Kieran Donaghy is Immune to refereees

Imagine the uproar if Lee Keegan or Diarmuid Connolly had their hands around the neck in the choke like hold on an opposition player? This man is immune to referees...did the Sunday game call him out? Yearrah

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 31/07/2017 09:10:19    2026406

Get over it, both of them were at it - it was handbags stuff. Donaghy had a superb opening half yesterday, his high fielding, distribution and score taking were all a joy to behold.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 31/07/2017 10:40:18    2026492

Kyne was the instigator but nevertheless that is a pretty blatant choke hold. This is a perfect example of indiscipline that should be cited
Whether any action will be taken by the CCCC depends if it's in the referee's report or not.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 31/07/2017 11:01:15    2026509

Id be disappointed to see him banned retrospectively, hate the whole idea of retrospective banning personally but it didn't look good. You are right though if Keegan or Connolly done something similar it would have 4 or 5 pages of comment here and people would be ridiculing them. Someone made the point on the SG last night that Diarmuid has form, Well Donaghy isn't exactly a saint either. But great players can play on the edge and sometimes it boils over. When Donaghy's number went up yesterday, I was on the hill and the first thing Donaghy and Kyne did was shake hands sportingly and donaghy went to the touchline. the players themselves forgot about it, had a mutual respect and left it at that and I think the authorities should do the same and suspect they will.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2017 11:19:13    2026525

Replying To yew_tree:  "Imagine the uproar if Lee Keegan or Diarmuid Connolly had their hands around the neck in the choke like hold on an opposition player? This man is immune to referees...did the Sunday game call him out? Yearrah"
A Mayo person starting a thread wanting Donaghy banned for a possible Kerry/Mayo clash. Surely not? I'd probably do the same if I had to rely on Ger Cafferkey to keep Star quiet.

In all seriousness, if you do silly stuff on the pitch, whether provoked or not, you deserve to take your medicine.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 31/07/2017 12:09:05    2026572

Replying To waynoI:  "Id be disappointed to see him banned retrospectively, hate the whole idea of retrospective banning personally but it didn't look good. You are right though if Keegan or Connolly done something similar it would have 4 or 5 pages of comment here and people would be ridiculing them. Someone made the point on the SG last night that Diarmuid has form, Well Donaghy isn't exactly a saint either. But great players can play on the edge and sometimes it boils over. When Donaghy's number went up yesterday, I was on the hill and the first thing Donaghy and Kyne did was shake hands sportingly and donaghy went to the touchline. the players themselves forgot about it, had a mutual respect and left it at that and I think the authorities should do the same and suspect they will."
Absolutely 100% great post.
I can understand a Mayo man starting this because it would suit you as your FB line would be taken to the cleaners by him.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 31/07/2017 12:17:57    2026581

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Get over it, both of them were at it - it was handbags stuff. Donaghy had a superb opening half yesterday, his high fielding, distribution and score taking were all a joy to behold."
Do because he had a great first half then he gets a "free pass" from any criticism? It doesn't matter which instigated it, you can't be choking someone.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/07/2017 12:48:30    2026594

Replying To westkerry:  "Absolutely 100% great post.
I can understand a Mayo man starting this because it would suit you as your FB line would be taken to the cleaners by him."
First petty post of the thread....that didnt take long.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/07/2017 12:51:46    2026596

Seemed to be a bit of handbags, if I remember correctly connolly got a ban overturned for pushing a players face as opposed to punching. Wasn't much more than a yellow card offence. If it's deemed as a red the winners of the Tyrone Armagh game will struggle to field a team in the semi.
On another note, the Witch hunting that is going on this year is a bit shameful. Not something that is welcome in the game

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 31/07/2017 12:56:03    2026599

Replying To waynoI:  "Id be disappointed to see him banned retrospectively, hate the whole idea of retrospective banning personally but it didn't look good. You are right though if Keegan or Connolly done something similar it would have 4 or 5 pages of comment here and people would be ridiculing them. Someone made the point on the SG last night that Diarmuid has form, Well Donaghy isn't exactly a saint either. But great players can play on the edge and sometimes it boils over. When Donaghy's number went up yesterday, I was on the hill and the first thing Donaghy and Kyne did was shake hands sportingly and donaghy went to the touchline. the players themselves forgot about it, had a mutual respect and left it at that and I think the authorities should do the same and suspect they will."
Have to disagree with you on this. Most of your post makes sense but it's quite evident he puts his hands around the full backs neck. While there is no animosity between the two players it sets a dangerous precedent. What you are advocating is letting players kick dung out of each other so long as an official doesn't see it. The refs are human and can make mistakes, surely correcting them afterwards does no harm?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/07/2017 12:58:21    2026602

Replying To as_ky:  "Seemed to be a bit of handbags, if I remember correctly connolly got a ban overturned for pushing a players face as opposed to punching. Wasn't much more than a yellow card offence. If it's deemed as a red the winners of the Tyrone Armagh game will struggle to field a team in the semi.
On another note, the Witch hunting that is going on this year is a bit shameful. Not something that is welcome in the game"
The witch hunting started on the 3rd Monday of September last year and seems to be a common trend now.

I read Alan Brogans piece in the Herald I think it was last Thursday (first and last time!) and he barely alluded to Gaelic Football but instead took every opportunity to discredit anything the O'Shea brothers have written about Kerry.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 31/07/2017 13:10:32    2026611

Replying To as_ky:  "Seemed to be a bit of handbags, if I remember correctly connolly got a ban overturned for pushing a players face as opposed to punching. Wasn't much more than a yellow card offence. If it's deemed as a red the winners of the Tyrone Armagh game will struggle to field a team in the semi.
On another note, the Witch hunting that is going on this year is a bit shameful. Not something that is welcome in the game"
Why?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 31/07/2017 13:10:52    2026612

Replying To gotmilk:  "Have to disagree with you on this. Most of your post makes sense but it's quite evident he puts his hands around the full backs neck. While there is no animosity between the two players it sets a dangerous precedent. What you are advocating is letting players kick dung out of each other so long as an official doesn't see it. The refs are human and can make mistakes, surely correcting them afterwards does no harm?"
oh I know he did and I'm not suggesting otherwise. My point is that I just don't agree with retrospective banning. Both players got on with it and shook hands when Donaghy was being subbed. I'm not saying the actions where wrong but if 8 officials miss it in real time and both players just got on with the game.. then was it really such a huge deal? not sure it was. two players playing on the edge and kyne wasn't exactly an angel throughout the day

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2017 13:12:33    2026614

Replying To waynoI:  "oh I know he did and I'm not suggesting otherwise. My point is that I just don't agree with retrospective banning. Both players got on with it and shook hands when Donaghy was being subbed. I'm not saying the actions where wrong but if 8 officials miss it in real time and both players just got on with the game.. then was it really such a huge deal? not sure it was. two players playing on the edge and kyne wasn't exactly an angel throughout the day"
I agree with you about Kyne. Far from an angel himself, the two boys were able to get on with it and play the game and I say fair play to them.

However say it was the gooch when he was 18 and the aggressor was Kyne yesterday. He puts his hands around his neck and physically intimidates him outside of the rules. Is this fair? Should there not be retrospective action? Donaghy and Kyne are well able to look after themselves but there are a few players who do need to be protected and for me this is the issue. Even though the two boys shook hands and got on with it, if you let them away with it then when someone who does do something they shouldn't they can point to the case as precedent and say you can't take retrospective action against me.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/07/2017 13:23:18    2026625

Replying To waynoI:  "oh I know he did and I'm not suggesting otherwise. My point is that I just don't agree with retrospective banning. Both players got on with it and shook hands when Donaghy was being subbed. I'm not saying the actions where wrong but if 8 officials miss it in real time and both players just got on with the game.. then was it really such a huge deal? not sure it was. two players playing on the edge and kyne wasn't exactly an angel throughout the day"
I understand what you are saying wayne but I think retrospective banning and more specifically the opportunity to employ it is important and should be retained . It is particularly useful in relation to off the ball incidents that are not seen by the officials but that are caught on camera . Using retrospective suspensions might make players think twice about taking men out of it off the ball.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 31/07/2017 13:46:11    2026638

Kyne shouldered Donaghy as backs often do to a forward who is "making hay"
Why didn't Donaghy just shoulder him back?
You can't have fellas choking other lads simple as that.
Retrospective banning is needed to stamp out foul play, its impossible for the officials to see everything that happens.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 31/07/2017 14:27:22    2026675

C'OC made another red card tackle yesterday but no mention of it on the Sunday Game as far as I remember. Swings and Roundabouts!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 31/07/2017 14:37:54    2026689

Replying To Breffni39:  "C'OC made another red card tackle yesterday but no mention of it on the Sunday Game as far as I remember. Swings and Roundabouts!"
Ridiculous that both Canning and Cassidy in commentary lauded it as a 'fair challenge'.
Not getting stuck into Mayo here but we've seen lads walk for those kind of challenges. Sean Mullooly was very lucky to walk away without a serious head injury in that one.
As you say Bref, swings and roundabouts with some of these decisions

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 31/07/2017 14:50:04    2026701

Replying To keithlemon:  "Ridiculous that both Canning and Cassidy in commentary lauded it as a 'fair challenge'.
Not getting stuck into Mayo here but we've seen lads walk for those kind of challenges. Sean Mullooly was very lucky to walk away without a serious head injury in that one.
As you say Bref, swings and roundabouts with some of these decisions"
And what about the clothes line tackle on Aiden O Shea and nothing about it.

outthecountry (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 31/07/2017 15:15:17    2026717

Replying To outthecountry:  "And what about the clothes line tackle on Aiden O Shea and nothing about it."
When did that happen?
I hate to do a Wenger on it but I just don't remember seeing that specific tackle.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 31/07/2017 15:32:37    2026731