Why are Kerry considered as better than Mayo?

Replying To TheFlaker:  "People will disagree with me of course but if COC had a bit of help around him he would look the part in any team, people just like to give him a hard time."
I wouldn't disagree with you, the problem is he doesn't have the help around him. Kerry don't have that problem.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 19/07/2017 13:23:35    2019250

The simple answer to the questioned posed is Kerry are better than Mayo there is way more improvement in Kerry this year and over the next 2/3 years Mayo are limping along I feel this is there last shot at sam. I just can't see mayo beating Dublin, Kerry or Tyrone to win the All-Ireland.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/07/2017 13:26:09    2019252

Kerry are well ahead of Mayo, an example is the forwards, Kerry have match winners in the forwards and on the bench, Mayo don't, we are over relying on Andy Moran and Cillian O'Connor's frees, we saw with Tyrone last Sunday when they hardly gave away any frees in scorable positions, if we get to play Tyrone we won't get easy frees and then what will happen, Mayo will be beaten, if Kerry or Cork tighten up in the backs and avoid giving away scorable frees then Mayo will be in trouble. Are Kerry better than Mayo? Yes, well ahead and deservedly so

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/07/2017 13:34:54    2019263

Respect is earned
Tradition and deeds lead to respect
This respect also leads to fear , Mayo maybe feared out West but no where else , now if they get to HQ and start bringing home the big one , they will earn respect and fear , what I've described Kerry have done in spades. Remind me who won this years national league.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/07/2017 13:36:56    2019267

I don't want to sound flippant or disrespectful to Mayo but 2 reasons..

1. Kerry have better forwards.

2. Tradition: Kerry have won 21 all-irelands since 1951. Mayo 0.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 19/07/2017 13:43:14    2019272

Simple: Cos they are better!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1079 - 19/07/2017 13:44:51    2019275

Trust me in the Kingdom, that view is not held at all we know Mayo have been the closest to toppling the Juggernaut

My strong suspicion is that Dublin fear Mayo and they are trying to put the notion in the media that they are finished and hope that it gets into their heads and they don't make the final.

See the way the Dublin media went after Lee Keegan Aidan O'Shea and now Niall Morgan, why haven't they gone after a Kerry player - because they don't rate us at all.

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 19/07/2017 14:11:00    2019295

The answer is quite simply because Kerry have the better players...more importantly they have the better forwards.

Kerry stronger than mayo in every line of the pitch apart from maybe goalkeeper and half back line.

I don't think a single Mayo forward would get on the Kerry team. Mayos best player in the last 2 games AOS has still never produced the goods against a division 1 side. It's pretty much the same group of forwards Mayo have been falling short with since 2011.

Having said all that I would expect a mighty battle between them in the semi final. Mayo certainly don't lack for physicality, experience or resilience

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 19/07/2017 14:16:03    2019300

Probably because Kerry haven't lost a championship game to Mayo for 21 years. Kerry and Dublin are the top two the current All Ireland and league champions and both have strength in depth and player quality especially forwards well ahead of the rest. Mayo to their credit are punching above their weight to be challenging the top two but i believe as group of players they peaked in 2013-14 the prime example of this is their two defeats to Galway a side that Kerry would beat comfortably if they played them 10 times in a row. Having won 3 minor All Irelands in a row and probably a 4th this summer Kerry unlike Mayo are long way from their peak and are only going to get stronger within the next couple of years.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3345 - 19/07/2017 14:22:02    2019301

Kerry people seem to love Mayo football....well that is what they tell me anyway. Why? Well because they always beat us. I remember reading where Paudi O Se said after the 1996 semi final defeat to Mayo that no way would a Kerry team ever loose to Mayo like that again.

Kerry currently have better forwards and their winning record means they will always be considered ahead of Mayo. 1-9 Mayo are as good if not better in some positions. Put it this way, if we had James O Donoughe and Paul Geaney in the Mayo team I would be very confident of landing Sam this year.

The lack of respect and mockery towards Mayo from the GAA world used to get to me but not really anymore. This Mayo team could not be accused of throwing in the towel or giving up. Your dead when you give up and as long as I have been following Mayo that we what we have been doing.

As someone said, you need to win an All Ireland to get that respect...we will someday I have no doubt.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 19/07/2017 14:26:09    2019306

Replying To Galantis:  "Trust me in the Kingdom, that view is not held at all we know Mayo have been the closest to toppling the Juggernaut

My strong suspicion is that Dublin fear Mayo and they are trying to put the notion in the media that they are finished and hope that it gets into their heads and they don't make the final.

See the way the Dublin media went after Lee Keegan Aidan O'Shea and now Niall Morgan, why haven't they gone after a Kerry player - because they don't rate us at all."
Such notions!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 19/07/2017 14:33:32    2019312

Replying To yew_tree:  "Kerry people seem to love Mayo football....well that is what they tell me anyway. Why? Well because they always beat us. I remember reading where Paudi O Se said after the 1996 semi final defeat to Mayo that no way would a Kerry team ever loose to Mayo like that again.

Kerry currently have better forwards and their winning record means they will always be considered ahead of Mayo. 1-9 Mayo are as good if not better in some positions. Put it this way, if we had James O Donoughe and Paul Geaney in the Mayo team I would be very confident of landing Sam this year.

The lack of respect and mockery towards Mayo from the GAA world used to get to me but not really anymore. This Mayo team could not be accused of throwing in the towel or giving up. Your dead when you give up and as long as I have been following Mayo that we what we have been doing.

As someone said, you need to win an All Ireland to get that respect...we will someday I have no doubt."
Yew, i hear you. I remember pre 2011 if you talked football to a Kerryman as a Dub all you got was patronising and yerra yerra bellyaching. They loved us, loved talking about the 70's, loved telling us about this special relationship we had with Kerry etc, the mutual respect etc etc
It was all BS of course, and the second we beat them and suddenly began beating them with regularity, that all changed, changed utterly.

They dont love ye, they just laugh at ye, same way they laughed at us for so long, but being the cute hoors they are they wont let you know that.
Beat them, and watch that change.
I hope ye do, i sincerely hope that if we dont win Sam, ye do.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/07/2017 14:40:55    2019321

This thread belong on Waterford Whisperers News!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 19/07/2017 14:57:22    2019329

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Flaker, why do you think a lot of non Mayo people perhaps have a lack of fondness shall we say for COC that perhaps they dont have for maybe Andy Moran or Keith Higgins etc?
Maybe that does cloud peoples opinion's, I don't know."
I don't know. COC gets involved in a lot of off the ball stuff. Andy doesn't and he is a bit more of a cult hero. Kinda funny that people are pointing out the missed free yet in an even more pressurised situation in the first game he went out the middle of the field to make sure he was the man who would have what was their very last scoring chance in that game. Took all the responsibility. This is exactly the point I am making about posters on here, ignoring what happened the first day. it's hilarious.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 19/07/2017 15:15:20    2019333

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I don't know. COC gets involved in a lot of off the ball stuff. Andy doesn't and he is a bit more of a cult hero. Kinda funny that people are pointing out the missed free yet in an even more pressurised situation in the first game he went out the middle of the field to make sure he was the man who would have what was their very last scoring chance in that game. Took all the responsibility. This is exactly the point I am making about posters on here, ignoring what happened the first day. it's hilarious."
They'll also ignore the other nine frees he scored that day. Cilian will never be popular with opposition fans due to some of the nonsense he gets involved in, but questioning his nerve is a pile of dookie. The lad has nailed crucial frees and penalties in most of the big games for the past six years: miss one and all of a sudden you're a choker. It's similar to the accepted nonsense of him contributing nothing from play, outside of all the goals he scores or last minute equalisers he conjures up.

The thread title obviously refers to the present fortunes of the two counties, rather than any historical comparison. Kerry's league final win over Dublin and present better form probably influences the rankings in that respect.

Mayo need to concentrate on Cork, and only Cork, for the next three days or so. It would also be nice for us not to start the game 15 minutes after the throw-in this time ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/07/2017 15:51:59    2019353

Replying To Forpucksake:  "No cute hoorism here, just wondering why time and time again I read Dublin and Kerry are miles ahead of the rest.

Mayo in my opinion have been the closest to Dublin by far in recent years. Dublin beat us last year, and if it wasn't for the two Cluxon errors the score line would have been a lot less flattering. The year before in the final was completely one sided, how we only lost by 3 points still baffles me. We simply were never in the game.

During the same period Mayo take Dublin to a replay in the semi and the final respectively, and looked the better team in the replay, bar some ridiculous kick outs.

The fact we beat the Dubs in the league final doesn't wash as an argument for me. I've been watching football long enough to not take too much notice of games played in the spring.

Is it mainly due to the fact that Mayo have looked so out of form so far? Weren't they at a fairly similar position last year though? Over recent years form prior to the quarterfinals hasn't been the best yardstick for where a county is at.

A lot of people might point to the 2014 semifinal, but in all honesty Mayo were far superior to us in the drawn game. If it wasn't for Donaghy causing some chaos, we would have been gone.

Just interested to hear some thoughts on why Kerry are considered so far ahead of Mayo"
Because the shear sight of he green and gold jerseys puts the fear of God into Mayo. Simple as...

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 19/07/2017 16:41:39    2019397

I think mayo have every chance yet again of reaching a final... or is that just my overseas optimism. I have been a seriously committed supporter missing hardly any games and leaving across the shore. But this year tells a different story. I am gutted to say ive not been to a game yet due to family and work commitments. I had been very very hopeful that should we overcome the rebels i would be gracing the doors of the croke park hotel with the sun on my jersey waiting for a quarter final weekend of craic and good footballing displays at HQ. But that is not looking as likely now due to commitments. Can we all get the violins out

oletothegaa (Mayo) - Posts: 8 - 19/07/2017 16:53:12    2019411

Replying To Galantis:  "Trust me in the Kingdom, that view is not held at all we know Mayo have been the closest to toppling the Juggernaut

See the way the Dublin media went after Lee Keegan Aidan O'Shea and now Niall Morgan, why haven't they gone after a Kerry player - because they don't rate us at all."
Strong suspicion...In other words in your opinion I for one would rather play mayo I don't think Mayo would beat Dublin this year playing Kerry I would always feel some apprehension I never feel that way when we play Mayo I Am always confident we have enough to beat mayo. Mayo have played some of there best football against Dublin and have never done enough to get the job done.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/07/2017 17:18:54    2019435

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Kerry are ahead of Mayo because, they have James O'Donoghue and Paul Geaney. Kerry also have beaten Dublin, and Mayo.
Its not rocket science lads.

For the record, if Kerry lost Geaney or JOD their chances diminsh hugely"
For you to talk about Kerry patronising and to post that drivel is hilarious, if you are going to big up League results (which I never have or will) Mayo beat us at Home in the League, so patronising us about the League give over

A couple of points

We know our football down here and secondly are honest to a fault and the feeling is Mayo are getting better and better as each game they play and we are worried that we'll be caught cold in the QF by them

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 19/07/2017 18:07:08    2019475

its clear to see over the last couple of years that there is nothing between Kerry and Mayo. If we were to meet them in the semis or quarter finals this year I dont think anyone down here would be over confident. This Kerry team is by no means the finished article and we have lots of question marks over our team especially in our defense and goalkeeper.

Yes maybe we have the better forward line but Mayos defense and especially half back line is up there with the best in the country. Even though Galway beat them this year I would still be far more confident of beating them then this Mayo team.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 19/07/2017 19:36:37    2019510