Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final

Replying To royaldunne:  "Cop on . Tyrone are not as good as Dublin. No team is. That is a fact. And to say they are is insane. Now on any given day Any team could get beat. But Dublin would have to perform below anything they have in past 3 years and Tyrone would have to perform way better their individual talents to create the biggest shock in football this or last year. It could happen but highly unlikely."
If that's the view of a Meath man then it's a disgrace for such a great county and that's why the Dubs can stroll their way thru Leinster without breaking a sweat but I suspect that's not the case and the Royals will be back. Trust me Mayo Kerry nor Tyrone will raise the white flag like you'd like to do and next weekend will be another great weekend of tight football matches. You are very defeatist man and a secret Dub fan in my opinion.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 20/08/2017 19:51:03    2035701

Replying To essmac:  "Tyrone are as good as Dublin except that Dublin also have forwards who can get individual scores when the team is on the back foot; Dublin have a brilliant free taker; and, Tyrone and Ulster fans aside, everyone else in the country (including refs) would prefer to see Dublin in the final. It should be competitive, but realistically it would be an upset if Dublin lose."
Refs? Ahh get the excuses in early so IF we win....those darn Refs up to no good again!!.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/08/2017 20:34:22    2035724

Replying To IrishGael3:  "If that's the view of a Meath man then it's a disgrace for such a great county and that's why the Dubs can stroll their way thru Leinster without breaking a sweat but I suspect that's not the case and the Royals will be back. Trust me Mayo Kerry nor Tyrone will raise the white flag like you'd like to do and next weekend will be another great weekend of tight football matches. You are very defeatist man and a secret Dub fan in my opinion."
And you are a very deluded man. Tyrone would struggle against most of the other top 4/5 teams. Ulster football is on its knees. Dublin will win, not because they are Dublin alone, but also that Tyrone are not a good team. I hope I'm wrong but mayo Kerry and Dublin are way ahead of Tyrone at the minute. And no amount of red glasses filled eyes will help you on Sunday y

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/08/2017 21:09:40    2035741

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Refs? Ahh get the excuses in early so IF we win....those darn Refs up to no good again!!."
Not excuses. Facts. You have better players. I presume you agree with that? And Tyrone have taken over from Meath as the most disliked team in the country. That's hardly in dispute either. To prevail, Tyrone would need to be good enough to win handsomely and that is not remotely realistic against the Dubs. You'll win primarily because you have more good players. We'd need the ref to lean to us to have any chance. And, given how disliked Tyrone are, the chances of any ref making the big calls in our favour are remote. No need for excuses, we're a well-drilled team who'll make a game of it, but Dublin would have to have a few howlers for us to win it. Just look at the two teams' respective records over the last near-decade and draw the obvious conclusion.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/08/2017 21:13:42    2035745

Replying To royaldunne:  "Cop on . Tyrone are not as good as Dublin. No team is. That is a fact. And to say they are is insane. Now on any given day Any team could get beat. But Dublin would have to perform below anything they have in past 3 years and Tyrone would have to perform way better their individual talents to create the biggest shock in football this or last year. It could happen but highly unlikely."
Of course Dublin will be at their best - it is a semi-final - but I think that Tyrone will beat them in what may be a close but uninspiring game. Dublin have fantastic as they rampaged their way through the league and c'ship this year but, on the only occasion they were really tested, in the League final, they failed the test.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 20/08/2017 21:38:31    2035760

Replying To essmac:  "Not excuses. Facts. You have better players. I presume you agree with that? And Tyrone have taken over from Meath as the most disliked team in the country. That's hardly in dispute either. To prevail, Tyrone would need to be good enough to win handsomely and that is not remotely realistic against the Dubs. You'll win primarily because you have more good players. We'd need the ref to lean to us to have any chance. And, given how disliked Tyrone are, the chances of any ref making the big calls in our favour are remote. No need for excuses, we're a well-drilled team who'll make a game of it, but Dublin would have to have a few howlers for us to win it. Just look at the two teams' respective records over the last near-decade and draw the obvious conclusion."
cute tyrone hoorism

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/08/2017 23:12:20    2035777

Replying To royaldunne:  "And you are a very deluded man. Tyrone would struggle against most of the other top 4/5 teams. Ulster football is on its knees. Dublin will win, not because they are Dublin alone, but also that Tyrone are not a good team. I hope I'm wrong but mayo Kerry and Dublin are way ahead of Tyrone at the minute. And no amount of red glasses filled eyes will help you on Sunday y"
I think you need to take of your sky blue glasses instead of bowing down to the Dubs - to say Tyrone are miles behind the other 3 counties is dilusional of you my friend! As good a game as this was today - the defenses were awful - and that's one thing Tyrone have ahead of at least those 2!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 20/08/2017 23:17:38    2035784

We will know next week hopefully! If the Kerry team that I watched today can beat these great Dubs in a league final game then I believe this Tyrone team can beat them also. There is no reason to think they can't given the huge scores Tyrone have been racking up this year coupled with the solid defensive set up of Tyrone. People will say those games were against lesser opposition and they'd be right and that's why instead if it being a hammering by Tyrone it might simply be a one point victory. I'll take it if it's on offer! Have great have that we can do it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2017 23:24:44    2035785

Replying To seanie_boy:  "We will know next week hopefully! If the Kerry team that I watched today can beat these great Dubs in a league final game then I believe this Tyrone team can beat them also. There is no reason to think they can't given the huge scores Tyrone have been racking up this year coupled with the solid defensive set up of Tyrone. People will say those games were against lesser opposition and they'd be right and that's why instead if it being a hammering by Tyrone it might simply be a one point victory. I'll take it if it's on offer! Have great have that we can do it."
"great faith"

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2017 23:34:08    2035786

My emotion and Mickey Harte's reputation for pulling these games out of the fire is drawing me towards a Tyrone victory but the head and reality says Dublin by 5+ points. This Dublin outfit are ruthless and very, very driven and most of them have several All Irelands in their pockets already.
For that reason I can only see a Dublin win. I still say they are a very good side in a pretty poor Gaelic football era and so we just don't know how good they really are BUT that is not a criticism just a statement of fact.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 21/08/2017 01:35:39    2035809

Replying To Ulsterman:  "My emotion and Mickey Harte's reputation for pulling these games out of the fire is drawing me towards a Tyrone victory but the head and reality says Dublin by 5+ points. This Dublin outfit are ruthless and very, very driven and most of them have several All Irelands in their pockets already.
For that reason I can only see a Dublin win. I still say they are a very good side in a pretty poor Gaelic football era and so we just don't know how good they really are BUT that is not a criticism just a statement of fact."
The era is hardly very poor, it's no worse than what Kerry and Tyrone faced in the 00's or what Kerry faced in the 70's and 80's.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 21/08/2017 09:35:52    2035842

Really looking forward to playing Tyrone, its just great to have a different challenge at this stage of the championship, i for one welcome it.

Think its a massive opportunity for Tyrone beating this Dublin team will immediately catapult them into GAA folklore and anoint them as serious contenders for the top honor for years to come, that is what is on the line and the prize for Tyrone.

I am confident Dublin will win, i dont think Dublin have to be or will be fearful of any team in the country, that doesn't mean Dublin cant be beat im just very confident in this team.

I think it will be a great team that beats this Dublin team in the championship and the question Tyrone must answer is are they a great team? Thats the accolade that comes with winning on Sunday.

I have been impressed with Tyrone, but the one caveat is they have largely played Div 2 and Div 3 opposition this year in the championship except for Donegal who as we know struggled broadly in the championship. Dublin have played two Div 1 in team in Kildare and Mongahan and beat them by double digets. In mitigation to that Mickey Harte will heave a few tricks up his sleeve for the Jacks in terms of tactics and Dublin always struggle to breakdown Tyrone and Ulster teams in general, but yet are diligent and resilient in the task. While Dublin as i have been saying all season are a different animal this year to previous titles wins, their is a transitional process going on with many young players in the team and are not the team that has been winning Sams year in and year out since the start of the decade. If your going to catch Dublin on the hop this may be the year to do it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/08/2017 11:58:05    2035931

Replying To neverright:  "Of course Dublin will be at their best - it is a semi-final - but I think that Tyrone will beat them in what may be a close but uninspiring game. Dublin have fantastic as they rampaged their way through the league and c'ship this year but, on the only occasion they were really tested, in the League final, they failed the test."
only occasion they were really tested, in the League final, they failed the test.

True. But I believe Gavin has geared his run this year toward September. Kerry did beat Dublin in League Final but by a pointed free. Another 5 mins and Dublin would of caught Kerry. And I'm not trying to take anything away form Kerry.Looking at Kerry's backs yesterday I believe Dublin would have wiped floor with them.

Not saying Dublin are invincible at all. Just think Dubs have more up front than Tyrone. Their ball retention along 45 and outside D this year is all geared towards meeting Tyrones solid defense. Dublins bench will prove crucial too. very strong. Hopefully we get better conditions than yesterday and a great game of football. going with Dublin by 2/3 points

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 21/08/2017 12:24:36    2035958

No-one seems to be able to spot the end of era's especially in the GAA world but it wont be Dublin and Kerry forever and I just feel Tyrone have worked hard over the past two years to get themselves in this position. Tyrone have dealt with the problem in Ulster which was Donegal and the domination that Donegal did have has been broken. Kerry and Dublin are two great teams but I do feel they may be on the way down and I still fancy a Tyrone v Mayo final. Tyrone as the up and coming team and Mayo because they are running out of time but they still have fine footballers Keegan, O'Shea, Higgins, Clarke etc.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts:1348 - 14/08/2017 13:52:15 2033241

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 21/08/2017 13:23:59    2035998

Replying To TheUsername:  "Really looking forward to playing Tyrone, its just great to have a different challenge at this stage of the championship, i for one welcome it.

Think its a massive opportunity for Tyrone beating this Dublin team will immediately catapult them into GAA folklore and anoint them as serious contenders for the top honor for years to come, that is what is on the line and the prize for Tyrone.

I am confident Dublin will win, i dont think Dublin have to be or will be fearful of any team in the country, that doesn't mean Dublin cant be beat im just very confident in this team.

I think it will be a great team that beats this Dublin team in the championship and the question Tyrone must answer is are they a great team? Thats the accolade that comes with winning on Sunday.

I have been impressed with Tyrone, but the one caveat is they have largely played Div 2 and Div 3 opposition this year in the championship except for Donegal who as we know struggled broadly in the championship. Dublin have played two Div 1 in team in Kildare and Mongahan and beat them by double digets. In mitigation to that Mickey Harte will heave a few tricks up his sleeve for the Jacks in terms of tactics and Dublin always struggle to breakdown Tyrone and Ulster teams in general, but yet are diligent and resilient in the task. While Dublin as i have been saying all season are a different animal this year to previous titles wins, their is a transitional process going on with many young players in the team and are not the team that has been winning Sams year in and year out since the start of the decade. If your going to catch Dublin on the hop this may be the year to do it."
Good post and I agree with the majority of it but I'd question your point about Dubs playing 2 Div 1 teams - Kildare aren't a Div 1 team yet they have just been promoted and do not have the experience and toughness of a Div 1 team yet - Tyrone could argue that they played 2 Div 1 teams as Down and they were a Div 1 team last year! And with Donegal everyone had them favourites to win Ulster and challenge at the top - Tyrone demolished them and they just didn't recover that's why they didn't have a good championship. Point being neither team have got out of 2nd gear this championship but they will have to come Sunday and I like you can't wait to see what happens - I genuinely don't know what to expect.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/08/2017 13:52:19    2036015

This could be equally close as yesterday's game and should go to the wire.
Really hard to call and will come down to whose defence plays best on the day.
Tyrone very difficult to break down and always make getting a score really hard.
Dublin will have a real battle on their hands to get to final.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/08/2017 13:58:45    2036021

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Good post and I agree with the majority of it but I'd question your point about Dubs playing 2 Div 1 teams - Kildare aren't a Div 1 team yet they have just been promoted and do not have the experience and toughness of a Div 1 team yet - Tyrone could argue that they played 2 Div 1 teams as Down and they were a Div 1 team last year! And with Donegal everyone had them favourites to win Ulster and challenge at the top - Tyrone demolished them and they just didn't recover that's why they didn't have a good championship. Point being neither team have got out of 2nd gear this championship but they will have to come Sunday and I like you can't wait to see what happens - I genuinely don't know what to expect."
Fair points mate, I was practically impressed with Kildare this year myself, i think they are of reasonably midtable Div 1 team albeit a bit under-cooked in terms of game management and savvy. Monaghan are as hard boiled as anyone in the country. But again i take your point, its all about opinions when looking at the opposition.

What i like about Dublin and Tyrone (and believe both have a good chance of winning this desptie my own confidence, i also while i believe the winner of this will win the whole thing), is that they are probably the two most balanced sides in the country. Look at all the lines and its hard to find fault. For me the team with the best balance between defense and attack wins the all Ireland.

I do think Tyrone come into this with it all to prove. That can be a good thing and a bad thing.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/08/2017 15:02:51    2036057

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "The era is hardly very poor, it's no worse than what Kerry and Tyrone faced in the 00's or what Kerry faced in the 70's and 80's."
Totally agree. There are four absolute top notch sides in the country at present with 3 or 4 others coming. The quality of the top sides is as good if not better than the 00s and steets ahead of 70s and 80s. The fitness and skill levels have never been greater. Ability to score off both feet is almost a given for any forward and to make it into a top four side you have to be a primed athlete, no beer bellies in the top sides.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/08/2017 15:17:54    2036071

Replying To Joxer:  "Totally agree. There are four absolute top notch sides in the country at present with 3 or 4 others coming. The quality of the top sides is as good if not better than the 00s and steets ahead of 70s and 80s. The fitness and skill levels have never been greater. Ability to score off both feet is almost a given for any forward and to make it into a top four side you have to be a primed athlete, no beer bellies in the top sides."
Take your point , but legends of the past did not have beer bellies bar the obvious exceptions our Jimmy , Colm Corkery and one or two others , it's a bit of disrespect to say those legends weren't fit , they were as fit as the science of the time allowed as are the current extremely educated lads , the torture camps that Heffo put lads through are legendary and Micko followed suit.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/08/2017 15:28:57    2036079

I think Sundays game will be a humdinger. The current champions against the up and coming Tyrone team. As a neutral I couldnt care less who wins this so I will tell it as I see it. Dublin have not been tested in the Championship yet. So what?? But I guarantee you they will be tested on Sunday. I do believe that Tyrone will win the AI in the next 2-3 years. In Mickey Harte Tyrone have in my opinion the best manager in the country. He will have this team ready for war but Dublin will be ready for them. I am expecting the usual blistering start from Dublin but there is no way they will do to Tyrone what they did to Monaghan. Tyrone will be a lot tighter defensively and will counter attack in numbers. The referee will have his work cut out here and I hope he lets the play go. Dublin by 3 or 4

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 21/08/2017 15:39:12    2036086