh. Fair play to him for his work on Armstrong and doping in cycle but he has the air of a man who sees conspiracies everywhere now.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 24/09/2017 23:35:56    2050118

I agree with Kimmage. There has to be some joy in winning a major sporting event. What's the point of working so hard to attain it otherwise. I don't believe in the idea of keeping total focus and enjoying your wins when your career or a team's life span is over either. You can't really have a party to celebrate the all-irelands you won 10 years ago. Life is lived in the here and now, savour it. A week or 2 spent enjoying an all-ireland win now won't hinder you next year. It'll provide a release valve for all the tension built up too.

You would be sick to the teeth of the process, the stony face on Gavin etc. Maybe it's the military training but Gavin still looked like he was coordinating Operation Barbarossa at the end of the All-Ireland. Even Brian Cody does a victory jig and pumps his fist at an all-ireland win!

It's also nice to see players who play with a smile on their face like Sean Quigley, Fermanagh and Colm Parkinson, Laois, 10-15 years ago. Eoin Mulligan handing the ball to Peter Canavan to kick the winning score in the all-ire semi v Armagh in 2005 big smile comes to mind too.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/09/2017 00:01:35    2050127

Jim Gavin doesn't seem to be the happy-go-lucky type who likes showing outward signs of emotions in public. He's a class manager and that's what counts. I like Kimmage, usually, but his comments are too critical. He should accept Gavin isn't a smiley bloke and give credit where it's due. I think within the camp Jim Gavin likes the craic, he's just showing a calm exterior.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 25/09/2017 03:05:05    2050140

I am not sure, to be honest with you. The media seem to have it in for Gavin and his team. They seem to have taken offence to the fact that they get so little by way of quotes before or after games.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/09/2017 03:13:01    2050141

It was actually brilliant listening and I would recommend everyone to listen to it. I do think he was a little OTT yes but Joe Molloy made some great counter arguments as well.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 25/09/2017 03:46:09    2050142

It's Kimmage lads, what do you expect? Vincent Hogan expressed the same views in a more professional manner on Saturday. I have no problem with Gavin and Cluxton being quiet and boring post match but they seem to be actually playing up to that way more than is normal, it's nit actually possible to be that boring and play down a win post match unless you are actually staying in that character you portray. The Gavin line about how they know how Mayo feel was beyond hilarious in fairness and goes to prove they are not being themselves.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/09/2017 08:19:18    2050151

Replying To Laois76:  "I agree with Kimmage. There has to be some joy in winning a major sporting event. What's the point of working so hard to attain it otherwise. I don't believe in the idea of keeping total focus and enjoying your wins when your career or a team's life span is over either. You can't really have a party to celebrate the all-irelands you won 10 years ago. Life is lived in the here and now, savour it. A week or 2 spent enjoying an all-ireland win now won't hinder you next year. It'll provide a release valve for all the tension built up too.

You would be sick to the teeth of the process, the stony face on Gavin etc. Maybe it's the military training but Gavin still looked like he was coordinating Operation Barbarossa at the end of the All-Ireland. Even Brian Cody does a victory jig and pumps his fist at an all-ireland win!

It's also nice to see players who play with a smile on their face like Sean Quigley, Fermanagh and Colm Parkinson, Laois, 10-15 years ago. Eoin Mulligan handing the ball to Peter Canavan to kick the winning score in the all-ire semi v Armagh in 2005 big smile comes to mind too."
And when Dublin did celebrate they were 'cocky and arrognant'..........................but won no All-Irelands

Duggan has a good artilce about this

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/new-look-dublin-have-wiped-the-smile-off-the-country-s-face-1.3230846

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/09/2017 09:00:15    2050162

Replying To panamasam:  "It was actually brilliant listening and I would recommend everyone to listen to it. I do think he was a little OTT yes but Joe Molloy made some great counter arguments as well."
'Joe Molloy made some great counter arguments'. There's a first.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 25/09/2017 09:05:25    2050164

Replying To GreenandRed:  "'Joe Molloy made some great counter arguments'. There's a first."
Joe Molloy is one of the best sports broadcasters we have in this country....plenty of his peers could learn a thing or two.

As for Kimmage, I get where he is coming from and I would like to see some small bit of emotion from Gavin to show the sheer joy of winning. Its too robotic and almost takes the fun out of it. However, it works for him and the team. If our manager did the same thing and got the same results I would not care what anyone thought.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 25/09/2017 10:00:08    2050195

Oh Dear, Dunphy and now Kimmage - the gormless, opaque lifeless Dubs, they are cocky, arrogant, lack dignity, aloof, unloved, mask thuggery, perfect the art of media silence etc etc etc So what? they are amateurs some of them have been treated appallingly by the same media who moan about a lack of access to them. I don't know what the answer is a personality transplant for Gavin is not really an option. He is a military man and yeah he wouldn't be the life and soul of my party but I can still respect, appreciate and enjoy all he has done. Which is argueably far more than Kimmage or Dunphy as "pro's".

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 25/09/2017 10:16:50    2050205

Replying To seanfinn:  "Joe Molloy is one of the best sports broadcasters we have in this country....plenty of his peers could learn a thing or two.

As for Kimmage, I get where he is coming from and I would like to see some small bit of emotion from Gavin to show the sheer joy of winning. Its too robotic and almost takes the fun out of it. However, it works for him and the team. If our manager did the same thing and got the same results I would not care what anyone thought."
Sean, we'll have to agree to disagree about Molloy.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 25/09/2017 10:32:50    2050214

Replying To seanfinn:  "Joe Molloy is one of the best sports broadcasters we have in this country....plenty of his peers could learn a thing or two.

As for Kimmage, I get where he is coming from and I would like to see some small bit of emotion from Gavin to show the sheer joy of winning. Its too robotic and almost takes the fun out of it. However, it works for him and the team. If our manager did the same thing and got the same results I would not care what anyone thought."
Sean, we'll have to agree to disagree about Molloy.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 25/09/2017 10:33:40    2050216

Just listened to it this morning. It was hilarious.

It was quite hard to actually ascertain what his point was for a long time as he ranted and raved. The crux of it seems to be Jim Gavin is classless because he kept Paul waiting for 20 mins and didn't show enough empathy towards Mayo, as well Dublin's play being cynical.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 25/09/2017 10:55:26    2050227