Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final?

Replying To moc.dna:  "Definitely need savers Bud, never mentioned any correlation between all the money Dublin received underage and success anywhere in the posts, never mentioned anything specific about minors, more deflection by the love Dublin brigade, maybe it was you that was on the beverages, next you will be telling me you walk around the house in Dublin wearing the sky blue jersey. Don't know what the 4000 mark is, oh deary me, the denial, LOL."
I belong to no brigade. But i dislike begrudgers, negative people and whingers. That's all your posts on Dublin are. You contribute some fine posts on other threads.

I've stated my preference is for Mayo to win and my admiration for the team. I also admire Dublin. Intelligent people can do both. I'm no 'brown noser'. You're whole face seems to be brown at the moment as you can see nothing infront of you only S*it.

What on earth is the 4,000 mark. Are you referring to a white blood cell count because of a post i made about ill health i'm suffering? That would be a lousy post if so. I honestly don't know what you're talking about. Enlighten me??

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/09/2017 22:47:34    2044017

Poor ol mod.dna's head is melted at all the non Dub's here defending Dublin....he cant believe it :)
His head would have been completely fried at the amount of people down my neck of the woods in County Limerick who shout for the Dubs, he would go into a state of incredulity that any sefl respecting "culchie" could cheer for the dirty dubs!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/09/2017 09:16:23    2044057

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Poor ol mod.dna's head is melted at all the non Dub's here defending Dublin....he cant believe it :)
His head would have been completely fried at the amount of people down my neck of the woods in County Limerick who shout for the Dubs, he would go into a state of incredulity that any sefl respecting "culchie" could cheer for the dirty dubs!"
And in fairness to him his posts on most topics are good.

I honestly can't get certain begrudgery. Like some posters can't say Dublin are an excellent team, have excellent role models like Bernard Brogan, McMannamon, O'Callaghan, Paul Flynn, Cian O'Sullivan, Brian Fenton etc. What did these outstanding footballers do to have an asterisk placed beside their achievements.

I had an issue with Kerry not being analysed for some cynicism like other teams are. But they have won 37 AI's and produced some of the best ever footballers. How could you begrudge that class. Individual posters get worked up when they are not winning as much now but to begrudge that footballing heritage..not on.

Same goes for the silly Kilkenny footballing threads. One, and i stress individual Galway man, not moc.dna, started a Mayo are bottlers thread when Mayo lost the replay last year. They couldn't seal the deal like Galway in 1998 and 2001.

An Ulster threads. Look how many greats and great teams they've contributed. If admin will let me say so but the 6 counties got shafted in 1921 Treaty time by the rest of us in my opinion.

But isn't it better to be positive and enjoy all the great things about our sport?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 08/09/2017 11:29:12    2044117

Replying To Laois76:  "And in fairness to him his posts on most topics are good.

I honestly can't get certain begrudgery. Like some posters can't say Dublin are an excellent team, have excellent role models like Bernard Brogan, McMannamon, O'Callaghan, Paul Flynn, Cian O'Sullivan, Brian Fenton etc. What did these outstanding footballers do to have an asterisk placed beside their achievements.

I had an issue with Kerry not being analysed for some cynicism like other teams are. But they have won 37 AI's and produced some of the best ever footballers. How could you begrudge that class. Individual posters get worked up when they are not winning as much now but to begrudge that footballing heritage..not on.

Same goes for the silly Kilkenny footballing threads. One, and i stress individual Galway man, not moc.dna, started a Mayo are bottlers thread when Mayo lost the replay last year. They couldn't seal the deal like Galway in 1998 and 2001.

An Ulster threads. Look how many greats and great teams they've contributed. If admin will let me say so but the 6 counties got shafted in 1921 Treaty time by the rest of us in my opinion.

But isn't it better to be positive and enjoy all the great things about our sport?"
Laois man, u fail to grasp the ACTUAL fulcrum of their anger. You see, its not actually the footballer, or the team itself that is the cause of their ire. It's a dislike for "Dublin" and "Dubs" in general. I don't mean the football team, I mean the place and its people. These same people you will often find had no time for say Bernard Dunne for example. It's very Irish. The Dublin Footballers being good just give these same lads a manifestation they can actively rail against.
I bet you that if the Dublin team were the EXACT same team, players, management, but were from Kildare, and had Kildare accents, no one would have a bad word to say about them.

C'est la vie

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/09/2017 12:04:36    2044134

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Laois man, u fail to grasp the ACTUAL fulcrum of their anger. You see, its not actually the footballer, or the team itself that is the cause of their ire. It's a dislike for "Dublin" and "Dubs" in general. I don't mean the football team, I mean the place and its people. These same people you will often find had no time for say Bernard Dunne for example. It's very Irish. The Dublin Footballers being good just give these same lads a manifestation they can actively rail against.
I bet you that if the Dublin team were the EXACT same team, players, management, but were from Kildare, and had Kildare accents, no one would have a bad word to say about them.

C'est la vie"
It's a sad state of affairs.

I didn't like the Dublin 2000s team. But with reason. Mark Vaughan gesticulating in players' faces when scoring. Shaping. Pillar Caffrey's carry on. The Blue Book!!! But you have to move on. I admire the way this team conducts itself. No team or management are perfect.

Success always leads to begrudgery, as Anthony Daly said everyone was behind them on the maiden voyage in 1995 but by 1997 they were upstarts!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 08/09/2017 12:32:57    2044148

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Laois man, u fail to grasp the ACTUAL fulcrum of their anger. You see, its not actually the footballer, or the team itself that is the cause of their ire. It's a dislike for "Dublin" and "Dubs" in general. I don't mean the football team, I mean the place and its people. These same people you will often find had no time for say Bernard Dunne for example. It's very Irish. The Dublin Footballers being good just give these same lads a manifestation they can actively rail against.

C'est la vie"
Also at the end of the day it's a small country. Many players are second or third generation country. Players like the Brogans, Cian O'Sullivan etc have country parent(s).

St. Vincents was founded by a Laois priest, who's name escapes me in 1931 and wear the blue and white of Laois in inverse, 2 white hoops and one blue band.

Here's a nice little link on the complexities i found.

https://www.buzz.ie/sport/true-blue-dubs-have-a-rainbow-of-country-connections-163861

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 08/09/2017 12:45:01    2044155

Replying To Laois76:  "Also at the end of the day it's a small country. Many players are second or third generation country. Players like the Brogans, Cian O'Sullivan etc have country parent(s).

St. Vincents was founded by a Laois priest, who's name escapes me in 1931 and wear the blue and white of Laois in inverse, 2 white hoops and one blue band.

Here's a nice little link on the complexities i found.

https://www.buzz.ie/sport/true-blue-dubs-have-a-rainbow-of-country-connections-163861"
Look at the end of the day you are always going to have a fair few moaners and begrudgers on a site like this.
As you mentioned, plenty of instances of cheap shots and whinging when a team is winning.They hate the fact others are enjoying success.
We'll enjoy the good times while they're here because we know what the bad times are like and had them not so long ago and to hell with those losers because that's just how they are.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/09/2017 13:42:18    2044171

Back to the topic of the thread. My heart tells me Mayo and as much as I try to convince myself that Mayo can do it my head tells me Dublin.
I will travel in hope and get behind this fantastic Mayo team who have only Dublin left to conquer. All other challengers have been vanquished over the last few years. This mighty Dublin team fell over the line last year after a replay.
Now I fear Dublin have improved drastically all over and are fresher this year. The strength of their panel is awesome. It really is.
Mayo have improved game by game this year and to me they are in a great place. It will take inspirational performances by every Mayo player and just hope that Dublin have enough players having an off day. (But there's that awesome bench)
Nobody can doubt this Mayo team. They have taken flak from all angles. Most of it extremely harsh and unwarranted. (Anyone with a reasonable understanding of sport nevermind GAA couldn't but admire this Mayo team) But they keep bouncing back.
We hear of their resilience, determination work rate etc but from what I can see the skill level of the team in general has improved fastly as this team has evolved over the last 5 years. You won't hear many of the lazy predictable media posse talk about that. I understand that they are still haunted by some of their old failings. The biggest one for me is lack of composure at vital times in games leading to bad decision making. It's less frequent no doubt but it's still there unfortunately.
Hoping for a great game. They are without doubt the two best teams around for a number of years now.They have given us some great games over the years. Dublin are a savage football team right now, savage, but you never know....

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 08/09/2017 14:37:33    2044197

Replying To Weary:  "Back to the topic of the thread. My heart tells me Mayo and as much as I try to convince myself that Mayo can do it my head tells me Dublin.
I will travel in hope and get behind this fantastic Mayo team who have only Dublin left to conquer. All other challengers have been vanquished over the last few years. This mighty Dublin team fell over the line last year after a replay.
Now I fear Dublin have improved drastically all over and are fresher this year. The strength of their panel is awesome. It really is.
Mayo have improved game by game this year and to me they are in a great place. It will take inspirational performances by every Mayo player and just hope that Dublin have enough players having an off day. (But there's that awesome bench)
Nobody can doubt this Mayo team. They have taken flak from all angles. Most of it extremely harsh and unwarranted. (Anyone with a reasonable understanding of sport nevermind GAA couldn't but admire this Mayo team) But they keep bouncing back.
We hear of their resilience, determination work rate etc but from what I can see the skill level of the team in general has improved fastly as this team has evolved over the last 5 years. You won't hear many of the lazy predictable media posse talk about that. I understand that they are still haunted by some of their old failings. The biggest one for me is lack of composure at vital times in games leading to bad decision making. It's less frequent no doubt but it's still there unfortunately.
Hoping for a great game. They are without doubt the two best teams around for a number of years now.They have given us some great games over the years. Dublin are a savage football team right now, savage, but you never know...."
Totally agree.
Mayo are the second best team in the country for the last five years and save for the best Dubs team of all time, one of the best football teams of all time, Mayo would have 2/3 All Ireland's by now. Mayo are certainly the second best team in the last few years, despite the Kerry hype.
I was hoping Kerry would beat Mayo last day simply because I fear Mayo far more. If this Mayo team were around between 2008-2011 they would have a bucket of All Ireland's.
No one who knows anything about football laughs at this Mayo team or has anything but utmost respect for them.
A savage team

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/09/2017 15:00:47    2044204

Replying To Weary:  "Back to the topic of the thread. My heart tells me Mayo and as much as I try to convince myself that Mayo can do it my head tells me Dublin.
Hoping for a great game. They are without doubt the two best teams around for a number of years now.They have given us some great games over the years. Dublin are a savage football team right now, savage, but you never know...."
Excellent post, and I can't help but think of the teams that would take heart from a mayo win in this years final, the Likes of Derry Cork who took them to extra time and Roscommon and ourselves who took them to a replay.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/09/2017 15:18:58    2044211

Good luck to both teams in the final, neither team owe's us anything..... Dublin are a team for the ages and will take some beating. Mayo are a team whose determination has to be admired and they will bring the kitchen sink to this game for sure. It should be one hell of a game.
Up Mayo!!!!

offtheboat (USA) - Posts: 57 - 08/09/2017 15:54:02    2044222

Mayo as long as they produce their very best are well capable of beating Dublin. Two best teams anyway. Slight advantage to Mayo possibly as Dublin haven't had a competitive game in the championship yet.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 08/09/2017 16:10:04    2044227

C'est la vie

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:7788 - 08/09/2017

Unless they were from around Leixlip, then they'd still be Dubs :)

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 08/09/2017 16:39:50    2044233

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "I bet you that if the Dublin team were the EXACT same team, players, management, but were from Kildare, and had Kildare accents, no one would have a bad word to say about them.

C'est la vie

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:7788 - 08/09/2017

Unless they were from around Leixlip, then they'd still be Dubs :)"
or Celbridge :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/09/2017 16:55:52    2044239

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Excellent post, and I can't help but think of the teams that would take heart from a mayo win in this years final, the Likes of Derry Cork who took them to extra time and Roscommon and ourselves who took them to a replay."
And I forgot to mention Galway who actually beat Mayo.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/09/2017 18:30:39    2044260

Replying To salvador:  "Mayo as long as they produce their very best are well capable of beating Dublin. Two best teams anyway. Slight advantage to Mayo possibly as Dublin haven't had a competitive game in the championship yet."
what competitive games have Mayo had ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/09/2017 22:43:59    2044289

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And I forgot to mention Galway who actually beat Mayo."
Did they actually beat the real Mayo, the Mayo who train to peak in September ? I think not.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/09/2017 22:51:43    2044291

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And I forgot to mention Galway who actually beat Mayo."
I have a fear that Dublin will believe all the hype. Tyrone did not turn up in SF. Last year's final mayo gave away 2 soft goals and have not got the rub of the green . If Dublin are not at 100% then Mayo will catch them.
I am going for a Mayo win

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 08/09/2017 22:55:13    2044292

There is a theme developing here...Mayo fans are getting riled up at being totally written off....Dublin fans get a bee in their bonnet when a neutral suggests Mayo will win..it's gonna be a long week...and the tension will ratchet up next week but let's try and keep its civil folks

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 08/09/2017 23:30:05    2044296

Almost into All-Ireland week, can't wait, overdosing on recent Dublin/Mayo games on YouTube, one thing very obvious is that we can play a lot better than we did in those matches.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 09/09/2017 00:42:36    2044302