Is Dublin's 3 in a row Tarnished?

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "No axe to grind Gleebo. Just that I have witnessed your supporters up close and personal these past few years and safe to say ye were and are the worst I have ever had the misfortune to witness. And I am not alone on that I can assure you. Theres a difference between fanatical and provocative and Mayo supporters fit the latter bracket."
No axe...... Well you then proceed to reveal your axe. Hope you beat the traffic out of Dublin the last two times your county met Mayo! I stayed to see your county's captain raise the cup in 2012.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 18/09/2017 00:29:55    2047166

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Does the fact that 2 of Dublins victories in their 3 in a row success came against Mayo tarnish what would otherwise be a great achievement? Discuss!"
By the same token your all-ireland of 2012 would equally be devalued?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 00:32:32    2047170

Disgusting and insulting thread to both countries. Cop yourself on.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/09/2017 07:29:28    2047201

I honestly pity the people on here that are so pathetically bitter that they go to the effort of making threads/posts like this. There is so much more to life lads and lassies.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 18/09/2017 10:34:50    2047307

Replying To Laois76:  "I couldn't agree more Zulu. O'Rourke with the big oul sour puss on him. Saying the celebrations Dublin celebrations were 'boring'. Amazing how the begrudgery came out in the older panel members especially.

Fair play to Ciaran Whelan. A county's greatest achievement since the 1920s and Rourke and Brolly had the cheek to bring up splitting the county. 10 years ago in 2007 when Kerry did back to backs or in 1988 when Meath did they weren't so belittled."
Are you having a laugh, we were so belittled in '88 the GAA president even had a go at us, read your history before making comments. O'Rourke's mantra here is about inclusion, that more players get a chance to improve their skills and play on a big stage, I wouldn't necessarily split the county but I think creating a second team has serious merit. And before anyone argues that Dublin have always had a population advantage yes we all know that but now they are organised, something which they weren't for years and the potential dominance that their population always threatened is now a reality

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 11:00:18    2047332

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Does the fact that 2 of Dublins victories in their 3 in a row success came against Mayo tarnish what would otherwise be a great achievement? Discuss!"
The only thing that needs discussing here is what tablets are you on?

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 11:02:39    2047334

Replying To Richieq:  "Are you having a laugh, we were so belittled in '88 the GAA president even had a go at us, read your history before making comments. O'Rourke's mantra here is about inclusion, that more players get a chance to improve their skills and play on a big stage, I wouldn't necessarily split the county but I think creating a second team has serious merit. And before anyone argues that Dublin have always had a population advantage yes we all know that but now they are organised, something which they weren't for years and the potential dominance that their population always threatened is now a reality"
No one spoke of splitting your county Richie. I wasn't talking about your style of play. O'Rourke can be very bitter at times.

When Laois beat Meath well in the 2012 qualifiers his first words on the Sunday Game the day of the all ireland qualifier we played against Dublin were 'Laois are going nowhere really'.

The old brigade on the SG last night all looked there years.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 11:44:36    2047366

Replying To Richieq:  "Are you having a laugh, we were so belittled in '88 the GAA president even had a go at us, read your history before making comments. O'Rourke's mantra here is about inclusion, that more players get a chance to improve their skills and play on a big stage, I wouldn't necessarily split the county but I think creating a second team has serious merit. And before anyone argues that Dublin have always had a population advantage yes we all know that but now they are organised, something which they weren't for years and the potential dominance that their population always threatened is now a reality"
I said 'so belittled'. Belittled in such a way that means. Split the county shi*e.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 11:47:00    2047369

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "No axe to grind Gleebo. Just that I have witnessed your supporters up close and personal these past few years and safe to say ye were and are the worst I have ever had the misfortune to witness. And I am not alone on that I can assure you. Theres a difference between fanatical and provocative and Mayo supporters fit the latter bracket."
I know Donegal fans, and you, bitter sir, are not representative of genuine Donegal fans.. Mayo supporters are beyond doubt the greatest set of supporters ever to fill croke park..
For perseverance and passion alone they are truly an amazing race of people..
Ye are a credit to your county and to the GAA.
As for the team, had ye met any other county or even Dublin on neutral ground you would be going for 3 in a row yourselves now,
remember that. Can you imagine Mayo playing Leitrim away in the first round in Carrick and if having won that played every single game including replays, connacht finals, semi final and even all Ireland in Mchale park? That is what your up against in playing the greatest ever Dublin team and all their advantages and to fall short by 2 pts over 3 finals is remarkable, the greatest GAA football team IMHO i have ever witnessed..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 18/09/2017 12:00:50    2047377

Replying To Laois76:  "No one spoke of splitting your county Richie. I wasn't talking about your style of play. O'Rourke can be very bitter at times.

When Laois beat Meath well in the 2012 qualifiers his first words on the Sunday Game the day of the all ireland qualifier we played against Dublin were 'Laois are going nowhere really'.

The old brigade on the SG last night all looked there years."
And was he wrong??

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 13:05:44    2047431

Replying To Richieq:  "And was he wrong??"
Laois ran Dublin to 3 pts that day so he was wrong. We gave them a better game than ye did since 2005.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 13:48:08    2047464

If anyone thinks that O'Rourke is genuinely concerned about the 'inclusion' issue, you are deluded. This is something new to throw in as the agenda to split Dublin wasn't working.
I've even seen a Kerry poster on here saying its not fair on the young lads who will never get to play for their county, I'm pretty sure it happens in Kerry too.
Lads I know there is a logical background to this, but to use it as the reason you think Dublin should be split is a blatant load of horseshit, we we'rent born yesterday :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 18/09/2017 21:52:22    2047749

Replying To realdub:  "If anyone thinks that O'Rourke is genuinely concerned about the 'inclusion' issue, you are deluded. This is something new to throw in as the agenda to split Dublin wasn't working.
I've even seen a Kerry poster on here saying its not fair on the young lads who will never get to play for their county, I'm pretty sure it happens in Kerry too.
Lads I know there is a logical background to this, but to use it as the reason you think Dublin should be split is a blatant load of horseshit, we we'rent born yesterday :D"
Yes Realdub.

Even in the smallest of counties less than 1% of males get to play inter county. I felt he showed his true colours last night and couldn't hide them after a long tired day!

I felt it shameful what was discussed as a team had won 3 in a row. I remember when KK won theirs in 2008 after hammering Waterford the performance was lauded as one for the ages, which it was. Cody got man of the match.

Why the double standards for Dublin?? The neutrals wanted Mayo to win.. they wanted Waterford in 2008 too. Ciaran Whelan was angry and if i was a Dublin person today i'd be annoyed too.

Most of these footballers are from dynasties, the McCarthys, Rocks, Brogans etc. From the 150,000 or so core Dublin gaa people also. Not this 1.2m surplus, half of whom were mowing their lawns yesterday. GAA interest in the country is proportionately so much higher than in Dublin with all it's sports and those of no sporting interest.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 22:33:47    2047784

The thing that sets this Dublin team apart is the fact that all their all Irelands have been won through the front door. They have a 100% record in finals. I don't want to inflate their egos anymore but this is all true.

It would be within reason and logic for the GAA now to stop funding them as they clearly don't need any funding, their traction is now in full flow and rugby or soccer is no longer a threat to their youth.

I have some sympathy for the grassroots GAA in Dublin as this shot in the arm was politically motivated by a certain person(s) who liked to be seen in the Hogan stand now and again....it was great for getting votes.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/09/2017 23:06:34    2047809

For God's sake can we not honour and respect a team that has just won 3 in a row All Irelands in an era when it's unheard of ? Sure i'd have wanted us to win it but i certainly wouldn't try to tarnish the achievements of an outstanding team or indeed an outstanding team that just missed out. Starting a thread like this goes against every principle that GAA folk stand by .

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 18/09/2017 23:36:00    2047825

Replying To Laois76:  "Yes Realdub.

Even in the smallest of counties less than 1% of males get to play inter county. I felt he showed his true colours last night and couldn't hide them after a long tired day!

I felt it shameful what was discussed as a team had won 3 in a row. I remember when KK won theirs in 2008 after hammering Waterford the performance was lauded as one for the ages, which it was. Cody got man of the match.

Why the double standards for Dublin?? The neutrals wanted Mayo to win.. they wanted Waterford in 2008 too. Ciaran Whelan was angry and if i was a Dublin person today i'd be annoyed too.

Most of these footballers are from dynasties, the McCarthys, Rocks, Brogans etc. From the 150,000 or so core Dublin gaa people also. Not this 1.2m surplus, half of whom were mowing their lawns yesterday. GAA interest in the country is proportionately so much higher than in Dublin with all it's sports and those of no sporting interest."
Well said

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 19/09/2017 00:26:33    2047846

According to some stats guy supplying Newstalk, Dublin won Sunday's final with the highest attack to conversion rate of any finalist over the last 20 years (the period for which he had stats) and still only had 1 point to spare. This is affirmation of how good the Dubs have become and that for Mayo to live with them demands a very high standard. If Mayo had converted one more chance they'd have also bettered all of the previous winners. The highest rate of conversion prior to this final was 60%, with the Dubs hitting 67 on Sunday and Mayo achieving 59 (Mayo had marginally more attacks). Two best attacking opponents in the recent history of the game Lifford as bourne out by science, and I think this agrees with most people's perceptions too.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 19/09/2017 09:19:14    2047899

Let's all get real here. This is a perfectly valid thread. In the last 2 finals Dublin have beaten a team with no All-ireland win for 66 years, a team who have been beaten by a very weak Galway team the last 2 years, a team who have now been proven to be unable to get over the line in an all-ireland final, a team with one recognised forward who is too old to play a full game, a team who would be nowhere near a final but for the fact Tyrone, Kerry, Galway, Donegal et al are in the middle of their weakest periods for 20 years. Mayo have been blessed to have a decent team while the rest are away but there is no way this Dublin team would have won 3 in a row in any other era. If anything they should now have 5 in a row and still it wouldn't be remarkable such is the weakness of the rest of the counties especially in Leinster.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 19/09/2017 10:22:59    2047928

Your op has to have broken the record for the most red thumbed comment on this forum.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 19/09/2017 11:29:36    2047962

Replying To Mailman98:  "Let's all get real here. This is a perfectly valid thread. In the last 2 finals Dublin have beaten a team with no All-ireland win for 66 years, a team who have been beaten by a very weak Galway team the last 2 years, a team who have now been proven to be unable to get over the line in an all-ireland final, a team with one recognised forward who is too old to play a full game, a team who would be nowhere near a final but for the fact Tyrone, Kerry, Galway, Donegal et al are in the middle of their weakest periods for 20 years. Mayo have been blessed to have a decent team while the rest are away but there is no way this Dublin team would have won 3 in a row in any other era. If anything they should now have 5 in a row and still it wouldn't be remarkable such is the weakness of the rest of the counties especially in Leinster."
The demise of Donegal has certainly reduced the number of genuine contenders, no doubt about that. Tyrone's lack of belief was a shock to me, as their recent tradition is a side who are difficult and who make any opponent earn a result. This is the first year doubts have been aired about Kerry's capabilities, and this is purely on the back of the semifinals, which showed that they hadn't progressed since last year, while Dublin and Mayo measurably did improve. Your remark about Andy being Mayo's best at 33 is undeniable, but should we drop him because of age? The rest of your post is just churlish and based on conjecture rather than facts, stats or anything other than your opinion, to which you're obviously more than entitled. The game has changed so much in the last decade that a lot of noughties icons wouldn't make the Kerry or Tyrone teams now because they wouldn't have the mobility and couldn't tackle their mothers. For example, our own Mort, whatever you think of him, was as decent a scoring corner forward as was about in that decade but he didn't transition when the game changed, partly because of attitude, but also because he wasn't built for it and wasn't aggressive enough. The modern game is made for latter day Michael Donnellan types, while the best forward of the modern era Gooch, didn't fancy a couple more years of chasing Philly McMahon, instead of embellishing games with his skills. That more teams aren't competitive with Dublin is something the Dubs can't fix, but the idea that they can't be beaten is rubbish despite their high standards of skills and execution. Of the also rans only Kildare are showing some genuine intention to try and bridge the gap instead of cribbing about it. Cork could also resurrect themselves, as they have the raw materials. Everyone else seems to be at sea and lacking the belief even with a fair degree of talent. Galway would fall into that category right now, but could develop.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 19/09/2017 12:45:33    2048030