Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final?

Unless Mayo produce the gameplan and match of the century I think Dublin will win.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 12/09/2017 20:18:43    2045365

Replying To Jackeen:  "The good oul Na Fianna discos Jaysus!! And the Lawn too. Yup....was a regular though only in early 90s"
Ha gas.. only messing !!

Although my name isn't Jimbo/Jim

I took that as a username to honour my uncle who was a passionate Dublin man and used to go to many games and bring me along with my cousins, sadly passed away in 2004 before getting a chance to see this current side but sure he had the 70's team :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/09/2017 20:23:53    2045369

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'm been converted to actually wishing Mayo well

I had hoped Mayo would beat Kerry but the way you played.. well you showed them up!

I'm now a Mayo wisher well and have my maximum respect. If you win it'll be brilliantly earned and IMO up there with one of the best championship wins..

Although not All Ireland wins as you're not Champions of Connacht"
Ah the sting in the tail. And you were doing so well. You just couldn't resist! I don't care now if we win or lose Sunday, seeing that the good has been taken out of it.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 12/09/2017 21:40:20    2045404

I will support underdog Mayo. They can do it! I like Dubs too, great team.

Mayo will play a good offensive game. Unlike Tyrone, as Tipperary man said to me 'The Tyrone game plan was like trying to knit an ar*e on a cat'. I soon realised what he meant, futile, impossible.

DeBild (Tipperary) - Posts: 23 - 12/09/2017 22:40:12    2045433

One thing you can always be sure of is that Mayo will always raise their game against the Dubs. Players who've been missing all year, players playing like they're a day from retirement, will suddenly start playing like all-stars.
Having spoken to many Mayo supporters over the past couple of weeks, they're convinced, just like 2004, 2006, 2012, 2013 & 2016, they're definitely going to win this time. According to the Mayo players and team, they feel they just have to turn up and the footballing Gods will smile upon them because they feel they're due one. They'll have it won by half-time.

So there you go lads, wrap it up, just hand Sam to Mayo, they just have to turn up to win. Us poor Dubs don't stand a chance, we'll try for three in a row some other time.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 13/09/2017 10:19:03    2045551

Replying To bangbang:  "One thing you can always be sure of is that Mayo will always raise their game against the Dubs. Players who've been missing all year, players playing like they're a day from retirement, will suddenly start playing like all-stars.
Having spoken to many Mayo supporters over the past couple of weeks, they're convinced, just like 2004, 2006, 2012, 2013 & 2016, they're definitely going to win this time. According to the Mayo players and team, they feel they just have to turn up and the footballing Gods will smile upon them because they feel they're due one. They'll have it won by half-time.

So there you go lads, wrap it up, just hand Sam to Mayo, they just have to turn up to win. Us poor Dubs don't stand a chance, we'll try for three in a row some other time."
According to the Mayo players and team, they feel they just have to turn up

You can not be taken seriously with a line like that.

Also Mayo people are very reserved in what might happen on Sunday. Hopeful and confident yes but not cocky or sure. Do you want us all going around with our heads down saying "ah sure god help us" "poor mayo" "lets all bow to the Dubs" ??

Life is pure c*&T and football is a release. The week before the All Ireland is like the week before Christmas x100....it is there to be enjoyed.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 13/09/2017 10:44:14    2045565

Replying To bangbang:  "One thing you can always be sure of is that Mayo will always raise their game against the Dubs. Players who've been missing all year, players playing like they're a day from retirement, will suddenly start playing like all-stars.

So there you go lads, wrap it up, just hand Sam to Mayo, they just have to turn up to win. Us poor Dubs don't stand a chance, we'll try for three in a row some other time."
Trying to emulate the Kerry lads there with the somewhat unsubtle attempt at reverse psychology. You have a long way to go but full marks for effort!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 13/09/2017 15:03:18    2045658

Replying To DeBild:  "I will support underdog Mayo. They can do it! I like Dubs too, great team.

Mayo will play a good offensive game. Unlike Tyrone, as Tipperary man said to me 'The Tyrone game plan was like trying to knit an ar*e on a cat'. I soon realised what he meant, futile, impossible."
So that's why the Kilkenny boys tend to stay away from Tipp.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/09/2017 15:49:36    2045680

There is an awful lot being written about mayo in the last few days and every past player, journalist and Joe Soap is giving them a huge chance to ''end the famine''
This is in marked difference to last week and the week before where Dublin were being paraded as unbeatable. In my opinion this shift in opinion is not good for Mayo. If they're anyway clued into the media this week they're going to feel more and more hopeful of winning rather than doggedly determined and scorned. I'm not sure whether i'm making the most sense there but i'm sure some of you will see where this is coming from.
I feel as though the dreaming has started, the desperation is getting to fever stage now and will do up until Sunday. All the while Dublin are back down on planet earth. My biggest fear is a very comfortable win for Dublin. I hope I'm wrong i really do!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 13/09/2017 17:01:58    2045704

Replying To theweanling:  "There is an awful lot being written about mayo in the last few days and every past player, journalist and Joe Soap is giving them a huge chance to ''end the famine''
This is in marked difference to last week and the week before where Dublin were being paraded as unbeatable. In my opinion this shift in opinion is not good for Mayo. If they're anyway clued into the media this week they're going to feel more and more hopeful of winning rather than doggedly determined and scorned. I'm not sure whether i'm making the most sense there but i'm sure some of you will see where this is coming from.
I feel as though the dreaming has started, the desperation is getting to fever stage now and will do up until Sunday. All the while Dublin are back down on planet earth. My biggest fear is a very comfortable win for Dublin. I hope I'm wrong i really do!!!"
Never seen a build up as quiet here in Mayo. That said, a team never lost an All Ireland because of what was written in the media or what fans say on a social media platform. I love the way there is a hint of Mayo optimism anywhere, there is someone along like a bus to shout it down.

BTW - I think Mayo will win.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 13/09/2017 17:11:48    2045712

Replying To theweanling:  "There is an awful lot being written about mayo in the last few days and every past player, journalist and Joe Soap is giving them a huge chance to ''end the famine''
I feel as though the dreaming has started, the desperation is getting to fever stage now and will do up until Sunday. All the while Dublin are back down on planet earth. My biggest fear is a very comfortable win for Dublin. I hope I'm wrong i really do!!!"
Don't be too concerned weanling, no one took last week's sh*te as anything but entertainment, and that includes the Dubs I know, and no one is taking this week's helping any more seriously. Journalists and pundits have to earn a crust. The players are too clued these days and supporters don't matter... fan is short for fanatic after all. Referees, now there's a more interesting animal.... the good ones are like the players, they zone out in the run up. I'm confident on that score that Joe won't be reading this!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/09/2017 18:15:35    2045739

Replying To Pericles:  "Don't be too concerned weanling, no one took last week's sh*te as anything but entertainment, and that includes the Dubs I know, and no one is taking this week's helping any more seriously. Journalists and pundits have to earn a crust. The players are too clued these days and supporters don't matter... fan is short for fanatic after all. Referees, now there's a more interesting animal.... the good ones are like the players, they zone out in the run up. I'm confident on that score that Joe won't be reading this!"
Don't be TOO confident, RTE read on here!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 13/09/2017 18:29:11    2045748

Replying To yew_tree:  "Never seen a build up as quiet here in Mayo. That said, a team never lost an All Ireland because of what was written in the media or what fans say on a social media platform. I love the way there is a hint of Mayo optimism anywhere, there is someone along like a bus to shout it down.

BTW - I think Mayo will win."
Ha yeah the cheek of those Mayo people for thinking that they might just have a chance against a team that they're never more than a kick of a ball away from!

Personally can't call it and am very much sitting on the fence.

The last few meetings between these two sides shows us that anyone confidently predicting a win either way is on dodgy ground.

The bounce of a ball will decide this.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 13/09/2017 19:55:30    2045773

Weather forecast is good, its gonna be a cauldron, two teams going to war, glorious victory for whoever wins this, I agree with mes at this stage, 50/50.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 13/09/2017 20:25:43    2045783

Weather forecast is good, its gonna be a cauldron, two teams going to war, glorious victory for whoever wins this, I agree with mes at this stage, 50/50.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 13/09/2017 20:28:36    2045784

Ho, ho, fiction can be fun! But I find the reference section much more enlightening . (in a Clarence Darrow-like manner) ... One only has to look on the Dublin forum to see the level of confidence Dublin posters have in getting a result on Sunday. Only thing not as confident as Sean cavanagh has in a handy result. I would refrain at attempts at yerra on here we know you lads are confident.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 13/09/2017 21:52:55    2045806

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Ho, ho, fiction can be fun! But I find the reference section much more enlightening . (in a Clarence Darrow-like manner) ... One only has to look on the Dublin forum to see the level of confidence Dublin posters have in getting a result on Sunday. Only thing not as confident as Sean cavanagh has in a handy result. I would refrain at attempts at yerra on here we know you lads are confident."
They're fairly confident over on the mayogaa blog too. No harm in either sets of supporters being confident imo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/09/2017 22:11:31    2045810

It's the same every year at this stage.It's always a 50 / 50 game with some supporters saying that the other lot are over confident and some trying to talk up the opposition as if that will somehow help their side do the business. Nervousness and fear of loosing making people edgy because they want it so badly.Christ,how it must be for the players.The expectations they carry. You have to admire how they handle themselves.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/09/2017 22:45:36    2045826

Replying To Jackeen:  "They're fairly confident over on the mayogaa blog too. No harm in either sets of supporters being confident imo."
anytime mayo have got to the final ive heard mayo people saying 'I think we will do it this time' only for our lads not to cross the line. it will take a 100% performance form the mayo lads to win this. I believe we have it in us to win the game but I wouldn't class our team as better than Dublin on paper it all depends on mayo playing their best. I do suspect we wont have enough to beat this top, top Dublin team.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 14/09/2017 07:36:06    2045849

Replying To Jackeen:  "They're fairly confident over on the mayogaa blog too. No harm in either sets of supporters being confident imo."
They have themselves driven mad over there
When they drew with Rossies I thought some of them would need to be sectioned

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 14/09/2017 08:43:04    2045858