This is not Kerry football

Replying To TheHermit:  "My rant wasn't directed at Dublin people, just some of yer more bitter posters on this website and those from many other counties that can't hide their glee when Kerry get a reverse but sure why bother actually reading anything anyone posts up."
But sure it's the same when Dublin lose or Mayo. Who cares. Faceless people trolling. Pay no heed! If we lose today a 50/50 game in my mind watch the internet explode. Who cares! It means you're successful

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 27/08/2017 15:54:07    2038661

Replying To skillet:  "Well, that certainly taught me.... Good luck Hermit, you appear to have enough people on here to fight with without me to contend with."
Yeah plenty of fighting to do, the WE HATE KERRY BRIGADE are jumping around with glee following yesterday, no surprise of course - good luck now.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 15:55:50    2038663

Replying To TheHermit:  "Keep talking ye brave men behind yer I-phones, but when Dublin or Tyrone or Mayo lose next you won't see any Kerry posters starting these threads or laughing at ye.

But that's just the difference between us and some of the rest of ye."
You must live in the same universe as Trump supporters, if Kerry had won you would have probably been the first to make a thread stating the AI was in the bag and Mayo always will be bottlers

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 27/08/2017 16:00:08    2038665

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "You must live in the same universe as Trump supporters, if Kerry had won you would have probably been the first to make a thread stating the AI was in the bag and Mayo always will be bottlers"
No I wouldn't

And maybe if you actually went to the bother and checked what I posted before in such situations instead of making assumptions to justify your opinion you would know better

But asking people posting on a subject matter like this to be fair or balanced is asking for the moon.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 16:19:55    2038676

Replying To TheHermit:  "No I wouldn't

And maybe if you actually went to the bother and checked what I posted before in such situations instead of making assumptions to justify your opinion you would know better

But asking people posting on a subject matter like this to be fair or balanced is asking for the moon."
Kerry will be back very soon Hermit.

And it's good to have people starting threads about ye laughing at ye etc. If ye were nobody's nothing would be said. When you're begrudged a bit and there's a bit of bitterness in posts about you then you know you're doing something right.

I wish there were more threads ridiculing Laois and we were after been beaten in an all-ireland semi, and also had won an all-ireland in 2014, 3 years ago..

I'm 41 years old and my father passed away at 90 this year. If i live until i'm 90 do you think i'll ever get to see Laois win a senior all-ireland??! If i lived to be as old as Methuselah, 969, i probably wouldn't see it. Feckin spoilt some of ye are! My dad was lucky he's a Kilkenny man. My mam is 85 and never saw Laois win an all ireland. We have a hurling one from 1915 but Cork went out drinking the night before some say about that one.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 27/08/2017 21:12:57    2038911

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wasn't told off by Admin.

Chief I'll go easy on you

You're obviously in the anxious horrors today, I've said or done nothing petty whatsoever, so just go easy and go for a walk."
The heebie jeebies had well and truly kicked in by the sounds of it.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/08/2017 21:26:01    2038921

Replying To TheHermit:  "Keep talking ye brave men behind yer I-phones, but when Dublin or Tyrone or Mayo lose next you won't see any Kerry posters starting these threads or laughing at ye.

But that's just the difference between us and some of the rest of ye."
Says the man typing behind his electronic device....

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/08/2017 21:28:37    2038922

Replying To Laois76:  "Kerry will be back very soon Hermit.

And it's good to have people starting threads about ye laughing at ye etc. If ye were nobody's nothing would be said. When you're begrudged a bit and there's a bit of bitterness in posts about you then you know you're doing something right.

I wish there were more threads ridiculing Laois and we were after been beaten in an all-ireland semi, and also had won an all-ireland in 2014, 3 years ago..

I'm 41 years old and my father passed away at 90 this year. If i live until i'm 90 do you think i'll ever get to see Laois win a senior all-ireland??! If i lived to be as old as Methuselah, 969, i probably wouldn't see it. Feckin spoilt some of ye are! My dad was lucky he's a Kilkenny man. My mam is 85 and never saw Laois win an all ireland. We have a hurling one from 1915 but Cork went out drinking the night before some say about that one."
Laois' AI title in 1915 had a lot more to it than any Cork team being a little hung-over.

In actual fact the Laois County Board Chairman at the time put in place a revolutionary inter county set up to get Laois that All-Ireland.

You should check out he's collection of documents on the GAA's Centenary website

http://www.gaa.ie/centenary/administrative-docs/john-higgins-collection-1914-1917/

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 22:10:41    2038949

Replying To TheHermit:  "Laois' AI title in 1915 had a lot more to it than any Cork team being a little hung-over.

In actual fact the Laois County Board Chairman at the time put in place a revolutionary inter county set up to get Laois that All-Ireland.

You should check out he's collection of documents on the GAA's Centenary website

Thanks" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.gaa.ie/centenary/administrative-docs/john-higgins-collection-1914-1917/"
Thanks Hermit.

I actually had heard of that but never seen those docs. Very much appreciate that. I was being flippant about the 1915 win. Cork were also have meant to have played in they're over coats due to the heavy rain.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 27/08/2017 23:09:04    2038987

Brutal tactics...Fitzmaurice got it wrong wrong wrong.
Not only were beaten but we were a shambles.
A lot of soul searching over the winter for Eamon....alas I would not lose any sleep if he walked.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 28/08/2017 21:31:54    2039640

Replying To Laois76:  "Kerry will be back very soon Hermit.

I'm 41 years old and my father passed away at 90 this year. If i live until i'm 90 do you think i'll ever get to see Laois win a senior all-ireland??! If i lived to be as old as Methuselah, 969, i probably wouldn't see it. Feckin spoilt some of ye are! My dad was lucky he's a Kilkenny man. My mam is 85 and never saw Laois win an all ireland. We have a hurling one from 1915 but Cork went out drinking the night before some say about that one."
and there is your 2 likes from yourself again laois76, suppose I'll get 2 dislikes for this, have you nothing better to do?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 28/08/2017 21:56:34    2039669

Replying To seanie_boy:  "I like that. It speaks to a deeper understanding of who you are. I like it."
Seriously lads? 7 thumbs down for liking a little piece of prose by another poster. Lol you lads on here are too much fun sometimes.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 28/08/2017 22:37:58    2039703

What is the big deal here?

The best Mayo team of all time beat an average Kerry team and fuly deserved to

What do people expect us to do? We have a small and aging population we can't just replace superstar players with superstars and carry on with no impact, you'd swear we had a million people to pick from such are the ridiculous expectations and demands outsiders have of us

Nothing to see here...........

AgainstTheOdds (Kerry) - Posts: 47 - 29/08/2017 14:05:08    2040086

Replying To TheHermit:  "So ye boys start a thread insulting my county and you have the cheek then to go on at a fella for telling ye where to go???

And considering walking about Dublin last night I had 4 separate fella's with Dublin accents come up to me as I was minding my own business to tell me how shite Kerry were, I wouldn't hold my breath about the decency of some of your countymen.

All most of ye boys on here can do is kick team's when they are down and pile on bile- ye must be proud of yourselves.

Enjoy the semi-final"
Cool story bro

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 29/08/2017 15:38:45    2040163

TheHermit: "So ye boys start a thread insulting my county and you have the cheek then to go on at a fella for telling ye where to go???

And considering walking about Dublin last night I had 4 separate fella's with Dublin accents come up to me as I was minding my own business to tell me how shite Kerry were, I wouldn't hold my breath about the decency of some of your countymen.

All most of ye boys on here can do is kick team's when they are down and pile on bile- ye must be proud of yourselves.

Enjoy the semi-final"

2 things
1. I dont believe you, I think you made that story up, and if you did, then i pity you
2. Enjoy the semi final you say........we did man, we did..........

Thats all

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2017 16:15:09    2040198

Whatever ...

I'm sure you two can guarantee us all that every Dublin male with an interest in the GAA is a perfect sport and would never dare come up to someone in another county jersey and have a dig on a night out.

Totally unbelievable story, of course it is. Kerry lads making things up just cause their team lost.

Glad we got that sorted.

What's that term in the vernacular of your city I'm looking for?, oh yeah - Muppets

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/08/2017 11:55:32    2040671

Hermit:

I usually enjoy your posts on here, but may I respectfully suggest that you're reacting in a fashion that is a tad overwrought?

There will always be muppets online and in the flesh seeking to sew it in to you when your team loses. If Mayo lose the final again, as is likely, you'll have a million keyboard warriors rejoicing and mercilessly mocking my countyfolk. They will come up with the usual guff about Mayo being bottlers, chokers, whingers etc. irrespective of the circumstances of the game, legitimate points of contention or the relative merits and demerits of the two sides. This is an everyday occurrence for us; Kerry get a lot more respect due to their storied tradition.

For example, I recently saw a post on one of the fan pages scorning the Mayo side for having won no All-Ireland medals. The Mayo fans online had great craic pointing out that the majority of the side have some at club, minor or U-21 grades.

There will also be some muppets at games who wouldn't know if a football was pumped or stuffed. Last year at the relayed final, I had the misfortune to sit a few rows in front of a couple of Dubs' fans who fell into this category: everything was Mayo this Mayo that, casting aspersions on West of Ireland folk generally and denigrating the Mayo players. After a few minutes of this, the patience of some Mayo fans around me snapped and they started returning the invective with a few equally silly observations about Dublin's social issues. After the game, a few Dubs' fans started celebrating in an obnoxious way, and I had to share a bus home with a few, necessitating a measure of restraint on my part. Most Dubs fans are grand and a few idiots are not a reflection on their group as a whole.

Thing is, you'll always find such people online and in person, and it takes a bit of work to rise above it, which is harder when you're thin-skinned like me ( and I suspect you too). Kerry will be back winning All-Irelands in a few years, given their underage success, and there will naturally be some begrudging and disparaging chat coming with it. Take it as the compliment it undoubtedly is.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 30/08/2017 13:38:36    2040725

Replying To Gleebo:  "Hermit:

I usually enjoy your posts on here, but may I respectfully suggest that you're reacting in a fashion that is a tad overwrought?

There will always be muppets online and in the flesh seeking to sew it in to you when your team loses. If Mayo lose the final again, as is likely, you'll have a million keyboard warriors rejoicing and mercilessly mocking my countyfolk. They will come up with the usual guff about Mayo being bottlers, chokers, whingers etc. irrespective of the circumstances of the game, legitimate points of contention or the relative merits and demerits of the two sides. This is an everyday occurrence for us; Kerry get a lot more respect due to their storied tradition.

For example, I recently saw a post on one of the fan pages scorning the Mayo side for having won no All-Ireland medals. The Mayo fans online had great craic pointing out that the majority of the side have some at club, minor or U-21 grades.

There will also be some muppets at games who wouldn't know if a football was pumped or stuffed. Last year at the relayed final, I had the misfortune to sit a few rows in front of a couple of Dubs' fans who fell into this category: everything was Mayo this Mayo that, casting aspersions on West of Ireland folk generally and denigrating the Mayo players. After a few minutes of this, the patience of some Mayo fans around me snapped and they started returning the invective with a few equally silly observations about Dublin's social issues. After the game, a few Dubs' fans started celebrating in an obnoxious way, and I had to share a bus home with a few, necessitating a measure of restraint on my part. Most Dubs fans are grand and a few idiots are not a reflection on their group as a whole.

Thing is, you'll always find such people online and in person, and it takes a bit of work to rise above it, which is harder when you're thin-skinned like me ( and I suspect you too). Kerry will be back winning All-Irelands in a few years, given their underage success, and there will naturally be some begrudging and disparaging chat coming with it. Take it as the compliment it undoubtedly is."
Regarding the Kerry underage success gleebo it looks like we're losing another talented young man to oz in David shaw, David would be a first cousin to the O'Shea's from breaffy.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/08/2017 14:07:40    2040744

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Regarding the Kerry underage success gleebo it looks like we're losing another talented young man to oz in David shaw, David would be a first cousin to the O'Shea's from breaffy."
Is David Clifford likely to go to?

I suppose Kerry, as with all western counties, are vulnerable to outward migration. Would have thought though that possibly four All-Ireland winning minor sides would be a decent platform to build off at senior?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 30/08/2017 14:23:51    2040749

Replying To Gleebo:  "Hermit:

Thing is, you'll always find such people online and in person, and it takes a bit of work to rise above it, which is harder when you're thin-skinned like me ( and I suspect you too). Kerry will be back winning All-Irelands in a few years, given their underage success, and there will naturally be some begrudging and disparaging chat coming with it. Take it as the compliment it undoubtedly is."
Yes I know and understand everything you are saying Gleebo, when it comes to Kerry the heart overrules the head and when I'm a bit tired and emotional after a loss, depressed, and then come on here and see the sniggering from one or two usual bitter posters (who have, we all know, several alter-ego's) sometimes I tend to lash out.

It is stupid and it's only the reaction they want, so I should learn to hold my council more.

I've calmed down a lot since Sunday morning and while it's a long dark winter down in the Kingdom (with a lot of brooding and soul-searching), come February the blood will start racing again, the optimism will return and Kerry will rise and go at it again, like they always do.

A few Dubs coming up to me at various stages in the pub later on giving me their €0.02 was just insult to injury. I know the vast majority of Dublin supporters are very decent, I'm friends with a good few myself. But I mentioned my experience to show up one sanctimonious Dub poster.

Two more posters have since basically said I'm lying. I really don't care, one of them is someone who regularly posts all kind of embarrasing nonesense on here, the other is just a phantom account of another Dub poster who should have been banned out of here long ago.

Anyway, Gleebo genuinely wish Mayo will see things through now in September. Being beaten by what proves to be the best team in a given year is an easier pill to swallow!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/08/2017 14:41:25    2040760