Well done Fergal Horgan

have to say a great game that was helped in matter by how it was refereed. fergal did a great job and let it flow as best he could. ive seen lots of posts on here criticizing his appointment but can we be fair and say well done good job?

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 03/09/2017 22:59:31    2042369

100% agree. Mighty officiating

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/09/2017 23:18:30    2042371

He did ok but I wouldn't over-eulogise either, he was too lenient at times and was letting blatant fouls go.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/09/2017 23:25:39    2042375

Replying To mrsme:  "have to say a great game that was helped in matter by how it was refereed. fergal did a great job and let it flow as best he could. ive seen lots of posts on here criticizing his appointment but can we be fair and say well done good job?"
Both teams deserve to be complimented on their approach to the game, with no attempt at nastiness. This made it easier for the ref and allowed him to let the game flow. Well done to the ref.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/09/2017 23:30:16    2042376

for me he was man of the match

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 03/09/2017 23:35:48    2042377

fair play.another ref with a bit of common sense..himself and brian gavin are head and shoulders above the rest

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 04/09/2017 00:07:39    2042391

Obviously I was a neutral at today's gripping match.

Magnificent refereeing performance by Fergal Horgan

Ibbecek (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 04/09/2017 00:16:19    2042395

If you want to be really picky you could say he gave a few soft frees BUT in the bigger picture he was excellent. Well done!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9696 - 04/09/2017 01:43:47    2042401

Defo did a great job. Couple of mistakes but nothing major. Excellent performance.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 04/09/2017 06:39:59    2042407

"Letting it flow" means ignoring a host of obvious frees. This happened continuously yesterday, and was very frustrating to watch. The second half was very stop-start, with numerous extended rucks. Now, if that what people want, that's grand: just write it into the rule books so all refs do this consistently.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 04/09/2017 08:07:23    2042413

Depends on what sort of job you want a hurling referee to do. As seems to be the case in the majority of games the full rules don't get applied so in that regard he did well. But on the whole, either remove half the rules i.e. the amount of steps, the hand pass, the tackle etc and allow manhandling, stick holding, grabbing back, taking attackers down etc as par for the course. That or else tell referees they have to actually apply the rules as written.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 04/09/2017 08:27:57    2042415

I thought he had a good game, miles ahead of football refs, hurling is a tough game, football is getting soft with easy won frees

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/09/2017 08:33:22    2042417

Jesus, he seemed to let a lot go in my opinion. On both sides. No influence on the game or anything

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/09/2017 09:04:13    2042425

Heres one.

Has a referee (regardless of sport, and I'm not just applying this to FH) really had a good game if he isn't applying the rules ?

I mean, Sure, less whistling means less stoppages which equals more free flowing game which equals better entertainment especially as a neutral.

But, A referee's job isn't to make the game a spectacle. The referees job is to spot fouls/infringements etc and call them.

People on one hand want refs to implement to rules, but at the same time, dont want them to apply the rules cause it makes the game stop start.

Damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.

I feel so sorry for referees. They just cant win.

A ref especially yesterday can decide to keep the whistle in his pocket and then if he blows for a blatent, blatent infringement he will be lambasted for a lack of consistency, And yet if he is whistle happy and misses a blatent infringement he will get lambasted aswell and in both cases he hasn't had as good a game as people will be all over the ref.

For me, A ref's job is to implement the rules, if he doesn't, you cant say he has had a good game.

But then everyone has a different view and so I dont think youll ever get 100% of people saying a ref has had a good game, which, is actually a bit of a shame. Considering the job he has to do, being a player in a piece of cake in comparison.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/09/2017 09:16:10    2042435

Replying To waynoI:  "Heres one.

Has a referee (regardless of sport, and I'm not just applying this to FH) really had a good game if he isn't applying the rules ?

I mean, Sure, less whistling means less stoppages which equals more free flowing game which equals better entertainment especially as a neutral.

But, A referee's job isn't to make the game a spectacle. The referees job is to spot fouls/infringements etc and call them.

People on one hand want refs to implement to rules, but at the same time, dont want them to apply the rules cause it makes the game stop start.

Damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.

I feel so sorry for referees. They just cant win.

A ref especially yesterday can decide to keep the whistle in his pocket and then if he blows for a blatent, blatent infringement he will be lambasted for a lack of consistency, And yet if he is whistle happy and misses a blatent infringement he will get lambasted aswell and in both cases he hasn't had as good a game as people will be all over the ref.

For me, A ref's job is to implement the rules, if he doesn't, you cant say he has had a good game.

But then everyone has a different view and so I dont think youll ever get 100% of people saying a ref has had a good game, which, is actually a bit of a shame. Considering the job he has to do, being a player in a piece of cake in comparison."
The ref " let it flow", which means ignoring fouls and a lot of people like that but it does not always work out 50 / 50 to both teams. I thought in the last 10 minutes he made 2 crucial calls, Fives was fouled on his way out of defence and the ref gave a free against him for over carrying which Joe Canning scored, then a few minutes later the ref did a quick throw-in which was straight to 2 Galway players and another point was scored which at that stage of the game were vital scores and swung the game Galways way.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 04/09/2017 09:44:21    2042441

Replying To football first:  ""Letting it flow" means ignoring a host of obvious frees. This happened continuously yesterday, and was very frustrating to watch. The second half was very stop-start, with numerous extended rucks. Now, if that what people want, that's grand: just write it into the rule books so all refs do this consistently."
Well said. I thought he had a mare of a game. Ignored blatant fouls , he did not enforce the rules , since when is that to be applauded ??

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 04/09/2017 10:26:38    2042462

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Depends on what sort of job you want a hurling referee to do. As seems to be the case in the majority of games the full rules don't get applied so in that regard he did well. But on the whole, either remove half the rules i.e. the amount of steps, the hand pass, the tackle etc and allow manhandling, stick holding, grabbing back, taking attackers down etc as par for the course. That or else tell referees they have to actually apply the rules as written."
Agree. He either didn't know the rules or just didn't apply them. As someone who refs a few games his handling was shocking at times . those of us who get criticism because we apply the rules as the set out, see the nonenforcement like yesterday getting eulogized and its very disheartening.

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 04/09/2017 10:31:07    2042463

Replying To joeblogs10:  "Well said. I thought he had a mare of a game. Ignored blatant fouls , he did not enforce the rules , since when is that to be applauded ??"
The rules of hurling no longer are a true reflection of the game as we now see it and its been that way for quite a while now.

Lets call them half fouls, are let go all the time now, the tugs, the spare arm across the man, head high hurls around the neck, the overcarrying, the dodgy handpassing and so forth.
This has been the case since the cats upped the "intincity" ala Tyrone in the football and with Cody intimidating every official who dared to blow them up for it and "taking the manliness out of hurling".
The rest have got up to speed in this regard now and we have what we have which IMO can descend into bunching like we saw a few times yesterday where its near on impossible to decide who's fouling who so we let it go unabaited.

Not sure what the answer is, but I'd prefer it to some of the feigning we see in the big ball. Can you image the face holding and rolling about if a footballer had taken the hit that John Hanbury got from Kevin Moran? Hanbury was right back up on his feet within seconds.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 04/09/2017 10:47:22    2042467

Replying To joeblogs10:  "Well said. I thought he had a mare of a game. Ignored blatant fouls , he did not enforce the rules , since when is that to be applauded ??"
Overall,he had a good game but I do think he made some wrong decisions in the last 10 minutes which hurt Waterford but,having said that,Waterford hurt themselves with some bad wides which cost them in the end.
My prediction for this game all along was a draw and I believe that's how it would have ended if Waterford hadn't hit those wides.
C'est la vie.

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 04/09/2017 11:15:00    2042482

Replying To Clubgaa:  "The ref " let it flow", which means ignoring fouls and a lot of people like that but it does not always work out 50 / 50 to both teams. I thought in the last 10 minutes he made 2 crucial calls, Fives was fouled on his way out of defence and the ref gave a free against him for over carrying which Joe Canning scored, then a few minutes later the ref did a quick throw-in which was straight to 2 Galway players and another point was scored which at that stage of the game were vital scores and swung the game Galways way."
i agree with you

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/09/2017 11:55:07    2042503