Media Mayo Mourning

Replying To waynoI:  "Yep, Sick of it.

Makes that we beat them, and the manner in which we did, all that little bit sweeter."
This is the reason Dublin is so disliked.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 19/09/2017 14:13:49    2048079

Replying To Ulsterman:  "This is the reason Dublin is so disliked."
You do wonders for Ulster yourself.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2017 15:27:59    2048127

Don't confuse journalism with history. When the dust settles on this era and all sentiment is set aside this Dubs team will be feted while Mayo's role will merit no more than a footnote. The Mayo lads know that. The belief is there stronger than ever and so long as they feel there's still improvement possible the quest will not be given up.

Btw, no one admires this Dubs team more than genuine Mayo supporters, who've witnessed the efforts of our own lads only to be pipped by an exceptional bunch playing positive football. The competition is fierce, not always fair, but honest in the way only great sports can be. To the winner goes the spoils, as it always should be.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 19/09/2017 15:50:23    2048145

I have got to say I find these threads curious. Why are they started?

The entire country was behind mayo in both the semis and the final, so I wouldn't go thinking there is a national conspiracy against any team that Mayo happens to play in the all Ireland series stage of the competition. As long as your own country is not involved it is highly likely that you will shout for the team that has struggled to win an all Ireland but keeps coming back despite bitter disappointments. It is inspiring. Besides, here is a quote from their captain from the post-match banquet :

"You probably feel like you have to feel sorry for us or pity us. We don't want sympathy, we don't want anyone's pity, we're so lucky every day we get to pull that crest onto our chest.

Gotta say that Mayo is my no 2 team if we are knocked out for the aforementioned reasons. I hope they will get their All Ireland as they play a very tasty brand of football too.

While I agree there are a fair few banshees in the print and screen media, there are also banshees among the winner's enclosures too. Complaining about complainers is a great excuse to stir it up, and complain as well for that matter.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/09/2017 16:03:21    2048151

Lads for fecks sake, how many times have I told ye that what is written by a couple of 'journalists' in a newspaper or in Ireland's case, rag mags, means feck all. We all have our own opinions (or do we). Who gives a flying f**k about the media. The Mayo heartbreak story is good for column inches, of course it is, as I feel very sorry for them myself.
But if you're bothered by what is printed in newspapers you need to get out more.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 19/09/2017 16:25:43    2048162

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "i am not being cold or saying Mayo dont deserve sympathy, not atall. Look back at the threads imediately post game to see proof of that, I was very genuinely sympathetic.
This is not me saying "feck mayo the losers" stop trying to make out it is
what this is, is me saying basically that one team just created history and won a third sam on the trot and yet since Sunday bar a few phots in the papers yesterday there has been without question more talk in print and on tv radio about "poor mayo" than the all ireland champs
The collective mourning for Mayo has completely over taken everything, just listening to OTB on Newstalk last night will tell you that.
The basic narrative is "the great dubs, fair play to them, but.....what about poor mayo"

enough already !"
So basically your a bit peeved because you feel Dublin aren't getting enough attention is really what your saying.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 19/09/2017 16:31:47    2048165

to be fair its not as bad as last year when they really went down the celebrity loser route . However this year its mostly the media driven narrative based on the assumption that most people outside of Dublin wanted Mayo to win and are more likely to be drawn to sympathetic stories of their woes . I'm sure the dublin players dont care that much .
One interesting and positive thing to note is not a lot of vitriol ( yet ) for Vaughan or O'Connor - good to see but surprising all the same .

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 19/09/2017 16:52:39    2048173

Replying To pdempsey:  "Media are just trying to sell papers / clicks. Vast majority of people are interested in Mayo's quest and they want to read about it! Dublin are given their fair share of attention also."
Agree with ye on that. I like to save newspaper reports after winning All Ireland finals as keepsakes. Plenty of papers covered Dublin's win with several pages dedicated to it. The Mayo story is of interest too. Finals are emotional and ye have to share both sides of the emotion. Plus to add that it was a great final and both teams deserve credit for providing such entertainment.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 19/09/2017 17:00:59    2048177

Replying To banner_boy:  "I think it's because there's a general feeling nationally that Dublin didn't win on Sunday; rather Mayo lost it. And the historical significance of it may be felt for decades as the chasm between the haves and have nots grows ever wider.

This was the worst loss for Mayo since 1996 as (in general football terms) they were far superior to Dublin on the day but did not make it count on the scoeboard especailly at crucial junctures (e.g. Aidan O'Sheas stupid wide from 50 metres on sideline directly after Lee Keegan's goal).

Dublin payed very poorly, they lost McCaffrey in first 5 minutes (massive loss) but Mayo still couldn't find a way to get over the line. Moran, Boyle and Higgins are all likely to retire now without the elusive All Ireland medal. And there's a certain tragedy to that in neutral people's eyes."
Dublin played poorly, sorry very poorly? A game of two halves and all that. 1-17 in an AI final. 11 points (?) from play in the second half and came through an epic battle with Mayo to finish the stronger. Mayo got their tactics right, all their players had a good game, they thew everything at Dublin but Dubs still managed to win. How can you beat a team like this Mayo team by playing poorly?

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 19/09/2017 17:18:45    2048188

what this is, is me saying basically that one team just created history and won a third sam on the trot...

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:7844 - 19/09/2017 11:53:41 2047987

Dublin did not create history (the correct term is made history) by winning a third Sam on the trot. Several counties have won Sam (or the All-Ireland) three times on the trot. In fact a couple of counties have won it four times on the trot.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2461 - 19/09/2017 18:15:48    2048216

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "This will make me as popular as a fart in bed but anyone else sick to death of the print and broadcasts l medias group orgy of sorrow and woe regarding Mayo?? Youd be forgiven for thinking Mayo were horsewhipped by the Gestapo ffs
I have said my piece in here re my respect and admiration for Mayo and their fans but Jesus at this stage it's getting to famine esque levels of anguish in the media . Sorry lads"
The media love a bad news story and I suppose to most outside Mayo it looks like a bad news story. They should be celebrating a great Dublin team winning three in a row but they won't. Simple reason is that ye're the Jackeens and us and everyone else outside the pale are the Culchies. So they'll sell more papers not bigging ye up and playing up our poor luck and a loss by the smallest margin. Ignoring the fact that it takes more than luck to come out the right side of such a tight game. But fear not and let no-one feel sorry for us. We will be back.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 19/09/2017 18:38:31    2048220

Replying To poguemahone:  "Dublin played poorly, sorry very poorly? A game of two halves and all that. 1-17 in an AI final. 11 points (?) from play in the second half and came through an epic battle with Mayo to finish the stronger. Mayo got their tactics right, all their players had a good game, they thew everything at Dublin but Dubs still managed to win. How can you beat a team like this Mayo team by playing poorly?"
2013, 1 point difference, 2016 draw, 2016 1 point difference, 2017 1 point. In all those cases the media claimed that ' Dublin played poorly'. How was it that it was against Mayo they seemed to always 'play poorly'.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 19/09/2017 21:22:42    2048294

Replying To waynoI:  "Yep, Sick of it.

Makes that we beat them, and the manner in which we did, all that little bit sweeter."
Poor comment ,should take a leaf out of the Dublin team and Jim Gavin and be a bit more humble in victory. Mayo supporters or players dont want sympathy, it must be soul destroying to hear how people feel sorry each time they narrowly come up short to this great Dublin team, all they want is to get over the line just once . Sympathy is media driven because people like what this mayo team has given to the game over the years and would like to see them get some reward . From what ive heard and read since Sunday there is plenty of praise for this great Dublin team and rightly so you're the greatest team I've ever seen and will win more all Ireland's in the year's to come.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 19/09/2017 21:25:36    2048296