Hurling QF's in Cork/Lack of games in Limerick

Replying To hill16no1man:  "The road from cork to limerick is terrible though I never understood why they haven't built a proper motorway as they are two cities yet you have to travel through towns like buttervent where the pot holes are that big they have set up a ufo watch."
See the thing is nobody really wants to go to Cork so the longer it takes to get there the better. I'd build a motorway out of Cork but keep the road in as it is :)

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 20/06/2017 21:14:31    2002806

Replying To skillet:  "We don't really need the Gaelic grounds in Limerick to be honest. It's a bit of a white elephant..the Mackey stand is horrible.. Needs to be knocked and started again. If there had been any intelligence a joint venture between rugby and the GAA to have one top class stadium in the city with a 25-30,000 capacity would have been the way to go.
I know it would never happen, too much politics from all quarters but from a purely economic point of view it would have been smart..hurling in Thomond pk would have been the business.."
Totally agree and both sports are played at different times of year so there would be no conflict. There was too much politics in the GAA rather than in the IRFU to make this happen. The IRFU will share with other sporting organisations.

The Gaelic Grounds is too big, has it been full twice since it was redeveloped? A smaller ground with 2 covered stands would have made more sense.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 20/06/2017 23:51:51    2002880

Totally agree and both sports are played at different times of year so there would be no conflict. There was too much politics in the GAA rather than in the IRFU to make this happen. The IRFU will share with other sporting organisations.
The Gaelic Grounds is too big, has it been full twice since it was redeveloped? A smaller ground with 2 covered stands would have made more sense.
county man (Limerick) - Posts:969 - 20/06/2017 23:51:51
Munster would never have moved from Thomond Park and thomond park isnt big enough to fit a gaa pitch

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/06/2017 00:16:19    2002886

I have to say lads, Gaelic Grounds in Limerick is probably one of the worst grounds I have been in in the country. That main stand is so dilapidated, when they were developing the new stand on the other side they should have made that the main stand because it is a fine development but is always empty.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 21/06/2017 09:19:39    2002933

Replying To Pinkie:  "I have to say lads, Gaelic Grounds in Limerick is probably one of the worst grounds I have been in in the country. That main stand is so dilapidated, when they were developing the new stand on the other side they should have made that the main stand because it is a fine development but is always empty."
Bit harsh to say it is one of the worst. It did stage an All Ireland semi-final a few years ago and there are less than a handful of stadiums that could do that. It also has lots of seating, very good terracing with no grass banks like some other county grounds, but yeah it far from one of the best and could be improved. The Mackey stand was a botch of a job and very expensive with the clubs in Limerick paying years for it.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 21/06/2017 21:50:51    2003280

Was in gaelic grounds last night mackey stand was fine (bar toilets), very clean and in good condition , seats in mackey very comfortable, open stand in fine nick inc toilets good views in open stand, , pitch in really good condition , others will disagree but fail to see how it could be described as delapitated and one of the worst grounds when its bigger than most

we held an all ireland semi final in2014 and last years munster final and 2013 munster final when full and in my view the ground is more than capable of hosting such games again

fantastic performance eoghan mac, darragh fanning, barry nash cian lynch had excellent games,
2 brilliant points each from colin ryan, barry murphy and ronan lynch (both from the sideline)
kyle hayes was outstanding and peter casey and tom morrissy got some great scores

great the stewards let kids out on pitch at half time and full time for puck around great to see players stay on pitch afterwards signing stuff for kids

but a great day for limerick great performance well done all -when you follow limerick you dont often get success so we gotta enjoy these days

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 23/06/2017 11:33:03    2003925

i have visited gaelic grounds a few times,that stand is fairly poor now lads,it is not the worst in the country though,that ground in drogheda has that title.an absolute hovel.
well done to your u21s last night,serious looking team.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 23/06/2017 12:44:54    2003958

Everyone agrees that the Mackey is a poor stand. Just walk around an sit in the open stand, can't remember the last time I sat in the Mackey.
Drogheda is a poor, poor ground, I always stand on the grass bank.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 23/06/2017 13:28:21    2003992

I suppose, we all love our own county ground, I have never been to Drogheda, I will some day be in Limerick to try that open side because I thought they might roof it and it'd be a hell of a fine stand. Sadly most times I see it, even on TV, it is empty/half full.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 23/06/2017 14:24:56    2004022

Was in limerick on Saturday
Not at the mayo v cork game but watched it online, over an hour after the extra time ended went in a car from the city centre to Tesco at coonagh,now went through thomondgate past thomond park way, would have felt with only 13 thousand at the venue that the traffic wouldn't be a problem that long after the game, but it took over an hour to get out there which is normally a five minute drive and that was avoiding the Ennis road completely, if the Gaelic grounds having a full house of over three times that crowd would surely cause traffic disaster for limerick at that rate which is probably a big reason in why it doesn't get a lot of big neutral matches, it's hard to understand why it can be that badly managed by the gardai when I have seen thomond park full with double that amount of attendance yet the traffic delays aren't anywhere near as bad, with both grounds not a whole distance apart from each other.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/07/2017 17:46:01    2022737

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Was in limerick on Saturday
Not at the mayo v cork game but watched it online, over an hour after the extra time ended went in a car from the city centre to Tesco at coonagh,now went through thomondgate past thomond park way, would have felt with only 13 thousand at the venue that the traffic wouldn't be a problem that long after the game, but it took over an hour to get out there which is normally a five minute drive and that was avoiding the Ennis road completely, if the Gaelic grounds having a full house of over three times that crowd would surely cause traffic disaster for limerick at that rate which is probably a big reason in why it doesn't get a lot of big neutral matches, it's hard to understand why it can be that badly managed by the gardai when I have seen thomond park full with double that amount of attendance yet the traffic delays aren't anywhere near as bad, with both grounds not a whole distance apart from each other."
hillman i was at the game myself -certainly didnt think it was a traffic disaster for the city - went home via clondrinagh roundabout which was free flowing -most match traffic went that way and onto toll bridge, by time i got to city you wouldnt have know there was a game on,

reason we aint getting big games is nowt to do with traffic Croke park on all ireland sunday last year was worse not helped by roadworks, cork had traffic too for games at weekend, kilarney gets traffic as well, we should have got both munster final and clare v tipp games , but cork wanted different venues and what cork want they get. Also i a lot of cases thurles is the more central venue

In recent years we have had 35k plus for munster finals and all ireland semi replay i was at both , both games proved to me we are well capable of holding big games here, thankfully with new format we will get at least two home games.

Great game though every time mayo come down here they put on ashow

And more importantly best of luck to our 21s tonight

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/07/2017 09:44:53    2023667

almost 12k in gaelic grounds last night -traffic was grand in and out,

was on front of mackey stand and even through the torrential rain didnt get wet , you cant say that about croke park

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 27/07/2017 10:12:35    2024323