This is not Kerry football

This thread is just gleeful Kerry bashing as usual.

Kerry have been pushing plenty of numbers forward all year but I think EF got spooked last weekend when our full back line was destroyed with no sweeper in front of them. He completely overreacted however and played in to mayos hands today, they took full advantage and well done to them.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/08/2017 18:12:09    2038130

Ah hold on a second, I agree the game today was cynical but both teams were as bad as each other. There was a lot of pulling and dragging which was a pity as last week was much more free flowing. However if Tyrone do the same tomorrow they will get crucified by the media.

The changes Fitzmaurice made today just didn't work. I thought he set up Kerry similar to the 2014 All-Ireland final against Donegal. He played with a sweeper and kept the half back line on their own 45 with the half forwards filtering back as well, in essence a blanket defence. In fairness it worked against Donegal and no one was complaining. Its really all about the result.

Kerry will be back as they have an abundance of underage talent and will know how to develop them. Hard luck to Kerry today and bad form people kicking them when they are down.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 26/08/2017 18:14:31    2038133

I wasn't confident going into today's game, I never am!

Before the match most "experts" thought mayo had missed the boat last weekend- except Ciaran Whelan. On the Sunday game he questioned how good this Kerry team is. And I think he's right. Kerry have pedigree which carries them against certain teams- Mayo until today.
They haven't come close to beating Dublin in a few years but this might be acceptable because Dublin are so good but it disguises how poor Kerry are. After today I think everyone is going to question this more!

What is the future for DF and this team?

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 26/08/2017 18:49:34    2038154

So surprised to see Kerry in the 1st half hoofing it in to Donaghy, thought I was watching a game 10 years ago. Is that really all Kerry have got?

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 26/08/2017 19:14:57    2038173

Replying To kerryluck:  "Football is one of the most undisciplined sports going
Way worse than soccer
Even d simple little things like kicking ball away, trying to keep ball when free given against their team
Every team at it, some teams are just highlighted a lot more
Anyone that says something different is in denial!"
Is this new because Kerry posters among others were slating northern teams for his in noughties as if Kerry et al never did it when in fact it's been part of the game for many generations!!! I've been to many Kerry matches in hq and they've always been a cynical team along with their undoubted talent - the problem this year the talent wasn't really there! Well done to Mayo.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 26/08/2017 19:19:19    2038176

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Kerry are the most cynical and dirty team in the country. Great to see a referee finally catching on to it."
He let an awful go with the Kerry forwards. Mayo players were pulled and dragged continually in the first half as they tried to play the ball out from the back.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 26/08/2017 19:46:34    2038188

Lots of posters crawling out from under their rocks to stick the boot in.
It was s terrible performance today and tactically a shambles.
Kerry will be back plenty of talent coming through however there will always be posters from other counties who'll rejoice when we are beaten.
Most of them come from counties that could kick snow of a rope.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/08/2017 19:46:49    2038190

Ditto poster above re kicking Kerry after they lose, or any team for that matter. I feel that mayo won by being better today, football wise but also tactically and more ugly (not being disingenuous). They had to win cause they are traumatized from not getting over the line. Kerry also deserve a lot of credit for making a game of it despite them not playing that well. Also, Kerry have massive young tallent coming thru, they better start using them asap or they will rightly head off to oz. I also think that a myth was exposed today of teams either burning out from too many games, or not having games under the belt for championship levels. Mayo have played 9 and Kerry had any cobwebs removed last week. If you are good u are good despite either scenario.....provided u have avoided injury or suspensions incurred. Also would echo sentiments re studio playing favorites with bad boys of the game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 26/08/2017 20:00:21    2038204

Not a day for critisim no one will feel the hurt and pain of that performence and loss more then Kerry themselves.

Fair play to them for contributing to two very entertaining games. I'm sure they will go through there work diligently in the winter,

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/08/2017 20:07:08    2038213

Replying To Donegalman:  "Ditto poster above re kicking Kerry after they lose, or any team for that matter. I feel that mayo won by being better today, football wise but also tactically and more ugly (not being disingenuous). They had to win cause they are traumatized from not getting over the line. Kerry also deserve a lot of credit for making a game of it despite them not playing that well. Also, Kerry have massive young tallent coming thru, they better start using them asap or they will rightly head off to oz. I also think that a myth was exposed today of teams either burning out from too many games, or not having games under the belt for championship levels. Mayo have played 9 and Kerry had any cobwebs removed last week. If you are good u are good despite either scenario.....provided u have avoided injury or suspensions incurred. Also would echo sentiments re studio playing favorites with bad boys of the game."
Fair play for your honest analysis. Yes nothing more cowardly then kicking a team when they are down.

You have to admire the passion and spirit this Mayo team have shown this year for coming back game after game, not only in 2017 but after all the tough losses over the years.

Andy Moran and the likes of Boyle were immense again, hopefully they can contribute one more big performance.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 26/08/2017 20:19:37    2038227

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Kerry were a f**king disgrace today in many ways"
U know what, I withdraw that remark. Sorry Kerry lads. Hard luck to ye. Ye will of course be back

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/08/2017 20:24:40    2038234

Replying To westkerry:  "Lots of posters crawling out from under their rocks to stick the boot in.
Kerry will be back plenty of talent coming through however there will always be posters from other counties who'll rejoice when we are beaten.
Most of them come from counties that could kick snow of a rope."
I am sure Kerry football will do the right thing in relation to what happened to this Kerry team over these two games. They looked shot through with anxiety and nervousness and the lack of confidence was evident in all their play. But a change of management will easily correct that and they will be back.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 26/08/2017 20:29:22    2038242

Replying To westkerry:  "Lots of posters crawling out from under their rocks to stick the boot in.
Most of them come from counties that could kick snow of a rope."
In a way its a compliment to Kerry football that some people are bashing you, shows how they see you as a threat. It didn't happen for Kerry in the two games against Mayo but they will be back. With the young talent kerry have I would be amazed if they don't win an All-Ireland within the next few years. There is no better county at bringing through young talent than Kerry.

Will Eamonn Fitz come under pressure now? He isn't getting the best of the players at his disposal.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 26/08/2017 20:35:03    2038247

tactically that was a shambles first half for kerry..

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 26/08/2017 20:49:45    2038260

Replying To Green_Gold:  "In a way its a compliment to Kerry football that some people are bashing you, shows how they see you as a threat. It didn't happen for Kerry in the two games against Mayo but they will be back. With the young talent kerry have I would be amazed if they don't win an All-Ireland within the next few years. There is no better county at bringing through young talent than Kerry.

Will Eamonn Fitz come under pressure now? He isn't getting the best of the players at his disposal."
Agree and disagree with you. Kerry have a great history and with that should come a certain amount of class not the cynical rubbish we saw today - I was there and some of it was idiotic. If it was your county at it today the 3 SG amigos would have slaughtered you instead of dismissing it because it's Kerry. Call a spade a spade man. But Kerry will be back.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 26/08/2017 20:51:51    2038266

Replying to westkerry

Re: Most of them come from counties that could kick snow of a rope.

Dear wk, just to note, when you decide to use cliches or platitudes in a condescending manner towards the less successful counties, would you at least quote the blinking things correctly, as in: 'they couldn't [or could not] kick snow off [not of] a rope!' Coming from one of the aforementioned counties that you are inferring by your remark, I, like many, have always looked up to Kerry football, and the panache (not always) that they are renowned for. This year was not a vintage year by Kerry standards, and not today, by any means. Donaghy's 'throwing the toys out of the pram' so to speak, at the end, was something I'm sure he'll look back on with regret. I felt it demeaned the fine traditions of the Kerry jersey. Where I come from we're used to condescension from many counties, but you know what, we suck it up and get on with it. Your team is not above reproach, and today it was certainly not above criticism, on many levels. I have no doubt Kerry will be back sooner rather than later, and producing scintillating football as well, in contrast to the team I take pride in following. So, in the meantime, I suggest to you 'suck it up', and try to use your platitudes in the correct manner in future, or you'll end up with 'egg on your face', just like Donaghy.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 26/08/2017 20:55:14    2038270

People love watching the big boys take a tumble, if we get beat tomorrow we'll be slaughtered on here.
The Dubs and Kerry will always be in the mix, but just maybe, its Mayos year?!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 26/08/2017 21:00:42    2038273

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Agree and disagree with you. Kerry have a great history and with that should come a certain amount of class not the cynical rubbish we saw today - I was there and some of it was idiotic. If it was your county at it today the 3 SG amigos would have slaughtered you instead of dismissing it because it's Kerry. Call a spade a spade man. But Kerry will be back."
I do agree that the game was cynical today and if it was Tyrone v Donegal you could just imagine the outcry. Both teams committed a lot of fouls today which is a shame as it ruined the flow of the game. I was trying to make a more general point about people being so quick to jump on Kerry's grave.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 26/08/2017 21:22:41    2038287

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "You better get used to it over the next couple of days. Its the norm on here after a Kerry defeat."
Suck it up and take the beating . yel be winning all Ireland's again soon enough.

We were slaughtered here after mayo hammered us and rightly so. Its only a bit of craic the old slagging.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 26/08/2017 21:28:47    2038293

I come from a county that traditionally support kerry in football cos it's about the 4th sport in Limerick. Indeed we've had a few limerick men play with Kerry over the years.
Today was shocking. A team imitates the manager and that team is slow, ponderous narky and lacking confidence. When the great Kerry teams fouled they used do it better with a smile and a shrug. Fitzmaurice has to go. He's been awful.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 26/08/2017 21:32:26    2038296