Tyrone or will it be two in a row for
Tyrone??

On another issue do people think it
is better to go into a final battle
hardened like Down or fresh like
Tyrone ??

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 28/06/2017 14:29:15    2006887

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "Down ripped up the script against Monaghan as they rolled back the
years to defeat the Farney county
in a nerve racking finish at the
Athletic grounds. Can they upset
the apple cart one more time against
Tyrone or will it be two in a row for
Tyrone??

On another issue do people think it
is better to go into a final battle
hardened like Down or fresh like
Tyrone ??"
Your question about being battle-hardened vs fresh isn't really relevant here. Tyrone beat Derry (away) and Donegal, while Down beat Armagh (at home) and Monaghan. I'd say both teams had equally hard paths to the final - the only difference is that Tyrone won their games by 10+ points pulling up, while Down scraped home in both.

Tyrone have won 8 of their last 9 Ulster finals, whereas Down have lost their last 4. Whether 'fresh' or 'battle-hardened', I don't see those trends being bucked.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 28/06/2017 15:08:05    2006923

Three words: Bring it on

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 28/06/2017 15:55:33    2006963

Good news for Down that Connaire Harrison will be fit for the Ulster final. Unfortunate for Barry O'Hagan that
he could miss the rest of the season
with a shoulder injury.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 06/07/2017 10:34:43    2011393

If you want my honest answer.

I cant see Tyrone winning this game by less than 8-10 points.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 06/07/2017 11:44:59    2011433

Disappointed to see that season ticket holders are being put in the Pat McGrane stand while Gerry Arthur tickets are on general release. Not impressed.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 06/07/2017 15:20:56    2011547

This will be a totally different game than Tyrone would have expected or planned for i.e. Monaghan. Down are coming in with nothing to lose - however they don't want to lose by a big margin but that is a big risk. I'd say Tyrone but not by the margins of previous 2 games so 5-6 points.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 06/07/2017 15:26:43    2011550

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Disappointed to see that season ticket holders are being put in the Pat McGrane stand while Gerry Arthur tickets are on general release. Not impressed."
The only seats that went on sale for the Gerry Arthurs were the very bottom corner. Anyone that knows the ground will know they are terrible seats. I'd rather get decent seats in the McGrane than poor one's in the Gerry Arthurs. Given the number of season ticket holders we were never going to get covered seats in the Gerry arthurs which is fair enough as the clubs deserve 5 or 6 as well as the player families etc.

Once you go down low in the Gerry arthurs you might as well be in the mcgrane as there is no difference in the two sides of the ground. At least in the mcgrane we might get seats further back with a better view.

A Another (None) - Posts: 192 - 06/07/2017 15:41:47    2011556

This will be a totally different game than Tyrone would have expected or planned for i.e. Monaghan. Down are coming in with nothing to lose - however they don't want to lose by a big margin but that is a big risk. I'd say Tyrone but not by the margins of previous 2 games so 5-6 points.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 06/07/2017 15:48:50    2011559

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 06/07/2017 15:49:03    2011560

Really looking forward the Ulster football final next weekend. It and the Munster hurling final are two very special occasions in the GAA calendar, along with the All-Ireland hurling and football finals.

While we're big outsiders and not given a hope in the eyes of many, I believe if we perform to the levels we did vs Monaghan we'll at the very least keep it competitive. But, lets be realistic. Tyrone are a serious team with serious ambitions, and if this Tyrone team is to fulfil their ambitions then beating Down next weekend is imperative. Otherwise it's lights out.

Nonetheless, us Down Gaels will be there in huge numbers and we'll get right behind our lads until the end.

An Dún Abú

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 06/07/2017 15:57:49    2011563

I see the bookies have the handicap at 6 points and I expect Tyrone to beat that.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 07/07/2017 07:31:53    2011782

The Tyrone season ticket holders who want to be in the Gerry Arthurs stand on July 16 should mention where they were placed 12 months ago. Down season ticket holders will remember that we were all in the Pat McGrane stand, in pretty decent central seats, for our last Ulster final in 2012.

MourneRising (Down) - Posts: 238 - 07/07/2017 21:59:04    2012170

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "Your question about being battle-hardened vs fresh isn't really relevant here. Tyrone beat Derry (away) and Donegal, while Down beat Armagh (at home) and Monaghan. I'd say both teams had equally hard paths to the final - the only difference is that Tyrone won their games by 10+ points pulling up, while Down scraped home in both.

Tyrone have won 8 of their last 9 Ulster finals, whereas Down have lost their last 4. Whether 'fresh' or 'battle-hardened', I don't see those trends being bucked."
As I watched Down take us by the scruff of the neck in Armagh, that feeling of utter helplessness took over. Ye had a point to prove & fair play ye went all out to prove it. I've never played football so will not say what we could've/should've done but having witnessed Tyrone in Croke park 2015 with the infamous hair raising incident between our own Darren Hughes & Tiernan McCann, I will be shouting at my telly for Down to win the Ulster. Best of luck, & hope ye's raise the silver cup.

BorderlineBlue (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 08/07/2017 15:47:32    2012365

Replying To BorderlineBlue:  "As I watched Down take us by the scruff of the neck in Armagh, that feeling of utter helplessness took over. Ye had a point to prove & fair play ye went all out to prove it. I've never played football so will not say what we could've/should've done but having witnessed Tyrone in Croke park 2015 with the infamous hair raising incident between our own Darren Hughes & Tiernan McCann, I will be shouting at my telly for Down to win the Ulster. Best of luck, & hope ye's raise the silver cup."
Borderlineblue ,,, nerves kicking in already and still a week to go , so nice to here you will be cheering us on , hopefully we will go and finish the job

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 08/07/2017 21:28:31    2012547

Replying To topdownfan:  "Borderlineblue ,,, nerves kicking in already and still a week to go , so nice to here you will be cheering us on , hopefully we will go and finish the job"
Why don't you get a room!!

10+ point hammering coming your way and Monaghan probably won't even make the quarter finals..again!

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 09/07/2017 19:15:18    2013279

Replying To Wally:  "Why don't you get a room!!

10+ point hammering coming your way and Monaghan probably won't even make the quarter finals..again!"
Lol

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 09/07/2017 19:33:13    2013305

10+ point hammering coming your way and Monaghan probably won't even make the quarter finals..again!"
Monaghan could end up meeting Tyrone in the Qfinals if Tyrone loose.
On Monaghan's side of the draw there are four teams -- Armagh Carlow Tipperary and Monaghan
Two go forward and I take Monaghan to get there no problem If they do they can't play Down in Qfinals no matter what the result of the Ulster final
To all Down / Tyrone supporters be sure and give the 1992 Donegal team a big reception at half time
You just can't keep us away from Clones

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 09/07/2017 19:46:39    2013317

Games of tyrones. ..a 10 point hammering!... you could be right judging by tyrones form coming into this final but you never know.. ... I would have predicted Galway to walk the connaught final today...but look what happened. I know we will be up for a no respect will be given.. I can assure you that....

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 09/07/2017 20:41:20    2013356

Folks this person is WUM. Please don't listen to him.
Looking forward to a great battle with down. Big crowd, great atmosphere, can't wait.
Tyrone favourites but Down wouldnt that.
Tyrone by 2

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 09/07/2017 21:16:36    2013393