This is not Kerry football

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes I know and understand everything you are saying Gleebo, when it comes to Kerry the heart overrules the head and when I'm a bit tired and emotional after a loss, depressed, and then come on here and see the sniggering from one or two usual bitter posters (who have, we all know, several alter-ego's) sometimes I tend to lash out.

It is stupid and it's only the reaction they want, so I should learn to hold my council more.

I've calmed down a lot since Sunday morning and while it's a long dark winter down in the Kingdom (with a lot of brooding and soul-searching), come February the blood will start racing again, the optimism will return and Kerry will rise and go at it again, like they always do.

A few Dubs coming up to me at various stages in the pub later on giving me their €0.02 was just insult to injury. I know the vast majority of Dublin supporters are very decent, I'm friends with a good few myself. But I mentioned my experience to show up one sanctimonious Dub poster.

Two more posters have since basically said I'm lying. I really don't care, one of them is someone who regularly posts all kind of embarrasing nonesense on here, the other is just a phantom account of another Dub poster who should have been banned out of here long ago.

Anyway, Gleebo genuinely wish Mayo will see things through now in September. Being beaten by what proves to be the best team in a given year is an easier pill to swallow!!!"
Thehermit the weekend was a bitter pill to swallow and the winter will be long!
Last year we died on our swords losing to Dublin but over the 2 games against Mayo we were nothing but a shambles.

Time for EF to go methinks

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 30/08/2017 14:49:27    2040765

Replying To woops:  "Thehermit the weekend was a bitter pill to swallow and the winter will be long!
Last year we died on our swords losing to Dublin but over the 2 games against Mayo we were nothing but a shambles.

Time for EF to go methinks"
We are having a good discussion on that on the Kerry page Woops, and yeah I think the consensus from a lot of people is Eamon might need to move along.

I'm still unsure myself where I stand on it, but I will say this - Saturday was the second time under his reign Kerry have gone down without a fight in a big knock-out game in Croker. And considering I only really saw that once before in my time supporting Kerry (2001 v Meath), it is very concerning.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/08/2017 15:15:32    2040783

Hermit, reading between the lines, its clear one of the posters you are aiming for, is me.

Ask Woops, ask WestKerry am I one of "those" Dublin fans.
I have said on here on NUMEROUS occasions the gra and respect I have for Kerry football, I actually LOVE Kerry, the people and the place. Westkerry will vouch for that. I am half "of Kerry" sure ffs!
You haven't a clue what your talking about. Funny isn't it how you can say I am not a real Dublin fan but the proper Kerry fans on here can see past the BS and I have a very good relationship with them. Ever wonder why this is?

and your veiled dig at Breffni saying he is a Dub in disguise!!! I'd say ol Breff wil get a kick out of that!!! He was here long before you buddy.

Your carry yourself here in a certain way, very different to your countymen have down the years on HS

Here is a mad idea.....

Perhaps.....its not Kerry, perhaps.....its you.............

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/08/2017 15:34:14    2040789

Haha, I'm here an awful long time and I've only ever been one poster: Breffni39. That's an awfully paranoid stance to take just because you can only give it but can't take it. Come down off your high horse and have the crack with the rest of us down here with our feet on the ground. You might even enjoy it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 30/08/2017 15:38:58    2040790

Replying To Breffni39:  "Haha, I'm here an awful long time and I've only ever been one poster: Breffni39. That's an awfully paranoid stance to take just because you can only give it but can't take it. Come down off your high horse and have the crack with the rest of us down here with our feet on the ground. You might even enjoy it."
careful Breff...........he will say we are the same fella next.......

(perish the thought!)

Cop on Hermit, it's all craic here, don't be so feckin sensitive!
Haven't ye enough won down there!!
Pity about ye!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/08/2017 15:49:41    2040792

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "careful Breff...........he will say we are the same fella next.......

(perish the thought!)

Cop on Hermit, it's all craic here, don't be so feckin sensitive!
Haven't ye enough won down there!!
Pity about ye!!"
Liam you lost the gra and respect for Kerry when Cluxton kicked the ball over the bar in 2011!!!! :-)

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 30/08/2017 16:02:32    2040800

Replying To woops:  "Liam you lost the gra and respect for Kerry when Cluxton kicked the ball over the bar in 2011!!!! :-)"
Not atall Woops, I love ye even more ever since!!! ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/08/2017 16:04:53    2040802

Replying To Gleebo:  "Is David Clifford likely to go to?

I suppose Kerry, as with all western counties, are vulnerable to outward migration. Would have thought though that possibly four All-Ireland winning minor sides would be a decent platform to build off at senior?"
Suppose to have signed the contract, this is Dave shaw now not Dave Clifford.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/08/2017 16:17:24    2040808

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hermit, reading between the lines, its clear one of the posters you are aiming for, is me.

I have said on here on NUMEROUS occasions the gra and respect I have for Kerry football, I actually LOVE Kerry, the people and the place. Westkerry will vouch for that. I am half "of Kerry" sure ffs!
You haven't a clue what your talking about. Funny isn't it how you can say I am not a real Dublin fan but the proper Kerry fans on here can see past the BS and I have a very good relationship with them. Ever wonder why this is?

and your veiled dig at Breffni saying he is a Dub in disguise!!! I'd say ol Breff wil get a kick out of that!!! He was here long before you buddy.

Your carry yourself here in a certain way, very different to your countymen have down the years on HS

Here is a mad idea.....

Perhaps.....its not Kerry, perhaps.....its you............."
Liam has great time for Kerry, I'll vouch for that.
Spends plenty of time in our county and is very welcome!

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 30/08/2017 17:15:48    2040828

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hermit, reading between the lines, its clear one of the posters you are aiming for, is me.

Here is a mad idea.....

Perhaps.....its not Kerry, perhaps.....its you............."
Firstly lad, where did I say you are 'not a real Dublin fan'? Stop inventing stuff to go off on one.

Secondly, whatever connections you have to Kerry have nothing to do with anything, you came on here calling me a liar.
Now either you (and your Cavan buddy) were in every pub in Dublin on Saturday night, walking every street in town and monitoring every interaction between people in Kerry jerseies and the natives, our else it is you that doesn't have a clue, as you put it.

As for that other poster, I don't give a fig where he is really from or how long he is around here, he crawls out anytime there is something on here having a go or dig at Kerry and his card is well marked.

I don't know what you mean by me being different to other Kerry poster's you know on here and frankly I don't care.
From what I've seen in the few years I'm around is that the Kerry posters on the whole are a decent bunch
- we don't have any major gripes with any county (bar maybe Cork!!)
- true we don't like playing second fiddle to others like we are at present,, but in the long history of Kerry football there has always been peaks and troughs
- yes at the moment people down in the Kingdom are pretty concerned about Dublin's dominance because it looks like it is being sustained by something the GAA itself has artificially created, but I think any sane GAA supporter would be worried at this point
- Kerry posters from what I observe are also gracious in defeat. Be it Mayo this year or Dublin the last two years, myself and others have come on here and to those counties own forum pages to congratulate them after games.
- I've certainly never seen a Kerry poster start a thread like this one in the aftermath of another county's defeat or exit from the Championship for the purposes of having a dig or a sneer!

There is a few of you who could learn a lot from how Kerry posters conduct themselves, for example, for the the second year in a row the same referee rode us all game and yet we don't start threads on here about it or blame it for our defeat.

But as the song goes: 'We savour Kerry victories, we salute a gallant foe, And when we lose, there's no excuse, we pick up our bags and go'

Good night now

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/08/2017 21:35:02    2040898

Replying To TheHermit:  "Firstly lad, where did I say you are 'not a real Dublin fan'? Stop inventing stuff to go off on one.

Secondly, whatever connections you have to Kerry have nothing to do with anything, you came on here calling me a liar.
Now either you (and your Cavan buddy) were in every pub in Dublin on Saturday night, walking every street in town and monitoring every interaction between people in Kerry jerseies and the natives, our else it is you that doesn't have a clue, as you put it.

As for that other poster, I don't give a fig where he is really from or how long he is around here, he crawls out anytime there is something on here having a go or dig at Kerry and his card is well marked.

I don't know what you mean by me being different to other Kerry poster's you know on here and frankly I don't care.
From what I've seen in the few years I'm around is that the Kerry posters on the whole are a decent bunch
- true we don't like playing second fiddle to others like we are at present,, but in the long history of Kerry football there has always been peaks and troughs
- yes at the moment people down in the Kingdom are pretty concerned about Dublin's dominance because it looks like it is being sustained by something the GAA itself has artificially created, but I think any sane GAA supporter would be worried at this point
- Kerry posters from what I observe are also gracious in defeat. Be it Mayo this year or Dublin the last two years, myself and others have come on here and to those counties own forum pages to congratulate them after games.
- I've certainly never seen a Kerry poster start a thread like this one in the aftermath of another county's defeat or exit from the Championship for the purposes of having a dig or a sneer!

There is a few of you who could learn a lot from how Kerry posters conduct themselves, for example, for the the second year in a row the same referee rode us all game and yet we don't start threads on here about it or blame it for our defeat.

But as the song goes: 'We savour Kerry victories, we salute a gallant foe, And when we lose, there's no excuse, we pick up our bags and go'

Good night now"
There is a few of you who could learn a lot from how Kerry posters conduct themselves, 

I sincerely hope you're not including yourself in that statement just there? You've been throwing hissy fits every day (and all hours in the night) since the weekend, throwing tantrums at other posters, accusing people of fake accounts,pot shots at refs amongst other things. There isn't one single poster here who could learn anything from your conduct the last 4 or 5 days I can tell you that now.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 30/08/2017 22:00:11    2040907

A few Kerry posters posted silly stuff like Mayo being the last hope for saving football etc. I railed against such ridiculous stuff and anti Dublin begrudgery and have no regrets. But when in calmer mood all our counties, my own included, have these type of posters. In the heat after a match we say things we regret and shouldn't have said too. And that's the good and bad of gaelic games the stir our passions but we can develop tunnel vision and paranoia.

I live right on the Kilkenny border. I find them like Kerry people in many respects. Straight talking, honest people, but they don't take defeat well. They congratulate and wish well but they do an awful lot of souls searching. They analyse and wonder why are they losing rather that sometimes acknowledging the opposition were better. And it's a double edged sword. Because it's this mentality that breeds winners. The old show me a good loser and i'll show you a loser line! A few older Tipp men i know who grew up on successes in the 50s and 60s are the same. But take Laois for example we lose so much that it doesn't hurt enough when we lose.. and that's a worse problem.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 31/08/2017 03:35:25    2040968

Replying To Triple H:  "Silly fouling off the ball, pulling and dragging, more backs than forwards, defending in depth. Where do you stop. If Fitzmaurice does not change his tactics then the Kingdom are gone."
Thehermit

This sneering you speak of

I don't see any in the original post

It's quite an accurate description about how poorly Kerry played

Do you not think that was a pale resemblance of your yourselves with how you setup and performed on the day?

I just don't think this is a sneering thread at all..

TBH chief.. to me you are far too easily outraged on here and almost look for it.

greenflag2000 (Kildare) - Posts: 11 - 31/08/2017 08:29:04    2040988

Replying To TheHermit:  "Firstly lad, where did I say you are 'not a real Dublin fan'? Stop inventing stuff to go off on one.

Good night now"
I've certainly never seen a Kerry poster start a thread like this one in the aftermath of another county's defeat or exit from the Championship for the purposes of having a dig or a sneer!

A Dub didn't start this thread though which seems to be the root of your ire!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 31/08/2017 10:12:28    2041031

Good night now"
My God, please get over yourself.

I have no issue with Kerry. I comment on all counties positive and negative. Problem is you happen to think Kerry should be a special case and above reproach.

You also seem to think my dislike of your posts is a dislike of Kerry. Don't flatter yourself.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 31/08/2017 10:19:25    2041037

Replying To greenflag2000:  "Thehermit

Do you not think that was a pale resemblance of your yourselves with how you setup and performed on the day?

TBH chief.. to me you are far too easily outraged on here and almost look for it."
I perfectly accept Kerry were crap on Saturday, that's why we are so annoyed!!

That wasn't a team sent out to play to Kerry's potential, it was a team picked to stop the opposition which was a surrender to Mayo before a ball was even thrown in. That's why EF is getting it in the neck and rightly so in my opinion, though I'm still unsure if he should stay or walk.

In a more general sense, after every Kerry game on here, whether they win or lose, the usual guff is posted by the usual cohort.

If posters want to have a go at Kerry, be prepared for Kerry posters to have a rebuttal.

From what I've seen in these situations, this place often descends into a sort of virtual school yard, there are plenty of poster who think they can say what they want, esp about my own county. They also have plenty others to back slap them and egg them on. When others, like myself, try and call them out they get shouted down and told to get lost, told they are paranoid, called a liar etc, etc.
As someone who suffered through a lot in my school days, I've learned the hard way to stand up to it and not let people get away wit it.

If people want to fairly debate the merits of a game, grand. But these threads are set up specifically to kick Kerry when they are down. So don't pretend otherwise.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/08/2017 11:42:35    2041084

Replying To greenflag2000:  "Thehermit

TBH chief.. to me you are far too easily outraged on here and almost look for it."
P.S. Greenflag, just because the original post was some bit balanced does not mean a thread like this doesn't act as a sponge for the usual bitter guff, that is the point I'm making.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/08/2017 11:59:01    2041096

Replying To TheHermit:  "I perfectly accept Kerry were crap on Saturday, that's why we are so annoyed!!

That wasn't a team sent out to play to Kerry's potential, it was a team picked to stop the opposition which was a surrender to Mayo before a ball was even thrown in. That's why EF is getting it in the neck and rightly so in my opinion, though I'm still unsure if he should stay or walk.

In a more general sense, after every Kerry game on here, whether they win or lose, the usual guff is posted by the usual cohort.

If posters want to have a go at Kerry, be prepared for Kerry posters to have a rebuttal.

From what I've seen in these situations, this place often descends into a sort of virtual school yard, there are plenty of poster who think they can say what they want, esp about my own county. They also have plenty others to back slap them and egg them on. When others, like myself, try and call them out they get shouted down and told to get lost, told they are paranoid, called a liar etc, etc.
As someone who suffered through a lot in my school days, I've learned the hard way to stand up to it and not let people get away wit it.

If people want to fairly debate the merits of a game, grand. But these threads are set up specifically to kick Kerry when they are down. So don't pretend otherwise."
All this nonsense because you can't accept anything negative being said about your county's football team. You need a severe reality check.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 31/08/2017 12:19:43    2041107

Replying To TheHermit:  "I perfectly accept Kerry were crap on Saturday, that's why we are so annoyed!!

If people want to fairly debate the merits of a game, grand. But these threads are set up specifically to kick Kerry when they are down. So don't pretend otherwise."
You really are some boy!!!
The things you have said about the Dubs on here down the years!!! Your something else...The Hypocrisy!!
I wonder do you actually believe your own bullshit??
There is a reason no one on here ever fights with Woops or Westkerryfan, but do with you

As I said previously, its not Kerry, its you.......

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 31/08/2017 12:20:30    2041108

Replying To Breffni39:  "All this nonsense because you can't accept anything negative being said about your county's football team. You need a severe reality check."
Yes but the negative comments surrounding Kerry and Dublin far outway any other team, after every match win or lose. Look at the abuse after our win against Donegal in 2014 for example.

No problem with people complaining about our poor tactics or performance after any game but you get people constantly bringing up rubbish about the nature of the people in the county..dishonest, poor sportsmanship etc. We can all make stereotypes about Dublin or northern counties and their people but its not Kerry posters throwing out these insults constantly

The Hermit has a point. You would want to be blind not to see it on here.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 31/08/2017 12:54:26    2041122