Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock?

Replying To TheFullBack:  "Anyone who thinks this act was a disgrace or any other word you'd like to term it is nothing but soft, the game is being ruined by softness. You do what you must to win. Hats off to Keegan for his creativity."
Don't know how lads think this is acceptable.
It's a small tracker, next year a boot. Game is dying as in the boundaries are being pushed to a point where it will be unwatchable. It's not hard man stuff to cheat.
It not soft to think throwing equipment at a free taker is ok. There is so much unacceptable behaviour going on it's now becoming acceptable. The pulling and dragging. The hands in faces, the constant verbal. Time for teams to be reigned in.

Rohanhorsemaste (Tipperary) - Posts: 26 - 18/09/2017 14:47:32    2047496

Replying To Rohanhorsemaste:  "Don't know how lads think this is acceptable.
It's a small tracker, next year a boot. Game is dying as in the boundaries are being pushed to a point where it will be unwatchable. It's not hard man stuff to cheat.
It not soft to think throwing equipment at a free taker is ok. There is so much unacceptable behaviour going on it's now becoming acceptable. The pulling and dragging. The hands in faces, the constant verbal. Time for teams to be reigned in."
Next year a boot, oh calm down sweetheart. Why stop at a boot maybe even a nuke! gasp!

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 18/09/2017 15:00:00    2047502

Mes Amis

Imagine if a Dub did it!!

Haha.. This thread would have well over 100+ comments by now!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/09/2017 15:07:49    2047510

Your just thinking about inter county. Club level you'll have mentors throwing water bottles, hurls and all sorts of messing. If you think that's ok then fine. We will wait for your thoughts when Meath have a ball thrown over the line for a goal......

Rohanhorsemaste (Tipperary) - Posts: 26 - 18/09/2017 15:15:48    2047516

could you imagine if connolly done this the media and hoganstand would explode
but keegan seems to be given the badge of honour time after time for doing whatever it takes to unsettle players.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/09/2017 15:18:48    2047519

Replying To TheFullBack:  "Anyone who thinks this act was a disgrace or any other word you'd like to term it is nothing but soft, the game is being ruined by softness. You do what you must to win. Hats off to Keegan for his creativity."
Here here. Well said.

jj72 (Kildare) - Posts: 53 - 18/09/2017 15:20:01    2047520

It's a bit like Neil Back in the Heineken Cup against Munster except it didn't work.

kevdog (Westmeath) - Posts: 115 - 18/09/2017 15:32:33    2047529

To be fair, was this not heat of the battle stuff. I am not saying it is right or wrong but it was gamesmanship to try the only thing that he could do. Its not as if he aimed it at his head to take him out. Without condoning it it was certainly no worse than the gamesmanship and the physical element as to what was going on by the Dublin players for the subsequent kickout which had a severe and over the top physical edge to it beyond anything that could be reasonably appreciated. I am not condoning either teams actions as both sets of players were in the zone to do what ever they needed to do to leave with an All Ireland Medal.

As a neutral I feel it is harsh to single out one player from either team irrespective of the timing of his actions.

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 18/09/2017 15:35:43    2047530

First thing I thought when I heard of incident was fair play for even thinking of doing it.

The nature of the beast. This mayo team want it more than anything. Keegan would try anything for that medal.

I can see why he did it.

MickyThePost (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 18/09/2017 15:53:02    2047548

If he misses the free then it becomes a major issue. Shouldn't have done it. Lee should have put his easy shot for a point over in the first half rather than dropping short, then he wouldn't have to worry about throwing his tracker.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 18/09/2017 15:54:53    2047551

Fella standing two yards from me farted a rotten egg fart as I was lining up a free a few years back. I missed.....
For the record I found COCs carry on far worse again than anything "Lee Did'

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/09/2017 16:05:08    2047559

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Stop talking bull would you.

Any player would do that to try and help their team it's no different to a jersey pull or a drag down."
Has a gps ever been thrown at someone taking a free before?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 18/09/2017 16:19:36    2047567

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Fella standing two yards from me farted a rotten egg fart as I was lining up a free a few years back. I missed.....
For the record I found COCs carry on far worse again than anything "Lee Did'"
i'd agree - all day yesterday coc was blocking runners. He got a kerry lad black carded in the semi by doing it so I suppose from his point of view it can be effective. I doubt if Rock even saw the gps thing.

footballfirst (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 18/09/2017 16:34:56    2047580

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Fella standing two yards from me farted a rotten egg fart as I was lining up a free a few years back. I missed.....
For the record I found COCs carry on far worse again than anything "Lee Did'"
Are you sure it wasn't yourself ?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/09/2017 16:45:01    2047585

In fairness young Rock didn't need a GPS to help him find the posts yesterday.....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 18/09/2017 17:12:37    2047601

Replying To hill16no1man:  "could you imagine if connolly done this the media and hoganstand would explode
but keegan seems to be given the badge of honour time after time for doing whatever it takes to unsettle players."
I have to agree with you Hill. It would explode on here to be fair.
Probably the same reaction if a Tyrone man did it.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/09/2017 17:49:53    2047611

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mes Amis

Imagine if a Dub did it!!

Haha.. This thread would have well over 100+ comments by now!!"
yea can you imagine. 80% from you, Joxer and Hill etc defending all wrong doing by Dublin players with endless excuses. You should read back over some of those drawn out threads in case you forget who contributes to most of them.

Posters on here aren't as obsessed with your players as you'd like everyone to believe they are.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 18/09/2017 17:50:04    2047613

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Has a gps ever been thrown at someone taking a free before?"
I think people are missing the point with Keegan. It showed incredible imagination and coolness of thought to even dream up the idea of removing his GPS tracker and fecking it at Rock. Remarkable composure and cynicism at such a key juncture in the game.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 18/09/2017 19:10:20    2047632

I'd be annoyed too if someone threw a rock at my GPS.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 18/09/2017 19:19:17    2047636

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "what has sportsmanship got to do with trying to win the most important match off the year for your team and your county? Quit whinging over nothing. If anything..doing something like that shows incredible sportsmanship, putting everything on the line to try and achieve for your county. If joe canning did it, there wouldn't be half the moaning out off you."
'Doing something like that shows incredible sportsmanship'?? And the award for most ridiculous comment of the year goes to.....

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 18/09/2017 19:30:16    2047640