Down v Monaghan

Monaghan too strong here 2nd time around I feel!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 27/07/2017 13:26:34    2024437

Replying To Brolly:  "Monaghan too strong here 2nd time around I feel!!"
The bookies think so too. Monaghan 4/11 Down 3/1. They can't be wrong twice, surely.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 27/07/2017 15:14:56    2024507

May the best team win..

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 27/07/2017 15:32:01    2024516

I'd normally cheer for the underdog but I had a decent drink with a few Monaghan lads in Wexford town (Lamberts to be precise) a couple of weeks ago so I'd quite like to see them go through. That aside I can see Monaghan winning by about 3 points.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 27/07/2017 15:37:12    2024522

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "I'd normally cheer for the underdog but I had a decent drink with a few Monaghan lads in Wexford town (Lamberts to be precise) a couple of weeks ago so I'd quite like to see them go through. That aside I can see Monaghan winning by about 3 points."
Monaghan are always the underdog in Croke Park Medway, its a natural law.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 27/07/2017 16:53:45    2024558

http://gaeliclife.com/2017/07/coulter-questions-monaghans-attacking-options/

Good motivation here for our lads. It's actually a welcome change to see this type of honest interview ahead of a game instead of playing the cute hoor like Thomas o Shea and talking up opposition

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 27/07/2017 20:08:21    2024625

Replying To nosides:  "There is 5 teams that are miles ahead of all the rest 1/ Kerry 2/ Dublin 3/ Tyrone 4/ Mayo 5/ Cork the rest should play in a second tear competition we all have seen how easy Dublin, Kerry, and Tyrone won their finals pulling up"
Cork way ahead of the rest! And Mayo on this year's form! Preposterous. The rest, we'll see.

In any case, these proposals to split the championship always end in tiers

Mike Patton (Monaghan) - Posts: 82 - 28/07/2017 08:05:19    2024742

I don't like the cut of Monaghan this summer at all. Bar the Cavan game very poor. Some of the league stars like Jack McCarron not doing enough. McManus still carrying the can. Hard to think of another 2017 side, with maybe the exception of Cavan, being level with division 4 Carlow with 4 min of normal time to go.

Down rocked back by Tyrone. A 50/50 game.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/07/2017 17:23:07    2025035

Replying To Laois76:  "I don't like the cut of Monaghan this summer at all. Bar the Cavan game very poor. Some of the league stars like Jack McCarron not doing enough. McManus still carrying the can. Hard to think of another 2017 side, with maybe the exception of Cavan, being level with division 4 Carlow with 4 min of normal time to go.

Down rocked back by Tyrone. A 50/50 game."
*2017 Division 1 side

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/07/2017 17:37:11    2025044

Monaghan are generally deemed as Croker Chockers ... & possibly with justifacation! .... But it's also amazing, how many have forgotten that we beat kildare there in '14, a week after losing our Ulster title to Donegal.
Previous Monaghan teams were probably defensive & tight marking, & when they got to CP, they were "caught" by the open spaces. ...... This team are different.....
...............bring it on! ... I firmly believe, they will relish CP....... We have 3 things vital for big day's in CP..... (1) Pace; (11) power (111) a good bench, (also with pace)!
Muineachain abu !

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 28/07/2017 21:02:39    2025118

Good man exile...

...and sure we beat Down in Croker in 98.

Bring. It. Hon.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 28/07/2017 22:03:27    2025142

Replying To Knoxboya:  "Good man exile...

Bring. It. Hon."
Beat Down in Croker in 1998???

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/07/2017 22:33:24    2025158

Bring. It. Hon."
1998 had semis of Kildare v Kerry and Derry v Galway. No quarter finals then, pre qualifiers.

The minor was Kerry V Laois and Mayo v Tyrone. The U21 games weren't played in Croke park and were Armagh v Kerry and Galway v Laois in 1998.

Monaghan and Down didn't contest any games in Croker in 1998 in any grade. The Monaghan ladies, Jenny Greenan, Diane Dempsey etc may have contested an all-ireland in 1998 but it wasn't against Down. The strong teams in ladies at the time were Waterford, Kerry and Laois.

Derry beat Monaghan in a semi final of the 1998 league and Derry won, losing to Offaly by 2 pts in the final.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/07/2017 23:05:23    2025167

Bring. It. Hon."
Actually come to think of it ye did beat Down in the quarter final of the 1998 league!! Apologies for the long winded discourse!! You know your county football better than me, naturally :)

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 28/07/2017 23:07:28    2025168

Replying To Laois76:  "Beat Down in Croker in 1998???"
Yes in the quarter-finals of the National Football League.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 28/07/2017 23:10:24    2025171

Replying To Laois76:  "Beat Down in Croker in 1998???"
Aye laois76. Can ya not see the relevance ?

Live_Wire (Monaghan) - Posts: 40 - 28/07/2017 23:40:52    2025188

Replying To Live_Wire:  "Aye laois76. Can ya not see the relevance ?"
Tis very strong alright.. That's the hex on Down so ;)

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 29/07/2017 01:19:32    2025207

Really looking forward to todays game. I honestly believe that Monaghan will win this easy enough. While a lot of people are saying monaghan are poor and not at the races most games I have been really impressed with how the lads have just done enough to get over the line, semi against Down being the exception. Even in that game I think monaghan were just caught sleeping and really should have won it in the end. 7 points without reply and Down were run ragged but fair play they held on for the win. Problem with monaghan in previous years is that they peaked to early. This year Malachy has been taking them along at a nice steady pace and playing in croke park has been goal all year. This is probably one of the most experienced panel in the country and the lads would die for each other on the field. This is the game where Monaghan will roar into life and regardless We are underdogs from here on in. Monaghan by 6+. HON THE FARNEY.

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 29/07/2017 07:15:27    2025217

Replying To Laois76:  "I don't like the cut of Monaghan this summer at all. Bar the Cavan game very poor. Some of the league stars like Jack McCarron not doing enough. McManus still carrying the can. Hard to think of another 2017 side, with maybe the exception of Cavan, being level with division 4 Carlow with 4 min of normal time to go.

Down rocked back by Tyrone. A 50/50 game."
Monaghan have a big performance in them. I'm hoping it doesn't come today. But if it does they'll be in an All-Ireland quarter final and no body will be writing them off.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 29/07/2017 08:22:28    2025228

Heading for Dublin soon and making the day out of it. All the best to the Down team and management today. We are very proud of your efforts so far this year and
if we can make the quarter final we will
most definitely have deserved it. Monaghan are a quality side and to defeat them once was tough enough. To beat them twice the same season would be remarkable. We have beaten Monaghan
so hope this gives the players belief and
we can do it again. An Dun abu.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 29/07/2017 09:09:58    2025239