Media Mayo Mourning

This will make me as popular as a fart in bed but anyone else sick to death of the print and broadcasts l medias group orgy of sorrow and woe regarding Mayo?? Youd be forgiven for thinking Mayo were horsewhipped by the Gestapo ffs
I have said my piece in here re my respect and admiration for Mayo and their fans but Jesus at this stage it's getting to famine esque levels of anguish in the media . Sorry lads

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/09/2017 19:45:47    2047652

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "This will make me as popular as a fart in bed but anyone else sick to death of the print and broadcasts l medias group orgy of sorrow and woe regarding Mayo?? Youd be forgiven for thinking Mayo were horsewhipped by the Gestapo ffs
I have said my piece in here re my respect and admiration for Mayo and their fans but Jesus at this stage it's getting to famine esque levels of anguish in the media . Sorry lads"
I'm sure you'll have many that agree with you but very easy for you to say that when Dublin have won 3 in a row and 5 in the last 7. Imagine if you were from Mayo or if the dubs had suffered such near misses over the last few years. Congrats to Dublin , super team and deserve all the accolades that come their way. From a neutral point of view, Mayos journey through the summer and how they are the only team that have been able to put it up to ye has provided the majority of entertainment to what had been a damp squib of a championship. Love how the dubs play but you'd get fed up watching their 10+ routine hammering of teams and don't get me started on Tyrones style of play.

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 168 - 18/09/2017 20:43:14    2047693

I have to agree with you Liam, I can't bear all this wallowing and gallant losers nonsense.
if you're good enough you win and if not you wont. Dublin were good enough and Mayo weren't.
I think VInnie Murphy summed it up in his article during the week,

ky_dub (Kerry) - Posts: 16 - 18/09/2017 21:27:23    2047729

The media narrative is a bit over board I'm sure the Mayo lads are sick to their back teeth with it to. As O Connor said, they don't want pity and sympathy.

Great team and to be honest, it's not long since we were beaten in finals by Derry, Down and Donegal before getting to the promised land so we know how it feels. Equally we had a 16 year wait until 2011. So if anyone can understand a fraction of what Mayo go through it's Dublin. It's not long ago that we were holding a similar space.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/09/2017 21:37:42    2047740

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "This will make me as popular as a fart in bed but anyone else sick to death of the print and broadcasts l medias group orgy of sorrow and woe regarding Mayo?? Youd be forgiven for thinking Mayo were horsewhipped by the Gestapo ffs
I have said my piece in here re my respect and admiration for Mayo and their fans but Jesus at this stage it's getting to famine esque levels of anguish in the media . Sorry lads"
Poor taste. Sorry.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 18/09/2017 21:42:00    2047742

Replying To maximus02:  "I'm sure you'll have many that agree with you but very easy for you to say that when Dublin have won 3 in a row and 5 in the last 7. Imagine if you were from Mayo or if the dubs had suffered such near misses over the last few years. Congrats to Dublin , super team and deserve all the accolades that come their way. From a neutral point of view, Mayos journey through the summer and how they are the only team that have been able to put it up to ye has provided the majority of entertainment to what had been a damp squib of a championship. Love how the dubs play but you'd get fed up watching their 10+ routine hammering of teams and don't get me started on Tyrones style of play."
Totally agree. I was close to tears at the final whistle even though im not from Mayo, they have been so close for so long and now it looks like great player's like Andy Moran , Keith Higgins , Alan Dillon to name a few will probably finish up without a all Ireland medal and a lot of people are sad about that it must be soul destroying to get so close so often and not get over the line just once, nobody is disputing what a magnificent Dublin team this it they showed their greatness by winning that game yesterday when any other team would've folded. Congratulations to Dublin deserving champions and every mayo fan on this forum as well as their players and manager accepted this as hard as it was for them to take.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 18/09/2017 21:48:26    2047746

The type of begrudging comment that makes people love some Dublin posters.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 18/09/2017 23:21:56    2047820

People genuinely feel for Mayo, they have been through this so many times before, so many close calls going back to '89 when they weren't a kick in the arse away from beating a highly fancied Cork. The Mayo supporters are as loyal a crew as I've ever seen and despite the heartache they maintain their numbers and volume and had 10 outings this year so their stamina is well proven. There's a bit of a national obsession with Mayo, everyone feels they are on this journey with them and everyone wants them to experience success even if it's just once, for the efforts of their players and the dedication of their supporters.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 23:56:22    2047837

Yep, Sick of it.

Makes that we beat them, and the manner in which we did, all that little bit sweeter.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/09/2017 02:00:22    2047864

it's frustrating not to see this wonderful team receive it's rightful accolades but just as dublin are making history so are Mayo for different reasons. Mayo were the overwhelming "neutrals" favorites and people feel a connection with them fair enough.
When the dust settles this Dublin team will get
the credit they deserve. their legendary status will be set in stone. my god, what a team what men... to be able to overcome that Mayo team in that form...just magnificent

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 19/09/2017 10:08:02    2047922

Look, when Mayo are involved and in the case that they lose, the media are always going to use the heart breaking narrative in their articles. Now add in the fact that Mayo have just lost an All Ireland in the 75th minute, their 4th All Ireland final in 6 seasons, you'd be pretty inhuman not to spare a thought for their team and their supporters. They won't wallow in it, they know they were so close and as Cillian O'Connor said, they don't want pity.
So if there are a few articles about this so be it. Are Dublin supporters really that bothered by what the media says? You guys know you've just done 3 in a row, you know what an achievement that is. This is one of the best football teams I and most other people (whether they want to admit it or not) have ever seen.
3 in a row speaks for itself, who cares what the rest think

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 19/09/2017 10:31:39    2047935

I will say what many posters are feeling. Very sorry for Mayo that they have not been able to get across the line for many many years and their resilience in coming back, year after year is admirable. Some fantastic players and teams that given their supporters, and many others, great enjoyment. No one would begrudge them a title.

However, Dublin should be getting all the plaudits here. 3 in a row is a monumental achievement.

It is clearly no coincidence that Mayo have not been able to win an All Ireland. So close so many times but always falling short.

Sport at the top level is about winners and losers and the truth is, in sporting terms, they are the losers. This is in no way is critical of their place at the very top of the GAA rankings or their love and passion for the game. Its just a fact.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 286 - 19/09/2017 10:43:37    2047939

Agree with the OP. Its cringe inducing stuff at this stage.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 19/09/2017 11:14:03    2047954

As Cillian O Connor said Mayo are not looking for sympathy or pity. For sure the media are fascinated with the Mayo story. Whether you like it or not it is a gripping story. I've congratulated Dublin elsewhere on this forum. Great team. There is such thing as a gracious winner. Some of the Dublin lads on here should try it.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 19/09/2017 11:30:17    2047963

i am not being cold or saying Mayo dont deserve sympathy, not atall. Look back at the threads imediately post game to see proof of that, I was very genuinely sympathetic.
This is not me saying "feck mayo the losers" stop trying to make out it is
what this is, is me saying basically that one team just created history and won a third sam on the trot and yet since Sunday bar a few phots in the papers yesterday there has been without question more talk in print and on tv radio about "poor mayo" than the all ireland champs
The collective mourning for Mayo has completely over taken everything, just listening to OTB on Newstalk last night will tell you that.
The basic narrative is "the great dubs, fair play to them, but.....what about poor mayo"

enough already !

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/09/2017 11:53:41    2047987

Agree with the opening poster there is a media love in for Mayo, Maybe its sympathy but its tiresome at this stage. I heard plenty of Booing of Dean Rock and other Dublin players Sunday and the Lee keegans antics at the end but yet to hear the media come out saying how disgraceful the booing was like when poor auld Andy got some against Roscommon.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/09/2017 11:57:15    2047990

Media are just trying to sell papers / clicks. Vast majority of people are interested in Mayo's quest and they want to read about it! Dublin are given their fair share of attention also.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 19/09/2017 12:37:55    2048023

Replying To waynoI:  "Yep, Sick of it.

Makes that we beat them, and the manner in which we did, all that little bit sweeter."
We seen Dublin crying for long enough with one all Ireland win in 27 years for the Capital and the whinging that the whole country was anti Dublin. Be gracious in victory as it will not last forever and then we will hear the everyone is anti Dublin rhtethoric again

belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 19/09/2017 12:40:21    2048026

I think it's because there's a general feeling nationally that Dublin didn't win on Sunday; rather Mayo lost it. And the historical significance of it may be felt for decades as the chasm between the haves and have nots grows ever wider.

This was the worst loss for Mayo since 1996 as (in general football terms) they were far superior to Dublin on the day but did not make it count on the scoeboard especailly at crucial junctures (e.g. Aidan O'Sheas stupid wide from 50 metres on sideline directly after Lee Keegan's goal).

Dublin payed very poorly, they lost McCaffrey in first 5 minutes (massive loss) but Mayo still couldn't find a way to get over the line. Moran, Boyle and Higgins are all likely to retire now without the elusive All Ireland medal. And there's a certain tragedy to that in neutral people's eyes.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 19/09/2017 13:51:15    2048059

Until the media come out and tell it like it is regarding players like Vaughan, Cillian O'Connor and Aidan O'Shea's performances and actions in finals they will never get over the line because it's in their heads now that they are loved by media whether they win or lose. Galway hurlers were vilified as chokers and losers in 2012 and 2015. That hurt stood to them when they went behind in the All-Ireland final.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 19/09/2017 14:04:17    2048068