Dunphy on the Dubs

Replying To HonestFan:  "Why? Would you rather it be covered up and hidden under the carpet?"
Let me guess, another long time reader first time poster???
We seem to have had a lot of these this year

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 26/09/2017 09:58:45    2050556

Replying To StirringIt:  "I read the article at the weekend and thought it was just Dunphy being sour about soccer being poor and trying to grab some limelight for himself.
My thoughts were, these lads are as fit a any professional team, they don't have to be paid to play the game and they are ambassadors for their clubs, county and the GAA in general.
That was until yesterday, when my thoughts were muddied by one or two of last weeks winning mens team. I went to Croker to support my niece who was playing for Fermanagh. I enjoyed the three games, the skill levels and the athmosphere. Leaving the ground there was a bunch of Dublin players who has won the AI last week and were there to support the ladies. But as we were leaving there was one or two chanting " Cheerio" down at the Mayo supporter.
I thought it was very unsporting, arrogant and disgusting. They may be champions, but some are not sportsmen. They won't continue winning forever and they will taste defeat in the championship."
Sense of humour bypass there, ffs catch yourself on will you

I have heard 'cheerio' sang to supporters in many sports including at myself as an Antrim supporter.

Was I gonna go home and consider throwing a rope up? Nah I took it for what it was, a bit of craic, hopefully some day/millenium I can maybe return the favour!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 26/09/2017 10:40:26    2050571

Ive met several of the current panel I actually go out of my way to leave them alone but the odd time I've made the effort just too shake their hand and say a quick thank you.

All of them so far haven't had one bit of bother taking their time to shake some random strangers hand and even have a little chat

Me thinks aul Eamo's ego way have been a little dented when a Dub player may mot have been arsed to meet him. He's a soccer head and I'm seeing a lot of Dub soccer heads feeling a bit threatened by our GAA success as of late...

But that's Dublin for you! I was the only kid in my class that played GAA and many thousands of families couldn't give a toss about the sports.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/09/2017 12:09:47    2050609

It's ironic or maybe another word that sounds similiar when you here dunphy say that people and kids can't relate to the Dublin players that they are cocooned from their clubs. Yet we have a situation where a guy called Hogan got an irish passport in the last day or two and is now called up to the Irish panel today, how on earth can people relate to him? In fact the entire irish panel live and play for clubs outside of Ireland, worse again they will not be picked until they leave Ireland yet strange not one journalist would have it in them to put that point to dunphy

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/09/2017 18:19:36    2050755

Replying To StirringIt:  "I read the article at the weekend and thought it was just Dunphy being sour about soccer being poor and trying to grab some limelight for himself.
My thoughts were, these lads are as fit a any professional team, they don't have to be paid to play the game and they are ambassadors for their clubs, county and the GAA in general.
That was until yesterday, when my thoughts were muddied by one or two of last weeks winning mens team. I went to Croker to support my niece who was playing for Fermanagh. I enjoyed the three games, the skill levels and the athmosphere. Leaving the ground there was a bunch of Dublin players who has won the AI last week and were there to support the ladies. But as we were leaving there was one or two chanting " Cheerio" down at the Mayo supporter.
I thought it was very unsporting, arrogant and disgusting. They may be champions, but some are not sportsmen. They won't continue winning forever and they will taste defeat in the championship."
If fans' bad behaviour bothers you then it's a good job you didn't go to the All-Ireland final. I have never witnessed anything like the collective booing and catcalling at Dean Rock every time he took a free. This wasn't from a small section of the crowd. I was sitting in the upper Cusack and the bad sportsmanship -and sportswomanship - on display from a huge number of Mayo fans was quite amazing. Was I disgusted...no. Surprised yes, because I had always thought Mayo fans were the most sporting of all. Not any more.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 26/09/2017 18:48:43    2050761

Replying To avonali:  "If fans' bad behaviour bothers you then it's a good job you didn't go to the All-Ireland final. I have never witnessed anything like the collective booing and catcalling at Dean Rock every time he took a free. This wasn't from a small section of the crowd. I was sitting in the upper Cusack and the bad sportsmanship -and sportswomanship - on display from a huge number of Mayo fans was quite amazing. Was I disgusted...no. Surprised yes, because I had always thought Mayo fans were the most sporting of all. Not any more."
Great bit of whataboutery there! There are plenty of people will attest supporters of many counties poor behaviour your own included ive seen enough of it down the years. Plenty of your own were catcalling and booing during this years final. Plenty were magninous in victory the same would go for mayo fans in defeat. Let's keep the relationships in the positive there are plenty of other platforms to go negative on.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 26/09/2017 22:19:06    2050840

the dubs have come to clare a good few times for training weekends etc in last few years..i met them a few times .as nice a bunch of down to earth lads you could meet. no sh1t about them at all. chat away and have the crack.. totally different to the soccer crew..

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 27/09/2017 12:45:14    2050984

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Great bit of whataboutery there! There are plenty of people will attest supporters of many counties poor behaviour your own included ive seen enough of it down the years. Plenty of your own were catcalling and booing during this years final. Plenty were magninous in victory the same would go for mayo fans in defeat. Let's keep the relationships in the positive there are plenty of other platforms to go negative on."
The original poster was making the point that Dublin fans were involved in unsportsmanlike behaviour. I was simply making the point that in my experience this type of behaviour is not exclusive to any one county. What's your problem with that? Seems your indulging in a bit of deflection or 'whataboutery' yourself.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/09/2017 13:09:33    2050997

Replying To avonali:  "The original poster was making the point that Dublin fans were involved in unsportsmanlike behaviour. I was simply making the point that in my experience this type of behaviour is not exclusive to any one county. What's your problem with that? Seems your indulging in a bit of deflection or 'whataboutery' yourself."
You are still promoting negativity, I am pointing out in the heat of match plenty of supporter get lost in it. We have been listening to these types of posts since hoganstand started not much has changed in the intervening years bar the onset of social media and rise of people who find the need to type utter rubbish behind the cover of a keyboard. I didn't notice anything untoward from Dublin fans bar the usual rowdiness from most fans.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 27/09/2017 13:51:27    2051015

Kimmage and David Brady on radio1 this morning.
Interesting listen and some valid points. Kimmage while a prickly character at best of times did have some fair points which were hard to disagree with.
David Brady who is generally fair commentator was pretty much in agreement. Worth a listen.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/09/2017 11:05:35    2051275

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Kimmage and David Brady on radio1 this morning.
Interesting listen and some valid points. Kimmage while a prickly character at best of times did have some fair points which were hard to disagree with.
David Brady who is generally fair commentator was pretty much in agreement. Worth a listen."
Sorry to be a pain but could you give the gist of Kimmage's arguments Dubh_Linn? Sound gone on my laptop!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/09/2017 12:52:24    2051314

Replying To Laois76:  "Sorry to be a pain but could you give the gist of Kimmage's arguments Dubh_Linn? Sound gone on my laptop!"
I probably will not do it justice if I try to explain it all but the bottom line was that following the publication of Jackie Tyrell's book he had issues with the lack of interest within the GAA to tackle violence in the sport and how it appears to be acceptable to win at any cost.
He also made reference to Lee Keegan throwing the GPS unit in the AI final and the holding and grapling at the end of the game for David Clarke's kick out.
Basically that there is a lack of sanctions in the GAA against the offending player for what he saw as unsporting conduct.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/09/2017 13:42:38    2051340

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I probably will not do it justice if I try to explain it all but the bottom line was that following the publication of Jackie Tyrell's book he had issues with the lack of interest within the GAA to tackle violence in the sport and how it appears to be acceptable to win at any cost.
He also made reference to Lee Keegan throwing the GPS unit in the AI final and the holding and grapling at the end of the game for David Clarke's kick out.
Basically that there is a lack of sanctions in the GAA against the offending player for what he saw as unsporting conduct."
Thanks Dubh_Linn. Yes in the discussion with Luke Fitzgerald talk of a 25 metre free in rather than a black card as a sanction etc.

Cheers mate, appreciate it. Laptop on it's last legs!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/09/2017 14:08:00    2051348

The majority of Dunphy's comments should be taken with a pinch of salt. He is the guy that told us that Ronaldo was a clown and overhyped for years, that messi was on the wane a couple of years ago. He does it for attention and to be honest he has become a caricature of himself.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 28/09/2017 14:15:29    2051353

Replying To Laois76:  "Thanks Dubh_Linn. Yes in the discussion with Luke Fitzgerald talk of a 25 metre free in rather than a black card as a sanction etc.

Cheers mate, appreciate it. Laptop on it's last legs!"
That had to be the biggest waste of 45 minutes of my life listening to that podcast with kimmage and Fitzgerald.
that kimmage just doesn't want to discuss the actual point until about 35 minutes in.
he waffles on worst than a politician about dates even have when Fitzgerald was born how old he was when he wrote a book have him a signed copy man for a guy complaining Jim Gavin is boring he would put you to sleep. Was no debate at all as when Fitzgerald asked him a question he wouldn't answer at all but expected Fitzgerald to answer everything he asked and after 35 minutes they finally get him to talk about the Dublin mayo game and all he says is we will agree to disagree then and walks out, absolute timewaster

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/09/2017 19:37:07    2051447

Replying To hill16no1man:  "That had to be the biggest waste of 45 minutes of my life listening to that podcast with kimmage and Fitzgerald.
that kimmage just doesn't want to discuss the actual point until about 35 minutes in.
he waffles on worst than a politician about dates even have when Fitzgerald was born how old he was when he wrote a book have him a signed copy man for a guy complaining Jim Gavin is boring he would put you to sleep. Was no debate at all as when Fitzgerald asked him a question he wouldn't answer at all but expected Fitzgerald to answer everything he asked and after 35 minutes they finally get him to talk about the Dublin mayo game and all he says is we will agree to disagree then and walks out, absolute timewaster"
Agreed. Just saw it now on my phone. Kimmage is an angry man, no doubt. And whacking the papers off the desk etc...bullying. He came across terribly poorly.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/09/2017 19:50:54    2051453

Replying To Adamski:  "The majority of Dunphy's comments should be taken with a pinch of salt. He is the guy that told us that Ronaldo was a clown and overhyped for years, that messi was on the wane a couple of years ago. He does it for attention and to be honest he has become a caricature of himself."
Correct Asamski. Eamonn always has to be controversial.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 28/09/2017 21:32:36    2051491

kieran shannon wrote fairly decent piece during the week for the examiner..would recommend it

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 29/09/2017 00:27:46    2051550

Dunphy is like that kimmage fella.
talking about things he doesnt know about. Does any team want to be loved outside their own county. Three in a row has been done history has been made no point trying to bring dublin down now they are on the piss they dont care.

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 29/09/2017 13:36:51    2051685