Total Injustice!

I actually thought McQuillan had a good day overall, yes there were errors I did think Mayo should have had a penalty and there was the line ball Dublin should have been awarded but in what was a difficult game to ref I thought he done quite well

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 15:48:00    2047544

I didn't think the last free should have been given. I watched it back. Barret stood his ground and Connolly charged in to him and fell over. I know I've got my mayo glasses on but did anyone see that differentl?

nextyear (Mayo) - Posts: 60 - 18/09/2017 16:16:36    2047565

Mayo lost because of C. O'Connors poor free-taking and Vaughan's stupidity.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 18/09/2017 16:26:46    2047575

Replying To Richieq:  "I actually thought McQuillan had a good day overall, yes there were errors I did think Mayo should have had a penalty and there was the line ball Dublin should have been awarded but in what was a difficult game to ref I thought he done quite well"
That's it. A ref will never get it right all the time. Dubs would point to a few decisions - line ball not going their way, a Mayo point where Cooper was fouled, AOS's black card. Mayo will go for penalty decision, a soft Dublin free etc. Teams win some loose some , same every game and not just in finals.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 18/09/2017 16:31:43    2047578

Replying To mike_tuam:  "Even if the so called penalty was awarded they probably would have missed it or would have been saved, The curse is alive and well. the better drilled team won and well deserved loved the way all the Dublin "tackled" the Mayo lads on the kick out that's a togetherness that Mayo don't have. What about Keegan throwing his GPS tracker at Rock as he took the last free disgraceful. Mayo missed a lot of easy scores and that's what cost them not the ref."
Yeah i think the current team is like a race horse that loves the going in all conditions. They've had a lot thrown at them from some very good teams and have managed to come up with answers. It's an art in itself to keep winning tight games in SFs and Finals.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 18/09/2017 16:37:10    2047581

Replying To hipster:  "Disgraceful thread set up by a disgraceful poster"
The original poster is not alone in that. Shocking bigoted attitudes towards Dublin on here.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 18/09/2017 17:03:17    2047597

Replying To WolfeTone:  "You make your own luck. Vaughan's hit was ridiculous, Doherty should have goaled, Cillian should have scored the free. Any of the 3 would have got Mayo over the line. Easy look outside to blame someone again. Broken records."
You do know this thread was started by posters from other counties with no mayo poster commenting till the third page. Who the broken records?

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 18/09/2017 17:47:12    2047610

A thread that shows the begrudgery towards Dublin and also shows some posters disrespect to both Dublin and Mayo teams. Some of ye are the type that really would take joy in drowning u wanted kittens, taking candy from a baby and the like.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 18/09/2017 17:55:01    2047615

Replying To Spoddgy:  "A thread that shows the begrudgery towards Dublin and also shows some posters disrespect to both Dublin and Mayo teams. Some of ye are the type that really would take joy in drowning u wanted kittens, taking candy from a baby and the like."
Tad harsh no?

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 18/09/2017 18:08:00    2047620

Mayo lost because they were beaten by the better team end of, the ref had a poor game and gave soft frees both way's, O'connor bottled it again and rock didn't can't argue with that. Have to love the begrudgers and jealousy

mightydubs (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 18/09/2017 18:17:23    2047621

In my opinion the best team won without playing well. It used to be said that you needed twelve players playing well to win a final, Mayo had that and still lost. You couldn't say Dublin had twelve players that played well but they still won and that's a measure of how good they are. All this talk about splitting Dublis is pure rubbish. This great Dublin team will eventually fade away as all teams do and the some other county will take over. No need for all the hysteria. Kerry have won much more than Dublin and there is no talk of splitting them.

GreenMan (Offaly) - Posts: 38 - 18/09/2017 19:30:54    2047642

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Mayo lost because of C. O'Connors poor free-taking and Vaughan's stupidity."
And of course Dublin's superb 11 points from play in the second half.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/09/2017 19:43:50    2047650

I stand by every word. The GAA and media coverage around Dublin is becoming like a one party state like China where dissenting opinion is actively discouraged, indeed punishable.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 19/09/2017 14:18:02    2048084

Replying To nextyear:  "I didn't think the last free should have been given. I watched it back. Barret stood his ground and Connolly charged in to him and fell over. I know I've got my mayo glasses on but did anyone see that differentl?"
Yes it was a free. Sorry!

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 19/09/2017 14:36:59    2048101

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I stand by every word. The GAA and media coverage around Dublin is becoming like a one party state like China where dissenting opinion is actively discouraged, indeed punishable."
Far from it. Dublin's 3 in a row has almost been brushed over with all the media coverage and crying about Mayo.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 19/09/2017 14:39:15    2048106

I find it incredible the amount of abuse and bitterness there is against this dublin team. Why can't you acknowledge this is a great team. Every paper has the same slant by 90% of journalists.
Mackenna kimmage fogarty and on and on and on
The majority of us were gracious in our win our players are certainly gracious in their win
Just because we are in the capital and the largest county population wise is that why most of you hate us

You embarrass yourselves and the gaa with all this nonsense

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 19/09/2017 14:53:29    2048111

Replying To nextyear:  "I didn't think the last free should have been given. I watched it back. Barret stood his ground and Connolly charged in to him and fell over. I know I've got my mayo glasses on but did anyone see that differentl?"
DUBLIN JOEdid and he is the one that counts!!

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 19/09/2017 15:07:42    2048114

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I stand by every word. The GAA and media coverage around Dublin is becoming like a one party state like China where dissenting opinion is actively discouraged, indeed punishable."
I think you're being very harsh here Ulsterman. Nobody could look at how the media has dealt with the likes of Connolly,Mc Mahon and maybe others and say they get a free run.They might get more favourable coverage in the main,but Chinese state analogies just don't hold water. There was nothing in it at the end and Dublin just nicked it. Mayo had their chances,if O'Connor had scored his free,which he never should have got cos it game from a line ball that should have went to Dublin,and that Gps moment had put Rock off enough to miss there would be no mention of this stuff. I will agree that in the last minute the Dubs used cynicism and guile to end it and if Mayo had done the same and won it would all be justified on here as them having done what they needed to do to end their football quest for Sam etc etc. So and so would be a hero in Castlebar or Westport for having hauled down whoever in a Dublin shirt to stymie the last attack of the game. Some perspective is needed here. The most outrageous incident to me was Vaughans crazy lashing out. Small was gone,they'd a had an extra man......what ifs and maybes now.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/09/2017 15:13:05    2048117

Replying To 37sowhat:  "DUBLIN JOEdid and he is the one that counts!!"
And what about the O Conor free? Just before that ?

How can posters only see it so one sided?

We both got frees late on that were questionable Mayo missed theirs we didn't miss ours. That's how tight it was again. We scored 11 points from play and 1 free in the second half Mayo scored 1-3 the rest were frees so this Dublin Joe is ridiculous stuff.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/09/2017 15:36:11    2048134

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Mayo denied a clear penalty with mins to go. Most undeserved All Ireland win in history."
I have checked this and you are wrong as usual. The ref had signalled advantage when he was outside the square. As there was no advantage from the first foul accruing he had to call it back to where he first signalled it. A subsequent foul is not given. Get ytour facts right before posting your usual tripe.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/09/2017 15:40:07    2048140