Limerick vs Cork Munster U21 Hurling Final

absolutely thrilled with result last night, out support was phenomenal too, cian lynch , sean finn, colin ryan and thomas grimes played really well coz this is a very good cork team , really showed a lot of guts and determination last night , the atmosphere was incredibly tense , --- pitch invasion at end was brilliant makes you wonder what it woudl be like it he ever won Liam

credit to the players staying out signing stuff and gettings fans pics with cup

seems to bit bit of whingin from cork fans on twitter re ref - having watched game again though most limerick frees weres correct including last 3, tim omahony took more than 4 steps for the goal,

gonna enjoy this for a few days and look forward to galway on the 19th , well done and thanks to the players management and backroom staff COME ON LIMERICK COYBIG

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 27/07/2017 11:21:26    2024356

I am relieved man this morning.limerick were poor last night but somehow got through to win.sick of glorious defeats over the years so winning ugly against a tough cork side is super.wont deny that if cork had the 2 lads they probably would have won but we will never know.expectations on this team are huge but after last nights performance they will have gone down a bit which will help us.

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 27/07/2017 11:33:27    2024365

Replying To janesboro:  "absolutely thrilled with result last night, out support was phenomenal too, cian lynch , sean finn, colin ryan and thomas grimes played really well coz this is a very good cork team , really showed a lot of guts and determination last night , the atmosphere was incredibly tense , --- pitch invasion at end was brilliant makes you wonder what it woudl be like it he ever won Liam

seems to bit bit of whingin from cork fans on twitter re ref - having watched game again though most limerick frees weres correct including last 3, tim omahony took more than 4 steps for the goal,

gonna enjoy this for a few days and look forward to galway on the 19th , well done and thanks to the players management and backroom staff COME ON LIMERICK COYBIG"
Whinging re the ref ?????????????????????????

the stats from last nights game. Cork awarded 4 free's... Limerick awarded 22 !!!!!!!!!!!

While you may think all limericks were fair how the hell could cork only get 4 ????

Limerick were out scored by cork in open play.

Whinging ????? Good god man if it was the reverse limerick would be screaming blue murder.

I too re watched the game. In general i thought limerick played better. Cork were completely clue less in first half playing balls into the corner where the closest person in red was in the stands. On the same note cork back had the measure of limerick forwards and at the end of the day it was frees and some terrible frees that kept limerick ticking over. Half of all limericks scores came from placed balls. Even you concede that re watching the game that MOST of the frees seemed fair. Which mean some weren't. But the question i want answered is how is it possible for a team to get awarded only 4 free's in 60 plus mins of hurling.

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 27/07/2017 11:53:25    2024377

Replying To janesboro:  "absolutely thrilled with result last night, out support was phenomenal too, cian lynch , sean finn, colin ryan and thomas grimes played really well coz this is a very good cork team , really showed a lot of guts and determination last night , the atmosphere was incredibly tense , --- pitch invasion at end was brilliant makes you wonder what it woudl be like it he ever won Liam

gonna enjoy this for a few days and look forward to galway on the 19th , well done and thanks to the players management and backroom staff COME ON LIMERICK COYBIG"
Yes and Colin Ryan was struck foul blows twice in which players were yellow carded. Both culprits, especially Dalton, were lucky not to see red. Seanie got it for less v Clare two years ago.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 27/07/2017 12:33:32    2024406

15 frees for Limerick and 5 frees for Cork. Cork must be a filthy team.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 27/07/2017 14:24:56    2024479

Replying To Midleton:  "15 frees for Limerick and 5 frees for Cork. Cork must be a filthy team."
We played Wexford in an All Ireland Final and we had the best free taker in the land. He scored frees in the hour, one from ninety yards . The fact was the better team did not foul. I think the same applied last night.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 27/07/2017 14:32:55    2024486

Replying To Midleton:  "15 frees for Limerick and 5 frees for Cork. Cork must be a filthy team."
Not filthy but not very clued in.

Mark Coleman at the end had a Limerick lad out on the wing ball in hand. What did he do? Fouled him. Gave us back our 4 point lead.

Dalton won a free in front of goal in the first half, not happy with his free he swiped the hurley on our lad & the ball was thrown in.

Setting up (albeit against the wind) with one player on our 21 & the rest were closer to the stand hotel. Totally handed the initiative to our lads from the off. 15 minutes gone, 0-7 to 0-0 & Limerick had 4 wides at that stage.

Lad at the end going through with Cork a goal down, decided to shoot from 25 yards out. Off balance, the ball flew over the bar. Why not go as far as possible & try to win a penalty? Worked v Waterford.

Our Manager said Cork were the best prepared side they'd faced but I don't agree. Some of their decision making & actions suggested otherwise.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 27/07/2017 16:48:34    2024553

Replying To Oldtourman:  "We played Wexford in an All Ireland Final and we had the best free taker in the land. He scored frees in the hour, one from ninety yards . The fact was the better team did not foul. I think the same applied last night."
Above should have he scored TWO points in the 70 odd minutes. The opposing defence just hardly ever fouled.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 27/07/2017 17:04:25    2024569

Replying To slayer:  "Not filthy but not very clued in.

Mark Coleman at the end had a Limerick lad out on the wing ball in hand. What did he do? Fouled him. Gave us back our 4 point lead.

Dalton won a free in front of goal in the first half, not happy with his free he swiped the hurley on our lad & the ball was thrown in.

Setting up (albeit against the wind) with one player on our 21 & the rest were closer to the stand hotel. Totally handed the initiative to our lads from the off. 15 minutes gone, 0-7 to 0-0 & Limerick had 4 wides at that stage.

Lad at the end going through with Cork a goal down, decided to shoot from 25 yards out. Off balance, the ball flew over the bar. Why not go as far as possible & try to win a penalty? Worked v Waterford.

Our Manager said Cork were the best prepared side they'd faced but I don't agree. Some of their decision making & actions suggested otherwise."
Rubbish. Excellent game management from Cork to stay in the game. They were down 2 Senior Players against an odds-on Team laden with talent and they were still in it up until that last ball was taken out of the square. If Kingston had kept going there the Ref would have done what he did all night and blew up for over carrying against Cork even when they were fouled. The free against Coleman at the end was very soft. In the first half almost by the same spot by the sideline (when Lynch did a triple fist pump) Lynch pulled across Dalton's leg but no free given.
Limerick 2017 U21 Team are a better team than this Cork 2017 U21 Team but ye can send Christmas Cards to Clare this year. If Cork are not that clued in lets see who wins the most AI seniors out of both groups.

Cornerback1977 (Cork) - Posts: 67 - 27/07/2017 18:27:48    2024606

Replying To Cornerback1977:  "Rubbish. Excellent game management from Cork to stay in the game. They were down 2 Senior Players against an odds-on Team laden with talent and they were still in it up until that last ball was taken out of the square. If Kingston had kept going there the Ref would have done what he did all night and blew up for over carrying against Cork even when they were fouled. The free against Coleman at the end was very soft. In the first half almost by the same spot by the sideline (when Lynch did a triple fist pump) Lynch pulled across Dalton's leg but no free given.
Limerick 2017 U21 Team are a better team than this Cork 2017 U21 Team but ye can send Christmas Cards to Clare this year. If Cork are not that clued in lets see who wins the most AI seniors out of both groups."
I would believe there was a lot of Christmas cards from Leeside to Banner side, after Hickey gave that very soft penalty in the 2009 Munster Football Final. Not every 50/50 goes the way of any county and nor I do not blame Rory Hockey as I am sure he was an honest and decent man who called that incident as he called it as the man last night did also.
Having said I wish Cork well in the competitions they are still in.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 27/07/2017 23:37:24    2024703

Replying To Cornerback1977:  "Rubbish. Excellent game management from Cork to stay in the game. They were down 2 Senior Players against an odds-on Team laden with talent and they were still in it up until that last ball was taken out of the square. If Kingston had kept going there the Ref would have done what he did all night and blew up for over carrying against Cork even when they were fouled. The free against Coleman at the end was very soft. In the first half almost by the same spot by the sideline (when Lynch did a triple fist pump) Lynch pulled across Dalton's leg but no free given.
Limerick 2017 U21 Team are a better team than this Cork 2017 U21 Team but ye can send Christmas Cards to Clare this year. If Cork are not that clued in lets see who wins the most AI seniors out of both groups."
Blow up like he did all night you're surely having a laugh? Ref made bad decisions for both sides but would agree overall he favoured us on the night. Overall disappointed I know we won but considering how many of these players we need to step up to snr towards cork I think you're forecasting of cork winning more than us looks the more likely unfortunately for us but i suppose you never know plus we couldn't have won it better as the hype will surely be quelled after that performance

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 28/07/2017 00:51:27    2024723

CornerBack1977

Very amusing reply when you used 'if', 'would' , soft frees and fist pumps :-) :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 28/07/2017 08:18:31    2024743

Oldtourman wrote:

I would believe there was a lot of Christmas cards from Leeside to Banner side, after Hickey gave that very soft penalty in the 2009 Munster Football Final. Not every 50/50 goes the way of any county and nor I do not blame Rory Hockey as I am sure he was an honest and decent man who called that incident as he called it as the man last night did also.

Spot on. Seeing a Cork man going on about refereeing decisions when we can all think back to Tomas Mulcahy juggling the ball in the 1992 Munster Final ....... these things happen and referees are human.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 28/07/2017 08:25:12    2024744

Cornerback1977
If Kingston had kept going there the Ref would have done what he did all night and blew up for over carrying against Cork even when they were fouled.

not once wed night were cork done for overcarrying - twice for double catches both were correct

The free against Coleman at the end was very soft.
it was correct there he did pull cian lynch back

In the first half almost by the same spot by the sideline (when Lynch did a triple fist pump) Lynch pulled across Dalton's leg but no free given.
thought myself it was a free, i also thought on 12 mins when colin ryan was fouled that it should have been cork free as he used the cork guy as lever to springboard his jump, and i thought 21 yard free should not have been reversed (negated by fact ye scored upon the throw in), most limerick frees were correct i make out 4 that were not

however - on 54 mins paudie ahern pulled down no free, 58 mins our lad on wing got a hurley on the neck (nothing nasty just a free)
and your goal was certainly more than 4 steps

Yes the ref made some mistakes - but so did players -cork had 4 wides in last 15

Limerick 2017 U21 Team are a better team than this Cork 2017 U21 Team but ye can send Christmas Cards to Clare this year. If Cork are not that clued in lets see who wins the most AI seniors out of both groups.

think we might get more players to play senior but most likely cork will get more all irelands

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 28/07/2017 09:18:30    2024760

would believe there was a lot of Christmas cards from Leeside to Banner side, after Hickey gave that very soft penalty in the 2009 Munster Football Final. Not every 50/50 goes the way of any county and nor I do not blame Rory Hockey as I am sure he was an honest and decent man who called that incident as he called it as the man last night did also.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts:1268 - 27/07/2017 23:37:24

-i too wish cork well for the remaining multititude of comps they are still in
correct - refs make mistake and so do players and fans

i mean its not as if he missed a guy throwing a dud sliotar for a penalty or a full back putting a new sliotar down his shorts, or a guy handpassing the sliotar to himself in the lead up toa goal eh!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 28/07/2017 09:21:40    2024761

We have been caught by a few refereeing decisions ourselves in our time ! 2013 and the extra minutes. I won't go on about decisions in Killarney.
As I said earlier though Limerick 2017 U21 Team were better than the Cork Team and best of luck to them in the semis v Galway. Neither team were brilliant the other night and I was actually gladly surprised to see how close Cork were to this Limerick Team. It was great to see the celebrations & delight at the end. It's what makes the GAA what it is.

Cornerback1977 (Cork) - Posts: 67 - 28/07/2017 15:11:11    2024937

Replying To Cornerback1977:  "We have been caught by a few refereeing decisions ourselves in our time ! 2013 and the extra minutes. I won't go on about decisions in Killarney.
As I said earlier though Limerick 2017 U21 Team were better than the Cork Team and best of luck to them in the semis v Galway. Neither team were brilliant the other night and I was actually gladly surprised to see how close Cork were to this Limerick Team. It was great to see the celebrations & delight at the end. It's what makes the GAA what it is."
Cornerback
In agreement re Killarney, disallowed goals in Hurling in 66 and 71 (2) and a very wrong penalty in football in 2004 come to mind in our case as well as the refs failure to even give a yellow card to Thomas O'Shea in 2010 . In the latter the real killer was that the powers that be suspended him after and Down ended up possibly benefiting from his antics in Killarney.
Having that all that I do not believe any ref goes out to do a team and anyway a ref would want to be almost evil to want to frustrate teams as long out of the limelight as those LK sides.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 28/07/2017 16:09:12    2024982

I love how when GAA fans are discussing if a referee favoured a particular county in a match, they will go back 10, 20, hell, 50 years trying to cite occasions where the other county supposedly got favourable treatment from a ref.

As if that in any way is relevant to the debate at hand.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 30/07/2017 08:19:44    2025681

Replying To ballydalane:  "I love how when GAA fans are discussing if a referee favoured a particular county in a match, they will go back 10, 20, hell, 50 years trying to cite occasions where the other county supposedly got favourable treatment from a ref.

As if that in any way is relevant to the debate at hand."
Just making the point that any county can make up a compilation of refereeing events which went against them but that does not say that any ref has purposely gone out to do them. After all there was a suggestion that LK Chrismas Cards should be forwarded to the Clare ref in this case. This was uncalled for, especially as very few of us have reffed at top level or would be capable of getting it right all the time in the heat of a big game.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 30/07/2017 22:16:17    2026262

Replying To ballydalane:  "I love how when GAA fans are discussing if a referee favoured a particular county in a match, they will go back 10, 20, hell, 50 years trying to cite occasions where the other county supposedly got favourable treatment from a ref.

As if that in any way is relevant to the debate at hand."
You are spot on Ballydalane, but it is all harmless fun nonetheless.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 31/07/2017 12:09:22    2026573