Kerry v Mayo

Replying To thelongridge:  "Kerry to win on Saturday. Mayo had a great chance to win last Sunday, but didn't put Kerry away."
So had Kerry.....both teams can improve and key players can be better. While its likely Andy won't score as much in the replay, Keegan, the two O'Connors, Seamus O Se, will need to and can play so much better. It is still very much in the balance....and there will only be 2/3 points in it. I am backing our lads to finally beat Kerry.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 23/08/2017 11:57:25    2036707

Similarly to the All Ireland last year all the media talk and focus is on Mayo. They seem to be the one giving the interviews too.
Maybe wrong but why don't Mao try stay out of the media for a while? Rochford even went to the bother of explain his tactics

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/08/2017 12:08:01    2036712

Replying To tiobraid:  "Similarly to the All Ireland last year all the media talk and focus is on Mayo. They seem to be the one giving the interviews too.
Maybe wrong but why don't Mao try stay out of the media for a while? Rochford even went to the bother of explain his tactics"
Link to Mayo players talking in the media? Agree that Rochford seems a little too accommodating to the media.

Talking to a guy in Kildare yesterday who is heavily involved in the GAA.....he said Mayo's quest in trying to win Sam is now the biggest story in Irish sport. I didn't realize we were had hot a topic but maybe we are?

It is true though wherever I am in Ireland or the world and someone asks where I am from, straight after my answer is a deep breath or sigh followed by the question "When will ye win the All Ireland"

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 23/08/2017 12:14:58    2036717

Replying To tiobraid:  "Similarly to the All Ireland last year all the media talk and focus is on Mayo. They seem to be the one giving the interviews too.
Maybe wrong but why don't Mao try stay out of the media for a while? Rochford even went to the bother of explain his tactics"
Yeah its the media interviews that cost them the win!

ah here!

Once the Leitrim footballers bring in a blanket ban on all media the All-Ireland is theirs!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 23/08/2017 12:19:21    2036719

Rochford is a brave and fearless leader, he thinks outside the box. As a Galway man I have huge respect for him and hope he lands the big one.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 23/08/2017 12:21:02    2036721

Mayo's players haven't been in media at all really. Bar a post match interview with man of the match and manager. Rochford gave a very good interview after the game as the manager. That's it. It has been the same for most games in championship but hey don't let facts get in the way.
Here's a thought maybe the likes of Kerry players don't need to do interview as they already have a massive presence of ex players doing their talking for them across all media platforms.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 23/08/2017 12:30:22    2036727

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Rochford is a brave and fearless leader, he thinks outside the box. As a Galway man I have huge respect for him and hope he lands the big one."
He hasn't landed a Connacht title yet in his 2 years in charge.Don't think Mayo will win the All-Ireland this year.Kerry will improve and Dublin are still strong favourites.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 23/08/2017 12:34:16    2036729

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If Stephen cluxton was playing for Mayo they would play him in full forward or something."
BOOM!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/08/2017 12:48:27    2036742

Replying To Scarabin:  "Kerry scored 2-14, not playing well, against a Mayo team using their sweeper

Thats why Kerry are the bookies favorites"
Mayo had no sweeper on Saturday.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/08/2017 13:01:28    2036746

Replying To Pericles:  "Mayo had no sweeper on Saturday."
Keep telling yourself that

Is that you willie joe haha :)

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 23/08/2017 13:06:28    2036748

Replying To Pericles:  "Mayo had no sweeper on Saturday."
Or last Sunday either:)

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/08/2017 13:09:31    2036752

Replying To yew_tree:  "Link to Mayo players talking in the media? Agree that Rochford seems a little too accommodating to the media.

Talking to a guy in Kildare yesterday who is heavily involved in the GAA.....he said Mayo's quest in trying to win Sam is now the biggest story in Irish sport. I didn't realize we were had hot a topic but maybe we are?

It is true though wherever I am in Ireland or the world and someone asks where I am from, straight after my answer is a deep breath or sigh followed by the question "When will ye win the All Ireland""
And everyone wants to talk football with ya. Think we are all tired of it now.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 23/08/2017 13:12:25    2036755

Replying To centerfield:  "Last 4 Years against Dublin and Kerry

Mayo have conceded
2013 - 2 v Dublin
2014 - 4 v Kerry 2 games
2015 - 5 v Dublin 2 games
2016 - 2 v Dublin
2017 - 2 v Kerry

Average 2.15 goals per game conceded"
Aren't you missing a goal there from last year

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 23/08/2017 13:16:33    2036756

Anyone else fail to understand the hype around Diarmuid O'Connor?
Not seen him do it atall.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/08/2017 13:23:05    2036758

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Anyone else fail to understand the hype around Diarmuid O'Connor?
Not seen him do it atall."
atall atall?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 23/08/2017 13:46:04    2036776

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Anyone else fail to understand the hype around Diarmuid O'Connor?
Started a thread on it last year and I got roasted from all sides!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/08/2017 15:11:36    2036807

Replying To Weary:  "Mayo's players haven't been in media at all really. Bar a post match interview with man of the match and manager. Rochford gave a very good interview after the game as the manager. That's it. It has been the same for most games in championship but hey don't let facts get in the way.
Here's a thought maybe the likes of Kerry players don't need to do interview as they already have a massive presence of ex players doing their talking for them across all media platforms."
Mayo have plenty of their own ex players giving interviews too! Including comments from ex players slagging off the likes of Roscommon. They literally queued up to give interviews after the drawn All Ireland last year. Andy Moran's one being up there with the cringiest in living memory. Rochfords last Sunday is up there with one of the strangest I've ever heard. The Kerry boys literally ran down the tunnel after the game the last day. Only one job on their minds.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/08/2017 15:21:37    2036812

He was great when he came on the scene 2 seasons ago but not since then for seniors. If ever there was a case to suspect a young player of burning out because of too much football I think it's him. Played county senior, U21 (AI champs), sigerson and club last year.
He is not playing bad but just not reaching the heights you'd hope for. I think I'd drop him for Saturday

nextyear (Mayo) - Posts: 60 - 23/08/2017 15:23:34    2036814

Replying To The_DOC:  "Yeah its the media interviews that cost them the win!

ah here!

Once the Leitrim footballers bring in a blanket ban on all media the All-Ireland is theirs!"
As always...a well thought out response DOC!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/08/2017 15:23:38    2036815

Just don't see what it is that he does so well apparently?
Not a good man score points, not a great man to win his own ball
One thing he does to well if kick pass, I will give him that, but apart from that I don't see it atall
And this is his third year not his rookie year

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/08/2017 15:28:47    2036820