Dont say the curse isn't real

"The only way to get over the line is to examine why you failed and come back better"

Gleebo - thats fair enough but are Mayo not getting further away from the glory every year this current team fails to land sam. You have to admit this is the best Mayo team in years and such good squads dont come around that often. We cant compare the county of MAYO to Kerry or Dublin. We know for a fact Kerry will have another all ireland winning team in a couple of years. Mayo most likely will not similar to Donegal. We ourselves had the good squad, done the buisness thank god and got three all irelands. Now we have a much weaker squad and thats to be expected, we are not Kerry or Dublin. Tyrone might not win another sam for twenty years. I fear Mayo are missing their chance.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 19/09/2017 09:14:28    2047898

Well i'd definitely not be one for curses or superstitions. never was and for any one to mention curse i'd be the first to call bullsh*t. However i had a change of opinion after last years first all Ireland. that's 11 all irelands since 1989 and they still can't get across the line. now you can say they weren't the better team and they missed opportunities and made mistakes etc, every team makes mistakes but no one has paid so dearly over the years for mistakes only Mayo. Dublin made mistakes on sunday that will never be remembered because they won the game. Every team that wins an all ireland needs luck. Just take a look down through the history of the finals. But mayo even though they're due it have never got it. why??? it would make you wonder

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 19/09/2017 09:46:45    2047915

Replying To Gleebo:  "There was a documentary done a couple of years ago called "Mallacht Mhaigh Eo" in which they interviewed several of the surviving players from the 1951 All-Ireland winning side. It's up on YouTube if you want to see it. Anyway, none of the players could remember any such incident. Moreover, there were no funerals in Foxford, where the incident supposedly took place, that week.

Look, I'm as upset as any Mayo man not to have won it today. But there are several prosaic explanations for our loss without resorting to the supernatural, such as:

-Losing our fullback to a crazy sending-off;

-Missing a sitter of a goal chance to put us four up;

-Cillian missing two relatively simple frees by his standards;

-Some simple chances missed in the first half when Mayo were on top;

-Last but not least, Dublin being a superb team with a formidable bench.

The only way to get over the line is to examine why you failed and come back better.

My only fear is that my grandfather, who was an infant when Mayo last hoisted Sam, and who has been in ill health in recent years, will go to his reward without seeing it. That's just life; it never has and never will be fair, and there are far greater injustices in this world than losing a few football matches."

What was crazy about the sending off? His challenge was well deserving of a red card.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 19/09/2017 10:05:02    2047921

FFS
Curse....!
There is a simple reason Mayo have not won Sam in my lifetime
i am 38, at no stage in my life have Mayo ever had the best team in Ireland
Its as simple as that
Its not a curse, its not bad luck, its simple football symantics
Mayo are not now and hae not been in my lifetime ever, the best team in the country
its as simple as that

this whole Mayo thing is getting bloody ridiculous now

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/09/2017 11:56:22    2047989

The surviving members of the '51 team are currently on life support machines (that they don't need) in an underground bunker surrounded by 24hr armed guards in a secret location in the hills of Connemara.

BlackAndBlue (UK) - Posts: 100 - 19/09/2017 12:15:13    2048007

Replying To Gleebo:  "There was a documentary done a couple of years ago called "Mallacht Mhaigh Eo" in which they interviewed several of the surviving players from the 1951 All-Ireland winning side. It's up on YouTube if you want to see it. Anyway, none of the players could remember any such incident. Moreover, there were no funerals in Foxford, where the incident supposedly took place, that week.

Look, I'm as upset as any Mayo man not to have won it today. But there are several prosaic explanations for our loss without resorting to the supernatural, such as:

-Missing a sitter of a goal chance to put us four up;

-Cillian missing two relatively simple frees by his standards;

-Some simple chances missed in the first half when Mayo were on top;

-Last but not least, Dublin being a superb team with a formidable bench.

The only way to get over the line is to examine why you failed and come back better.

My only fear is that my grandfather, who was an infant when Mayo last hoisted Sam, and who has been in ill health in recent years, will go to his reward without seeing it. That's just life; it never has and never will be fair, and there are far greater injustices in this world than losing a few football matches."
Great post, you're a top man Gleebo!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 19/09/2017 12:52:56    2048034

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "FFS
Curse....!
There is a simple reason Mayo have not won Sam in my lifetime
i am 38, at no stage in my life have Mayo ever had the best team in Ireland
Its as simple as that
Its not a curse, its not bad luck, its simple football symantics
Mayo are not now and hae not been in my lifetime ever, the best team in the country
its as simple as that

this whole Mayo thing is getting bloody ridiculous now"
1996/97

A crazy point stopped them winning in 1996. In 1997 they lost to a Kerry side they had beaten the previous year.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/09/2017 13:01:40    2048040

This 'curse' is just another way to deflect from the reality. It is a defeatist and enabling myth that removes responsibility from the players from failing to get over the line. The players are absolved of all responsibility because there a larger forces at work. That is an unacceptable level of b****x right there. Do people think God -or the Gods- has nothing better to be doing with his/her time than make sure Mayo doesn't win an All-Ireland??? Doesn't he have tsunamis and other natural disasters to organize? They'll be writing post-grad theses on this phenomenon soon.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/09/2017 13:08:31    2048044

Replying To Gleebo:  "The only curse is one of poor shooting at times.

The whole curse theory has been debunked at this stage."
Disagree, now I don't believe in curses or that kinda nonsense. But by Jesus mayo are converting me at this stage. It won't be debunked until mayo lift Sam

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/09/2017 13:29:25    2048050

Replying To cacsmckilly:  ""The only way to get over the line is to examine why you failed and come back better"

Gleebo - thats fair enough but are Mayo not getting further away from the glory every year this current team fails to land sam. You have to admit this is the best Mayo team in years and such good squads dont come around that often. We cant compare the county of MAYO to Kerry or Dublin. We know for a fact Kerry will have another all ireland winning team in a couple of years. Mayo most likely will not similar to Donegal. We ourselves had the good squad, done the buisness thank god and got three all irelands. Now we have a much weaker squad and thats to be expected, we are not Kerry or Dublin. Tyrone might not win another sam for twenty years. I fear Mayo are missing their chance."
I'd say it's same for Meath too, we didn't take our chance in 01 , seamus Kenny said afterwards that they took Galway for granted after beating Kerry so convincingly, and that they would rectify it in time. Seamus retired 3 years ago never having played in another one.
Mayo are a aging team and this group will not get back to a final imo, btw I hope I'm wrong

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/09/2017 13:35:47    2048053

Replying To cacsmckilly:  ""The only way to get over the line is to examine why you failed and come back better"

Gleebo - thats fair enough but are Mayo not getting further away from the glory every year this current team fails to land sam. You have to admit this is the best Mayo team in years and such good squads dont come around that often. We cant compare the county of MAYO to Kerry or Dublin. We know for a fact Kerry will have another all ireland winning team in a couple of years. Mayo most likely will not similar to Donegal. We ourselves had the good squad, done the buisness thank god and got three all irelands. Now we have a much weaker squad and thats to be expected, we are not Kerry or Dublin. Tyrone might not win another sam for twenty years. I fear Mayo are missing their chance."
Possibly, but people probably said the same in 1999 when the generation of McHale, Holmes, Casey etc. rode off into the sunset. Within a few years Mayo were back contesting All-Ireland finals, albeit being well beaten in those.

What we probably do need to do next season is to blood some younger players during the league, even if we risk being relegated.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/09/2017 19:39:31    2048241

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "-Losing our fullback to a crazy sending-off;

What was crazy about the sending off? His challenge was well deserving of a red card."
Where did I write that his sending off was unmerited? What I meant was that it was a crazy thing to do.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/09/2017 19:41:36    2048242

Replying To avonali:  "This 'curse' is just another way to deflect from the reality. It is a defeatist and enabling myth that removes responsibility from the players from failing to get over the line. The players are absolved of all responsibility because there a larger forces at work. That is an unacceptable level of b****x right there. Do people think God -or the Gods- has nothing better to be doing with his/her time than make sure Mayo doesn't win an All-Ireland??? Doesn't he have tsunamis and other natural disasters to organize? They'll be writing post-grad theses on this phenomenon soon."
Sounds like you've written a few theses yourself Avonali! The curse is rubbish. No-one in Mayo takes it seriously, no-one. I'm surprised that anyone outside of Mayo thinks we do. We have to make the right decisions and decisive actions at the right time to win the biggest games. Simple as that. God is busy enough catching up on his Netflix boxsets and stopping Trump doing anything stupid.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 19/09/2017 19:53:02    2048248

Now that McHale went and lifted Sam from its presentation plinth at Croke Park on AI Final day before a ball was thrown in does this now mean that we are back up to 3 individuals time on this earth preventing Mayo from winning and does this count as a new curse in its own right - The McHale Curse? When will ye ever learn lads!!!!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 27/09/2017 14:35:46    2051034

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Now that McHale went and lifted Sam from its presentation plinth at Croke Park on AI Final day before a ball was thrown in does this now mean that we are back up to 3 individuals time on this earth preventing Mayo from winning and does this count as a new curse in its own right - The McHale Curse? When will ye ever learn lads!!!!"
He's gone over to the dark side, doesn't count ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/09/2017 17:28:47    2051096

I think the current Mayo team would do well to avoid Swinford or Foxford on their way back when they do win Sam

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/09/2017 19:01:39    2051125

Dont tell me when COC hit the post in the final few minutes or when Keegan dropped the ball into cluxtons chest with a very easy scoring opportunity that this curse didnt cross each and everyones mind watching the game.

Not to mention the own goals last year and the numerous close losses over the years. The odds to come out on the wrong side everytime must be huge. A curse or some sort is the most logical answer.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 27/09/2017 21:02:23    2051159

the only curse i can think of comes out of my mouth when i think of all the money ive lost backing mayo since 1986!!

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 27/09/2017 21:53:53    2051170

Replying To gotmilk:  "Vaughans moment of madness
O'Connors miss
The free that should have been a penalty

Don't say the curse isn't real."
And don't say the Tooth Fairy isn't real.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 27/09/2017 22:57:04    2051199

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Dont tell me when COC hit the post in the final few minutes or when Keegan dropped the ball into cluxtons chest with a very easy scoring opportunity that this curse didnt cross each and everyones mind watching the game.

Not to mention the own goals last year and the numerous close losses over the years. The odds to come out on the wrong side everytime must be huge. A curse or some sort is the most logical answer."
The two players you mentioned have done the same thing a few times before. Keegan drops balls into the keepers hands most games regardless if its an All Ireland

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/09/2017 08:39:06    2051229