Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock?

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I have to laugh at the drama this has caused. Far worse happened during the game. Especially near the end when Clarke was trying to kick the ball out. Who cares? Move on."
Ah come on. Throwing objects at your opponent when kicking an AI winning free can hardly be classified as less worse than a bit of pulling and dragging which most players were at for the entire duration of the game. Check the Mayo full fowards on the Dublin full back line in the first 15 mins on Cluxton's kick-outs. Keegan's act was premeditated and very bad sportsmanship. Like you say though, it's all water under the bridge now.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2017 19:58:47    2048755

Replying To Brianmac78:  "I love all the move on nothing to see here. Had a Dub thrown it at a Mayo man would it be the same? Oconnors free off the post say mcmahon threw the gps at that point would it be ok to forget it and move on?"
Or, indeed, if a Dublin forward threw away the goalkeeper's kicking tees as he tried to get in a quick kick out after Rock's point

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 20/09/2017 20:02:59    2048757

Replying To Joxer:  "Ah come on. Throwing objects at your opponent when kicking an AI winning free can hardly be classified as less worse than a bit of pulling and dragging which most players were at for the entire duration of the game. Check the Mayo full fowards on the Dublin full back line in the first 15 mins on Cluxton's kick-outs. Keegan's act was premeditated and very bad sportsmanship. Like you say though, it's all water under the bridge now."
Pre meditated? It was spur of the moment desparation. And it is made out as if he flung it straight at Rock, he didn't. Totally blown out of proportion. If it did actually put Rock off and he missed I would fully expect that it would have been spotted. And hopefully moved forward. But we don't know. And please don't say the antics of the last couple of Mayo kickouts were anything near comparable to anything that happened during Cluxton kickouts. For what it's worth I am not outraged by that or what Costello did. I would expect players of mine to do the exact same thing in that situation. I am just sick of reading about the Keegan thing. And what O Gara did was worse. Move on!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 20/09/2017 20:08:24    2048758

Replying To neverright:  "Or, indeed, if a Dublin forward threw away the goalkeeper's kicking tees as he tried to get in a quick kick out after Rock's point"
The kicking tee was placed on the field of play, right in Rocks field of vision. It ended up in the net of the field of play right beside Clarke. Young Cromarc had the right of it.

That's pretty much as it should be really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/09/2017 20:15:41    2048764

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Pre meditated? It was spur of the moment desparation. And it is made out as if he flung it straight at Rock, he didn't. Totally blown out of proportion. If it did actually put Rock off and he missed I would fully expect that it would have been spotted. And hopefully moved forward. But we don't know. And please don't say the antics of the last couple of Mayo kickouts were anything near comparable to anything that happened during Cluxton kickouts. For what it's worth I am not outraged by that or what Costello did. I would expect players of mine to do the exact same thing in that situation. I am just sick of reading about the Keegan thing. And what O Gara did was worse. Move on!!"
Again, would you stop. Of course it was premeditated. He had to detach the GPS from himself, deliberately planned his distracting run across Rocks peripheral vision line and three the GPS. It shouldn't be downplayed as less than pulling and dragging. What if, I say IF, he had hit Rock with the GPS? Would it still be less than the pulling and dragging that was going on? Is this the standard that we now set? It's academic now anyway but it should hardly go unpunished, should it?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2017 20:45:53    2048781

Replying To TheUsername:  "Keegan in my opinion will get a lengthy ban, look he set a precedent and if its let go you open up a whole array of shenanigans to be tried. Equally O Gara should get a ban, no time for any of that messing.

None of this my county is any more or less cynical then the other guff, Kerry, Dublin, Tyrone and Mayo in particular have no moral highroad to take here."
A lengthy ban? For what?

If that were the case every goalkeeper that shook the goal frame, whacked his Hurley off the crossbar or screamed "post" as the free taker stepped up would have been banned.

The idea that this was an incident of unprecedented bad sportsmanship, "a new low", is frankly bizzare and to be honest doesn't say much for some of their supporters own sportsmanship, relishing Keegan's anguish after the final whistle and zealously calling for the book to be thrown at him. It all seems to be part of some persecution complex, stemming from the Connolly incident, that there's an Mayo and Kerry led Culchie Conspiracy against the Dubs. There isn't.

I note that none of the Dublin players have made a big deal of it. Probably because a) they recognise Keegan as a worthy opponent who they're too honourable to kick while he's down and b) had the roles been reversed every man of them would have done the same had they thought of it. Let's face it, as the Dark Arts of Gaelic football go this was at the lower end.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/09/2017 23:42:59    2048839

Replying To Joxer:  "Again, would you stop. Of course it was premeditated. He had to detach the GPS from himself, deliberately planned his distracting run across Rocks peripheral vision line and three the GPS. It shouldn't be downplayed as less than pulling and dragging. What if, I say IF, he had hit Rock with the GPS? Would it still be less than the pulling and dragging that was going on? Is this the standard that we now set? It's academic now anyway but it should hardly go unpunished, should it?"
Jesus man he didn't throw it at the player, that's my point. Some people making out as if he did. It was a half arsed underhand throw into the eyeline of Rock. You are talking some crap. Pre meditated? So how long was he planning it for. As soon as he started placing the ball down I assume. Same as the Dublin players would have planned to get the 3 Mayo players in a headlock and drag them to the ground so Clarke couldn't restart the game. They planned that in the same time as Keegan came up with his interference. I have already said if he missed because of it then the book could be thrown at Keegan and he would have missed the replay. Ban him now for a few league games for all I care. I don't, he won't. Dublin won, move on. Just tired of listening to Charlie Redmond getting airtime out if it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 21/09/2017 06:40:26    2048855

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Jesus man he didn't throw it at the player, that's my point. Some people making out as if he did. It was a half arsed underhand throw into the eyeline of Rock. You are talking some crap. Pre meditated? So how long was he planning it for. As soon as he started placing the ball down I assume. Same as the Dublin players would have planned to get the 3 Mayo players in a headlock and drag them to the ground so Clarke couldn't restart the game. They planned that in the same time as Keegan came up with his interference. I have already said if he missed because of it then the book could be thrown at Keegan and he would have missed the replay. Ban him now for a few league games for all I care. I don't, he won't. Dublin won, move on. Just tired of listening to Charlie Redmond getting airtime out if it."
Ha, ok pal we'll leave it there. Hard luck to Mayo. You have a truly great team there. One of the best I have seen and I'm attending games since I was a kid in the 70s. It will be a travesty if some of these lads don't get a Sam, especially Andy Moran who is a fantastic player and servant for Mayo.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/09/2017 08:43:47    2048870

Am I the only one seeing the irony of Charlie Redmond dedicating his whole newspaper column targeting Lee Keegan on his alleged gamesmanship in an All-Ireland final! Redmond was sent off in the 1995 final but decided not leave the pitch!!! He had to be sent off a second time by the referee. One of the most disgraceful acts ever by a player in a final! Come on Charlie.....people in glasshouses..!

RightFull (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 21/09/2017 08:51:51    2048874

Replying To RightFull:  "Am I the only one seeing the irony of Charlie Redmond dedicating his whole newspaper column targeting Lee Keegan on his alleged gamesmanship in an All-Ireland final! Redmond was sent off in the 1995 final but decided not leave the pitch!!! He had to be sent off a second time by the referee. One of the most disgraceful acts ever by a player in a final! Come on Charlie.....people in glasshouses..!"
It's more ironic for anyone from Monaghan considering the dodgy tactics employed by Monaghan teams down the years, people in glasshouses indeed.
Keegan deserves a lenghy ban for this alright

El_Torro (Tyrone) - Posts: 155 - 21/09/2017 20:48:37    2049157

Replying To El_Torro:  "It's more ironic for anyone from Monaghan considering the dodgy tactics employed by Monaghan teams down the years, people in glasshouses indeed.
Keegan deserves a lenghy ban for this alright"
Haha. You're good craic El_Torro! :) This thread has nothing to do with Monaghan or Tyrone's tactics over the years! Stick to the subject!

RightFull (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 21/09/2017 23:22:58    2049206

It's simple he shouldn't have done it , he's probably embarrassed by it , but I have to say I find it hilarious the whole topic the sanctimonious take on it , I played 7 aside up until 6 months ago I'm 49 , the lads I play with are the best lads you will ever meet , the would sell or bury your mother to win , and in the heat of the moment they are literally capable of anything , keegan reacted he was probably hurting mentally and physically , should he have done it no but do I understand it yes , I've asked it on here many times how many posters have actually taken to the field I'd say a lot less 50 %

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/09/2017 00:17:45    2049218

Replying To El_Torro:  "It's more ironic for anyone from Monaghan considering the dodgy tactics employed by Monaghan teams down the years, people in glasshouses indeed.
Keegan deserves a lenghy ban for this alright"
For me the most cynical act in a cynical game was the simultaneous rugby tackling of 3 Mayo players prior to last Clarke Kickouts one of the perpetrators boasting "I did it for the team" is symptomatic of where we have arrived at. Our once sporting games have since 2003 been taken over by unsporting win at all costs tactics 'Get in their faces,' ' stamp ontheir toes ', say the most hurtful thing you can dream up to your opponent ' get under their skin', all of this emanating from coaches. For me Sunday's great all Ireland was marred by all these tactics. I go to a lot of games and have done sosince I was 7! many moons ago!! most grounds have a beautifuly painted sign appealing for mutual respect to hear some coaches bark obscenities at their own and opposing players in the course of the modern game is scandalous I do think Croke Prk(GAA ) officialdom should take the matter in hand All the culprits of last Sunday's highlighted misdemeanours are known Give them The Paul Galvin traetment ban them for 3 significant games and hold Bainisteoirí responsible for their charges We need to pay attention to more than the short kickout if we want to restore the attractiveness of our games

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 22/09/2017 09:06:51    2049240

Replying To 37sowhat:  "For me the most cynical act in a cynical game was the simultaneous rugby tackling of 3 Mayo players prior to last Clarke Kickouts one of the perpetrators boasting "I did it for the team" is symptomatic of where we have arrived at. Our once sporting games have since 2003 been taken over by unsporting win at all costs tactics 'Get in their faces,' ' stamp ontheir toes ', say the most hurtful thing you can dream up to your opponent ' get under their skin', all of this emanating from coaches. For me Sunday's great all Ireland was marred by all these tactics. I go to a lot of games and have done sosince I was 7! many moons ago!! most grounds have a beautifuly painted sign appealing for mutual respect to hear some coaches bark obscenities at their own and opposing players in the course of the modern game is scandalous I do think Croke Prk(GAA ) officialdom should take the matter in hand All the culprits of last Sunday's highlighted misdemeanours are known Give them The Paul Galvin traetment ban them for 3 significant games and hold Bainisteoirí responsible for their charges We need to pay attention to more than the short kickout if we want to restore the attractiveness of our games"
Absolutely nothing different in what the Dubs did than what Mayo did in 2012, Dubs in 2013, Kerry in 2014, Kerry in league final 17 & Mayo in 17 v Kerry off the top of my head only. Why are you singling out Dublin?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2017 09:22:05    2049244

This thread is a load of nonsense.

Keegan's offence was this one:

"4.19 To interfere with a player taking a free kick or sideline kick by jumping up and down, waving hands, or any other physical or verbal interference considered by the referee to be aimed at distracting the player taking the kick."

The novelty of his method is irrelevant. It was just the standard offence of interfering with a player taking free kick. The prescribed penalty for this is to move the ball up 13 metres. No advantage would have resulted here, as Rock scored it anyway.

That's it. No cards, just move the ball up.

Minor incident; yet Charlie wants blood. Shows three things about Charlie:

1. Doesn't know the rules of the game;
2. Gets confused when a novel way of committing an exidsting offence is found; and
3. Is vindictive. Dublin won, controversially enough to my neutral eyes, and he starts a witch-hunt over something as trivial as this - an offence for which the prescribed penalty is to move the ball forward 13 metres. And obviously, ignores Dublin's cynical, synchronised wrestling match in the last few minutes and an earlier attempted mouth/eye gouge.

Calm down, look at the rule book and move on folks. No need to follow an agenda set by a man who, in 1995, didn't know where the sideline was.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 22/09/2017 09:48:18    2049249

Replying To Jackeen:  "Absolutely nothing different in what the Dubs did than what Mayo did in 2012, Dubs in 2013, Kerry in 2014, Kerry in league final 17 & Mayo in 17 v Kerry off the top of my head only. Why are you singling out Dublin?"
Jackeen this is brought up because people are bangoing on about the Lee Keegan incident as if it is the most shocking thing ever witnessed. The whole campaign against him is tiresome.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 22/09/2017 09:52:38    2049251

Replying To Jackeen:  "Absolutely nothing different in what the Dubs did than what Mayo did in 2012, Dubs in 2013, Kerry in 2014, Kerry in league final 17 & Mayo in 17 v Kerry off the top of my head only. Why are you singling out Dublin?"
Don't think he's really having a go at dublin he's just highlighting what he saw at the game, maybe he wasn't at those other games you mentioned because if you watched it at home you would not see everything that was going on.
Now on the point he's right the last kickout was a disgrace ( and yes mayo would have done the same ) the ref should have stood back and waited until the dublin players give the mayo players there jerseys back and in some cases picked themselves of the ground, what can you do about it just start booking everyone that you see and linesmen see if it means 3 black cards and a few yellow then so be it this would stop teams employing this tactic.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 22/09/2017 10:15:48    2049259

Replying To Damothedub:  "It's simple he shouldn't have done it , he's probably embarrassed by it , but I have to say I find it hilarious the whole topic the sanctimonious take on it , I played 7 aside up until 6 months ago I'm 49 , the lads I play with are the best lads you will ever meet , the would sell or bury your mother to win , and in the heat of the moment they are literally capable of anything , keegan reacted he was probably hurting mentally and physically , should he have done it no but do I understand it yes , I've asked it on here many times how many posters have actually taken to the field I'd say a lot less 50 %"
Well said Sir. Agree 100%. He should not have done it but to anyone that has played they can at least understand. The sanctimonious caterwauling from some on here and other platforms is hard to take. Really is. To answer the last question I'd say it may well indeed be below 50% if not alot lower than that.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 22/09/2017 10:16:04    2049260

Most of the posts on these type of threads can be summarised as basically: "Look we all know cynicism is part of the game but my county is not as cynical as yours and here are some spurious examples to back up my claim"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 22/09/2017 10:18:02    2049262

Have to say i agree, if you are going to retrospectively go back to the final you could also go back to the semi final, Darren O' Sullivan had a right go at the official on leaving the filed of play after being sent of and got a one game ban as opposed to Connollys three month, but i am glad we didnt make a song and dance about that like Pat Spillane. As Donaghey square punching O Shea in the face, its gone very quiet on that. As i think i said earlier there isnt a county from the semi final onward who can take the moral high ground.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/09/2017 10:21:39    2049263