Mayo's starting team

Will Rochford pull any surprises on Sunday. He's notorious for it. What could he do? I fancy Lee Keegan to pick up McCarthy in midfield. I don't think Connolly starts.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 13/09/2017 16:47:55    2045700

Replying To Whammo86:  "Will Rochford pull any surprises on Sunday. He's notorious for it. What could he do? I fancy Lee Keegan to pick up McCarthy in midfield. I don't think Connolly starts."
Cant see many curveballs from either side this weekend. By all accounts Paul Flynn will be coming in for Dublin to start, just to add a little more experience

Kilkenny is Dublins key man undoubtedly, i would task Keegan with a man-marking job on him.

Mayo also need to seriously think about starting Durcan, he was excellent in both finals last year. Perhaps they could bring him in at wing-forward in place of the out-of-form Diarmuid O'Connor, he has the pace to negate McCaffrey and clip a few big score himself

Bit of a conundrum what to do with AOS, he is definitly not going to be at fb again where Andrews would give him the runaround, having said that the forward line was much better without him in it versus kerry as he always takes too much out of the ball and slows things down. Doherty and Andy were getting great joy out on the d with the ball coming in quicker against Kerry. I would stick AOS midfield with parsons

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 13/09/2017 17:19:30    2045717

Replying To HuddHastings:  "Cant see many curveballs from either side this weekend. By all accounts Paul Flynn will be coming in for Dublin to start, just to add a little more experience

Kilkenny is Dublins key man undoubtedly, i would task Keegan with a man-marking job on him.

Mayo also need to seriously think about starting Durcan, he was excellent in both finals last year. Perhaps they could bring him in at wing-forward in place of the out-of-form Diarmuid O'Connor, he has the pace to negate McCaffrey and clip a few big score himself

Bit of a conundrum what to do with AOS, he is definitly not going to be at fb again where Andrews would give him the runaround, having said that the forward line was much better without him in it versus kerry as he always takes too much out of the ball and slows things down. Doherty and Andy were getting great joy out on the d with the ball coming in quicker against Kerry. I would stick AOS midfield with parsons"
Yeah I'd agree with O'Se in midfield. I can't see Seamie O'Se being mobile enough to play against Fenton and McCarthy. Whilst Aidan isn't amazingly mobile himself, he's still an improvement and would give Dublin something to worry about themselves. Keegan on Kilkenny makes sense also. Has Diarmuid O'Connor been off form? I kind of feel he's just got a bit of a thankless role. Putting in some really hard yards, it's not the showiest job but he's a vital cog in the Mayo lineup.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 13/09/2017 17:57:19    2045726

McCarthy holds his position in MF more that Fenton does. So Keegan might be wasted on him.

He could pick up Kilkenny or mccaffrey.

AOS at full forward. .not really a curveball but could happen to test osullivan or fitzimons under the high ball

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 13/09/2017 18:01:28    2045730

Aidan will be named at 11 and operate between midfield and full forward. That's where he was most effective earlier this summer. Why are we the team to mark Dublin and not the other way around? We need to give them a few things to occupy them. Lee needs to be more on the front foot again compared to the last few games though he hasn't been fully fit. No point in restricting such a good creative and scoring threat to just a manmarking job. Can't see Paddy Durcan starting unless Rockford has a tactical change in mind. He's been very good when brought in off the bench. Should be the same 15 as started the Kerry replay.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 13/09/2017 18:11:55    2045736

there's already a thread on dublin v mayo

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/09/2017 18:12:57    2045737

Replying To cavanman47:  "McCarthy holds his position in MF more that Fenton does. So Keegan might be wasted on him.

AOS at full forward. .not really a curveball but could happen to test osullivan or fitzimons under the high ball"
I think Mayo may need a few more Keegans. Dublin are very mobile all over the pitch so threats from all angles but pace and mobility wise I think Mayo may struggle to contain McCaffrey, Kilkenny, Mannion, Paddy as these lads will roam. Johnny and Philly will also push up the pitch. I don't think the O'Sheas are mobile enough to comtain these. If Mayo press Dublin up the pitch then they may contain the threat and do what Tyrone failed so miserably to do.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/09/2017 18:13:40    2045738

Replying To cavanman47:  "McCarthy holds his position in MF more that Fenton does. So Keegan might be wasted on him.

AOS at full forward. .not really a curveball but could happen to test osullivan or fitzimons under the high ball"
I don't see why we need a splinter topic tbh, but it's possible neither O'Shea will play midfield, apart from the throw ins. That said, I believe Seamus is the more mobile of the two lads. Diarmuid O'Connor is a good match up for Jack McCaffrey. Someone will be on Cian O'Sullivan, but there are a number of potential options. Whoever it is will need to win ball off him whatever way it comes in. If Connolly starts it's hard to see anyone but Keegan on him, though I think it was Paddy Durcan who took over last year after Keegan went off, and Connolly didn't do that much from play. More questions than answers really.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/09/2017 18:32:18    2045750

Replying To Joxer:  "I think Mayo may need a few more Keegans. Dublin are very mobile all over the pitch so threats from all angles but pace and mobility wise I think Mayo may struggle to contain McCaffrey, Kilkenny, Mannion, Paddy as these lads will roam. Johnny and Philly will also push up the pitch. I don't think the O'Sheas are mobile enough to comtain these. If Mayo press Dublin up the pitch then they may contain the threat and do what Tyrone failed so miserably to do."
Kilkenny don't have that raw searing pace that the others have, and he rarely takes on a player from a starting position as he plays riskfree football. That's a compliment btw. He could orchestrate a team to keep the ball for 10 mins I would think, especially the way Tyrone retreated and them losing by 4-5 points.
Manion Costello mccaffrey Connolly very explosive

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 13/09/2017 18:37:54    2045752

Replying To waynoI:  "there's already a thread on dublin v mayo"
I wanted to focus on Stephen Rochford and any surprises he could throw up.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 13/09/2017 19:50:42    2045772

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Aidan will be named at 11 and operate between midfield and full forward. That's where he was most effective earlier this summer. Why are we the team to mark Dublin and not the other way around? We need to give them a few things to occupy them. Lee needs to be more on the front foot again compared to the last few games though he hasn't been fully fit. No point in restricting such a good creative and scoring threat to just a manmarking job. Can't see Paddy Durcan starting unless Rockford has a tactical change in mind. He's been very good when brought in off the bench. Should be the same 15 as started the Kerry replay."
It wouldn't just be about Mayo nullifying Dublin. You can't win like that.

A good team will go out to both negate the oppositions strengths and make the most of their own. It's not a case of one or the other.

Having Keegan go up against McCarthy would test McCarthy also. Keegan is very good at supporting the attack and it could be a way of turning an department where Dublin are strong and turn it more into Mayos favour.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 13/09/2017 19:58:50    2045776

I think Keegan on McCarthy or Kilkenny could easily happen but as others have said why is it all about who Mayo will put on Dublin's players?

That's not a criticism of this thread mind but more about most things I've read or listened to thus far.

As a Dublin fan I'd hope that Jim Gavin is planning his own match ups too.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 13/09/2017 20:04:09    2045778

Replying To MesAmis:  "I think Keegan on McCarthy or Kilkenny could easily happen but as others have said why is it all about who Mayo will put on Dublin's players?

That's not a criticism of this thread mind but more about most things I've read or listened to thus far.

As a Dublin fan I'd hope that Jim Gavin is planning his own match ups too."
It was more about Rochford I was thinking about and how he likes to tinker from game to game.

Gavin on the face of it makes fewer changes to match the opposition.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 13/09/2017 20:18:52    2045781

If Durcan doesn't start then Rochford has to get the boot before a ball is kicked

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/09/2017 08:44:34    2045859

I fancy Keegan to pick up Kilkenny. Aidan could well play anywhere outside of goal and I mean anywhere.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/09/2017 09:28:54    2045872

Correction, Connolly was marked by Stephen Coen not Paddy D... he was on Paddy Andrews.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 14/09/2017 13:28:37    2045966

Replying To yew_tree:  "I fancy Keegan to pick up Kilkenny. Aidan could well play anywhere outside of goal and I mean anywhere."
Same 15 that started against Kerry. While I don't doubt Paddy Durcan is good enough to start the strength of any team is what you have on the bench and this I feel is the best place to use Durcan. An argument could also be made for leaving AOS on the bench but we won't go there!! Name Aidan on half forward line and let him operate between midfield and centre half back and possibly crowd out that area and stop Dublin runners coming through. That aside I would line out orthodox and let Dublin worry about Boyle & Keegan (and Durcan when introduced) coming from the back, let them worry about Doherty, McLoughlin and Diarmuid picking up breaks and driving forward and let Dublin worry about Andy & Cillian inside. If they get fast ball with any of the above coming at pace we will do damage. The only place Mayo should worry about match-ups is in our full back line. Harrison on Mannion, Higgins on Andrews and Barrett on Rock. Everything going to plan Cillian will be walking up the steps of the Hogan Stand Sunday at around 5.30!!

imonmyway (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 14/09/2017 14:54:48    2045988

Replying To imonmyway:  "Same 15 that started against Kerry. While I don't doubt Paddy Durcan is good enough to start the strength of any team is what you have on the bench and this I feel is the best place to use Durcan. An argument could also be made for leaving AOS on the bench but we won't go there!! Name Aidan on half forward line and let him operate between midfield and centre half back and possibly crowd out that area and stop Dublin runners coming through. That aside I would line out orthodox and let Dublin worry about Boyle & Keegan (and Durcan when introduced) coming from the back, let them worry about Doherty, McLoughlin and Diarmuid picking up breaks and driving forward and let Dublin worry about Andy & Cillian inside. If they get fast ball with any of the above coming at pace we will do damage. The only place Mayo should worry about match-ups is in our full back line. Harrison on Mannion, Higgins on Andrews and Barrett on Rock. Everything going to plan Cillian will be walking up the steps of the Hogan Stand Sunday at around 5.30!!"
Its funny how peoples views differ. You're only worried about what I would perceive the only line ye have a chance of breaking even in (until the subs come on!)
Everyone assumes Andrews will start, for some reason I can see him being introduced off the bench.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/09/2017 15:49:21    2046014

Replying To Whammo86:  "It was more about Rochford I was thinking about and how he likes to tinker from game to game.

Gavin on the face of it makes fewer changes to match the opposition."
True enough. Gavin made a couple of big calls ahead of the replay last year too.

I like Rochford though as he shipped a lot of undue criticism over the keeper call last year imo. He could well have a trick up his sleeve Sunday.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 14/09/2017 18:07:02    2046059

Gavin might start O'Gara to see if Rochford will put Aidan on him. Donie Vaughan would be the man to take that job on imo. The only certainty in the Dubs FF line is Dean Rock. Still, unless Gavin swaps Connolly in for Paddy A, I can see him starting with the same forwards, even Scully, as they fit well with the way the Dubs are playing. Paul Flynn I think will be held back since he did so well from the bench the last day.

Read the Bomber's article earlier. He sort of tipped Mayo, or at least didn't write us off, while stating that the Dubs were superior in every way, individually and collectively, something he'd never be saying about Kerry had they managed to scrape through the first day in the semifinal. The heart and the head say different things, no better example. I like Bomber, but this is what you get until you deliver. History isn't just written by the winners, but for the winners too.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 14/09/2017 18:37:13    2046070