Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final?

Replying To arock:  "9 minutes added disgraceful, we played officials and 31 countirs full of bleeding hearts well bleed away. Looking forward to four now"
There's an asterisk beside all your wins these days anyway. And that's the money that should be going to 31 other counties going to you.

Congrats a team of professionals is dominating an amateur sport. It's embarrassing at this stage.

Anybody wondering why the ref played 3 mins extra it's because Dublin were constantly time wasting the whole additional time period.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 17/09/2017 17:39:39    2046780

Congrats Dublin.

Mayo I don't know what to say at this stage. I'M sure ye are beyond the empty hard lucks so I'll be brutally honest. Why do you shoot yourselves in the foot constantly? That first goal, criminal defending. Those stupid wides, unforgivable.

Until you build a culture which eradicates the proud in defeat mantra and doesn't accept these mistakes you will never cross that line.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/09/2017 17:39:59    2046783

Regarding the peno, O Connor would have missed it. Or else put it over the bar.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/09/2017 17:40:47    2046784

Replying To essmac:  "Both incidents were frontal shoulders. How is one red and one yellow?"
there was a ball involved in the first tackle , it happened quickly in the course of the game, it was a bad tackle no more no less. Vaughan lost the head and came rushing in and gave the ref no option. He also lost the scoreable free for Mayo as the ref threw it up.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 17/09/2017 17:42:06    2046791

Well done Dublin. Great team. Unlucky Mayo. Heartbreaking

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 17/09/2017 17:42:27    2046792

Replying To royaldunne:  "The penalty was a disgrace . How the hell was it not one. The initial foul was committed INSIDE THE SQUARE."
Would Cillian O Connor have scored the peno? I would say he might have put it over the bar. Mayo played well but they needed a good lead at half time, they did'nt get it. Their manager picked the wrong team again!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/09/2017 17:43:55    2046796

Congratulations to Dublin. Best team on the day. Showed all yer class to hold out for the win even when not playing well. From the Hogan Dean Rock looked like man of the match. Enjoy the celebrations.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 17/09/2017 17:44:42    2046797

Replying To galwayford:  "Dublin were better team-just. Once again Gavin got the big calls right. Once again Aidan O Shea failed to deliver for Mayo. Once the first goal went in after 90seconds Mayo were beaten. They needed a good start- and t hey did'nt get it.
Mayo should look to win a Connacht title or the National football league next year."
ridiculous comment re. AOS. He had a great game.. wise-up.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 17/09/2017 17:44:53    2046798

Well hard to gather your thoughts after such a helter skelter game but my immediate feelings are that Mayo have only themselves to blame. They knew coming into the game what to expect from Dublin (and the referee) and yet the minute it looked like their opportunity had come when it was obvious that the Dublin player was going to be sent off, indiscipline took hold and they were down a man as well.

I'm not saying they would have won with a man advantage but you would think they probably would, so for me that was a huge turning point and one of Mayos own making.

O'connor missed a difficult free but again it would have put them in the driving seat and they could have played the clock down and won.

Finally the last two kickouts were dire and whilst Dublin were pushing up on the two kick outs, making it difficult for the goalkeeper, he took completely the wrong options.

I would love to see this Mayo team win an All Ireland and I am gutted that they did not win today, but most of all I am gutted because really at the end of it all Mayo have only themselves to blame. Its easy to blame the referee and the obvious advantages that are given to Dublin, but today Mayo contributed to their own downfall and the mistakes were typical of a team and a county that seem to revel in failure and seem unable to grasp the reality that you have to earn the right to an All Ireland not be handed it.

Until they learn this they will remain the greatest team to have never won an All Ireland

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 17/09/2017 17:46:15    2046800

Replying To galwayford:  "Dublin were better team-just. Once again Gavin got the big calls right. Once again Aidan O Shea failed to deliver for Mayo. Once the first goal went in after 90seconds Mayo were beaten. They needed a good start- and t hey did'nt get it.
Mayo should look to win a Connacht title or the National football league next year."
Keyboard warrior of the month. Some man to talk complete rubbish.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 17/09/2017 17:47:35    2046802

Complete Rubbish. Mayo were ahead on a few occasions how were they beaten after 90 seconds.

Some of you boys on here are complete loopers.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4208 - 17/09/2017 17:49:53    2046805

Congratulations Dublin. Hope Jim Gavin is a just a tad more gracious this time around, but I suppose his focus is on the history books, so maybe he'll do the same as last year. Have to say I'm completely gutted. Will have to put up with Dubs supporters telling me they were always going to find a way because of their clear superiority. Largely guys whose first love is cross channel or rugby. Maybe that's just the way they see it when so many sides lie down in front of them. Another year of that and the rest from the media. That's the f*ckin curse! Small margins relegate you to history's footnotes. Well done again Dub's HS supporters, enjoy what is a remarkable achievement.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 17/09/2017 17:53:49    2046815

Replying To letsgosligo:  "Anyone know what other teams compete in the Gaelic Football World Cup that Cluxton was talking about?"
He said o Byrne cup. Open your ears.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 17/09/2017 17:59:54    2046823

To the Mayo folk on here, sincerest commiserations, great team and no luck, it doesn't seem fair, of course I'm a happy man but I genuinely feel for you.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/09/2017 18:01:05    2046827

Jeez its awful tough on Mayo i feel so sorry for ye lads. I thought they had when they went 2 up in the last 10 mins.
Some poor misses and the poor defending for the goal in the first half cost them as well as vaughans sending off they shouldve had a penalty too. In fairness though they were playing one of the greatest teams in football history although im sure thats no solace to them.
Ye probably wont feel it tonight or for a good while but the breakthrough will come sooner rather than later.

fireinthebelly (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 17/09/2017 18:02:37    2046829

Also c oconnor, A oshea didnt have the great games that they can have and andy moran was a bit quiet in 2nd half although his pass for keegans goal was superb

fireinthebelly (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 17/09/2017 18:17:32    2046846

Replying To Whammo86:  "Complete Rubbish. Mayo were ahead on a few occasions how were they beaten after 90 seconds.

Some of you boys on here are complete loopers."
That poster just begrudges Mayo. Win a Connacht title fffs, they won 5 of the last7!
Congrats to Dublin, showed serious composure.

I don't know what to say to Mayo. They were heroic.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/09/2017 18:17:38    2046847

As a dub delighted to get the win. Dublins strength off the bench was decisive in the final 10 minutes. Genuine commiserations to Mayo - fantastic team & people. Im sure they are hurting now. Usual bitter posters (notably non Mayo) not covering themselves in glory with abuse of Dublin players/GAA - they really have no clue what the GAA is about. Mayos time will come sooner rather than later.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 17/09/2017 18:22:19    2046851

Replying To realdub:  "To the Mayo folk on here, sincerest commiserations, great team and no luck, it doesn't seem fair, of course I'm a happy man but I genuinely feel for you."
Class post from a class poster.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/09/2017 18:22:56    2046855

Fair play to Dublin. 3 in a row is a fantastic achievement. Mayo will feel sick as they had enough chances and had the lead late in the game. Joe McQuillan had a poor game in my opinion, he missed loads. 1st goal for O'Callaghan were he took to many steps, Keegan penalty near end of the game, O'Gara hand in face in 1st half, Rock's equaliser to make it 1-13 each (steps again), last free in 1st half and even the last free.

KHL (Donegal) - Posts: 99 - 17/09/2017 18:29:19    2046864