Why are Kerry considered as better than Mayo?

Replying To Galantis:  "For you to talk about Kerry patronising and to post that drivel is hilarious, if you are going to big up League results (which I never have or will) Mayo beat us at Home in the League, so patronising us about the League give over

A couple of points

We know our football down here and secondly are honest to a fault and the feeling is Mayo are getting better and better as each game they play and we are worried that we'll be caught cold in the QF by them"
You might know football but everyone knows you're not being honest when playing that oul palaver and scutter.Kerry are certs for the final and will manage Mayo handy enough.
Pull the other one there's bells on it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/07/2017 20:06:57    2019518

Replying To catch22:  "You might know football but everyone knows you're not being honest when playing that oul palaver and scutter.Kerry are certs for the final and will manage Mayo handy enough.
Pull the other one there's bells on it."
I've never been one for the yerra stuff but I honestly see Mayo as a 50/50 game. Mayo would be absolutely chomping at the bit to tear into Kerry as they did to Dublin last year. Anybody saying that it's a foregone conclusion is putting way too much stock in a narrow league final victory against a Dublin side who had barely resumed training.

I think we'd beat anybody else on our side without hitting top gear. Maybe Cork will do us a favour!

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 19/07/2017 20:49:18    2019548

mayo havent beatening kerry in 21 years in championship

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 19/07/2017 22:12:08    2019617

Because they are,

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 19/07/2017 23:08:08    2019653

History, tradition and James O'Donoghue are part of the reason why Kerry are considered better than us. But people considering they're better than us and us beating them in this year's championship are two different things.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 20/07/2017 09:09:59    2019750

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I've never been one for the yerra stuff but I honestly see Mayo as a 50/50 game. Mayo would be absolutely chomping at the bit to tear into Kerry as they did to Dublin last year. Anybody saying that it's a foregone conclusion is putting way too much stock in a narrow league final victory against a Dublin side who had barely resumed training.

I think we'd beat anybody else on our side without hitting top gear. Maybe Cork will do us a favour!"
Well now sir, I'll tell you this, I'm not puting any weight to Kerry beating Dublin in the league. Mayo's history against Kerry in finals and semi finals is more relevant over the last couple of decades. Kerry have won more all Ireland's in the meantime than Mayo have all Ireland's.
That combined with their reliability on COC for scores is far more relevant than the short term league final result you refer to.
The fact that you mention cork and a favour is the yerra sneaking back in on you.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/07/2017 09:52:16    2019765

Maybe I'm a bit off topic here, but does anyone else think that JOD has flattered to deceive a bit in recent years? He was sensational in 2013-14 but hasn't quite been the same since, even allowing for a few injuries that he picked up. You could actually say much the same about David Moran, come to think of it.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/07/2017 10:17:42    2019790

Cos Kerry are better.
It helps that they don't have Mayo's self destruct tendencies .

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 20/07/2017 10:27:09    2019798

Replying To Gleebo:  "Maybe I'm a bit off topic here, but does anyone else think that JOD has flattered to deceive a bit in recent years? He was sensational in 2013-14 but hasn't quite been the same since, even allowing for a few injuries that he picked up. You could actually say much the same about David Moran, come to think of it."
No to JOD, yes to Moran
Moran gets far more credit that he deserves. Taken off a beaten man routinely V Fenton in recent championship meeteings. He played well in the League alright, but thats his forte, he always does well in the league. Come summer he is often the first man given the curly finger.
JOD on the other hand, is a hard fella to like, but he is a class act. Himself and Geaney is a lethal FF combination. The biggest fear for Kerry is an injury/suspension to either, as with both kerry are the no.2 team, without one of them they drop out of contention for me.
We have a similar reliance in Dublin on Fenton and Cluxton, and likewise if we lose either of them I would be very nervous

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2017 10:33:11    2019805

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "No to JOD, yes to Moran
Moran gets far more credit that he deserves. Taken off a beaten man routinely V Fenton in recent championship meeteings. He played well in the League alright, but thats his forte, he always does well in the league. Come summer he is often the first man given the curly finger.
JOD on the other hand, is a hard fella to like, but he is a class act. Himself and Geaney is a lethal FF combination. The biggest fear for Kerry is an injury/suspension to either, as with both kerry are the no.2 team, without one of them they drop out of contention for me.
We have a similar reliance in Dublin on Fenton and Cluxton, and likewise if we lose either of them I would be very nervous"
That's a fair summation Liam. I have been saying for years that if we could get Geaney and JOD properly fit and in to the same FF line we'd be unstoppable. People probably don't realise that they haven't played much together before this year as one of them is always injured. Geaney seems to have put that behind him after an operation in 2015 and hopefully JOD is now 100%.

I'd agree Moran has been beaten hands down by Fenton over the years, mainly because he can't stay with him. You need a more mobile player to track him. Jack Barry did this to great effect in the league final and at least broke even with him.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 20/07/2017 10:58:09    2019827

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "That's a fair summation Liam. I have been saying for years that if we could get Geaney and JOD properly fit and in to the same FF line we'd be unstoppable. People probably don't realise that they haven't played much together before this year as one of them is always injured. Geaney seems to have put that behind him after an operation in 2015 and hopefully JOD is now 100%.

I'd agree Moran has been beaten hands down by Fenton over the years, mainly because he can't stay with him. You need a more mobile player to track him. Jack Barry did this to great effect in the league final and at least broke even with him."
Jack Barry looks a real class act alright. I can understand Kerry sticking with Moran and Maher, Maher is a serious operator. Under rated by many but for me would get on every team in Ireland, including ourselves. Moran I am not so sure of. He is a player who has moments of brilliance and can do things most players cant but tends to go missing, a bit like AOS actually. I would have Maher over Moran and AOS. Fenton Maher would be an unplayable MF.
Regards JOD and Geaney, I would say potentially, and its still only potentially, but potentially they could be the new Crowley/Russell. Lethal individual inside forwards who combined are unplayable.
The only way to stop them is to stop the supply. Anyone who wants to beat Kerry has to win out the field cos if the ball is coming in, your losing.

Kerry have a call to make now because it looked like Kildare caused us problems with the high ball in at the weekend, now we were missing JC and COS was out of his usual position, but it did seem to trouble us. So, do Kerry see that and revert to the tried and failed Donaghy at 14 trick, or do they ignore it and trust the 2 boys to do the business inside.
Personally I think they should do the latter and feck it lads, those 2 boys being man marked by Philly and JC or Philly and Mick Fitz would be an EPIC battle.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2017 11:42:10    2019857

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "That's a fair summation Liam. I have been saying for years that if we could get Geaney and JOD properly fit and in to the same FF line we'd be unstoppable. People probably don't realise that they haven't played much together before this year as one of them is always injured. Geaney seems to have put that behind him after an operation in 2015 and hopefully JOD is now 100%.

I'd agree Moran has been beaten hands down by Fenton over the years, mainly because he can't stay with him. You need a more mobile player to track him. Jack Barry did this to great effect in the league final and at least broke even with him."
Agreed. Bit harsh on Moran. Similar to O Shea not mobile enough at times against a quick midfield pair.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 20/07/2017 11:45:11    2019859

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jack Barry looks a real class act alright. I can understand Kerry sticking with Moran and Maher, Maher is a serious operator. Under rated by many but for me would get on every team in Ireland, including ourselves. Moran I am not so sure of. He is a player who has moments of brilliance and can do things most players cant but tends to go missing, a bit like AOS actually. I would have Maher over Moran and AOS. Fenton Maher would be an unplayable MF.
Regards JOD and Geaney, I would say potentially, and its still only potentially, but potentially they could be the new Crowley/Russell. Lethal individual inside forwards who combined are unplayable.
The only way to stop them is to stop the supply. Anyone who wants to beat Kerry has to win out the field cos if the ball is coming in, your losing.

Kerry have a call to make now because it looked like Kildare caused us problems with the high ball in at the weekend, now we were missing JC and COS was out of his usual position, but it did seem to trouble us. So, do Kerry see that and revert to the tried and failed Donaghy at 14 trick, or do they ignore it and trust the 2 boys to do the business inside.
Personally I think they should do the latter and feck it lads, those 2 boys being man marked by Philly and JC or Philly and Mick Fitz would be an EPIC battle."
I actually like Donaghy at 14, but only if you vary the play and not lump hail Mary's in to him all day. Kerry have definitely been guilty of this in the past and it's beyond frustrating as he was always double marked making it totally ineffective. I think a three man FF line of Geaney, Donaghy and JOD would be a real headache for the opposition if it's done right. Donaghy is a great ball winner and is far more intelligent with the ball in hand than he is given credit for. You can't double up on all three without hindering your own game-plan, so at least one or two of them will have a bit of space. If Donaghy doesn't play you have him to spring from the bench, defenders hate to see him coming as he takes a lot of watching.

Jack Barry has to play against Dublin if we meet. Fenton and McCarthy would run the leg off Moran / Maher in no time. You could name Barry in the forwards and use him as a third midfielder to track Fenton as he did in the league final, leaving Moran free. Some interesting match ups across the pitch if that game comes to pass. A lot of work to do in the meantime though. I'd be very worried about Mayo personally, it's not at all reassuring to see that everybody else has written them off, including many of their own fans it seems. Tyrone would be a real banana skin for dublin too I think.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 20/07/2017 12:09:32    2019874

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Agreed. Bit harsh on Moran. Similar to O Shea not mobile enough at times against a quick midfield pair."
JOD is in my opinion the second best player in Ireland - Behind the forbidden Connolly.
His movement and scoring is a joy to watch, especially when paired with Geaney. Go to games and watch them off the ball.

I feel that's harsh on Moran. Your comparing him with the best midfielder in Ireland who should have won POTY last year (gonna get wild abuse for that but sure who cares). Who has done good on Fenton. I mean he is an animal. Tall, Strong, Fast, Good Ctaher, Good reader of the game, decent tackler and gets some important scores.
Moran is a great fielder and his kick passing is class.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 20/07/2017 12:10:14    2019875

Reading these last few posts, no disrespect intended to anyone whatsoever, but, the prospect of a Dubs Kerry final is mouthwatering

But of course its far from inevitable

It could also be Mayo we meet...... ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2017 12:24:03    2019885

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Reading these last few posts, no disrespect intended to anyone whatsoever, but, the prospect of a Dubs Kerry final is mouthwatering

But of course its far from inevitable

It could also be Mayo we meet...... ;)"
It could also be a Mayo v Tyrone allireland final, imagine that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/07/2017 12:57:57    2019918

Replying To dstuction:  "JOD is in my opinion the second best player in Ireland - Behind the forbidden Connolly.
His movement and scoring is a joy to watch, especially when paired with Geaney. Go to games and watch them off the ball.

I feel that's harsh on Moran. Your comparing him with the best midfielder in Ireland who should have won POTY last year (gonna get wild abuse for that but sure who cares). Who has done good on Fenton. I mean he is an animal. Tall, Strong, Fast, Good Ctaher, Good reader of the game, decent tackler and gets some important scores.
Moran is a great fielder and his kick passing is class."
Why would you expect wild abuse for stating that Fenton was your player of the year? It's your opinion and you are entitled to it, in the same way that the majority of players who voted for Keegan are entitled to theirs.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/07/2017 14:34:56    2019998

Replying To HuddHastings:  "The answer is quite simply because Kerry have the better players...more importantly they have the better forwards.

Kerry stronger than mayo in every line of the pitch apart from maybe goalkeeper and half back line.

I don't think a single Mayo forward would get on the Kerry team. Mayos best player in the last 2 games AOS has still never produced the goods against a division 1 side. It's pretty much the same group of forwards Mayo have been falling short with since 2011.

Having said all that I would expect a mighty battle between them in the semi final. Mayo certainly don't lack for physicality, experience or resilience"
The answer is quite simply because Kerry have the better players...more importantly they have the better forwards.

Kerry stronger than mayo in every line of the pitch apart from maybe goalkeeper and half back line.

The answer isn't quite that simple! yes Kerry have better forwards but Mayo aren't as bad as people like yourself is making out. Cillian, D O'Connor, kevin Mc, Andy, Aiden o'se, young Boland, Doherty are all good footballers and have won plenty of games for Mayo in the past. Our midfield four of s o'se, parsons, Barry and aiden are among the best in the business. Our half back line specks for itself. Clarke is second to cluxten and if we can sort our full back (caff is struggling) we will be hard to beat. would you bet your house on Kerry beating mayo? I wouldn't

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 20/07/2017 14:45:20    2020004

Replying To catch22:  "You might know football but everyone knows you're not being honest when playing that oul palaver and scutter.Kerry are certs for the final and will manage Mayo handy enough.
Pull the other one there's bells on it."
Which team had the unheard of misfortune to score 2 own goals? Kerry NO

Which team lost the AI by 1 point in a replay despite making a balls of the goalie situation (costing 1-3, 1-4 and the player of the year) ? Kerry NO

So yeah of course Mayo are bloody useless aren't they. You see we actually respect our opponents and Mayo since 2011 have been very formidable on a national level and have been bloody unlucky to say the least, but keep up your agenda if you wish

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 20/07/2017 14:59:00    2020012

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Yew, i hear you. I remember pre 2011 if you talked football to a Kerryman as a Dub all you got was patronising and yerra yerra bellyaching. They loved us, loved talking about the 70's, loved telling us about this special relationship we had with Kerry etc, the mutual respect etc etc
It was all BS of course, and the second we beat them and suddenly began beating them with regularity, that all changed, changed utterly.

They dont love ye, they just laugh at ye, same way they laughed at us for so long, but being the cute hoors they are they wont let you know that.
Beat them, and watch that change.
I hope ye do, i sincerely hope that if we dont win Sam, ye do."
Oh poor Liam, did you get bullied in the pub back in Dingle some night by us big bad Kerrymen??

The Dub supporters always remind me of the way my little nephew goes on, clawing at you to pay attention after he's done something he's proud of.

It's endearing to be honest - 'look at us Kerry we've won a few All-Ireland's now, please tell us how great we are'.

Always the appreciate but never the master eh Liam??

37 and counting, An Riocht Abu!

See Kingdomboy this is how you rack up the thumbs down ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/07/2017 15:09:58    2020021