Roddy Doyle. Typical Dub or the exception?

Why do you not think players playing astro league soccer etc should not be counted as people who are participating in playing soccer? Being a 'club member' is not great criteria. Know plenty of lads who run sub 3 marathons but are not members of running clubs. Laughable at the logic that these are not real runners.

Runinng & swimming are by far the biggest participation sports in Ireland . Soccer is far ahead of Gaelic football in Dublin

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 01/09/2017 20:54:35    2041701

Sure ya can't beat people talking about you when you have a new book out.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 01/09/2017 21:08:35    2041703

LoI teams in Dublin average 8k people a week combined plus the thousands who to England and Scotland every weekend & also international matches means bigger number of match attendees than GAA

General intetest no question soccer is more popular. Most people in alot of Dublin couldnt name a single Dublin player but everyone would recognise Roy Keane..etc

Under every criteria you list soccer is more popular. I dont follow it much myself but that is the reality

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 01/09/2017 21:11:28    2041704

In Cork, soccer is more popular than Gaelic games.

I would say that Cork is the urban area with most concentrated interest in Gaelic games and the place goes mad when the hurlers do well.

However, in terms of participation and people watching the game (mostly EPL) it comes second to soccer.

And what about it? For every Roddy Doyle type view, there are some people within the GAA that have negative attitudes toward soccer and Rugby too. Let everyone have their views. They do not take away from my enjoyment of various sports.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 01/09/2017 21:36:09    2041711

Replying To hill16no1man:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=seanie_boy:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "Have you heard this podcast an what he said? I haven't so I'm not taking an edited version if what he said in a podcast from an online tabloid journalist as gospel truth.

Doyle is a Chelsea supporter twice as long as the EPL has been around. No doubt some will think he's a Chelsea bandwagoner.

link"
I couldn't care less about who he supports and for how long. I prefer gaa and don't like his accusations that it's a non attended con job. Who does he think he is?"
Have you heard the podcast? Is he not entitled to his opinion even if you disagree with him?"]He is entitled but when he can't back up any point he makes then aren't we entitled to rip that opinion apart for what it is as somebody who just doesn't like gaa ?
ig your going to come out and paint a whole sport with one brush then you for to be able to take what comes back at you."]How do you know what he said?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 01/09/2017 21:36:19    2041712

Replying To hill16no1man:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=hill16no1man:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "On what basis are you suggesting soccer is number 1 sport in dublin, anybody I ever hear say this has no actual answer to that question with a single fact.
I have clearly stated three real categories of defining a sport's position as
1 attendances
2 participation
3 general interest including tv viewing figures
If you take each sport to task on all three areas Gaelic football is clearly number 1 in Dublin
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:12455 - 01/09/2017 12:17:44

Soccer is most participated in team sport in Dublin. From organised leagues, to 5 a side, to lads playing heads and volley down the park etc. That's anecdotally but am happy to say I'm wrong if you've stats to contradict the prevailing opinion of most people.

I'm not sure but I'd imagine that aggregated TV viewership for soccer in Dublin is higher all across the year than for Gaelic Football. I certainly haven't seen any stats that would dispute that but again I am happy to see them and say I'm wrong if that is the case.

Attendances is the only place where Football trumps soccer in Dublin, although I'd wager it is closer than you may think when one factors in all those heading to the UK (and Europe) every weekend for a game. Have you ever been to Dublin airport early on a Sat morn? It's full of lads in Celtic, Man Utd, Liverpool etc jerseys catching flights. Thousands head over every weekend from Ireland (not just Dublin obviously)."
Soccer participation levels are completely flawed, the census that 5 aside astro or a bunch of lads togging out before they go to the pub to watch a match is classed as actual players largely dwells these numbers. Tv viewership levels for league of Ireland is miniscule compared to gaa figures, just look at tg4 figures for league games with there most highest rates programmes being gaa bro not to mention the Sunday game on rte on another planet to republic of soccer.
attendance wise the gaa totally demolishes league of Ireland ithat you get more at a Dublin club championship game on a Wednesday night than the entire league of Ireland attendances for a round of fixtures in Dublin.
it's a great myth that soccer is number one sport in Dublin, there's no figures to back it up whatsoever."
link"]What's the point of the link?"]I think the heading 'Dublin Soccer Clubs Listed by Area' is self-explanatory. And probably at those clubs those playing, coaching, refereeing, sponsors, players parents, etc are interested in soccer. A huge percentage of those probably follow the Dubs too.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 01/09/2017 21:47:33    2041715

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Why do you not think players playing astro league soccer etc should not be counted as people who are participating in playing soccer? Being a 'club member' is not great criteria. Know plenty of lads who run sub 3 marathons but are not members of running clubs. Laughable at the logic that these are not real runners.

Runinng & swimming are by far the biggest participation sports in Ireland . Soccer is far ahead of Gaelic football in Dublin"
I agree totally.

Laughable that someone playing Astro doesn't count as someone with some interest in soccer.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 01/09/2017 21:51:31    2041716

In light of Roddy Doyle's preference for Soccer - albeit English Soccer Oh and of course Republic of Ireland soccer games we all love to the lads in green. But a few questions and some answers.

Is it ratings that make a sport No 1? no way:
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/0112/844499-rte-soccer-and-gaa/

How many watching Rep of Ireland matches are GAA people? How many watching Rugby are GAA people? so no its not TV watchers I mean lets face it they are the bane of any sport. But collectively there is no comparison when you chuck in Ladies football and camogie figures GAA viewing figures go off the richter.

Is it live spectators? Possibly and in that regard there is no one near the GAA in Ireland.
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-football-is-most-attended-sport-according-to-sports-council-survey-1.1948431

Is it participants/membership? definitely and if your selective with the figures you can make any argument.
GAA
334,339 PLAYERS (508,936 MEMBERS)
230,000 women play Ladies Gaelic football
100,000 women play Camogie
That is a lot of people paying to play their sport. Now if you include power walkers, strollers and in fact any movement of the body surely athletics is up there but how many actually pay to run?

Ditto Basketball which is arguebly far bigger than soccer, the point is Roddy Doyle is talking through his rear end but I forgive for the poem I read "A Horse called Rover..........." it's funny a bit like what he had to say the other day.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 01/09/2017 22:03:22    2041720

How many in the figures making up who play 5 a side on monday and wedndsday with mates are out in local gaa clubs tuesday and thursday training for a gaa match sat or sun?

Who cares what the most played is anyway? I love sports and im pretty sure mine is best and thats all that matters

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 01/09/2017 22:16:53    2041723

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To hill16no1man:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "[quote=seanie_boy:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "Have you heard this podcast an what he said? I haven't so I'm not taking an edited version if what he said in a podcast from an online tabloid journalist as gospel truth.

Doyle is a Chelsea supporter twice as long as the EPL has been around. No doubt some will think he's a Chelsea bandwagoner.

link"
I couldn't care less about who he supports and for how long. I prefer gaa and don't like his accusations that it's a non attended con job. Who does he think he is?"
Have you heard the podcast? Is he not entitled to his opinion even if you disagree with him?"]He is entitled but when he can't back up any point he makes then aren't we entitled to rip that opinion apart for what it is as somebody who just doesn't like gaa ?
ig your going to come out and paint a whole sport with one brush then you for to be able to take what comes back at you."]How do you know what he said?"]Wise up. Didn't somebody start the thread over what he said.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2017 22:50:08    2041726

GAA is my first love but I'm also a big soccer fan (LOI ) and I've been to many Man U and Celtic matches .

I've noticed down the years the slagging GAA gets and I don't understand it .

Are the soccer and Rugby people insecure or what ?

The divide is probably more noticeable in Dublin due to its size ?

Question for Dubs: is the GAA growing in Dublin ? I would think it is and fair play to all who promote it in our great capital city .

Most of these so called 'die hard ' soccer fans don't even attend matches . They subscribe to sky sports - its fake , it's not real.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 01/09/2017 22:50:46    2041727

Just on another post by a Donegal person .

Yeah vast regions in north Donegal have a hatred of GAA.

Inishowen would be the same.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/09/2017 07:43:48    2041746

I can never understand how any irish man or woman could not be interested in our national sport. I think we need to remember however that our own sense of Irishness will have a different meaning for someone living in rural ireland compared to what it means to someone in affluent south dublin.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 02/09/2017 10:46:18    2041762

Replying To seanie_boy:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=hill16no1man:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "[quote=seanie_boy:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "Have you heard this podcast an what he said? I haven't so I'm not taking an edited version if what he said in a podcast from an online tabloid journalist as gospel truth.

link"
ig your going to come out and paint a whole sport with one brush then you for to be able to take what comes back at you."]How do you know what he said?"]Wise up. Didn't somebody start the thread over what he said."]They started with an online site's version of what he said.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 02/09/2017 10:46:45    2041763

hill16man the manager wants all tv showing the rugby as people will be coming back from thomond park and he wants the rerun of the rugby on for them."

eh its limerick on the night of a munster game -what did you expect!!!!!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 02/09/2017 12:38:51    2041784

Replying To arock:  "Roddy Doyle is a socceroo, the opposite of say a Ruggeroo from the opposite side of the City. Both types come from a part of the city that regard the GAA as some sort of embarressment. Neither types have time or space for the GAA, they see the GAA and the people that follow it as some sort of vile throw-back they see it in a very narrow generalised way. They praise soccer but wouldn't be seen dead at a League of Ireland game says a lot about this authors character. A bit disappointing but not terribly surprising to hear such rubbish from someone who is supposed to have insight etc etc All he is doing is well spouting his own prejudice but I guess. You get this type of people in all areas of Ireland not just Dublin but he is fairly typical of a certain type that are best avoided/ignored it comes from an inferiority complex typical of people who regard themselves as Cosmopolitan but haven't actually left the street they born in."
well said.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 02/09/2017 12:41:33    2041787

I'll rank Irish fans of our main team sports in terms of how narrow-minded they are:

1. Premiership soccer fans - easy winners. Largely ignorant about non-mainstream sports such as basketball, boxing, or athletics. Slightly contemptuous of LOI soccer. Unaware of / baffled by Rugby. Despises / sneers at GAA and GAA fans. Sees sport as a primarily-male bonding activity / escape from the demands of family and community. Mentally colonised to the hilt; lives in a wee Premiership bubble and tends not to have too many cultural interests outside of the Anglo-sphere bubble. Step forward, Rodney.

2. Rugby fans. Vaguely aware of GAA in a few instances. (When Rugby was played at Croke Park while Lansdowne Rd was being refurbished, the Irish Times published a map showing Rugby fans how to get to Croke Park ...) Ironically, much more likely to be aware of GAA in the North, where Rugby is less middle-class than it is in Dublin. Largely uninterested; if pushed will express polite interest. In my experience (I knew some guys who played for Ireland), contemptuous of "un-physical" soccer. One of the Rugby fellas I knew described the one Irish international soccer game he'd attended as the "most boring and pointless thing he'd ever seen". I found myself in the odd position of having to defend (i) the quality of "hoof it and hope" Irish soccer and (ii) of soccer generally. Admittedly, defending (ii) is an easier thing to do.

3. LOI fans / Celtic fans. Passionate about local soccer and generally reasonably OK with GAA. No interest in Rugby.

4. GAA fans. The fans with the most (small-c) catholic sporting interests. Generally, well clued up on / interested in soccer and rugby; quite a few GAA players will play either sport for crack (Peter Canavan played for a local soccer team in Tyrone; he was their free-kick specialist - "bend it like God"). Look at McGuiness in China. Mickey Harte is friendly with Ferguson, both he and Scholes were over at his daughter's funeral. Quite a few guys make the transition to and from Rugby. [Mickey Ned O'Sullivan coached the Springboks: "Kerry's 1975 All-Ireland winning captain says many of the South Africans were highly impressed with a clip of the 2005 All-Ireland final between Kerry and Tyrone. "In Durban, when we were with the Sharks, I showed 10 minutes featuring some of Darragh O Se's catches and they asked to see the whole game. "Ironically, David Campese was one of their backroom team back then. Very few of the South Africans had an awareness of Gaelic football but Campese had." In Pretoria, home of the Blue Bulls, he recalls the receptiveness and willingness to learn of Victor Matfield and Bryan Habana." Google "Mickey Ned Springboks".]

Typical GAA person sees GAA as part of his or her and community identity; sees soccer and rugby as good entertainment.

You either like sports, or you don't. My position is that all sports are great and that anyone who professes to "hate" or look down on any sport is a plonker who probably doesn't even much like the sports they claim to like.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 02/09/2017 13:29:17    2041797

Some viewing figures from 2016, apply your own analysis.....
ROI v France Euros 1.26m
ROI v Italy 1.23m
ROI v Sweden 1.08m
Dublin v Mayo .927m
ROI v Belgium .925m
Dublin v Mayo Replay .843m
Kilkenny v Tipperary .785m
France v Portugal Euro Final .782m
Wales v Portugal Euro semi .725m
Ireland v All Blacks Second game .682m
Most interesting for me are the big figures watching the 2 Euro games where Ireland werent playing.

Incidentally I would watch all of the above as I love sport . Ladies football today, Soccer later, Hurling tomorrow.
What a weekend.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 02/09/2017 13:30:33    2041799

Replying To essmac:  "well said."
arock your post reminds me of something my 85 year old dad once told me , " there's no worse snob than a corporation snob " and that sums up many who look down there nose in Dublin at the GAA they think they'd catch fleas if they associated with us and by not doing so they feel better about themselves , I've never suffered from an inferiority complex and let them have it at every opportunity

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 02/09/2017 15:13:01    2041826

Replying To conordee:  "Some viewing figures from 2016, apply your own analysis.....
ROI v France Euros 1.26m
ROI v Italy 1.23m
ROI v Sweden 1.08m
Dublin v Mayo .927m
ROI v Belgium .925m
Dublin v Mayo Replay .843m
Kilkenny v Tipperary .785m
France v Portugal Euro Final .782m
Wales v Portugal Euro semi .725m
Ireland v All Blacks Second game .682m
Most interesting for me are the big figures watching the 2 Euro games where Ireland werent playing.

Incidentally I would watch all of the above as I love sport . Ladies football today, Soccer later, Hurling tomorrow.
What a weekend."
Not really. Another odd 90000 actually at the AI final games. Plus you are comparing with uniqueness of Ireland being in a touro finals whereby thousands of non sport folk tune in.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 02/09/2017 15:42:29    2041833