All Ireland under 21 hurling championship

Congrats to Limerick, they did it the hard way beating Tipp, Clare, Cork, Galway and Kilkenny. Cork and Galway pushed them the hardest but they were step above everyone this year just like Waterford last year.

I saw a lot of promise in the Limerick performance against Kilkenny in the senior championship this year, just need to cut down on the wide count.

This is a great chance now for Limerick to push on and win a senior all Ireland. Last year's minor team was good too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/09/2017 16:36:13    2044418

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Congrats to Limerick, they did it the hard way beating Tipp, Clare, Cork, Galway and Kilkenny. Cork and Galway pushed them the hardest but they were step above everyone this year just like Waterford last year.

I saw a lot of promise in the Limerick performance against Kilkenny in the senior championship this year, just need to cut down on the wide count.

This is a great chance now for Limerick to push on and win a senior all Ireland. Last year's minor team was good too."
They certainly did do it the hard way, beating 5 strong hurling counties including the traditional big 3 - has any team ever had such a tough route to a hurling all-Ireland? Congrats and hope they can push on at senior level in the next few years.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 09/09/2017 16:58:52    2044423

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Congrats to Limerick, they did it the hard way beating Tipp, Clare, Cork, Galway and Kilkenny. Cork and Galway pushed them the hardest but they were step above everyone this year just like Waterford last year.

This is a great chance now for Limerick to push on and win a senior all Ireland. Last year's minor team was good too."
This will mean an awful lot to Limerick.. The hard work to get to the final and then fairly comprehensively beat a good Kilkenny side will give us a lot of confidence....
No one knows more than us that u21 doesn't mean senior success but the future looks a lot brighter than it did a couple of months ago.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 09/09/2017 19:37:25    2044450

Fabulous Limerick side, right up there with the Waterford team of 2016.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 09/09/2017 19:59:34    2044458

Well done Limerick savage win , a lot of future stars playing today for ya's no doubt about it. Great stuff

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/09/2017 20:24:26    2044466

Fair play, well done on great win.
Beat all the top teams too on the way to final.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 09/09/2017 20:40:00    2044469

Just want to express my congrats to the U21B champions!! Well done to the Kerry youngsters a nice 2 fingers to Croke Park and their propodals to leave us in hurling limbo.

Well done to the Treaty men too.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/09/2017 21:16:38    2044485

Replying To salvador:  "Fabulous Limerick side, right up there with the Waterford team of 2016."
...and with the Limerick team(s) from 2000 to 2002, and with the Clare team(s) from 2012 to 2014. It's a cautionary tale.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 09/09/2017 21:16:39    2044486

It's better to win them than lose them. Winning breeds winning. Kilkenny will be sore after that one. They weren't let out of third gear and physically they struggled. I'm sure if they got a sniff of a goal then they would have mounted some charge but as Donal O Grady always says..kilkenny more than any side need goals. Any way it was a real solid display by the Treatymen and I think there's some good talent in that squad.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 09/09/2017 21:39:36    2044492

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "...and with the Limerick team(s) from 2000 to 2002, and with the Clare team(s) from 2012 to 2014. It's a cautionary tale."
Well Clare won a senior All Ireland, and as far as the 2000-2002 wins were concerned Limerick struggled big time right through those three years in Munster. The win was also tempered by the fact that LK won the U21 Munster football title in Munster in 2000, with several dual layers aboard and many of them became dual stars at senior level, which was no help in the long run. By contrast there are no footballers, at least at county level, except Fanning on this team. It should be also noted that the three in a row team was built on the same four or five players like Lucey, Lawlor, Keane Guiry etc from day one.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 09/09/2017 21:48:33    2044493

Well done Limerick. Really impressed with the team's defence.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 10/09/2017 00:01:59    2044517

Replying To TheHermit:  "Just want to express my congrats to the U21B champions!! Well done to the Kerry youngsters a nice 2 fingers to Croke Park and their propodals to leave us in hurling limbo.

Well done to the Treaty men too."
Some good hurlers on that team Hermit, I recognise Buckley, O Connor, Conway from their minor team that beat us in a great minor semi final couple of years ago.....unfortunately they won't let Down into the u21 B as they can only 'accommodate' 8 teams!

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 10/09/2017 00:03:49    2044518

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Some good hurlers on that team Hermit, I recognise Buckley, O Connor, Conway from their minor team that beat us in a great minor semi final couple of years ago.....unfortunately they won't let Down into the u21 B as they can only 'accommodate' 8 teams!"
Says a lot doesn't it! How do to expect to keep hurling Alice in places like Ards with that kind of policy coming from above!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 10/09/2017 07:47:15    2044531

Congratulations to Limerick U21 hurlers on winning the All Ireland title yesterday. They were the better team, and were deserving winners.
Good year for the neutrals.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 10/09/2017 13:24:25    2044610

Congrats Limerick delighted for ye

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 10/09/2017 13:45:23    2044614

So disappointed with that Kilkenny performance. Second best in every department. Cody has his work cut out rebuilding the senior team based on that performance. They had looked a genuinely good team against Wexford in the Leinster final (we'll discount the Derry match) but weren't able to cope with Limerick's pace and power at all. As well as that, they gave away so many stupid frees. About 2 or 3 times in the second half, we had somehow clawed the deficit back to 4/5 points, but from the resultant Limerick puck-out committed blatantly obvious, stupid fouls (jersey pull by Leahy, high tackle by Donnelly) and Limerick were able to cancel out the previous Kilkenny point straight away. Drove me mad. I always say if a team's gonna beat you by 10 points at least make them earn the points, don't bloody give them away. Bad day at the office, but congratulations to Limerick, fully deserved.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 10/09/2017 15:11:18    2044628

Replying To skillet:  "This will mean an awful lot to Limerick.. The hard work to get to the final and then fairly comprehensively beat a good Kilkenny side will give us a lot of confidence....
No one knows more than us that u21 doesn't mean senior success but the future looks a lot brighter than it did a couple of months ago."
Keep the faith, this bunch will deliver for Limerick if John Kiely is given enough time. Limerick vs Galway will be some game in 1b next Spring.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/09/2017 23:23:11    2044768

Contragulations and thanks from a very proud and happy family of limerick fans,

outstanding performances from kyle hayes, colin ryan and aaron gillane done all season
robbie hanley gave his performance of the year, the lads have been brilliant all campaign the management made the necessary calls, subs made impact, think la touche and boylan in semi and final and oisin oreilly.

the point before half time kyle hayes rises on the ground, hanpass to ronan lynch inch perfect pass to barry nash who bats it overhead to aaron gillane who had to turn to score - a sublime score

our support was fantastic to bring 14000 fans is incredible support for and under 21 game.

Yes its a stepping stone to build on for senior level , but right now lets enjoy this, and it whets the appetite for our coming club championship games

Also after every game the players have stayed on the pitch for ages after signing stuff for kids
posing for pictures, any body wants to say well done its always greeted with a polite thank you , have met a lot of them at culcamps and blitzes, certainly no big headdedness here. On saturday the cup was on the pitch and anybody who wanted photos with the cup could get one

And its great they let kids have a puck around on pitch after game, because of this my two lads are being inspired to play the game, getting to puck about in thurles would inspire you.

Contragulations and thanks lads

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 11/09/2017 11:16:26    2044854

Congrats to Limerick - The result never looked in doubt. I am no hurling expert but Kilkenny looked very poor. I would love to see Limerick win a senior All Ireland in the coming years.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 11/09/2017 11:56:17    2044883

Look at this for a potential Limerick senior 15 based on the 2015 and 2017 under 21 teams only:

McNamara/ McCarthy

S Finn, R English, M Casey;
D Byrnes, K Hayes, R Lynch;

G Hegarty, P Ryan;

T Morrissey, B Nash, D Dempsey;
P Casey, A Gillane, C Lynch.

I really think Limerick has a great chance this time. Somebody made a very valid point that the 2000 - 2002 crop had 4 or 5 dual players. The vast majority of these lads are hurling only.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2017 20:42:24    2045061