Total Injustice!

What a load of rubbish and I am sick of listening to Mayo blaming the ref for every all-Ireland they lose
Mayo did the same again as always and let in a early goal
Mayo had the chance to go in 4 point up at halftime but kicked easy wides
Mayo were 2 up with 7 min to go and let Dublin in for two easy points
Mayo had a chance to win the game but hit the post
Mayo give the dubs a free to win the game
The ref is not the problem

paul39 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 17/09/2017 21:07:05    2047006

Congratulations to Dublin. I always thought today that they had another gear if needed. Mayo were brilliant and it's hard for them to be the runners up again. The referee was quite good. I thought that mayo could have got a penalty and I think the Dublin guy who had his hands into the Mayo guys mouth could be in trouble
It won't worry him tonight but there's no need for that when you are part of such a brilliant team. Don't let the team down by resorting to tactics like that. It will be sometime before anyone comes close to Dublin.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 17/09/2017 21:10:17    2047009

Replying To preddan:  "Ye were a one hit wonder though"
*3 anyway what has donegal got to do with this?

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 17/09/2017 21:13:46    2047013

Fair play to Mayo posters. They are very knowledgeable fans. I love watching Mayo, I would love to see them win it. There was nothing between the teams today. It came down to two frees, one missed, one scored. I thought referee had a great game. The only thing he missed was o gara's incident. Linesman got a line ball call wrong at the end in Mayo's favour. Vaughan lost the head totally, don't know why he got so worked up it was a standard shoulder into the chest yellow for Small. Best all Ireland final since 2011.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 17/09/2017 21:14:31    2047015

Replying To Gleebo:  "It should be noted that it's not Mayo posters complaining about the decisions.

Dublin won and good luck to them, it takes a special side to win three in a row. As for us, we go again next January."
It is noted and I can only imagine what its like at the moment for you all but you will be back.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 17/09/2017 21:14:57    2047016

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Two dubs run into eachother and get a free and when its brought to the ref brings it in 13 meters.

# football is dead."
Lee Keegan came in and pulled Kilkenny's jersey after he got up. It was completely unnecessary as Kilkenny was winded and going nowhere. As someone who desperately wanted Mayo to win, to put today's loss down to the referee is nonsense. There's an unbelievable amount of sniping and begrudgery at this Dublin team from a lot of people. There was almost nothing between those two great teams today, and Mayo probably played the better football for most of it, but Dublin finished the game the stronger. It will be a travesty if this Mayo team don't win an All-Ireland, but you can be sure their players aren't blaming refereeing decisions. They're made of much stronger stuff. Fair play to both teams for an enthralling day.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 17/09/2017 21:15:14    2047017

Replying To royaldunne:  "But it was a CLEAR PENALTY. Please don't try to deny that. It was a penalty, you got the rub of the green, mayo didn't, Joe got that wrong. You can't cry foul when it's another county and say nothing when it's yours."
Outside box watch it tonight.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 17/09/2017 21:22:27    2047026

Replying To paul39:  "What a load of rubbish and I am sick of listening to Mayo blaming the ref for every all-Ireland they lose
The ref is not the problem"
I do wish people would read the thread before bashing Mayo and their supporters again. This thread wasn't started by a Mayo and not one of the Mayo posters have blamed the referee.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/09/2017 21:27:21    2047031

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Lee Keegan came in and pulled Kilkenny's jersey after he got up. It was completely unnecessary as Kilkenny was winded and going nowhere. As someone who desperately wanted Mayo to win, to put today's loss down to the referee is nonsense. There's an unbelievable amount of sniping and begrudgery at this Dublin team from a lot of people. There was almost nothing between those two great teams today, and Mayo probably played the better football for most of it, but Dublin finished the game the stronger. It will be a travesty if this Mayo team don't win an All-Ireland, but you can be sure their players aren't blaming refereeing decisions. They're made of much stronger stuff. Fair play to both teams for an enthralling day."
Best post well said

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 17/09/2017 21:30:09    2047033

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well done reald me auld friend. Enjoy it, there can be no denying how good this dubs team is. I don't drink either so I know where you coming from.
Now ok it was a penalty that wasn't given, that been said Dublin shaded it. So enjoy the forum , brag all you want to. You and this dubs team have earned that right. Again well done. Dubly3inrow"
Ah fair play to ya RD, I believe the initial foul was outside but I need to watch it again. Either way, it was a very even match over the 70 mins and our balls saw us through, brilliant Mayo team and very unlucky over all when you look back over the years, most teams would be long gone but not this lot. But we're thrilled thats for sure.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/09/2017 21:33:59    2047035

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Joe McQuillan done umpire for Pat McEnaney on numerous occasions. so wouldn't pass much remarks to Pat."
No I understand that and to be fair I was just passing on what I heard on the interview. Personally though I thought the Referee was okay. I thought he made some strange calls but that things balanced out for both teams.

As regards Mayo, I really wanted to see them win today but as they say if you keep repeating the same mistakes then you cannot expect different results. The concession of an early goal, the sending off when really they should have found themselves with a man advantage, the missed free near the end to put them one up, well we have seen it all before and we know how it ends up.

There is no denying that this Dublin team is special but I would not rate them as the best there has been. They have won 3 in a row but could just as easily lost those finals as well. As for all the talk of the great young players coming along well today O'Gara got a starting place in front of a lot of them and I do not rate him as being anything special and their subs included Flynn, Kevin Mc, Connolly and Brogan., so maybe these great prospects may not be so great.

I am not running down Dublin, just trying to see if maybe theres some hope for the rest of us!! To be fair Con O'Callaghan looks a good prospect and some of the more established players have also improved, with John Small as an example of someone whom I think has developed.

Anyway, well done to Dublin and hard luck Mayo. I do hope this Mayo team can come back and win an All Ireland but I think their best chances may have been left behind.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 17/09/2017 21:36:50    2047038

I wouldn't say total injustice mayo best in first half and Dublin best in second.
Ref didn't beat mayo they beat themselves.
What today proved for me that if you push up on Dublin kickouts and go at them they can be beaten.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 17/09/2017 21:44:38    2047040

The refereeing was fine , he made some mistakes (as you would expect)but there were mistakes on both sides, Aidan O'Shea should have been blackcarded and wasn't.

Neither team can legitimately claim they were rode by the referee.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 17/09/2017 21:56:27    2047045

Replying To MesAmis:  "Says a lot. Fair play Gleebo.

Commiserations but they're a great team and are going nowhere.

They were written off by all and sundry this year but kept going and were only a whisker away again.

Mayo are so close and I still think they will get over the line soon."
You mean 'not going away' I take it? ;)

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 17/09/2017 22:01:39    2047048

Best team won and again they weren't playing their best, Mayo only have themselves to blame, ref done his best and had a good game, think this is the end of the road for this Mayo team, just can't get over the line.
Well done Dublin, fantastic team, 3 in a row takes some doing.

El_Torro (Tyrone) - Posts: 155 - 17/09/2017 22:36:28    2047065

Replying To paul39:  "What a load of rubbish and I am sick of listening to Mayo blaming the ref for every all-Ireland they lose
The ref is not the problem"
And I'm sick of people like you who can't be arsed to read the original post by the person who started the topic (Ulsterman).

Nowhere, so far, in the replies has anyone from Mayo blamed the ref.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 17/09/2017 22:40:30    2047066

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Nonsense yourself. You can't say "best team" when only two are playing."
I did. So obviously I can. So there!!!

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/09/2017 22:41:52    2047068

Replying To El_Torro:  "Best team won and again they weren't playing their best, Mayo only have themselves to blame, ref done his best and had a good game, think this is the end of the road for this Mayo team, just can't get over the line.
Well done Dublin, fantastic team, 3 in a row takes some doing."
Was it lee Keegan that threw the GPS at rock when he was taking the winning free?
If so he should have got a straight red

paul39 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 17/09/2017 22:44:06    2047071

Replying To El_Torro:  "Best team won and again they weren't playing their best, Mayo only have themselves to blame, ref done his best and had a good game, think this is the end of the road for this Mayo team, just can't get over the line.
Well done Dublin, fantastic team, 3 in a row takes some doing."
I enjoy this stuff from posters. Dublin keep beating Mayo but are never at their best when doing so. Do you not realise it might be something to do with Mayo actually being able to compete with them? Mayo are the second best team for the last few years, nobody is claiming they are the best but tired of reading this crap. Sean Cavanagh one of the all time greats was laughable in the last 2 weeks, praising Dublin OTT saying how they were untouchable because they tanked Tyrone and said they would win handy today. Just to give you the heads up lad, if Dublin constantly struggle to get over the line against Mayo it's because Mayo are the only team capable of challenging them. An off day can happen once, but not every year against the same team.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 17/09/2017 22:45:33    2047074

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Two dubs run into eachother and get a free and when its brought to the ref brings it in 13 meters.

# football is dead."
No congrats to the your all ireland champions? Didn't think so
#closinggaponthekingdom
#moanyaulshite
#begrudging

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/09/2017 22:47:28    2047077