Replying To jimbodub:  "Not lapping up anything chief

Hard luck but stop the poetry reading crap FFS..."
Just for you, JimBobDub.

The Blind Man at Croke Park' by Liam Macgabhann

'Listen, asthore, for these eyes are sealed,
Listen once more, when Kerrymen take the field,
Tell an old man who saw them in days of old,
Do they walk proudly in their green and gold?

Listen, asthore, when Kerry take the field,
Tell me when they attack and when they yield;
Say if they fail; asthore, I'm blind and old,
Tell me they'll not dishonour the green and gold.'

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 27/08/2017 13:26:38    2038571

Replying To Midleton:  "Just for you, JimBobDub.

The Blind Man at Croke Park' by Liam Macgabhann

'Listen, asthore, for these eyes are sealed,
Listen once more, when Kerrymen take the field,
Tell an old man who saw them in days of old,
Do they walk proudly in their green and gold?

Listen, asthore, when Kerry take the field,
Tell me when they attack and when they yield;
Say if they fail; asthore, I'm blind and old,
Tell me they'll not dishonour the green and gold.'"
Great bit of poetry that. Sadly the days of honouring the jersey being the only consideration are long gone in intercounty football.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 27/08/2017 13:40:18    2038575

Replying To TheHermit:  "Your wife sounds like a lovely woman, God bless here for putting up with you, your not a Kerryman so you'll never understand anything about it"
She's great pal.
I'll let her know you were asking after her. Best of luck with the whole, 'Kerry isn't a place it's a state of mind' thing that you have going on there. I'll remember it next time I'm down in da kingdom.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 27/08/2017 13:43:45    2038576

Hard luck to Kerry yesterday. Ye weeetn at the races. With all the minor success it won't be long until yer back winning All Irelands

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 27/08/2017 13:47:14    2038580

Don't know why admin keeps blocking my posts when some horrible posts are wrote every day.

I think Spillane and guys in a position like that need to be held accountable for their ridiculous comments.

My own county man Martin McHugh the very same.

Spillane and co need to come out and say are Kerry are as defensive as anyone - they are cynical.

I was never a lover of Tyrone but my god if that was them yesterday there would be outcry .

The 'Kerry way' is resigned to the history books.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 27/08/2017 14:01:38    2038588

Replying To skillet:  "She's great pal.
I'll let her know you were asking after her. Best of luck with the whole, 'Kerry isn't a place it's a state of mind' thing that you have going on there. I'll remember it next time I'm down in da kingdom."
Do, maybe if a few Limerick people felt a bit more like that he might get yer thumb out of yer butts and start taking inter county football seriously

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 14:07:58    2038593

Replying To TheHermit:  "Do, maybe if a few Limerick people felt a bit more like that he might get yer thumb out of yer butts and start taking inter county football seriously"
Thanks for the advice Hermit. Equally wish you well with your plans for Kerry hurling over the next few years....

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 27/08/2017 14:17:08    2038597

Replying To TheHermit:  "Oh really that's why you've crawled out from under the rock yesterday to start you petty little threads. Funny how you weren't on here for the 3 weeks before after being told off by the admin over your comments on Kerry. But once we are down you come back out in all your glory.

PS At least I know some poetry wee man"
I wasn't told off by Admin.

Chief I'll go easy on you

You're obviously in the anxious horrors today, I've said or done nothing petty whatsoever, so just go easy and go for a walk.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/08/2017 14:19:29    2038599

Replying To skillet:  "Thanks for the advice Hermit. Equally wish you well with your plans for Kerry hurling over the next few years...."
We were in the same division as you the last two years but if you knew your hurling you would be aware of that

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 14:31:21    2038609

Chief I did honours English and got an A2

I can quote from Soundings with the best of them

Wee man?

The only wee going on was in Fitzmaurices jocks last week when deciding to setup Kerry in such a manner

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/08/2017 14:40:27    2038617

Replying To TheHermit:  "I am of Kerry, like my father before me and my mother,
and my father's father and my mother's mother and every drop before,
And I look out on the Scellig, and I see the sun set on the Blasket,
and I hear the ripple of the Luane, and I smell fresh cut turf on the bogs of Lyreacrompane,
and I see the eagle over Knockanure, and the deer across Glencar.
And I am Kerry, like my fathers and Mothers before me,
And I know Sam Maguire calls this land home
And I know he will always return,

An Riocht Abu"
I always wondered how to spell 'Lyreacrompane'. I remember John B Keane talking about an auld 'coolaruan' of a lad courting a young girl from Lyreacrompane!

In fairness that's a really nice verse.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 27/08/2017 14:41:11    2038618

Replying To TheHermit:  "37 ALL IRELANS, THAT's KERRY FOOTBALL. Enjoy your petty name calling chumps"
Jaysus if Dublin lose today I hope our posters on here will have a little more class.

Maybe some won't but hopefully they will.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 27/08/2017 14:41:46    2038619

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jaysus if Dublin lose today I hope our posters on here will have a little more class.

Maybe some won't but hopefully they will."
So ye boys start a thread insulting my county and you have the cheek then to go on at a fella for telling ye where to go???

And considering walking about Dublin last night I had 4 separate fella's with Dublin accents come up to me as I was minding my own business to tell me how shite Kerry were, I wouldn't hold my breath about the decency of some of your countymen.

All most of ye boys on here can do is kick team's when they are down and pile on bile- ye must be proud of yourselves.

Enjoy the semi-final

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 15:00:54    2038629

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jaysus if Dublin lose today I hope our posters on here will have a little more class.

Maybe some won't but hopefully they will."
Haha... what is that guff.. . "my dad would beat up your dad" senior infants stuff

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 27/08/2017 15:02:38    2038633

Replying To TheHermit:  "So ye boys start a thread insulting my county and you have the cheek then to go on at a fella for telling ye where to go???

And considering walking about Dublin last night I had 4 separate fella's with Dublin accents come up to me as I was minding my own business to tell me how shite Kerry were, I wouldn't hold my breath about the decency of some of your countymen.

All most of ye boys on here can do is kick team's when they are down and pile on bile- ye must be proud of yourselves.

Enjoy the semi-final"
A meathman started this thread but sure rant away!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 27/08/2017 15:21:42    2038643

Replying To TheHermit:  "I am of Kerry, like my father before me and my mother,
and my father's father and my mother's mother and every drop before,
And I look out on the Scellig, and I see the sun set on the Blasket,
and I hear the ripple of the Luane, and I smell fresh cut turf on the bogs of Lyreacrompane,
and I see the eagle over Knockanure, and the deer across Glencar.
And I am Kerry, like my fathers and Mothers before me,
And I know Sam Maguire calls this land home
And I know he will always return,

An Riocht Abu"
Jaysus that is what one calls a doggerel, certainly what we saw yesterday is way short of those lines.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 27/08/2017 15:27:13    2038645

Replying To DannyMcA:  "A meathman started this thread but sure rant away!"
My rant wasn't directed at Dublin people, just some of yer more bitter posters on this website and those from many other counties that can't hide their glee when Kerry get a reverse but sure why bother actually reading anything anyone posts up.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 15:37:51    2038653

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Don't know why admin keeps blocking my posts when some horrible posts are wrote every day.

I think Spillane and guys in a position like that need to be held accountable for their ridiculous comments.

My own county man Martin McHugh the very same.

Spillane and co need to come out and say are Kerry are as defensive as anyone - they are cynical.

I was never a lover of Tyrone but my god if that was them yesterday there would be outcry .

The 'Kerry way' is resigned to the history books."
Kerry were an embarrassment to their footballing heritage yesterday. They were nasty, cynical and negative. Before the ball was even thrown in three Mayo forwards were pulled to the ground. They set out to bully and intimidate and when Mayo and David Gough stood up to them they had no answer. They had fifteen men behind the ball and still couldn't stop the Mayo runners. They showed no imagination in transitioning from defence to attack. They were totally outplayed and outthought. Their lack of discipline was astonishing on and off the pitch. Anthony Maher was introduced with a few minutes to go and Kerry chasing the game. He should have been sent off before the game was restarted in a display of petulance that was reflective of their overall performance.
It was as poor a display as we have seen from Kerry in many a year.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 27/08/2017 15:38:15    2038654

Replying To arock:  "Jaysus that is what one calls a doggerel, certainly what we saw yesterday is way short of those lines."
Keep talking ye brave men behind yer I-phones, but when Dublin or Tyrone or Mayo lose next you won't see any Kerry posters starting these threads or laughing at ye.

But that's just the difference between us and some of the rest of ye.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2017 15:41:15    2038655

Replying To TheHermit:  "We were in the same division as you the last two years but if you knew your hurling you would be aware of that"
Well, that certainly taught me.... Good luck Hermit, you appear to have enough people on here to fight with without me to contend with.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 27/08/2017 15:42:55    2038656