Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final

Replying To Dermoot:  "Congratulations Dublin, we were hoping yis were over hyped, but unfortunately yis are as great as the stats suggest.

But Tyrone were shocking, it was clear after the Dublin goal that we needed to push out, try something else, but nothing. No changes in either personnel or tactics. Mickey at his stubborn best.

Just watched his interview on BBC, was asked is it time to give up on defensive football, answer NO! It has served Tyrone well he says! SInce they started this very defensive style they have failed to get past the big 3, or get to all ireland final.

Time for a change of direction, need new ideas to get this set of players to the top again."
and there in lies the problem. stubbornmess is his trait interviwed during week and it was the players were asked to buy into the system and they have done that to a man. today showed what they bought into left them bankrupt and devoid of any idea of what to do when they conceded the first goal after 5mins Dublin just opened them like a fish, yet the players were clueless how to respond and the side line seemed to not know either as their game is built on mickeys plan with no plan b and players looking as if they couldn't/wouldn't deviate from it. the skilful players we have are being stymied and neutered and not allowed to show their talents. i'm not leaving the job was mickeys response to a question during the week, but as it stands he is now out of contract so the next couple of county board meetings will be interesting

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 27/08/2017 23:35:37    2039016

Replying To FairShoulder:  "Jim Gavin obviously watched how Armagh setup against Tyrone - used it as a template , tweaked it and improved it and voila Victory!"
Why would he have done that? If you

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/08/2017 23:36:49    2039018

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Cheers and fair play to you, a great poster on this forum. Tyrone won't be away for long."
Yeah cheers seanie, nice one.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 27/08/2017 23:46:01    2039023

Replying To Vishred:  "Wake up call for Ulster today."
Agreed. Donegal have gone back and Tyrone aren't near enough to the top table. Ulster teams who are conditioned well enough, and set up with the right amount of cohesion in defense and attack, can still compete with anyone in my view. But the one-dimensional hand passing strategy along with inability to transition defence to attack quickly enough is killing Ulster teams. Ulster teams have always been to the forefront of innovation in terms of tactics and thinking different, but they've been passed out by Dublin and Mayo. Big rethink needed. This isn't 2012/13 anymore and Dublin and Mayo have shown the way in terms of getting the balance right. It includes variety in attack, asking different types of questions and penetrating quickly. Transitioning rapidly. No Ulster team is doing this now.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 27/08/2017 23:47:24    2039025

Jim Gavin obviously watched how Armagh setup against Tyrone - used it as a template , tweaked it and improved it and voila Victory!

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 28/08/2017 00:35:54    2039039

Replying To mayoboy1:  "Cavanaghs challenge was no different to Jonny Coopers act on Diarmuid O'Connor in 2015, no red card given that day either, didn't hear any Dubs complaining back then..."
So you think Cooper's challenge was only a yellow too?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 28/08/2017 07:24:14    2039058

Congratulations Dublin. I have seen Tyrone lose to Dublin in 1975 NFL semifinals and in the 1984 All-Ireland semifinals but this was something else. This Dublin team is the greatest team in the history of the game and they actually seem to be getting better. Back to the drawing board for Tyrone and while back to back Ulster titles is a good achievement it's hard to see how we will get close to Dublin in the near future.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 28/08/2017 07:59:06    2039059

Tyrone have a limited team, with a great manager. MH has made them sort of competitive, they are a Division 1 team and back to back Ulster Champions. The reality is, despite the arrogance there is no All Ireland in that current team. The reason, imo, they play this system, is they know they have very little if any quality forwards. Tyrone will likely end up back in an AL semi final next year, due to MH, but unless they find 5 or 6 forwards over the winter, they will again go no further. Dublin totally embarassed them, lets be honest. The ole ole's started in the first half. For a county like Tyrone that must of hurt. Dublin are on a different stage at the minute, but I think Tyrone will see Mayo come very close. This will prove, that Tyrone are nowhere near the top 2 or 3 teams in the country. But credit needs to be given to the management structure for at least making this current Tyrone team somewhat successful.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 28/08/2017 08:01:57    2039061

I dont know about the rest of you but im gettin serioudly bored of watchin the dubs hammer teams week in week out. Its been a very poor championship imo.. these super 8s simply cant go ahead

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 28/08/2017 08:19:45    2039067

Dublin by far the better team. What annoyed me was it looked as though Tyrone weren't up for it. I don't remember 1 Tyrone player putting in a hard hit to get the team and fan's going very flat performance. When they changed tactics and went attacking after the break they created 5 chances and onlyook 1. If they scored those 5 it may have been a better game.

Why did they wait until second half to try and attack. They were 7 points down early in 1st half, poor tactics by M.H. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over again while expecting different results. Last 3-4 years have seen Tyrone try to defend while losing.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 28/08/2017 08:44:30    2039076

WOW ! What a display yesterday from the Dubs.
They simply annihilated Tyrone ,who, let's face it,were poor.
I think the final is going to be more of what we got last year and will be a far closer affair.
Kerry were average in the other semi and Tyrone were awful in this one so I wouldn't think Dublin winning the final is a foregone conclusion.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/08/2017 09:00:07    2039084

Replying To kevin03:  "Dublin by far the better team. What annoyed me was it looked as though Tyrone weren't up for it. I don't remember 1 Tyrone player putting in a hard hit to get the team and fan's going very flat performance. When they changed tactics and went attacking after the break they created 5 chances and onlyook 1. If they scored those 5 it may have been a better game.

Why did they wait until second half to try and attack. They were 7 points down early in 1st half, poor tactics by M.H. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over again while expecting different results. Last 3-4 years have seen Tyrone try to defend while losing."
You make a great point about the Tyrone players being very flat, to me they looked nervous. I know everybody wants to have a cut at Tyrone but that performance wasn't a fair reflection on on how good this Tyrone team are. Leaving aside their attacking performance, or lack of one, they have the best defence in the country and they didn't show that yesterday. For whatever reason the intensity in their tackling was just not there. OK even if they had defended like demons they probably still didn't have enough from an attacking point of view but the game would have been close.

It pains me to say it but I have to agree that the Ulster teams are far too defensive. Donegal are a perfect example, very defensive with loads of men back but nobody making a tackle, relying in turning over the opposition and breaking at speed, just far too one dimensional. However we did see some good football played by Armagh and Down this year, they went more direct which was refreshing.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 28/08/2017 09:52:23    2039113

Replying To Green_Gold:  "You make a great point about the Tyrone players being very flat, to me they looked nervous. I know everybody wants to have a cut at Tyrone but that performance wasn't a fair reflection on on how good this Tyrone team are. Leaving aside their attacking performance, or lack of one, they have the best defence in the country and they didn't show that yesterday. For whatever reason the intensity in their tackling was just not there. OK even if they had defended like demons they probably still didn't have enough from an attacking point of view but the game would have been close.

It pains me to say it but I have to agree that the Ulster teams are far too defensive. Donegal are a perfect example, very defensive with loads of men back but nobody making a tackle, relying in turning over the opposition and breaking at speed, just far too one dimensional. However we did see some good football played by Armagh and Down this year, they went more direct which was refreshing."
Did the fact Tyrone had no real test this summer before yesterday's game cost them? Obviously Dublin didn't have a very tight game either but they are a much more settled and experienced team. Tyrone didn't seem able to cope with the pace of a proper championship game at all, highlighted best by McNamees attempt to stop O'Callaghan for the goal. McNamee is an excellent defender but was made look silly, just seemed way off the pace.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 28/08/2017 10:28:51    2039129

The Dubs were incredible but I was very disappointed in Tyrone. None of the intensity in the tackle was there, falling off Dublin lads in the first half especially, it seemed like they were very flat. I was full sure they'd give the Dubs a hell of a rattle so what do I know about football eh?

Congrats to the Dubs though they were unbelievable and some of the scores were fantastic. I hope we get a great final now, this Mayo team are very admirable with their never-say-die and I think physically they can match Dublin but what I saw from the Dubs yesterday it's hard to see anything other than 3-in-a-row.

Then again, I thought Tyrone might nick it yesterday so Mayo lads may take encouragement from my prediction!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 28/08/2017 10:38:33    2039138

Replying To Green_Gold:  "You make a great point about the Tyrone players being very flat, to me they looked nervous. I know everybody wants to have a cut at Tyrone but that performance wasn't a fair reflection on on how good this Tyrone team are. Leaving aside their attacking performance, or lack of one, they have the best defence in the country and they didn't show that yesterday. For whatever reason the intensity in their tackling was just not there. OK even if they had defended like demons they probably still didn't have enough from an attacking point of view but the game would have been close.

It pains me to say it but I have to agree that the Ulster teams are far too defensive. Donegal are a perfect example, very defensive with loads of men back but nobody making a tackle, relying in turning over the opposition and breaking at speed, just far too one dimensional. However we did see some good football played by Armagh and Down this year, they went more direct which was refreshing."
Don't see anyone beating the Dubs this year. I buy cheap flights months in advance in the hope Donegal make it to the final and yesterday I was glad that Donegal hadn't mad it this far I hate to say it but that was a juggernaut taking on a mini
Tyrone pushed into the corners in force but only dragged a couple of Dubs to track them. And the amount of wasted kicks. Before the game we watched them kick into goal with ease but put a man on them and they buckled.
Have flights booked for the dial and wondering if I should just stay at home irrespective who's playing I'll happily watch any game but these one sided Dublin training games take the fun out of football (unless you're a Dub)

Kirkintilloch (Donegal) - Posts: 43 - 28/08/2017 10:46:34    2039145

Replying To Soma:  "Did the fact Tyrone had no real test this summer before yesterday's game cost them? Obviously Dublin didn't have a very tight game either but they are a much more settled and experienced team. Tyrone didn't seem able to cope with the pace of a proper championship game at all, highlighted best by McNamees attempt to stop O'Callaghan for the goal. McNamee is an excellent defender but was made look silly, just seemed way off the pace."
You could be right, it did not help Tyrone that they didn't have a good test before facing Dublin. We have to give credit to Dublin as well, they have dramatically improved against the blanket defence, not taking the ball into contact and keeping men back at all times which means they are not going to easily counter attacked. Personally I feel this type of zonal blanket defence has had its day against the top teams. The blanket defence is only effective when combined with ferocious tackling.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 28/08/2017 10:49:30    2039150

Replying To sam1884:  "Tyrone have a limited team, with a great manager. MH has made them sort of competitive, they are a Division 1 team and back to back Ulster Champions. The reality is, despite the arrogance there is no All Ireland in that current team. The reason, imo, they play this system, is they know they have very little if any quality forwards. Tyrone will likely end up back in an AL semi final next year, due to MH, but unless they find 5 or 6 forwards over the winter, they will again go no further. Dublin totally embarassed them, lets be honest. The ole ole's started in the first half. For a county like Tyrone that must of hurt. Dublin are on a different stage at the minute, but I think Tyrone will see Mayo come very close. This will prove, that Tyrone are nowhere near the top 2 or 3 teams in the country. But credit needs to be given to the management structure for at least making this current Tyrone team somewhat successful."
The reality is the one dimensional management have stifled all the creativity out of the players with a robotic system where players need to fit into a system of play and therefore the best players in Tyrone are not on the field of play. Yesterday was an embarrassment our management have learnt nothing over the past 4 or 5 years and should do the right thing in the interests of Tyrone football. We have talent in Tyrone god forbid that this management team could still be in place when our Under 17's are ready to come on board. Our county has to be bigger than individuals. Nobody is questioning what has been achieved in the past but now is the time to do the right thing in the interests of Tyrone football

rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 28/08/2017 11:13:47    2039164

Posters keep telling me to shut up but I'm not going to , how the f can Tyrone show up and play that defensive rubbish , what is the point of this? It's ruining our game that was worst than '11 , Tyrone supporters must be fuming that's two years in a row they've came up to Croker and embarrassed themselves. Wtf Mickey Harte was that? 14 players behind the ball the whole game , you's loss by 12 points and didn't even have a go at it that's the worst I've ever seen and it's going to set Tyrone back years. Down by 9 and still wouldn't come out and have a go. Ah I can't believe people find that rubbish fascinating or whatever it's bs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/08/2017 12:17:34    2039228

Replying To 11jm11:  "I dont know about the rest of you but im gettin serioudly bored of watchin the dubs hammer teams week in week out. Its been a very poor championship imo.. these super 8s simply cant go ahead"
Nope

Not me

I'm loving it

GET IN THERE ... YESSSSSSSS!!!

UP THE DUBS.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/08/2017 12:22:11    2039234

All the best to
Sean Cavanagh a
Legend of the game sad to see him go out like that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/08/2017 12:25:32    2039239