Down v Monaghan

Replying To thegadfly:  "Do you really think that or is it a hasty reaction to yesterday's result? I think O Rourke is doing a great job for ye. Probably would agree with getting rid of a few players though. Who would you think needs to walk?"
If we go out in a similar manner to last year malachy will just decide he has done as much as he can with this group of players. Not naming names but too many of our lads didn't look up for the battle last night which for a team like us leaves us v beatable.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 25/06/2017 12:16:00    2004699

Replying To thegadfly:  "Do you really think that or is it a hasty reaction to yesterday's result? I think O Rourke is doing a great job for ye. Probably would agree with getting rid of a few players though. Who would you think needs to walk?"
If we go out in a similar manner to last year malachy will just decide he has done as much as he can with this group of players. Not naming names but too many of our lads didn't look up for the battle last night which for a team like us leaves us v beatable.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 25/06/2017 12:16:01    2004700

Personally I feel O'Rourke has done all he can possibly do. He's brought the team on well and I'll always be thankful to him for pushing us so far and giving the boys belief. Sometimes though you just need a new voice in the dressing room. Even Harte stagnated for a while.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 25/06/2017 12:16:15    2004701

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "When you haven't much chance of winning anything and can't even stay in division one, your own happiness comes from slagging successful neighbours."
successful neighbours? sure Monaghan get a nose bleed whenever they see Croke Park. well done to Down, brilliant stuff. really looking forward to the Ulster final now.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 25/06/2017 12:51:08    2004714

Mc Manus is a great player and one forward I enjoy watching. However he deserves a bit of criticism for his performance yesterday.
Some great scores from him but some very poor wides with men free and available in better positions to score especially in the first half and should have allowed Beggan to take the crucial free that he put well wide in the second half. I thought he was a bit greedy to be honest.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/06/2017 13:06:55    2004723

Congratulations to Down on last night's result. It was a great game to watch, excitement right up to final minute of added time.
Tyrone will be a big test in Ulster Final.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 25/06/2017 13:18:33    2004726

Personally I think last night's loss for Monaghan was all down to complacency. Malachi O Rourke knew of the dangers of Down and I am sure done everything he could to get that into the players heads but they obviously believed in their own hype. And that hype was huge. Maybe they will start listening to him now and start on a new route to success. The back door served our neighbours well after defeats to Down.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 25/06/2017 13:32:24    2004728

Gutted after yesterday, but congrats & well done to Down, tis good for Ulster football to have Down "on the move"!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 25/06/2017 13:44:59    2004731

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "successful neighbours? sure Monaghan get a nose bleed whenever they see Croke Park. well done to Down, brilliant stuff. really looking forward to the Ulster final now."
I'd rather have trips to Croker every year than have my highest ambition to stay in division 1.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 25/06/2017 14:06:54    2004737

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "I'd rather have trips to Croker every year than have my highest ambition to stay in division 1."
Ah here. I'm not Tyrones biggest fan but choose your battles there. They have what yous will never have. They have stood on the steps of the hogan receiving Sam.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 25/06/2017 15:47:36    2004771

Well done Down. Ulster has proven to be a completely unpredictable competition once again. Monaghan will be very dangerous in the back door. I would say any team that draws them will be getting the worst of draws. We will know a lot more after next week who is who in the championship.

As for Down v tyrone, I am afraid it is a bridge too far for the Mourne Men imo. But you just never know. I think that if Down go out with nothing to lose and have the same intensity in the final as they did yesterday, they will give tyrone a great game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/06/2017 15:48:50    2004773

I thought this would be a break through year for Monaghan and then would push on and make a serious challenge for the All-Ireland. However they were second best to Down who were marvellous. Maybe Monaghan were complacent or don't like the favourites tag, not sure to be honest.

If Down can keep up this level of performance they can give Tyrone a tough time. I like the way they mix up the running game with direct ball to their full forward line.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 25/06/2017 18:24:32    2004879

To be honest no one expected that result. I certainly was awaiting a Tyrone V Monaghan final. I dnt think i could be criticised for that assumption going on past performances. It is a breath of fresh air to see another county step up and be counted. Down were not going to be beaten again by a bagful by Monaghan and come hell or high water they were going to restore pride in the Red and Black jersey.

As for the final i have to say i expect my own county to win. Tyrone are a top three team in the country. Down will not have played against such high standards to date. I do think Down will put in a good performance but wont have enough either on the pitch or on the sideline to win this match.

Glad to see the past great playing against a modern great. Two titans of the game.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 28/06/2017 12:52:05    2006788

It was a magnificent performance by
Down on Sunday against Monaghan.
A display of guts, determination and
work rate mixed with skill and will to
win. A year is a long time in football.
Sitting in Clones last year your heart
went out to the Down players as
Monaghan dismantled them in the
second half. The performances against
Armagh and Monaghan have well and
truly restored pride in the Down jersey.
Well done to everyone.

Best of luck to Monaghan for the rest
of the year. I know that Championship
defeat must hurt but your fans were
very gracious. Monaghan didn't play
their best on the day but youse produced
a champions response in the last twenty
minutes. We will probably see youse down
the line at some point- although hopefully
not this year again- hate it when you have
to play a team that you have already beaten again as I always feel the team that
lost has a psychological advantage.

Congrats to the Cavan minors on their
win over Down, they were deserving
victors. Commiserations to the Down
minors on their narrow defeat. They
should be proud. In McCrickard and
Kerr they have two very good players
for the future. Both the Down and Cavan
forwards were on top. The deciding factor
was Cavan's midfield dominance in the second half.

Best of luck to Down in the Ulster final.
An Dun abu.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 28/06/2017 16:00:34    2006968

Here we go again. Round 2!!! Fight!!! Reminds me of the old Street Fighter
game many years ago. I can see this
match being a real dog fight again.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 17/07/2017 09:00:38    2017855

It will be tough for Down to recover now as losing the Ulster final is always a nightmare. Monaghan are not playing well at all but have the potential to improve, so I think they will enter this game as favourites. If this game is half as exciting as the first game I will be happy.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 17/07/2017 09:21:36    2017867

this is the draw monaghan would have wanted.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/07/2017 10:02:49    2017906

Replying To ziggy32001:  "this is the draw monaghan would have wanted."
You can sing that! -)

farneymanabroad (Monaghan) - Posts: 2 - 17/07/2017 10:54:53    2017949

No motivation needed here, if we can't lift ourselves for this game then we deserve to be beat and beat well. We weren't good at all on Saturday but at the final whistle we'd have just been relieved to be in the draw, and this is as good a game as any to get the blood pumping again. You could say it's encouraging to come from behind and win a game with plenty of room for improvement, but if we keep playing like that then we won't last long and form can't just be turned on at the flick of a switch. The main goal at the start of the year would have been to get back to Croke Park/quarter final stage and take it from there, and we're almost back to that now. Alot of work needed though.

Down will be confident of beating us again as they should be given our form and previous meeting, but it'll be interesting to see how they deal with the Ulster final defeat. We know from previous experience it can be hard to lift it against a team coming off a couple of wins in the backdoor

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 17/07/2017 11:32:58    2017988

Dog fight...

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 17/07/2017 13:31:16    2018107