Kieran Donaghy is still the King of the opposing square

Replying To poguemahone:  "Yeah the goal he got Sunday, he wouldn't get such a chance against Dublin or Tyrone. If we were playing Kerry tomorrow, I would pick Geaney or JOD as players to worry about more than Donaghy."
Neither Dublin or Tyrone would dare leave him one v one either though. If they do end up meeting and Donaghy starts on the edge of the square there will be a man in front and behind him, guaranteed. Even if he doesn't get a touch he will occupy a couple of defenders, leaving space for others.

It's hard to know how Kerry will approach games this year though. There has been a lot of changes in personnel and EF usually tries to spring a surprise when facing Dublin.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/08/2017 17:54:38    2027537

Replying To Galantis:  "But as we found out in the Sindo this weekend Dublin aren't worried about Kerry either way so please stop with the patronising guff"
No idea what your sindo reference is about but to reply to the "stop patronising" cliche, comments referenced the idea of fearing Donaghy . I don't consider him the best forward in Kerry let alone the country. Kevin Mc has done more damage in fleeting dub-Kerry meetings than all that " in yer face" Donaghy stuff.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 01/08/2017 18:12:57    2027550

Replying To Galantis:  "But as we found out in the Sindo this weekend Dublin aren't worried about Kerry either way so please stop with the patronising guff"
I think your right mate, Dublin won't be worried about Kerry, I don't think Dublin are worried by any team in the country to be honest. That doesn't mean that they aren't very aware of them and don't respect them, but they definitely won't be worried, why would they really.

I'm also not saying that Dublin are unbeatable or they will win the all Ireland, but they wiping be worried or fearful of any team really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/08/2017 20:02:50    2027589

I think Donaghy has improved this year. Looks lean and fit. Great asset on the edge of the square.
The balls played into him are top class and you can see Kerry have worked very hard perfecting it. If teams are dropping players back there's plenty of time and space out the pitch to play that floated ball in. Think Buckley played a few in that were inch prefect.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 01/08/2017 20:49:17    2027604

In basketball terms he's a good centre or power forward. His strengths are fielding and intimidating opponents. That's about it. He wouldn't be a concern for the big teams. JOD and Geaney are the the threats. If Kerry start playing high balls into the underdog then they are desperate and the jig is up.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/08/2017 23:31:13    2027666

Replying To Jaden:  "I think StarBar's best quality is not his fielding. It's that he has a plan for the next move after he lands back on the ground.

The number of times that Big Aido plucks the ball brilliantly out of the sky, only to come back down with a "Ah Shyte, what do I do now?" look on his face."
Exactly right. Donaghy (half a Tyrone man too!) has never just been about size. His primary attribute is a good football brain - speed of thought and a ruthless eye for an opportunity; and he's totally unselfish too. Basketball is great training for that. Watch a decent basketball game and half time it's hard to keep track of the ball, so inventive and quick are the passes; great training for any forward, if they have the height to take part. As you say, before his feet have hit the ground again, he already has offloaded. He's also quite agile for a big man. Generally, if you let him get the ball in the first place, it's too late. He's clearly worked very hard to get himself back to a good level, fair play.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 02/08/2017 08:32:08    2027706

Replying To poguemahone:  "Yeah the goal he got Sunday, he wouldn't get such a chance against Dublin or Tyrone. If we were playing Kerry tomorrow, I would pick Geaney or JOD as players to worry about more than Donaghy."
I agree with you. He has never been great against the Dubs or Tyrone. Paul Geaney is some player. JOD was injured before the Galway game apparently.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 02/08/2017 08:39:37    2027708

Replying To Joxer:  "In basketball terms he's a good centre or power forward. His strengths are fielding and intimidating opponents. That's about it. He wouldn't be a concern for the big teams. JOD and Geaney are the the threats. If Kerry start playing high balls into the underdog then they are desperate and the jig is up."
Well your username certainly suits you because that statement is a joke.

Not a concern for the big teams, so Armagh/Cork/Mayo 2006; Cork/Dublin 2007; Dublin/Cork 2009; Dublin 2011, Mayo/Donegal 2014 don't count? Because off the top of my head those are just some huge games where he was devastating.

Not forgetting the havoc he caused when Eamon finally brought him on in the 2015 final (scandalous decision to not let him lead out his team that day BTW) - ye had to unleash the 'dark arts' just to stop him!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2017 09:51:55    2027731

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well your username certainly suits you because that statement is a joke.

Not a concern for the big teams, so Armagh/Cork/Mayo 2006; Cork/Dublin 2007; Dublin/Cork 2009; Dublin 2011, Mayo/Donegal 2014 don't count? Because off the top of my head those are just some huge games where he was devastating.

Not forgetting the havoc he caused when Eamon finally brought him on in the 2015 final (scandalous decision to not let him lead out his team that day BTW) - ye had to unleash the 'dark arts' just to stop him!"
playing well against mayo and cork in finals is not where donaghy is being judged here. he is being judged against dublin and tyrone where to be fair hes been ineffective. he got a lucky goal against donegal-it was a dreadful game that final.

And the league is the league.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 02/08/2017 10:52:38    2027758

Replying To lowballplease:  "playing well against mayo and cork in finals is not where donaghy is being judged here. he is being judged against dublin and tyrone where to be fair hes been ineffective. he got a lucky goal against donegal-it was a dreadful game that final.

And the league is the league."
Whose mentioned the League?

And, as I said, 2007,2009,2011,2015 that's 4 games versus Dublin where he was very effective and I think 2011 was one of he's best ever games for Kerry he just came out on the wrong side.

As for Tyrone, he only started the 2008 AI final against them and to be fair to him he put in a good shift when we beat them in 2012!!

Mayo and Cork got to finals on merit, as did Donegal - if your going down the Kerry 'handy All-Ireland's' route answer me this, if Armagh, Tyrone, Dublin or whoever was supposed to be better teams those years why didn't they make the finals?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2017 11:16:46    2027768

Replying To TheHermit:  "Whose mentioned the League?

And, as I said, 2007,2009,2011,2015 that's 4 games versus Dublin where he was very effective and I think 2011 was one of he's best ever games for Kerry he just came out on the wrong side.

As for Tyrone, he only started the 2008 AI final against them and to be fair to him he put in a good shift when we beat them in 2012!!

Mayo and Cork got to finals on merit, as did Donegal - if your going down the Kerry 'handy All-Ireland's' route answer me this, if Armagh, Tyrone, Dublin or whoever was supposed to be better teams those years why didn't they make the finals?"
Agree that he has played well against Dublin in the past.
Disagree with your comments about Tyrone. Comparing the Tyrone team of 2008 and 2012 is like comparing chalk and cheese. Anyone would of hammered Tyrone that day/year.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 02/08/2017 13:17:16    2027856

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Agree that he has played well against Dublin in the past.
Disagree with your comments about Tyrone. Comparing the Tyrone team of 2008 and 2012 is like comparing chalk and cheese. Anyone would of hammered Tyrone that day/year."
Well all I was saying Fridge is that Star only became a first 15 player for Kerry in 2006 so he only played Tyrone once in there great spell between 2003-2008.

But he kicked a point against them in 2015 too, so he has played 3 and won 2 against Tyrone!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2017 13:56:18    2027885

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well your username certainly suits you because that statement is a joke.

Not forgetting the havoc he caused when Eamon finally brought him on in the 2015 final (scandalous decision to not let him lead out his team that day BTW) - ye had to unleash the 'dark arts' just to stop him!"
Very selective memory there Hermit
He didn't play against Dublin in 2009 as he was injured that season
2007 he had a good game, I wouldn't say great
2011 definitely his best game against Dublin, moved all over the pitch and gave Dublin concerns throughout the game. Probably should have won man of the match
2013 came on as a sub and offered very little
2015 came on as a sub and regardless of the furor about the eye gouge Dublin dealt with him adequately. He didn't score nor do I remember him creating a score
2016 played in both the full forward line and moved out to midfield. Before he got injured he offered very little in the game

All in all, his last better than average game against Dublin was 6 years ago but if you still think he's the bee's knees I'm not going to try to convince you otherwise

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 02/08/2017 13:57:50    2027887

Replying To keithlemon:  "Very selective memory there Hermit
He didn't play against Dublin in 2009 as he was injured that season
2007 he had a good game, I wouldn't say great
2011 definitely his best game against Dublin, moved all over the pitch and gave Dublin concerns throughout the game. Probably should have won man of the match
2013 came on as a sub and offered very little
2015 came on as a sub and regardless of the furor about the eye gouge Dublin dealt with him adequately. He didn't score nor do I remember him creating a score
2016 played in both the full forward line and moved out to midfield. Before he got injured he offered very little in the game

All in all, his last better than average game against Dublin was 6 years ago but if you still think he's the bee's knees I'm not going to try to convince you otherwise"
He is the bee's knees and anyone who doesn't think he is one of the best Full Forwards of the modern era (or any era I would argue) needs their head examined.

As for 2015, he gave a beautiful ball off to Killian with the goal at his mercy but Killian fluffed it. That was 3-4 minutes to go in a very tight game, if it had gone in Kerry would have won that game, I'm certain of it. Despite us being second best all that day.

As for the eye-gouging it was reprehensible not a furor! But teams in AI finals have done it to our best before, the day a Kerry player stoops so low is the day I chuck my Kerry jersey away - which I'm confident will be never!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2017 14:06:38    2027897

In fairness ye should have won in 2015 as dublin didnt turn up the day.

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 03/08/2017 11:31:53    2028324

If Donaghy is so terrible then why don't Dublin play just 1 man on him, Shure they are known for flamboyant football yet they use extra men on him to stop him by fair means or foul......

PluckyUnderdog (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 03/08/2017 11:59:20    2028340

Replying To TheHermit:  "He is the bee's knees and anyone who doesn't think he is one of the best Full Forwards of the modern era (or any era I would argue) needs their head examined.

As for 2015, he gave a beautiful ball off to Killian with the goal at his mercy but Killian fluffed it. That was 3-4 minutes to go in a very tight game, if it had gone in Kerry would have won that game, I'm certain of it. Despite us being second best all that day.

As for the eye-gouging it was reprehensible not a furor! But teams in AI finals have done it to our best before, the day a Kerry player stoops so low is the day I chuck my Kerry jersey away - which I'm confident will be never!"
What about Tadgh Kennelly dirty stroke on Nickolas Murphy in 2009?? If was other way around and Kerry lost it would overshadow everything. brushed under the carpet by Spillane

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 03/08/2017 12:25:55    2028357

Replying To BartMcQueen:  "What about Tadgh Kennelly dirty stroke on Nickolas Murphy in 2009?? If was other way around and Kerry lost it would overshadow everything. brushed under the carpet by Spillane"
A Kerryman could never stoop so low. Ha!

Poor Kennelly was viciously attacked by Murphy will be the party line I'd say!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 03/08/2017 12:53:26    2028376

Replying To MesAmis:  "A Kerryman could never stoop so low. Ha!

Poor Kennelly was viciously attacked by Murphy will be the party line I'd say!"
Yet you have no issue with eye gouging and biting as well as deliberately taking out opposition players on AI Finals.....

Which player will Dublin deliberately injure this year??? last year it was Vaughan who had obviously done too much damage in the drawn game

PluckyUnderdog (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 03/08/2017 13:37:58    2028406

Replying To BartMcQueen:  "What about Tadgh Kennelly dirty stroke on Nickolas Murphy in 2009?? If was other way around and Kerry lost it would overshadow everything. brushed under the carpet by Spillane"
Kerry are masters of the dark arts.

Last Sunday any defender from another county would have walked for what Enright did. Jimmy McGuinness said as much in the Irish Times.

Added to Donaghy incident, the constant tactical fouling and nasty fouling when an advantage is being played doesn't show Kerry as the pure footballers they want us all to believe they are.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 03/08/2017 16:52:59    2028502