The Super 8

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yawn. Another thread which has descended into a Dublin resources/advantages whinge-fest.
Look, teams will dominate every sport in cycles. Taking soccer as an example - given Liverpool's size and heritage it is unbelievable that they haven't won the premier competition in the UK for so long. When Utd were winning all round them under Alex Ferguson it seemed unlikely that any team would ever challenge their dominance. But things change, players come and go, new systems emerge etc to challenge and tip the status quo.

It's up to others to work harder, think better and, referring to Mr Ferguson again, "knock Dublin off their ****ing perch!"
Crying about it won't solve anything. Nothing in sport s preordained thank God. Otherwise why would we bother with it?"
Look Lockjaw, it obvious that plenty of people understand that as a proven fact but it's far easier to play the victim for these lads.
Anyone who wants to could see that this group are special and it won't last forever.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/04/2018 16:38:45    2093621

I wonder will the super 8s breath new life into the provincals, certainly winning it comes with advantage of seeding in the group, while prep time etc for the run of games favourate the provincal winners.

To be fair Connacht and Ulster are making a fist of it these days, fair play.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/04/2018 19:32:36    2093651

Personally I not enamored about it at all. I think its elitist, money driven and destroys the concept of a championship. It takes GAA another step away from the pillars that build it (Clubs). I wonder what the players from the other 24 counties will think sitting at home while this fanfare goes on.

This to me is like a mini world cup which is not what our championship is based upon. These system are usually designed to ensure that the best teams cant fail, the teams with the most resources and squads get to the finals. The art of surprise where every game could be your last is gone and i'm sure we will also have some dead rubbers in there too. With these systems too you usually have the whipping boys who inadvertently determine who finishes top by how much they can be bet by.

Some fore thought. If it stays in place you could probably see seeding coming into play and i wonder if there super 8's will be the first teams\players that get paid in the GAA.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 17/04/2018 21:27:07    2093669

Replying To ponger:  "Personally I not enamored about it at all. I think its elitist, money driven and destroys the concept of a championship. It takes GAA another step away from the pillars that build it (Clubs). I wonder what the players from the other 24 counties will think sitting at home while this fanfare goes on.

This to me is like a mini world cup which is not what our championship is based upon. These system are usually designed to ensure that the best teams cant fail, the teams with the most resources and squads get to the finals. The art of surprise where every game could be your last is gone and i'm sure we will also have some dead rubbers in there too. With these systems too you usually have the whipping boys who inadvertently determine who finishes top by how much they can be bet by.

Some fore thought. If it stays in place you could probably see seeding coming into play and i wonder if there super 8's will be the first teams\players that get paid in the GAA."
I think you've hit the nail on the head with what you've written , unfortunately there's going to be dead rubber games in both the new hurling and football formats but sure we can try it out for the 3 years and see how it goes, it's a pity they didn't address the issue of the provincial championships.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/04/2018 11:03:39    2093744

Whoever wins the football / hurling will love it !

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/04/2018 11:29:45    2093754

In all honesty lads this Dublin advantage craic has gone to the dogs.

They are at an advantage with population no doubt but Dublin has always had the population.
ITs time counties stopped whinging about it and put together a system to Beat them.

Any County in the country can get the Media/sponsorship they get by doing ONE thing.
BEAT THEM

I feel there is going to be a lot of lads with egg on their faces in the next couple of years when this Dublin dominance cycle comes to an end.
A credit to their County and clubs and that's all there is to it.
they are working the hardest/smartest and everyone else needs to catch up.

With regard the super 8s I for one am excited/sceptical.
I hope it works out as I feel a change in system is needed. Every inter county footballer wants to play the best teams in the best arenas on the best days.
Make no mistake about that. Now lets sit backi and see if any county has made the climb up to dublins level and knock them off their perch.

TribalThing (Galway) - Posts: 74 - 18/04/2018 11:46:57    2093762

Looks like they are taking shape, highly speculative but going on bookies odds and results so far be looking like:

Group 1.

Kerry
Galway/Roscommon
Qualifier/Kildare
Qualifier/Donegal/Monaghan

Group 2

Dublin
Donegal/Monaghan
Qualifier/Roscommon/Galway
Qualifier/Crok/Tipp.

Qualifiers could be interesting, if two teams from each Ulster like Monaghan or Tyrone or say Galway and Mayo come through the qualifiers groups, I wonder do the go into alternate groups having played already.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/05/2018 22:58:31    2102462

Replying To TribalThing:  "In all honesty lads this Dublin advantage craic has gone to the dogs.

They are at an advantage with population no doubt but Dublin has always had the population.
ITs time counties stopped whinging about it and put together a system to Beat them.

Any County in the country can get the Media/sponsorship they get by doing ONE thing.
BEAT THEM

I feel there is going to be a lot of lads with egg on their faces in the next couple of years when this Dublin dominance cycle comes to an end.

I hope it works out as I feel a change in system is needed. Every inter county footballer wants to play the best teams in the best arenas on the best days.
Make no mistake about that. Now lets sit backi and see if any county has made the climb up to dublins level and knock them off their perch."
I'm sceptical too and hope the top brass have a plan to improve weaker counties too that's beyond a second tier championship for them.

The Super 8 games should be intense, hard-hitting, a noticeable step up in pace from the early rounds. The decisive games could be tight and defensive, not great attacking spectacles because there's so much at stake but will have us on the edge of our seats til the final white. Any possible dead rubber games, between teams already through or out, should be crackers with nothing to lose and a few subs from the regular teams with points to prove.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 20/05/2018 23:17:25    2102468

Replying To TheUsername:  "Looks like they are taking shape, highly speculative but going on bookies odds and results so far be looking like:

Group 1.

Kerry
Galway/Roscommon
Qualifier/Kildare
Qualifier/Donegal/Monaghan

Group 2

Dublin
Donegal/Monaghan
Qualifier/Roscommon/Galway
Qualifier/Crok/Tipp.

Qualifiers could be interesting, if two teams from each Ulster like Monaghan or Tyrone or say Galway and Mayo come through the qualifiers groups, I wonder do the go into alternate groups having played already."
As far as I know there is no alternative groups for super8s its all pre planned ,if Galway win Connaught for example and if mayo beat Kildare in qualifier mayo go in same group as Galway
Its only qualifiers they try to keep teams apart that played already in Provence

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 20/05/2018 23:33:46    2102476

Replying To AnCeisCLG:  "so Dublin leaves croke park for a single match .....oooh major shake up that one"
So what are you going to do about it ? are you going to make a official complaint through your club maybe ? or just moan about it here ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/05/2018 23:58:20    2102483

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "As far as I know there is no alternative groups for super8s its all pre planned ,if Galway win Connaught for example and if mayo beat Kildare in qualifier mayo go in same group as Galway
Its only qualifiers they try to keep teams apart that played already in Provence"
Good to know mate, so conceivably you could have a group of Kerry, Mayo, Galway. Or Dublin, Tyrone, Monaghan.

I think we might see a different style in the S8's, I think we could see an awful lot of defensive football, for underdogs, draws suddenly become more valuable especially over the big teams, I know it's stating the obvious but group play is far more different then straight knockout. I think we might see a lot of teams play some real 15 men behind the ball stuff and aim for some for a result by frustrating. So many contenders this year seem to be sporting a more contained well organized systems already.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/05/2018 00:09:54    2102487

Replying To TribalThing:  "In all honesty lads this Dublin advantage craic has gone to the dogs.

BEAT THEM

Make no mistake about that. Now lets sit backi and see if any county has made the climb up to dublins level and knock them off their perch."
Mother of God..What's it like living under a rock?? Naivety of some lads on here is incredible...
Suppose it's only a matter of going out and asking your local generous CEO for EUR 800000 ( Or 4 million over 5 yrs in Dublin/AIG's case) so they can have their logo on a set of jerseys that might if their lucky get two by 5 mins in a year exposure on sunday game.. Wake up lad.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 21/05/2018 00:46:39    2102491

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "As far as I know there is no alternative groups for super8s its all pre planned ,if Galway win Connaught for example and if mayo beat Kildare in qualifier mayo go in same group as Galway
Its only qualifiers they try to keep teams apart that played already in Provence"
this year they have gone back to the open draw for the qualifiers so there is no keep teams apart

redbomb (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 21/05/2018 08:07:19    2102503

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Mother of God..What's it like living under a rock?? Naivety of some lads on here is incredible...
Suppose it's only a matter of going out and asking your local generous CEO for EUR 800000 ( Or 4 million over 5 yrs in Dublin/AIG's case) so they can have their logo on a set of jerseys that might if their lucky get two by 5 mins in a year exposure on sunday game.. Wake up lad."
That must be it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 21/05/2018 10:12:19    2102551

Most people expected the 4 provincial champions will qualify out of the super 8s for the All Ireland semis but with Tyrone and Mayo out of the provincial championships it means we could have 8 fairly strong teams in the super 8s, before this you would have the 4 provincial champions and 4 provincial runner ups/ qualifiers which could be an average teams depends on which way the qualifier draw pans out, you would expect 3 Ulster teams, 2 Connacht, Dublin and Kerry with Tipp, Cavan and Mayo also in with a shout, gonna be tough to pick out winners, nobody would want to lose a game in the super 8s

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 21/05/2018 12:03:11    2102607

Replying To redbomb:  "this year they have gone back to the open draw for the qualifiers so there is no keep teams apart"
Its an open draw for round 1 and 2 of qualifiers so teams who have played previously can meet each other again but for rd 3 and 4 teams who have played each other can't meet again
Seems a bit odd that, it should just be a completly open draw

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 21/05/2018 19:46:41    2102782

The 4 in a row will be well deserved if the Dubs can pull it off this year, serious competition out there. Mayo should make final again as Rochford is the best manager, thinks on his feet.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 21/05/2018 20:50:19    2102804

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I'm sceptical too and hope the top brass have a plan to improve weaker counties too that's beyond a second tier championship for them.

The Super 8 games should be intense, hard-hitting, a noticeable step up in pace from the early rounds. The decisive games could be tight and defensive, not great attacking spectacles because there's so much at stake but will have us on the edge of our seats til the final white. Any possible dead rubber games, between teams already through or out, should be crackers with nothing to lose and a few subs from the regular teams with points to prove."
Who in their wisdom would introduce a "Super 8" facility to a system that is already flawed or in need of re alignment, as far as I can see the Super 8 is another psychological pressure that the less successful counties have to contend with, along with that the word Elite is more and more being loosely used, I read where Kevin Mc Stay said if Roscommon were to beat Galway in the Connaught final they would be the first county to enter into the Super 8 and be one of the Elite, so who is the elite, who do they represent, what is the cut off point of entry, what is the drop out point, do the elite have bragging rights over the rest, do the Super 8 and the Elite work hand in hand, or are they same thing.?? If the super 8 thing fails it will take another few years to implement a replacement if anyone has the appetite for it, if it's a success it will sent the already successful counties light years ahead of the also ran's. Super 8 and Elite two words that don't fit with an amateur sport / organisation, ie, gaelic games.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 20/06/2018 23:34:42    2113473

If mayo get through too the super 8s can they be in galways group does anybody know.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 21/06/2018 10:07:10    2113507

Replying To bud14:  "If mayo get through too the super 8s can they be in galways group does anybody know."
If Mayo reach the last round of the qualifiers they will be drawn against one of the losers of the provincial finals.

If they be drawn against Roscommon or the loser in Munster and win that game they will be in the same Super 8 group as the Leinster and Ulster winners.

Should they be drawn against the loser in Ulster or Leinster and win that game they will be in the same Super 8 group as Galway and the Munster winners.

ExiledinDublin (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 21/06/2018 10:38:28    2113516