Joe Mc Quillan for football final

Joe has actually refereed Dublin's last two championship defeats..

Not blaming the ref as they were soundly beaten on both occasions but could be a good omen for Mayo..

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 05/09/2017 08:58:53    2042865

Replying To jobber:  "Since the All Ireland final of 2011 there have been serious questions about the Cavan man's impartiality when it comes to Dublin."
Enlighten us?

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 05/09/2017 09:42:50    2042870

He's a good ref and best of luck to him and his team on the day. Hopefully we are not discussing his performance after the event and it has no major bearing on the result.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 05/09/2017 10:04:40    2042880

Replying To jobber:  "Since the All Ireland final of 2011 there have been serious questions about the Cavan man's impartiality when it comes to Dublin."
No there hasn't.
Only in the mind of the usual halfwits.
Not implying anything at all. Just making the point.

A69

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 05/09/2017 10:10:12    2042882

Replying To jimbodub:  "He had his good name severely questioned in the media by James Horan back in 2012 and was shamefully targeed for years on social media since 2011

He's had some very questionable performances since all off the back of all that negative attention"
Oh Jim its big bad mayos fault. What was it Jim Gavin said in 2013? 'We had to play mayo and the ref!' Of course it's only Mayos fault.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/09/2017 10:13:29    2042884

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Is it true that he has refereed internal games at Dublin training sessions? That would be the only problem I would see with him in charge of true. If it is true, Mayo should demand he come down to Castlebar before the final and referee on of their A vs B games in training."
Is this a bit of a myth? I suspect it's BS, but if not then he definitely should not be reffing Dublin games. Can anybody actually confirm this?

Overall I think he is a decent ref doing the best that he can, he makes mistakes, same as any ref. They have an impossible job these days.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/09/2017 10:14:28    2042885

I agree in the last game he reffed between Dublin and Mayo, Dublin got two black cards and a red, poor old Dermot Connolly only got his red card rescinded the night before the replay.

i suppose Joe got on better with the B Team then the A. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/09/2017 10:16:11    2042886

Replying To MURPHB33:  "Joe has actually refereed Dublin's last two championship defeats..

Not blaming the ref as they were soundly beaten on both occasions but could be a good omen for Mayo.."
I doubt it's a good omen we've only won one match in three with Joe reffing. So much for him being biased to either county. Anyways I would debunk omens as a mayo man as they have a habit of being false for us.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/09/2017 10:49:04    2042897

Who do the halfwits want to blame for our last two All-Irelands, seeing as McQuillan didn't ref either?

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 05/09/2017 10:51:45    2042899

Replying To dubdec99:  "Who do the halfwits want to blame for our last two All-Irelands, seeing as McQuillan didn't ref either?"
The Illuminati?

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 05/09/2017 11:10:40    2042908

It's interesting that a ref has a whole thread set up on his appointment.
I can't recall that happening in the past.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 05/09/2017 11:50:23    2042929

Replying To westkerry:  "It's interesting that a ref has a whole thread set up on his appointment.
I can't recall that happening in the past."
Remember the free he gave in extra time against Tyrone in their league game v Dublin this year to level the game west Kerry ? the Dublin guy tripped himself and Joe gave him the free.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2017 12:53:14    2042944

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Remember the free he gave in extra time against Tyrone in their league game v Dublin this year to level the game west Kerry ? the Dublin guy tripped himself and Joe gave him the free."
Remember the free he gave that Cluxton popped over the bar? ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 05/09/2017 13:19:23    2042955

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Remember the free he gave in extra time against Tyrone in their league game v Dublin this year to level the game west Kerry ? the Dublin guy tripped himself and Joe gave him the free."
I love how much he riles you lads from Kerry. '11 still sticks in your craw. 6 years later. Cant accept you just weren't good enough that day. 5 point turnaround in last 10 minutes. One hand on Sam and yous blew it. And you've done nothing since but besmirch a good mans impartiality. If there was prize given out each year for sore losers you'd win it every year. There'd be calls to split Kerry in 10,

Anyway it shouldn't make any difference to yourselves. Once again your not good enough. Hope Dublin win, but if Mayo do finally make breakthrough I'll go home happy in knowledge that Kerry weren't good enough. Again.

up the Dubs
A69

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 05/09/2017 13:38:10    2042965

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Remember the free he gave that Cluxton popped over the bar? ;)"
Priceless.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 05/09/2017 13:38:52    2042966

Replying To El_Torro:  "Great man for the job, hope he keeps a close eye on Keegan and co."
Lee has been a perfect little angel the last few matches, don't think he has as much as given away a free. I think Joe will be more concerned with the Dublin tactic of fouling inside the opposition half to slow down the break out of defence. They are quite adept at it. Just enough for the free but usually not quite a yellow or black. Although they'll take the yellow if need be, plenty of good subs to come on. Surprised you didn't spot that, you being from Tyrone, but I suppose you were too busy trying to figure out the Tyrone tactics. That's assuming they had any!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/09/2017 13:42:20    2042969

The usual Kerry lads having a hard time with this appointment

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 05/09/2017 13:50:12    2042971

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Remember the free he gave that Cluxton popped over the bar? ;)"
Outstanding Sir, well played :-)

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 05/09/2017 14:06:10    2042976

Haha I wouldn't mind that was not even the worst call that day...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 05/09/2017 14:06:41    2042977

Ya I also remember the 13 meter free he gave to Bernard brogan when he was up on killian youngs back and killian trying to solo out with the ball.

I also remember all of our frees were given 45/50 meters out near the touch line.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2017 14:07:10    2042978