Sunday Game

What was Kevin McStay on about last night that croke park is Dublin home ???

Ask any decent Dublin fan and they will tell you its not !

On that note i think its time to send the 50 Tonne Hi-mac diggers in a rip hill 16 out of it and finish the stadium to it correct standard !

Can't see any reason in this day and age having concrete 35 degree slope !

Nobody will object anyway because nobody calls it home :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 18/09/2017 18:27:27    2047624

Replying To dubshurling7:  "What about Stuart Lowdnes from Peregrine's Meath benefited from him joining a Meath club although he played underage for Dublin and all his club football in Dublin.

Deegan was on the Dublin u21's over last few years has always considered himself a Dub."
Did you see or hear of Stuart Lowndes play for Meath this year in league or championship?

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 19:13:15    2047634

london should have one soccer team to represent it....and no more than that

the county system is a hangover from british imperialism...who drew up the county system....check your history books

2 Dublin teams competing in an all Ireland final wouldn't be the end of the world

but yesterdays final apart the championship was very poor in 2017

markesmith (Tyrone) - Posts: 14 - 18/09/2017 20:01:28    2047665

Colm O'Rourke has no concern for 'giving greater opportunity to all children in Dublin'. He just wants to stop them winning.

Meath posters can make long winded arguments about children of Dubs not wanting to play with them. However the fact is your own house isn't in order. And neither are the other counties in Leinster for that matter.

It's just another oul sly way of trying to pull down the Dubs. Even the Meath poulation pre 2000 is far bigger than Mayos.

I'm sure like in any bordering county of Dublin ye have a lot of children of Dubs playing underage football in Meath so less of the quotations about Mick Deegan's son. You've gained far more players from urban sprawl from Dublin than you've lost.

At the end of the day it's only excuses. Go on then and beat North Dublin in a Leinster final in 10 yrs time. It'll be as satisfactory as the 2010 title was. At least Kildare have won a few minor Leinsters in a row and are making strides.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 20:05:14    2047666

Replying To Richieq:  "Did you see or hear of Stuart Lowndes play for Meath this year in league or championship?"
Richie ye have a big population. Will you concentrate on what ye have and make yourselves great again? Can ye not put some sort of structure in place to produce a strong 30 man panel in 5 years time. Ye may forget about Mickey Burke and the likes, not athletic enough for the modern game and not enough football in him. Meath aren't that much ahead of Laois in fitness, and that's saying something.

You have to start with the basics first and work with what you have.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 20:09:30    2047668

Replying To Richieq:  "Did you see or hear of Stuart Lowndes play for Meath this year in league or championship?"
Stuart Lowdnes played O Byrne cup for Meath this year.

Stephen O Connor also switched to Meath for county football although his mother is from Meath.

Both players nurtured through Dublin clubs and Dublin underage system and have switched allegiances to Meath so it seems to be working both ways

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/09/2017 20:27:22    2047679

Replying To markesmith:  "london should have one soccer team to represent it....and no more than that

the county system is a hangover from british imperialism...who drew up the county system....check your history books

2 Dublin teams competing in an all Ireland final wouldn't be the end of the world

but yesterdays final apart the championship was very poor in 2017"
It's ingrained for 100s of years now and that's how loyalties and division between teams has sprung up.

Why not join Tyrone with Derry then is the logical conclusion of the county system being nothing but the off shoot of British Imperialism. I'd like to see that happen!! Or go back to a gaelic one. The 5 provinces.. oh no the Railway Cup isn't too popular is it. Or an all ireland of the clans. The O'Neills from the north versus the McCarthys of the area formerly know as Cork in the all-ireland final.

Dublin is Dublin. It is the one gaa entitiy. The county and club system is the best we have.

In the 1990s Carlow, Fermanagh or Leitrim were never going to win an all-ireland. Where was Colm O'Rourke and his talk of equality then?? Smokescreen is all it is to have a crack at bringing Dublin down.

Himself and Spillane and Brolly are tired old men at this stage. Clear them out with their negative thinking and bring on the younger fellas.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 20:29:06    2047681

Replying To Richieq:  "You made a statement and you were wrong, I used the Deegan situation to highlight you were wrong, didn't complain about losing him once

Regarding population see my previous post it is relatively easy to understand my opinion.

As regards getting used to bowing the knee we have a lot of faults in our county, I have acknowledged then in the past, your county are very sadly in Division 4 so it would seem your knee is far more exercised than mine"
Over the last 10 years we've been in division 1 for 3 years in football. Ye can't get up there at all. Our hurlers beat yours regularly throughout the history of the gaa. Our footballers can compete with yours most of the time. Look at your population, over twice ours.

So i wouldn't be getting all high and mighty at being ahead of Laois in football as we're in division 4 for the first time in 50 years. So we're over achieving a little in hurling, div 1B where Galway the all-ireland champions are, and under achieving in football at the moment. At present ye are seriously underachieving in your main game, gaelic football.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 20:40:44    2047690

Replying To Laois76:  "Colm O'Rourke has no concern for 'giving greater opportunity to all children in Dublin'. He just wants to stop them winning.

Meath posters can make long winded arguments about children of Dubs not wanting to play with them. However the fact is your own house isn't in order. And neither are the other counties in Leinster for that matter.

It's just another oul sly way of trying to pull down the Dubs. Even the Meath poulation pre 2000 is far bigger than Mayos.

I'm sure like in any bordering county of Dublin ye have a lot of children of Dubs playing underage football in Meath so less of the quotations about Mick Deegan's son. You've gained far more players from urban sprawl from Dublin than you've lost.

At the end of the day it's only excuses. Go on then and beat North Dublin in a Leinster final in 10 yrs time. It'll be as satisfactory as the 2010 title was. At least Kildare have won a few minor Leinsters in a row and are making strides."
To put an end to this I have long acknowledged the faults in Meath GAA and I am far from blind to them but I won't listen to bulls@@t arguments about population and the supposed benefits to Meath when such a situation hasn't been realised yet, since you are unaware of the work going on in Meath I can tell you we have underage development squads who have beaten all before them in the past two years, we beat Dublin in the minor last year and should have also beat them this year, our U17 team won the inaugural Leinster Championship at that grade this year which involved beating Dublin TWICE and Kildare before succumbing to eventual All Ireland Champions Tyrone in a semi final. My quoting of an article in 2012 was done to highlight you were wrong in a statement you made and at the time for no other reason, nice to see you throw in a comment about 2010, the standard fare that's flung about when there is no substance to someone's argument and as regards Leinster titles I am quite happy to beat anyone to win a Leinster title be it Carlow, Louth, Longford, Kildare or Dublin A, Dublin B, C or D, once we are winning them I do not care and I doubt anyone in Laois would care who they beat either if they won one, so if you think Meath GAA has gained massively from Dublin overspill you keep thinking that, a hell of a lot of them moved down the M7 to Laois as well and I don't see any magical improvement there either, and what about Wicklow or Louth or Kildare or Westmeath?? The Dubs have spread their wings further than Tara and I don't see any rub off yet so let's can this cr@p and stop putting so much weight on this unproven argument

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 21:00:49    2047700

Replying To dubshurling7:  "Stuart Lowdnes played O Byrne cup for Meath this year.

Stephen O Connor also switched to Meath for county football although his mother is from Meath.

Both players nurtured through Dublin clubs and Dublin underage system and have switched allegiances to Meath so it seems to be working both ways"
He did and then disappeared, I don't know why he disappeared and I would genuinely love to know but his appearances in the O'Byrne Cup were very fleeting

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 21:02:46    2047701

Replying To Laois76:  "Colm O'Rourke has no concern for 'giving greater opportunity to all children in Dublin'. He just wants to stop them winning.

At the end of the day it's only excuses. Go on then and beat North Dublin in a Leinster final in 10 yrs time. It'll be as satisfactory as the 2010 title was. At least Kildare have won a few minor Leinsters in a row and are making strides."
I actually agree with you that Dublin should not be split into 4 or 5 or 9 !

The less Dublin teams their are to play for at county level ..then young Dubs living in Meath might focus on wanting to play for Meath !

If there was a North Dublin ...South Dublin,East Dublin or West Dublin then young Dublin lads living in Meath would have a greater opportunity for playing with another Dublin team rather than wanting to play for Meath !

I don't think you have any grasp on Meath gaa problems ..i know a lithuanian couple living in johnstown navan Co Meath for the last 15 years,they have two sons born in ireland and living in meath all their lives ! Their two sons love gaelic football and are unbelievable good ! But they want to play for Dublin ! Why ?

Remember it has nothing to with structures or Meath getting their house in order that these two young lads want to play for Dublin ! So why do they want to play for Dublin ?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 18/09/2017 21:11:44    2047710

Laois 76. Dead right, it is up to Offaly, Laois, and the other counties, to put in the effort at underage and schools level to get competitive again. It may take a while, but that is the only way to progress.
Splitting up Dublin is not the answer, Dublin was always the largest county, population wise. The provincial system is here for the foreseeable future. Personally, I would be in favour of a provincial system run on a round robin basis, with Leinster and possibly Ulster having 2 groups. Connacht and Munster would each have a single groupThe group winners qualify for the provincial final. The back door/ qualifiers would be dispensed with. The provincial champions play in 2 semi finals.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 18/09/2017 21:18:05    2047720

Replying To Richieq:  "To put an end to this I have long acknowledged the faults in Meath GAA and I am far from blind to them but I won't listen to bulls@@t arguments about population and the supposed benefits to Meath when such a situation hasn't been realised yet, since you are unaware of the work going on in Meath I can tell you we have underage development squads who have beaten all before them in the past two years, we beat Dublin in the minor last year and should have also beat them this year, our U17 team won the inaugural Leinster Championship at that grade this year which involved beating Dublin TWICE and Kildare before succumbing to eventual All Ireland Champions Tyrone in a semi final. My quoting of an article in 2012 was done to highlight you were wrong in a statement you made and at the time for no other reason, nice to see you throw in a comment about 2010, the standard fare that's flung about when there is no substance to someone's argument and as regards Leinster titles I am quite happy to beat anyone to win a Leinster title be it Carlow, Louth, Longford, Kildare or Dublin A, Dublin B, C or D, once we are winning them I do not care and I doubt anyone in Laois would care who they beat either if they won one, so if you think Meath GAA has gained massively from Dublin overspill you keep thinking that, a hell of a lot of them moved down the M7 to Laois as well and I don't see any magical improvement there either, and what about Wicklow or Louth or Kildare or Westmeath?? The Dubs have spread their wings further than Tara and I don't see any rub off yet so let's can this cr@p and stop putting so much weight on this unproven argument"
I'm aware of your work underage. Concentrate on that.

And no in Laois we would not be happy beating a Dublin B team to win a Leinster. 2003 was a great Leinster for us to win as we beat Dublin and Kildare who had beaten Meath.

I don't think Trevor Giles, who i know quite well, would be happy beating Dublin B. And sorry for mentioning 2010 but i feel if Meath won a Leinster beating Dublin B it would feel much the same as 2010.

I'm not having a go at Meath. 2001, 1999, 1996 they were brilliant Meath Leinster titles. Ye beat Dublin in each final. And will again if ye get over feeling hard done by, forget Colm O'Rourke who is living in a 1980s nostalgia and seems grumpy in himself, and work, as your doing, towards the future. Forget those iffy commuter kids. You have enough to work with.

To me if you play with an underage gaa club in Meath and you are born there you should not be allowed on Dublin underage squads. On our borders that doesn't happen. There are cases of people buying a house in another county and claiming to live there alright. But forget them.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 21:23:45    2047725

Replying To Laois76:  "It's ingrained for 100s of years now and that's how loyalties and division between teams has sprung up.

Why not join Tyrone with Derry then is the logical conclusion of the county system being nothing but the off shoot of British Imperialism. I'd like to see that happen!! Or go back to a gaelic one. The 5 provinces.. oh no the Railway Cup isn't too popular is it. Or an all ireland of the clans. The O'Neills from the north versus the McCarthys of the area formerly know as Cork in the all-ireland final.

Dublin is Dublin. It is the one gaa entitiy. The county and club system is the best we have.

In the 1990s Carlow, Fermanagh or Leitrim were never going to win an all-ireland. Where was Colm O'Rourke and his talk of equality then?? Smokescreen is all it is to have a crack at bringing Dublin down.

Himself and Spillane and Brolly are tired old men at this stage. Clear them out with their negative thinking and bring on the younger fellas."
so Dublin won't win via the super 8's next year?....extra games and a huge squad of players won't help them?...the championship won't be a series of humiliations like it was this year?.....if someone suggests the weaker counties need their own competition everyone is in agreement ..I hate the English premiership.....but its not predictable....and the big cities are represented by more than one team.....and to keep a neutrals interest in it balance is required.......I live and work in Dublin and I didn't hear much celebration today.....just lots of "I feel sorry for Mayo".....you don't notice people's interest fade until its gone.....that's how apathy works....you need at least 8 teams in with a reasonable shout for it......and if Dublin isn't split that will NEVER happen

markesmith (Tyrone) - Posts: 14 - 18/09/2017 22:01:46    2047756

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I actually agree with you that Dublin should not be split into 4 or 5 or 9 !

The less Dublin teams their are to play for at county level ..then young Dubs living in Meath might focus on wanting to play for Meath !

If there was a North Dublin ...South Dublin,East Dublin or West Dublin then young Dublin lads living in Meath would have a greater opportunity for playing with another Dublin team rather than wanting to play for Meath !

I don't think you have any grasp on Meath gaa problems ..i know a lithuanian couple living in johnstown navan Co Meath for the last 15 years,they have two sons born in ireland and living in meath all their lives ! Their two sons love gaelic football and are unbelievable good ! But they want to play for Dublin ! Why ?

Remember it has nothing to with structures or Meath getting their house in order that these two young lads want to play for Dublin ! So why do they want to play for Dublin ?"
Well if those LIthuanian chaps want to play for Dublin there are a few reasons. One you're not promoting your product properly. If integrated with friends at club level children generally follow they're peers.

Apart from that you have a large population anyway.

In response to Richie, for some reason mods wouldn't let me post this, i know Trevor Giles well from college days. He would not want to win a Leinster championship against a Dublin B team, North side etc.

I didn't bring in 2010 out of malice but i feel a victory over a Dublin region would not satisfy. Satisfy like the magnificient Leinster's won by Meath in 1996, 1999 and 2001. As Ciaran Fitzgerald would say 'Where's your effing pride?!'. You have a bigger population than Mayo of core Meath support to build a team from.

Yes to Richie, i know about your U17s and minors, i've seen them play Laois. Keep up that good work and concentrate on progression rather than excuses.

What are the odds the 2 Lithuanians will play for Dublin seniors?! For every child you mention, a son or daughter of Dublin parents, who wants to play for Dublin there's a child who's parents from Dublin are taking him down to the local U8s and he'll play with his friends on a Meath club. Forget the jersies, kids love wearing any sporting jersey from any code. It's the club and friends that will lead them to Meath football. That's the way the gaa always has been. Ross Munnelly, Laois, people are from Mayo etc.

Kilkenny people have moved to Dublin for generations and their offspring hurled in the capital. Did that effect Kilkenny producing winning team generation after generation? Did the worry that Shiner Brennan's kids were growing up in Dublin or Eamonn Morrissey? They worked with what they had. Meath have more than enough players and clubs. At the end of the day we're looking at 30 men...30 men to produce.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 22:10:20    2047768

Replying To markesmith:  "so Dublin won't win via the super 8's next year?....extra games and a huge squad of players won't help them?...the championship won't be a series of humiliations like it was this year?.....if someone suggests the weaker counties need their own competition everyone is in agreement ..I hate the English premiership.....but its not predictable....and the big cities are represented by more than one team.....and to keep a neutrals interest in it balance is required.......I live and work in Dublin and I didn't hear much celebration today.....just lots of "I feel sorry for Mayo".....you don't notice people's interest fade until its gone.....that's how apathy works....you need at least 8 teams in with a reasonable shout for it......and if Dublin isn't split that will NEVER happen"
Bull. You're probably a young man.

Dublin have just narrowly won 3 in a row.

As i said on other threads Kerry's dominance was far greater. 17 point wins approx in 1978 and 1979 all-irelands. Ye were a tactical shambles this year. Ye have plenty of players. Ye DIDN'T LAY A HAND on Dublin. What was that all about?? That 'turtle shell' formation was a disaster. Go take them on..run at them, hit them, test their fcuking pulse. Look they have 15 men with 2 arms and 2 legs on the pitch the same as everyone else. I was shocked at how Sean Kavanagh thought Mayo wouldn't come near the Dubs. Mayo are well able to take on the Dubs but unfortunately just don't know how to win. Actually very like Ciaran Whelan said about Dublin up to 2011.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 22:17:39    2047773

Replying To thelongridge:  "Laois 76. Dead right, it is up to Offaly, Laois, and the other counties, to put in the effort at underage and schools level to get competitive again. It may take a while, but that is the only way to progress.
Splitting up Dublin is not the answer, Dublin was always the largest county, population wise. The provincial system is here for the foreseeable future. Personally, I would be in favour of a provincial system run on a round robin basis, with Leinster and possibly Ulster having 2 groups. Connacht and Munster would each have a single groupThe group winners qualify for the provincial final. The back door/ qualifiers would be dispensed with. The provincial champions play in 2 semi finals."
Yes Longridge. I'm out of action at the moment with illness but run a lot. I notice county fellas from Laois training at our clubs facilities and they're not fit. The core work isn't done, they have no stamina. Both Laois and Offaly, just to name our counties have only a handfull of lads at the right conditioning. Both of our counties are noted for being laid back and we need to get the rag out.

Offaly are my neighbour and rival but i always admire what ye have done in both codes. I wish that spirit ye had could be brought back to Leinster football teams. I can't recall when Dublin players were sent back on their ar*e playing a Leinster side. Or stripped of ball like Barrett of Mayo did yesterday. You can only do that by getting fit, having no fear and having a go at them.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 22:23:08    2047779

Replying To markesmith:  "so Dublin won't win via the super 8's next year?....extra games and a huge squad of players won't help them?...the championship won't be a series of humiliations like it was this year?.....if someone suggests the weaker counties need their own competition everyone is in agreement ..I hate the English premiership.....but its not predictable....and the big cities are represented by more than one team.....and to keep a neutrals interest in it balance is required.......I live and work in Dublin and I didn't hear much celebration today.....just lots of "I feel sorry for Mayo".....you don't notice people's interest fade until its gone.....that's how apathy works....you need at least 8 teams in with a reasonable shout for it......and if Dublin isn't split that will NEVER happen"
As regards the premiership Man U dominated it to a far greater extent than Dublin the all-ireland football in from 1996 to 2013.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 22:25:13    2047781

Replying To Laois76:  "Bull. You're probably a young man.

Dublin have just narrowly won 3 in a row.

As i said on other threads Kerry's dominance was far greater. 17 point wins approx in 1978 and 1979 all-irelands. Ye were a tactical shambles this year. Ye have plenty of players. Ye DIDN'T LAY A HAND on Dublin. What was that all about?? That 'turtle shell' formation was a disaster. Go take them on..run at them, hit them, test their fcuking pulse. Look they have 15 men with 2 arms and 2 legs on the pitch the same as everyone else. I was shocked at how Sean Kavanagh thought Mayo wouldn't come near the Dubs. Mayo are well able to take on the Dubs but unfortunately just don't know how to win. Actually very like Ciaran Whelan said about Dublin up to 2011."
Sean Cavanagh said Dublin would win by playing at 80% capacity.....and that's what they did.....I didn't see a panicked Dublin team.....the final whistle blew as Dublin went on the attack again.....the lacked leaders in the first half but Dublin weren't going to lose it....were Tyrone dreadful in the semi...ABSOLUTELY....but the unpalatable truth is that Dublin have ALL the aces....they've the population....the funding....the fans....the commercial opportunities.....we went from talking about a top 6 ...to a top 4 ...to a top 2.....but in reality there's only one.....they're not just enjoying a purple patch......its the future....and its kinda boring

markesmith (Tyrone) - Posts: 14 - 18/09/2017 23:00:02    2047806

Replying To Laois76:  "As regards the premiership Man U dominated it to a far greater extent than Dublin the all-ireland football in from 1996 to 2013."
one swallow doesn't make a summer.....that was a REALLY poor championship this year

and as regards the competitiveness of the English Premiership...2 words....Leicester City

I don't expect the split to happen tomorrow but the ultra aggressive way any conversation regarding it is immediately shut down shows you that EVERYONE actually deep down knows its a problem. Its not about parochialism. Its about balancing things up.

markesmith (Tyrone) - Posts: 14 - 18/09/2017 23:12:47    2047813