Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final?

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I'm seriously thinking of giving the lower Cusack ticket to the Dublin nephew at this stage, at least he might get some enjoyment out of it. I have never seen a quieter build up to a final involving my own county. Normally the final is the topic on everyones lips but this year I find that people don't even want to talk about it. The only one I've met that gives us any hope is a friend of mine who thinks that if Mayo play at 50% above their best and the Dubs 50% below theirs we might get within a point or two. Now this is a lad who does the lottery every week and is only amazed when he doesn't win. True the businesses have their signs out, for obvious reasons, there are plenty of flags about, most of them still there from previous years and the kids, in their innocence, are upbeat but out from that, silence. I was going to write a song myself, "O the red and black of Mayo, I can see it on the Hill" but my pencil broke and anyway I don't want to be famous as I value my anonymity. Even the lads in the paper are flogging a dead horse, half-heartedly trying to make a case for Mayo. They say things like, Mayo are peaking at the right time, or Dublin haven't been tested, before finishing off by saying Dublin will win by five or six points. And don't get me started on the star struck Sean Cavanagh! I even read an article by a lad the other day who prefaced the line saying "Mayo had a chance" with the words "people will think I'm mad". Even the Dubs lads, despite some grumblings about Mayo being a dirty team with a propensity for diving, are just going through the motions until they can begin the celebrations. Liam hasn't opened a thread on Lee Keegan not being good enough to make the Dubs squad, Jackeen is at home polishing the All Ireland medals and Jimbo is... well... bearable. Even the much loved Ciarán and his merry band of ex players don't feel the need to get involved, sure so what if Mayo keep all their players on the field, it might at least keep it interesting....for a while. And Jim, the man with the plan, will start off with the kids and when the job is done he'll bring on the big lads for their lap of honour. So now you can see why I'm contemplating the unthinkable. The nephew doesn't know Bernard Brogan from Bernard Dunne but sure he'll be in good company and at least he'll be able to say he was there when the Dubs won their three in a row!"
Why is always the woman that has to polish the feckin medals!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/09/2017 17:08:21    2045305

I think Mayo will win - they are a fantastic team who are coming good at the right time.

This Dublin team are one of the best I've ever seen, but hunger and hurt will prevail

Can't wait for it!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1414 - 12/09/2017 17:17:39    2045309

Replying To Jackeen:  "Why is always the woman that has to polish the feckin medals!!!"
Nimble fingers

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 12/09/2017 17:22:50    2045311

ADMIN, ye "edited" the poem....thats SO not cool...!!!

Jackeen, less of your pussing and get out the polish!!
The Law has spoken!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/09/2017 17:55:17    2045319

Replying To Ban:  "I think Mayo will win - they are a fantastic team who are coming good at the right time.

This Dublin team are one of the best I've ever seen, but hunger and hurt will prevail

Can't wait for it!"
If it was hunger and hurt that decided outcomes then there'd be a lot more counties with medals.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 12/09/2017 18:30:42    2045330

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "ADMIN, ye "edited" the poem....thats SO not cool...!!!

The Law has spoken!"
Liam I hope you're not just assuming Jackeens gender :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 12/09/2017 18:55:07    2045337

Replying To jimbodub:  "Nimble fingers"
Well now Jimbo I've known a few lads in my time whose fingers were of the nimble sort too!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/09/2017 18:55:49    2045338

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "ADMIN, ye "edited" the poem....thats SO not cool...!!!

The Law has spoken!"
The bang of GH off ya Liam ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/09/2017 18:56:24    2045339

If Connolly starts....who doesn't?
Andrews?
Mannion?
Scully?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/09/2017 19:02:39    2045341

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I'm seriously thinking of giving the lower Cusack ticket to the Dublin nephew at this stage, at least he might get some enjoyment out of it. I have never seen a quieter build up to a final involving my own county. Normally the final is the topic on everyones lips but this year I find that people don't even want to talk about it. The only one I've met that gives us any hope is a friend of mine who thinks that if Mayo play at 50% above their best and the Dubs 50% below theirs we might get within a point or two. Now this is a lad who does the lottery every week and is only amazed when he doesn't win. True the businesses have their signs out, for obvious reasons, there are plenty of flags about, most of them still there from previous years and the kids, in their innocence, are upbeat but out from that, silence. I was going to write a song myself, "O the red and black of Mayo, I can see it on the Hill" but my pencil broke and anyway I don't want to be famous as I value my anonymity. Even the lads in the paper are flogging a dead horse, half-heartedly trying to make a case for Mayo. They say things like, Mayo are peaking at the right time, or Dublin haven't been tested, before finishing off by saying Dublin will win by five or six points. And don't get me started on the star struck Sean Cavanagh! I even read an article by a lad the other day who prefaced the line saying "Mayo had a chance" with the words "people will think I'm mad". Even the Dubs lads, despite some grumblings about Mayo being a dirty team with a propensity for diving, are just going through the motions until they can begin the celebrations. Liam hasn't opened a thread on Lee Keegan not being good enough to make the Dubs squad, Jackeen is at home polishing the All Ireland medals and Jimbo is... well... bearable. Even the much loved Ciarán and his merry band of ex players don't feel the need to get involved, sure so what if Mayo keep all their players on the field, it might at least keep it interesting....for a while. And Jim, the man with the plan, will start off with the kids and when the job is done he'll bring on the big lads for their lap of honour. So now you can see why I'm contemplating the unthinkable. The nephew doesn't know Bernard Brogan from Bernard Dunne but sure he'll be in good company and at least he'll be able to say he was there when the Dubs won their three in a row!"
I'm been converted to actually wishing Mayo well

I had hoped Mayo would beat Kerry but the way you played.. well you showed them up!

I'm now a Mayo wisher well and have my maximum respect. If you win it'll be brilliantly earned and IMO up there with one of the best championship wins..

Although not All Ireland wins as you're not Champions of Connacht

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 12/09/2017 19:04:14    2045342

Replying To Jackeen:  "Well now Jimbo I've known a few lads in my time whose fingers were of the nimble sort too!!"
Insert "Carry On" uhhhh Matron!!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 12/09/2017 19:22:39    2045346

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "If Connolly starts....who doesn't?
Andrews?
Mannion?
Scully?"
Scully

Although I'd start EOG in a heart beat

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 12/09/2017 19:24:40    2045347

Replying To Jackeen:  "Well now Jimbo I've known a few lads in my time whose fingers were of the nimble sort too!!"
Careful now I'm a Drumcondra boy

You'd never know Jackeen..

Ever go to the Na Fianna disco in the 1990's

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 12/09/2017 19:28:13    2045348

jjaayyssuuss!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/09/2017 19:33:11    2045349

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "If it was hunger and hurt that decided outcomes then there'd be a lot more counties with medals."
Very true

I also acknowledged Mayo as a fantastic team!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1414 - 12/09/2017 19:36:47    2045351

Replying To Jackeen:  "The bang of GH off ya Liam ;)"
Harsh...............VERY HARSH!!

Wonder what CK will do now, will she walk ?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/09/2017 19:36:56    2045352

Replying To jimbodub:  "Scully

Although I'd start EOG in a heart beat"
Scully a totally different player to DC
I would imagine the only lad to shift Scully would be Flynner
if DC does come in its for one of Andrews or Mannion

interesting little footnote for Mayo fans, similar to last year, this is the first game all season that Cormie Costelloe has been 100% fit ready and available!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/09/2017 19:41:41    2045354

Replying To jimbodub:  "Careful now I'm a Drumcondra boy

;)"
The good oul Na Fianna discos Jaysus!! And the Lawn too. Yup....was a regular though only in early 90s

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/09/2017 19:45:25    2045355

Replying To Jackeen:  "The good oul Na Fianna discos Jaysus!! And the Lawn too. Yup....was a regular though only in early 90s"
Careful now ye two...
God only knows where this will end up going!!
(any one ever used to go upstairs in the black forge in walkinstown? ;) )

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/09/2017 19:55:28    2045356

Replying To jimbodub:  "Careful now I'm a Drumcondra boy

;)"
Jaysus, it's Bertin.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 12/09/2017 20:09:48    2045361