Overcrowding on the Hill

Replying To moc.dna:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=moc.dna:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "Not true, check it out, Dublin get a greater allocation of Hill tickets than other counties.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts:474 - 22/08/2017 16:51:21   2036468 

Is the internet available outside Dublin?

Are there Supervalu or Centra shops outside of Dublin?

If the answer is Yes to the above then the opposition fans have the exact same access to the majority of Hill tickets sold for Dublin games up to the All-Ireland Final.

The other tickets are available through clubs through their respective county boards. Who are entitled to apply for and receive the same amount of terrace tickets as any other county board if the demand is there.

I know you prefer not believe the above and keep telling the rest of the lads in the pub about how the Big Bad Dubs steal all the hill tickets for themselves."
For all ticket games & All Ireland finals, tickets are distributed through the clubs. Dublin get the majority of Hill tickets on these occasions. Don't worry about it, your mates on here will be all on to back you up & make you feel great about yourself. You also suitably ignored all the other points raised where ye are given better treatment by the Gaa also. Intrinsically linked & not for the good of the rest of the Association."
Every game in Croke Pk is an all ticket game and for every one of those up to the All-Ireland Final the majority of Hill tickets are sold online or in Supervalu or Centra.

I was under the impression that people outside of Dublin were able to use the internet to buy tickets but you seem to think they cannot. Why do you think that?

You also seem to think that people outside Dublin are not allowed into Supervalu or Centra. Again what is stopping them buying their hill tickets there?

For tickets through clubs and county boards they have the same ability to access hill tickets as Dublin clubs or the Dublin County Board if they want them.

The hill tickets (and Nally) are available and no amount of sticking your fingers in your ears when it's explained to you will change the facts that you're clearly just ignorantly lying."]The usual arrogance from the Dubs on here, can never accept the facts. Just like Jim Gavin going on about Connollys constitutional rights this year, deflection. Online sales of tickets for the Hill are limited, when Dublin are playing in all ticket matches only x amount of tickets for the Hill are available online, the majority are kept & distributed to the clubs through the Dublin County board, so the greatest percentage of tickets for the Hill are given to Dublin supporters, fact. The Gaa are bending over backwards for Dublin over the last few years, they wouldn't let Carlow play their home game in Dr Cullen park, why not, capacity, so as it could accommodate more Dublin supporters. Same previously with games moved to Nowlan Park & Portlaoise. The Gaa don't care about the smaller counties as the Dubs are the cash cow & they are happy to give in to the demand for tickets by the Dubs by moving home games for the smaller counties. There is more to Gaa than Dublin even though when you look at the way money is allocated by the Gaa, you wouldn't think it. Bottom line is the Gaa have pumped the largest share of funding into Dublin Gaa & are happy to do so as it brings the biggest revenue & TV figures so they are happily giving them the greatest share of tickets for the Hill, even Stevie Wonder could see this even if you can't. Just like most supporters around the country I'm hoping Tyrone kick seven different types of sh%t out of ye on Sunday."]There's 7 different types of sh!te? Who knew? How do you know that disgusting fact? Actually I don't want to.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/08/2017 13:24:10    2036759

Replying To MesAmis:  "Moc dna

The majority of clubs in Dublin do not distribute tickets for games before the All-Ireland Final so you're clearly talking out of your back side on that. Even when then was the case the opposition county board were entitled to get as many terrace tickets as Dublin's.

The vast vast majority of Hill tickets are sold online or through the shops previously mentioned. Anyone can buy those tickets even if you believe country people have some sort of deficiency in their motor skills which leaves them unable to move their fingers properly in order to buy tickets online! I presume you believe Supervalu and Centra to be Dublin only shops too!

You're either quite slow to believe the above or just ignorantly trolling. Not sure which just yet!"
Probably both, quite hilarious really.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/08/2017 13:28:48    2036763

Replying To yew_tree:  "MacHale Park has one Stand...the rest of the round is priced cheaper "sideline". I get the feeling you just don't like Mayo fans on the hill....which ironically one Dub fan said to me in 2013....are you sure we have not met before ;)"
no problem with supporters or people from anywhere
have a problem with consistency though regarding mayo supporters
they dont want hill tickets for the last three games and wont take up many again for this saturday more than likely
but yet we are lead to believe the cheaper ticket for the final entitles them to the vast amount they recieve if they get there
surely if its a cost issue they should be taking up as many for this saturday as they are having an extra game to pay for which would mean saving.
its quite clear they dont want them all year but if it comes to pass they make the final and dublin make the final thats when they want them is the way it looks from past experinces.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/08/2017 15:42:40    2036825

Replying To hill16no1man:  "no problem with supporters or people from anywhere
have a problem with consistency though regarding mayo supporters
they dont want hill tickets for the last three games and wont take up many again for this saturday more than likely
but yet we are lead to believe the cheaper ticket for the final entitles them to the vast amount they recieve if they get there
surely if its a cost issue they should be taking up as many for this saturday as they are having an extra game to pay for which would mean saving.
its quite clear they dont want them all year but if it comes to pass they make the final and dublin make the final thats when they want them is the way it looks from past experinces."
Yup, once again everyone is out to get ye.

While you are correct to say that taking a Hill ticket for a semi final will definitely save costs, there is a huge difference in saving for the Final. It's a €40 difference on All Ireland Final day, it's nowhere close to that for the semis. How is this hard to grasp?

There is also the issue with Parnell Passes. I am open to correction but as far as I am aware you can get a terrace Parnell Pass. There is no such equivalent in Mayo and if you have a season ticket or Cáirde Maigh Eo you have no choice but to go to the Cusack. I have a season ticket myself but also like standing at football and if there was an option to buy a cheaper terrace season ticket, I would go for that.

It's also not as if the Hill is filled all year when Dublin are playing, it's only latter rounds of the Championship when this happens. I am sure on All Ireland Final Day last year there was plenty of Dublin supporters standing on Hill 16 who either hadn't been there all year or had been there only once or twice that year, just like their Mayo brethren.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 23/08/2017 16:05:49    2036837

Replying To the_walls:  "Yup, once again everyone is out to get ye.

While you are correct to say that taking a Hill ticket for a semi final will definitely save costs, there is a huge difference in saving for the Final. It's a €40 difference on All Ireland Final day, it's nowhere close to that for the semis. How is this hard to grasp?

There is also the issue with Parnell Passes. I am open to correction but as far as I am aware you can get a terrace Parnell Pass. There is no such equivalent in Mayo and if you have a season ticket or Cáirde Maigh Eo you have no choice but to go to the Cusack. I have a season ticket myself but also like standing at football and if there was an option to buy a cheaper terrace season ticket, I would go for that.

It's also not as if the Hill is filled all year when Dublin are playing, it's only latter rounds of the Championship when this happens. I am sure on All Ireland Final Day last year there was plenty of Dublin supporters standing on Hill 16 who either hadn't been there all year or had been there only once or twice that year, just like their Mayo brethren."
no just no consistency from the gaa as usual.
this will be your fourth time in croker if you make the final
surely you can do the matsh if you had of got the hill ticket instead of stand for them four games
it would have saved you more than the 40 euro your complaining about on all ireland final day as the reason your entitled.
yes i have a parnell terrace pass, theres no terrace in castelbar so maybe its your county board you should ask about lack of terrace to allow you get terrace pass in mayo.
the hill is filled for all championship games, nally wasnt for semi final but was for leinster final and quarter final.
no quite the opposite theres about twenty people go to the same area as me on the hill hail rain or snow for games and only 5 of us got final tickets.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/08/2017 16:34:56    2036848

Replying To hill16no1man:  "yeah but they cost 45 or something last week and after been there twice over last month surely if was about saving money the mayo supporters would have saved by opting for hill tickets last weekend?
two roscommon and two kerry games would cost you a lot more than 80 euro for the stand you could have saved 80 euro going the hill probably."
Aah sure if they had of known they were going to be two draws they could of made a fortune off the bookies and been able to afford to buy a box from which they could watch all games!

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 23/08/2017 17:17:40    2036866

Replying To benched:  "Aah sure if they had of known they were going to be two draws they could of made a fortune off the bookies and been able to afford to buy a box from which they could watch all games!"
I'm guessing the reason mayo people go to the hill for the final is that they are the only tickets they can get. I remember when offaly were good in the 90s we could only get hill tickets for all Ireland's when we sat for the rest of the year. Not a big anti dub conspiracy. Every player on a county panel has an option to buy 2 stand tickets not to mention all the volunteers, coaches and teachers get tickets as well so stand tickets are limited

tonorio (Offaly) - Posts: 608 - 23/08/2017 18:18:54    2036882

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Probably both, quite hilarious really."
Lol, yer a laugh, all sticking together & giving each other likes, ye are not cute enough for the Kerry boys on here who dominate this forum despite yer best efforts. It's great to watch ye hoovering & devouring someone like flies around Sh%t, only good in the gang, sad. Yer nearly as hilarious as Jim Gavin crying over Connollys constitutional rights being impinged. Never met a Dub who didn't think he knew it all even when it was staring them in the face, a difficulty in accepting reality. The Gaa doing everything in their power for Dublin these days from the highest funding to taking home venues off the smaller Leinster counties, wouldn't be surprised if ye beat Tyrone that they appoint David Gough for the final. Like most other counties I will be cheering on Tyrone this w'end, looking forward to the Tyrone boys winding up Mc Mahon & Connolly.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 23/08/2017 19:31:37    2036895

Replying To the_walls:  "As another man said, where can we check this out?

To be fair my understanding of the allocation of Hill tickets for the Final (and presumably it is the same for the other rounds) is that tickets are allocated to both county boards equally but generally when teams are playing Dublin, the opposition will swap their Hill tickets with the Dublin county boards for stand tickets. You can't blame Dublin for that. Of course I am open to correction on this from someone in the know but as I say, that is my understanding of the situation."
You are wrong, Mayo county board do not swap tickets with Dublin county board, it is against Gaa rules to do so & if they did the Mayo clubs would be up in arms. It seems most people on here have never dealt with tickets or have any idea of how they are allocated, contact Croke Park for the info. For the All Ireland all counties get an allocation of tickets not just the competing counties, overseas units get tickets, referees, sponsors, Cumann na mBunscoil officials, disabled supporters, ex players & officials, politicians, there is a whole raft of people that get tickets. The competing counties get an allocation for minor & senior & excess tickets returned from other counties unsold are redistributed through the competing counties.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 23/08/2017 20:19:33    2036908

Replying To moc.dna:  "Lol, yer a laugh, all sticking together & giving each other likes, ye are not cute enough for the Kerry boys on here who dominate this forum despite yer best efforts. It's great to watch ye hoovering & devouring someone like flies around Sh%t, only good in the gang, sad. Yer nearly as hilarious as Jim Gavin crying over Connollys constitutional rights being impinged. Never met a Dub who didn't think he knew it all even when it was staring them in the face, a difficulty in accepting reality. The Gaa doing everything in their power for Dublin these days from the highest funding to taking home venues off the smaller Leinster counties, wouldn't be surprised if ye beat Tyrone that they appoint David Gough for the final. Like most other counties I will be cheering on Tyrone this w'end, looking forward to the Tyrone boys winding up Mc Mahon & Connolly."
So you're sticking to your story that no one outside of Dublin is able to you buy tickets online or is allowed to buy things in Supervalu or Centra?

Hilarious!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 23/08/2017 20:28:24    2036915

Replying To hill16no1man:  "no just no consistency from the gaa as usual.
this will be your fourth time in croker if you make the final
surely you can do the matsh if you had of got the hill ticket instead of stand for them four games
it would have saved you more than the 40 euro your complaining about on all ireland final day as the reason your entitled.
yes i have a parnell terrace pass, theres no terrace in castelbar so maybe its your county board you should ask about lack of terrace to allow you get terrace pass in mayo.
the hill is filled for all championship games, nally wasnt for semi final but was for leinster final and quarter final.
no quite the opposite theres about twenty people go to the same area as me on the hill hail rain or snow for games and only 5 of us got final tickets."
The way you're going on you'd swear we knew there was going to be a replay in advance! In my view you just don't want to see the other point of view and I reckon your argument simply boils down to the fact that you believe that the Hill belongs to Dublin.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 24/08/2017 09:12:43    2037009

Replying To moc.dna:  "Lol, yer a laugh, all sticking together & giving each other likes, ye are not cute enough for the Kerry boys on here who dominate this forum despite yer best efforts. It's great to watch ye hoovering & devouring someone like flies around Sh%t, only good in the gang, sad. Yer nearly as hilarious as Jim Gavin crying over Connollys constitutional rights being impinged. Never met a Dub who didn't think he knew it all even when it was staring them in the face, a difficulty in accepting reality. The Gaa doing everything in their power for Dublin these days from the highest funding to taking home venues off the smaller Leinster counties, wouldn't be surprised if ye beat Tyrone that they appoint David Gough for the final. Like most other counties I will be cheering on Tyrone this w'end, looking forward to the Tyrone boys winding up Mc Mahon & Connolly."
What a brilliant response: Insightful, measured and unbiased. Fair play to you.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/08/2017 10:01:33    2037027

Just off the overcrowding point for a minute, I was on the hill for the Kerry v Mayo game last weekend and was stood infront of some of the most despicable group of GAA fans ive ever met from Kerry. A group of about 20-25 guys and girls in the late teens - late 20s arrived absolutely gargled, That's fine, I don't mind that, but from the minute they came in to the game ending all they done was sang about Mayo, Aidan O'Shea, Cillian o Connor and their families and some of the stuff was vulgar (ive been on this hill since I was a child watching Dublin so I'm used to a bit of bad language) . At one stage a fellow Kerry supporter, a gent I had got talking to along with another Mayo fan turned to them and told them they were an absolute disgrace to the county, he was immediately shot down and put back in his box, he and other Kerry and Mayo fans actually had to move spots due to the abuse they where getting which had now moved from the mayo players onto the fans who were moving away. disgraceful behaviour and id hope they were ashamed of themselves.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/08/2017 10:50:36    2037052

ye are not cute enough for the Kerry boys on here who dominate this forum despite yer best efforts

Ah darn :(

Sure look'it, We will just have to make do with the consolation prize of beating Kerry in our last 4 championship games against them including 2 all ireland finals and 2 semi finals.

Its a big bad, harsh world that us non-kerry folk live in.

Still, maybe one day we can dethrone the greatest Kerry team of Hoganstand posters of all time and end their dominance..

If it Kerrys on, sorry.... carries on like this, I think we should set up a petition to split the Kerry region into 4.

Maybe even move them around HS provinces every year, Give us Dubs, Tyrone and Mayo fans amongst others a bloody chance cause the Kerry dominance is just doing nobody any good on this forum.

We have so many mis-matches, slowly but surely the numbers posting will fade.

Thats not Kerrys fault though.

Its up to the rest to catch up. Theyre the benchmark in fairness.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/08/2017 12:35:17    2037116

Replying To waynoI:  "Just off the overcrowding point for a minute, I was on the hill for the Kerry v Mayo game last weekend and was stood infront of some of the most despicable group of GAA fans ive ever met from Kerry. A group of about 20-25 guys and girls in the late teens - late 20s arrived absolutely gargled, That's fine, I don't mind that, but from the minute they came in to the game ending all they done was sang about Mayo, Aidan O'Shea, Cillian o Connor and their families and some of the stuff was vulgar (ive been on this hill since I was a child watching Dublin so I'm used to a bit of bad language) . At one stage a fellow Kerry supporter, a gent I had got talking to along with another Mayo fan turned to them and told them they were an absolute disgrace to the county, he was immediately shot down and put back in his box, he and other Kerry and Mayo fans actually had to move spots due to the abuse they where getting which had now moved from the mayo players onto the fans who were moving away. disgraceful behaviour and id hope they were ashamed of themselves."
You know them youth's are typical of the social media warriors that infect the internet with their hateful comments on GAA players. We see it from all counties. You know the saying what comes around.....years ago a group of young lads were at similar insulting stuff at a game....later in the pub 2 of them were at it.....an older gentleman got up and sent the two young lads into the middle of next week

I don't condone violence but a harsh life lesson was dished out on that occasion.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 24/08/2017 12:55:12    2037127

Replying To waynoI:  "Just off the overcrowding point for a minute, I was on the hill for the Kerry v Mayo game last weekend and was stood infront of some of the most despicable group of GAA fans ive ever met from Kerry. A group of about 20-25 guys and girls in the late teens - late 20s arrived absolutely gargled, That's fine, I don't mind that, but from the minute they came in to the game ending all they done was sang about Mayo, Aidan O'Shea, Cillian o Connor and their families and some of the stuff was vulgar (ive been on this hill since I was a child watching Dublin so I'm used to a bit of bad language) . At one stage a fellow Kerry supporter, a gent I had got talking to along with another Mayo fan turned to them and told them they were an absolute disgrace to the county, he was immediately shot down and put back in his box, he and other Kerry and Mayo fans actually had to move spots due to the abuse they where getting which had now moved from the mayo players onto the fans who were moving away. disgraceful behaviour and id hope they were ashamed of themselves."
Waynol

Those are the same ones who were throwing the beer bottles (happened at least twice).

Btw, I was probably standing within 10 metres of you

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 24/08/2017 13:30:22    2037154

Replying To cavanman47:  "Waynol

Those are the same ones who were throwing the beer bottles (happened at least twice).

Btw, I was probably standing within 10 metres of you"
Yea theyre the ones.

Look it was a minority of Kerry fans there on the day.

And I understand and don't even mind if people wanna chant about the opposition so long as it doesn't get personal, its all banter and craic, but that wasn't banter.

I wouldn't mind, the feckin eejits were singing about Mayo being bottlers, Who have been showing unreal bottle in big games in Croker in the past 6 or 7 years.

Shouldve said hello :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/08/2017 14:16:30    2037177

yeah but wayno you said you dont mind the alcohol and them being hammered drunk
but thats the reason why they acted the other way then as it gave them dutch courage and a chance to show off in front of one another
had they of been not drinking they wouldnt have had the bottle to open their mouths (no pun intended)
anybody intoxicated entering a ground should be refused entry regardless.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2017 15:18:50    2037205

Lol, the moral outrage from you. In the 1974 All Ireland final a number of Galway supporters on the Hill, three of whom were on the flat roof of the old toilets on the Hill were badly beaten up by the Dublin supporters. Cowards running up throwing boots into lads curled up on the ground as they were well out numbered. In the 1983 All Ireland final Dublin supporters did the same thing to lads on the Hill & drove flagpoles in through the wire in the Nally at young kids. Over 10 buses had their windows smashed that year going home through Leixlip & at the hill in Lucan. Nobody is condoning the guys from Kerry throwing bottles which is the act of a coward but let's not paint a picture of just one county out of control in the Hill & that includes Galway.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 24/08/2017 15:54:47    2037227

Replying To moc.dna:  "Lol, the moral outrage from you. In the 1974 All Ireland final a number of Galway supporters on the Hill, three of whom were on the flat roof of the old toilets on the Hill were badly beaten up by the Dublin supporters. Cowards running up throwing boots into lads curled up on the ground as they were well out numbered. In the 1983 All Ireland final Dublin supporters did the same thing to lads on the Hill & drove flagpoles in through the wire in the Nally at young kids. Over 10 buses had their windows smashed that year going home through Leixlip & at the hill in Lucan. Nobody is condoning the guys from Kerry throwing bottles which is the act of a coward but let's not paint a picture of just one county out of control in the Hill & that includes Galway."
I don't go to the Hill , but anyone can see that behaviour on the Hill has changed dramatically and for the better , Dubs being the most frequent of visitors there will always be evidence of this and that , however why cant Wayno1 state what he witnessed as a neutral and an event that happened before he was born should somehow make he keep stum ???? Christ I'm 50 IN December and I barely remember 1974 .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/08/2017 13:40:21    2037561