Dublin vs Monaghan

Replying To Dubfire:  "Cork has far more registered GAA clubs than Dublin (nearly double in fact) and there are over half a million people in Cork. Would you be harping on about his stuff if you were playing Cork at the weekend?

Of course you wouldn't.

It's sad really. But carry on making excuses and blaming circumstances beyond your control and see how much that helps with development."
You are comparing apples with oranges.

Yes Cork has more clubs but a few salient points have to be acknowledged

1) Cork is a dual county - in terms of players playing the codes in many cases there would be an overlap

2) Cork has 1 Superclub - Nemo , Dublin has loads of them who can field loads of adult teams as well as every age grade (80,90 kids at every age as opposed to barely field a team/amalgamate with neighbours in the rural areas)

3) Cork has received €15 per player in funding while Dublin has received €275 per player since 2010, that makes a hue impact no matter what anyone says

4) Because of Cork's enormous geographical size its much harder to pull everyone together 2/3 times a week to train + prepare, can't just scoot on a Luas from Skibbereen to Cork/Mallow any time you can. This is a huge problem for the Footballers , less so the Hurlers

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 01/08/2017 17:57:33    2027539

Replying To waynoI:  "I know the league isn't always the best indicator but watch the last 10-15 mins of the league game if you can get it somewhere and look at the difference in fitness between the dublin and monaghan lads. or just look at how dublin outscored them in that period. I was up in clones that day and I remember well looking at the monaghan players as dublins comeback started thinking these fellas are absolutely out on their feet and Dublin looked as though they could have played another game straight after it.

Dublin are so comfortable playing these huge games in croker now aswell that the crowd, occasion and so on just won't faze ... I don't believe for one second that monaghan will just take a trimming and move on to next year. they will give it everything but for the reasons I pointed out including fitness I just can't see a world where dublin lose. but we will see"
That was because Monaghan were playing at 100 mph from the throw in and were a spent force with 55 minutes gone. Dublin on the other hand sauntered about for three quarters of the match, realised they were in danger, brought a few big guns off the bench, shook the rest into life and proceeded to blow Monaghan out of the water. Expect the same to happen if Monaghan get a start on them this Saturday but expect Dublin will be more tuned in from the start.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 01/08/2017 18:03:13    2027544

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Agree I think this won't be the formality that everyone believes - for Monaghan it's do or die there's no second chance so they will leave everything on pitch and whether that's good enough remains to be seen - but it will certainly be Dublins biggest test to date although that wouldn't be difficult!"
what do you mean no second chance for monaghan?? you mean no third chance ... this is their second chance they've already lost in the championship or is that forgotten about .. there is no second chance for dublin though

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/08/2017 18:21:53    2027553

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "No doubt, the future looks bright for yez. Only hope we can fulfill our part in the inevitable 3 in a row and perform to just the right level required at this stage, be nice to have the Dublin supporters clapping us on the back after. Looking forward to it already.

Only thing is we have no intention of fulfilling the prophecy. Whether we win or not, we believe we can and that's the first team in the championship Dublin will face that believes that, then another and another. The championship starts now for Dublin, don't pretend that Leinster was anything other than a stroll as usual.
The last real game you had you lost, to hell with the niceties"
My apologies mate I didn't mean disrespect Monaghan in any way and sincerely hope and expect the game to be compeitive intense and not to go untestetded.

Do I believe Dublin will win, yes, I just think we have to much quality and quality in reserve. That's just my opinion.

Can Monaghan win of course, I don't believe anyone from Monaghan should believe they can't, I just don't think they will.

Am I pleased that we are playing a decent team in Monaghan absolutely, like you say it will be a great test and Monaghan are ripe.

Look realistically Dublin are not going to not fear any team in the country or believe they can't win, Dublin may not have been tested in the Championship this year (I'd disagree I would find a Monaghan and Kildare game hard to call), in the same breath they havnt been beaten in the championship in two and a half years.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/08/2017 19:38:54    2027582

Replying To seanfinn:  "Hilarious. If u were at the game in Carlow u would have seen how comfortable the win was in the end. We had to make changes and use our bench and tire the Carlow defence in the second half. We never hit full speed in that game. Does that sound familiar? It should do. Its exactly how the Dublin V Carlow game went.

There is a chance we can beat Dublin but its slim. We need to start much quicker than we have in any previous game and put Dublin on the back foot while all the time trying to prevent the early big scores going in from Dublin."
Not sure what game you were at if you think Monaghan were comfortable against Carlow. The Monaghan supporters around me were tearing their hair out looking at them until the goal went in close to the end of the game. Monaghan were so poor that evening it was hard to believe they were a division 1 team. The main reason they won was that Carlow sat back and invited Monaghan on to them after they went two points clear early in the 2nd half if Carlow had a been more adventurous and attacked Monaghan a shock was definitely on the cards.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 01/08/2017 20:11:16    2027591

Replying To dubarra:  "Not sure what game you were at if you think Monaghan were comfortable against Carlow. The Monaghan supporters around me were tearing their hair out looking at them until the goal went in close to the end of the game. Monaghan were so poor that evening it was hard to believe they were a division 1 team. The main reason they won was that Carlow sat back and invited Monaghan on to them after they went two points clear early in the 2nd half if Carlow had a been more adventurous and attacked Monaghan a shock was definitely on the cards."
Dubarra, you should have seen them against Cavan, Ref handed them the match. Shocking team.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 01/08/2017 20:43:11    2027601

Replying To foxes_denn:  "Dubarra, you should have seen them against Cavan, Ref handed them the match. Shocking team."
Monaghan were that poor against Cavan that Cavan couldn't even beat us. Cavan had 2 teams to beat in both league and championship, Roscommon and Monaghan, and could beat neither.......It must really really hurt to see your neighbours at the top table consistently

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 01/08/2017 21:22:58    2027619

Replying To foxes_denn:  "Dubarra, you should have seen them against Cavan, Ref handed them the match. Shocking team."
First time I have heard the ref being blamed for Cavan losing that day ,Like the Carlow game Monaghan used every minute of the game to win it ,that's why there is 70 minutes in a game ,

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 01/08/2017 21:27:21    2027621

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Now, Monaghan if they play to the full of their ability they have got this for the taking. Expecting a decent free flowing match. Would love to see Monaghan win here. Imagine a Monaghan vs Armagh Semi Final. Going for a Dublin win here though.
Dublin 2+"
If farny beat Dublin and we beat the orchard then we'll be playing another ulster team in the semi and that would be weird.
All this is big ifs and buts, you never know.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 01/08/2017 21:34:00    2027625

Replying To TheUsername:  "My apologies mate I didn't mean disrespect Monaghan in any way and sincerely hope and expect the game to be compeitive intense and not to go untestetded.

Do I believe Dublin will win, yes, I just think we have to much quality and quality in reserve. That's just my opinion.

Can Monaghan win of course, I don't believe anyone from Monaghan should believe they can't, I just don't think they will.

Am I pleased that we are playing a decent team in Monaghan absolutely, like you say it will be a great test and Monaghan are ripe.

Look realistically Dublin are not going to not fear any team in the country or believe they can't win, Dublin may not have been tested in the Championship this year (I'd disagree I would find a Monaghan and Kildare game hard to call), in the same breath they havnt been beaten in the championship in two and a half years."
No offense I just wanted to stir a stagnant debate. Nobody is questioning Dublin's credentials. However I am questioning whether they were really tested since the championship started. I sat in the stand last Saturday and watched Kildare leave acres of room in their own half fo Armagh to exploit, I could easily see how young Callaghan scored 6 points from play on his debut. He wouldn't have got them against Carlow for example.

Our form has been very patchy all year. We were good in the second half against Fermanagh, OK for 20 minutes in the second half against Cavan, Same thing against Carlow, Same thing against Down in first game, and very good in second half last week ( see a trend here) Our first half form is a concern for most Monaghan fans, if we are still in it at half time on Saturday I would advise our fellow Nordies to hang about.

As the usual couple of Monaghan begrudgers have arrived on this thread I will move along. Sometimes I wonder if people had two brains would they be twice as stupid. Anyway enjoy the game

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 01/08/2017 21:38:41    2027626

Maybe if you'd weren't so cheap and bought proper size nets...
(or learned how to tackle, pass, shoot and play football decently)

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 01/08/2017 21:53:52    2027631

Replying To Galantis:  "You are comparing apples with oranges.

Yes Cork has more clubs but a few salient points have to be acknowledged

1) Cork is a dual county - in terms of players playing the codes in many cases there would be an overlap

2) Cork has 1 Superclub - Nemo , Dublin has loads of them who can field loads of adult teams as well as every age grade (80,90 kids at every age as opposed to barely field a team/amalgamate with neighbours in the rural areas)

3) Cork has received €15 per player in funding while Dublin has received €275 per player since 2010, that makes a hue impact no matter what anyone says

4) Because of Cork's enormous geographical size its much harder to pull everyone together 2/3 times a week to train + prepare, can't just scoot on a Luas from Skibbereen to Cork/Mallow any time you can. This is a huge problem for the Footballers , less so the Hurlers"
Yea its all rosy in Dublin , yous should get your house in order down there

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/08/2017 22:17:18    2027640

Think he is getting the response he / she wants futures blue just more white in it muineachain abu

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 01/08/2017 22:27:26    2027644

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "It's not what I believe in that matters it's what the players believe that counts and this group of Monaghan players believe they can beat anyone. It's why they are playing (and winning) in Div 1. If the match is tight and you don't believe then you haven't a hope especially against Dublin.

What I do believe is that we will test Dublin like they haven't been tested in the championship to date. I could be wrong, wouldn't be the first time, but last week and the way it went was just the preparation we needed to do just that."
I agree Monaghan will test Dublin , but will fall short in the last 20 minutes,
Dublin by 4 +.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/08/2017 23:59:30    2027674

Replying To gotmilk:  "I'm gonna make a bold call here and say Monaghan will win this game. Dublin have not blown anyone away with the exception of Roscommon in the league and westmeath in the championship. They will cover the handicap of 9 points quite easily if they don't win."
im going to counter that statement and say you are wrong.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/08/2017 00:00:59    2027675

Replying To seanfinn:  "Hilarious. If u were at the game in Carlow u would have seen how comfortable the win was in the end. We had to make changes and use our bench and tire the Carlow defence in the second half. We never hit full speed in that game. Does that sound familiar? It should do. Its exactly how the Dublin V Carlow game went.

There is a chance we can beat Dublin but its slim. We need to start much quicker than we have in any previous game and put Dublin on the back foot while all the time trying to prevent the early big scores going in from Dublin."
You're the hilarious one if you think your win was comfortable. You were trailing for most of the second half. That's not at all how the Dublin Carlow game went, Dublin were leading all through the game.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 02/08/2017 00:51:57    2027685

Replying To Farney1977:  "Monaghan were that poor against Cavan that Cavan couldn't even beat us. Cavan had 2 teams to beat in both league and championship, Roscommon and Monaghan, and could beat neither.......It must really really hurt to see your neighbours at the top table consistently"
Monaghan are at the top table? They haven't made it past the last 8 in modern times. They have never won the all Ireland. I wouldn't like to see the bottom table.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 02/08/2017 01:24:21    2027689

Replying To benched:  "That was because Monaghan were playing at 100 mph from the throw in and were a spent force with 55 minutes gone. Dublin on the other hand sauntered about for three quarters of the match, realised they were in danger, brought a few big guns off the bench, shook the rest into life and proceeded to blow Monaghan out of the water. Expect the same to happen if Monaghan get a start on them this Saturday but expect Dublin will be more tuned in from the start."
They hardly blew us out of the water when they only took the lead in injury time

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 02/08/2017 09:09:01    2027718

Replying To patk:  "They hardly blew us out of the water when they only took the lead in injury time"
In the run of play in the last 15 minutes - which is where the debate started over fitness - Monaghan couldn't raise a gallop, could hardly get their hands on any ball, therefore in my opinion in the last 15 minutes they blew Monaghan out of the water. They basically won the game playing 15 minutes football. Anyway that was April, all to play for next Saturday I just think Dublin will be too strong for Monaghan. Tyrone was definitely the draw Monaghan wanted and needed, a chance to scratch the itch of 13 & 15. But it wasn't to be.....yet anyway

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 02/08/2017 09:55:34    2027734

Replying To benched:  "In the run of play in the last 15 minutes - which is where the debate started over fitness - Monaghan couldn't raise a gallop, could hardly get their hands on any ball, therefore in my opinion in the last 15 minutes they blew Monaghan out of the water. They basically won the game playing 15 minutes football. Anyway that was April, all to play for next Saturday I just think Dublin will be too strong for Monaghan. Tyrone was definitely the draw Monaghan wanted and needed, a chance to scratch the itch of 13 & 15. But it wasn't to be.....yet anyway"
Ye they did something similar in league match v tyrone they couldn't get there hands on the ball either so its probably more to do with dublin timing there run to have a purple patch in the last 10 minutes

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 02/08/2017 10:29:25    2027748