U21 All Ireland Football Final - Dublin v Galway

Well done Dublin, start to finish the best team. Good comeback by Galway they never quit.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 30/04/2017 12:34:40    1983596

Brilliant win and performance yesterday, ive been harsh on these lads all year as i thought we had better vintages, how wrong i have been. I really rate that Galway team and they have some wonderful players. But simply Dublin imposed their game on them and had brilliant balance between attack and defense. I thought Galway just couldn't cope with the pace in the the Dublin team. You could see the Dubllin way of playing thats been indicative of the senior team being utilized in this team, that symmetry bodes well for the future. With all the talk of KIng Con (he is some player) what i was left with with was how strong the team was collectively, its more the sum of all its parts then a one man band. In many ways having to much focus on Con has helped them leaving pockets of space for others. The most remarkable thing have been the results of this team, we have played some top outfits and one by some eye watering scores there wasnt one close game the whole year:

DUBLIN 2-13 GALWAY 2-7
DUBLIN 1-13 DONEGAL 0-9
Dublin 2-14 Offaly 0-08
Dublin 2-10 Longford 0-09
Dublin 2-14 Westmeath 0-6

Im delighted for this team with more or less the same panel as last year who were left dissapointed by an older and more physically developed Mayo team. The year and more development has really brought many of them on who can look forward to senior recognition in the coming years, some already have it. Some claendar year its been for King Con: Leinster Title, All Ireland Title, All Ireland Club Hurling Title, All Ireland U21 Title, his pocket is bursting with Celtic crosses and he probably doesnt have a key to the front door yet.

Delighted for Dessie also a minor and 2 U21's to go wityh his playing medals. Hope he stays involved at some level with the setup, im sure he will.

Broadly speaking after the shock result in the league final after a rare off day, the disappointment has been balmed somewhat by this, if you asked any Dub would they have preferred to win the fifth league on the trot or win the U21 All Ireland, well we all would have chosen the Celtic cross alternative. Its a special thing having the two all Ireland trophies residing in Dublin. Great days to be a Jack.

On reflection, its been amazing years at this level, we have one an All Ireland U21 title almost every two years this decade. The U21 team of 2014 are only now beginning to be integrated into the senior panel as we have seen with the experiential teams in the league campaign. We look forward to some of the special lads from yesterday coming into the ranks in the next couple of years, i suspect King Con will be in the vanguard and i hope he get a breather between now and June. Dublin football remains in rude health, its great to know that we are good now and have a more then good chance to continue the sustainable success and be competitive at the top table of this era when you see what we have coming. What im looking forward to most is the pace, i dont think ive ever seen faster players then some of Dublins yesterday.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/04/2017 12:38:27    1983597

Replying To Fionn:  "Brilliant win for the Dubs today.

To go into this game as underdogs and win convincingly when they upped it in the 2nd was great to see.

Hard luck to the Galway lads but some of them are sure to feature for their seniors in the not so distant future.

For Dublin it was our 4th U21 title since 2010 and great to win the last ever U21 All Ireland Football title.

A glimmer of light in our underage structures yet it seems. ;o)"
A very timely reminder for some

Nice to burst a few bubbles..

Some can't even find it witchin themselves to congratulate Dublin.. It's all "hard luck to Galway"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/04/2017 13:12:32    1983603

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hard luck to Galway yesterday didn't get to see the game till late last night , unfortunately for Galway it panned out as I predicted on here during the week as Galway shot their load playing our Kerry team in the semifinal two weeks previous .
Galway didn't bring a quarter of the intensity in the game yesterday that they brought against our selves, but then again that had as much to do with us not being tuned in as anything else on the day.

Also like I said last week it can be bad to win a semifinal playing good football as it had happened our teams many times in the past, your better off coming in under the radar.

Anyway Galway have some great players on that u21 team hopefully a 5/6 of them will make it to the senior panel."
Went through your post with a magnifying glass and still couldn't find the word 'Dublin' :)

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 30/04/2017 14:00:40    1983610

Kingdomboy disappointing from you we all congratulated Kerry on your league win, not to say well done to a kids team shows a lack of class.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/04/2017 14:16:45    1983613

The underdog tag won't cut it this time either, as Galway were favs and had more U21 titles than us before yesterday, maybe a little credit for Dublin???

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 30/04/2017 14:49:29    1983619

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kingdomboy disappointing from you we all congratulated Kerry on your league win, not to say well done to a kids team shows a lack of class."
I can understand mate, this one will hurt deeply for Kerry both the manner of their defeat and the fact it was Dublin who collected another All Ireland.

Look we are Dublin, we are dominating the senior and U21 game, we don't need validation from anyone.

Let's do our talking on the pitch. Just on decent sportdmanship, fair play to King Con yesterday pointing the penalty, given Galway performance yesterday and throughout the championship, I thought it was brilliant moment of sportsmanship.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/04/2017 15:19:04    1983621

Replying To TheUsername:  "Brilliant win and performance yesterday, ive been harsh on these lads all year as i thought we had better vintages, how wrong i have been. I really rate that Galway team and they have some wonderful players. But simply Dublin imposed their game on them and had brilliant balance between attack and defense. I thought Galway just couldn't cope with the pace in the the Dublin team. You could see the Dubllin way of playing thats been indicative of the senior team being utilized in this team, that symmetry bodes well for the future. With all the talk of KIng Con (he is some player) what i was left with with was how strong the team was collectively, its more the sum of all its parts then a one man band. In many ways having to much focus on Con has helped them leaving pockets of space for others. The most remarkable thing have been the results of this team, we have played some top outfits and one by some eye watering scores there wasnt one close game the whole year:

DUBLIN 2-13 GALWAY 2-7
DUBLIN 1-13 DONEGAL 0-9
Dublin 2-14 Offaly 0-08
Dublin 2-10 Longford 0-09
Dublin 2-14 Westmeath 0-6

Im delighted for this team with more or less the same panel as last year who were left dissapointed by an older and more physically developed Mayo team. The year and more development has really brought many of them on who can look forward to senior recognition in the coming years, some already have it. Some claendar year its been for King Con: Leinster Title, All Ireland Title, All Ireland Club Hurling Title, All Ireland U21 Title, his pocket is bursting with Celtic crosses and he probably doesnt have a key to the front door yet.

Delighted for Dessie also a minor and 2 U21's to go wityh his playing medals. Hope he stays involved at some level with the setup, im sure he will.

Broadly speaking after the shock result in the league final after a rare off day, the disappointment has been balmed somewhat by this, if you asked any Dub would they have preferred to win the fifth league on the trot or win the U21 All Ireland, well we all would have chosen the Celtic cross alternative. Its a special thing having the two all Ireland trophies residing in Dublin. Great days to be a Jack.

On reflection, its been amazing years at this level, we have one an All Ireland U21 title almost every two years this decade. The U21 team of 2014 are only now beginning to be integrated into the senior panel as we have seen with the experiential teams in the league campaign. We look forward to some of the special lads from yesterday coming into the ranks in the next couple of years, i suspect King Con will be in the vanguard and i hope he get a breather between now and June. Dublin football remains in rude health, its great to know that we are good now and have a more then good chance to continue the sustainable success and be competitive at the top table of this era when you see what we have coming. What im looking forward to most is the pace, i dont think ive ever seen faster players then some of Dublins yesterday."
Big congrats to the Dubs. I would have loved it if we had another week to prepare for the semi in breffni, we just couldnt compete on the day properly. Not saying that we would have won but we would have made a really close game of it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/04/2017 16:12:40    1983626

Replying To jimbodub:  "A very timely reminder for some

Nice to burst a few bubbles..

Some can't even find it witchin themselves to congratulate Dublin.. It's all "hard luck to Galway"

:)"
Well done Dublin. Ye were the better team on the day and we can have no complaints or excuses.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 30/04/2017 18:26:22    1983646

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Well done Dublin. Ye were the better team on the day and we can have no complaints or excuses."
Well said. Dublin were far better and fair play to them.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 30/04/2017 19:05:24    1983654

Now that the dust has settled on the U21 c'ship with Dublin rightly taking the title how many of the last four teams will graduate on to the senior panels for this year's championship. I know that Donegal have already blooded at least 4 or 5 of their U21s and that O'Callaghan has got playing time with Dublin. Do posters see others joining them? Personally, I think the Galway full-back will make the step up as he is the most complete player for this position that I have seen for a long number of years.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 30/04/2017 19:10:25    1983655

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kingdomboy disappointing from you we all congratulated Kerry on your league win, not to say well done to a kids team shows a lack of class."
Clon ye have some first world problems in Dublin if all that's bothering ye after winning an allireland final is whether or not I congratulated ye .

Come to think of it I don't remember ye congratulating us Kerry folk when we won 3 minors in a row.

Anyway il be the bigger man here and on behalf of my county I'd like to congratulate Dublin GAA on being the richest team in the country ;-)

Enjoy ye'r victory ye'r very athletic and very well funded and populated.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/04/2017 19:42:22    1983659

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Clon ye have some first world problems in Dublin if all that's bothering ye after winning an allireland final is whether or not I congratulated ye .

Come to think of it I don't remember ye congratulating us Kerry folk when we won 3 minors in a row.

Anyway il be the bigger man here and on behalf of my county I'd like to congratulate Dublin GAA on being the richest team in the country ;-)

Enjoy ye'r victory ye'r very athletic and very well funded and populated."
god that's pathetic, the kerry lads have tons of class, we theyre winning that is

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 30/04/2017 20:02:08    1983667

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Clon ye have some first world problems in Dublin if all that's bothering ye after winning an allireland final is whether or not I congratulated ye .

Kerry man jokes exist for a good reason alright

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/04/2017 20:08:56    1983673

As I said no class.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/04/2017 20:16:26    1983675

Replying To clondalkindub:  "As I said no class."
Hi don't go painting all my county men and women with the same brush .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/04/2017 21:00:27    1983688

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hi don't go painting all my county men and women with the same brush ."
now you're only trying to deflect from the obviously disgust you felt because dubs won and the future saviours of football were handed their ass by a team that was dismantled by this dubllin team, at least come out and say it. I ain't no fan of dublin or clondalkindub but thats just sad

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 30/04/2017 21:52:40    1983695

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hard luck to Galway yesterday didn't get to see the game till late last night , unfortunately for Galway it panned out as I predicted on here during the week as Galway shot their load playing our Kerry team in the semifinal two weeks previous .
Galway didn't bring a quarter of the intensity in the game yesterday that they brought against our selves, but then again that had as much to do with us not being tuned in as anything else on the day.

Also like I said last week it can be bad to win a semifinal playing good football as it had happened our teams many times in the past, your better off coming in under the radar.

Anyway Galway have some great players on that u21 team hopefully a 5/6 of them will make it to the senior panel."
I think Kerry got a lucky break that Galway beat them. Dublin would have bullied them off the pitch . What is noticeable is how lightweight Kerry are at u21, its ok when your winning minor titles but u21 is a different ballgame.
Galway are top side who were better than Kerry in most positions , yesterday they just came up against a well organised Dublin team , who unlike Kerry were very focused and had better players in areas that mattered.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/04/2017 22:25:24    1983697

I thought Dublin were very impressive yesterday. They dominated for most of the game and
should have been more than one point ahead at half time. I was very impressed with their
speed and energy levels. I think that Dublin were more than six points a better team than
Galway. Dublins win yesterday was a team effort and not dependent on a marquee player
and that was evidenced by the wide range of scorers. Darren Gavin had a great game, perhaps
a future player of the calibre of Brian Fenton. I thought Colm Basquel ran him close for man of
the match but Colm Basquel did go for a score in the first half when he should have passed
to a colleague who was clear to score a goal. In contrast Darren Gavin had an opportunity to
score an easy point at the end of the game but instead unselfishly gave a brilliant foot pass to
Darren Byrne who in turn was fouled resulting in a penalty.
For those who have been forecasting Dubins demise, they may now have to review their thoughts.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 30/04/2017 22:37:24    1983700

Replying To Donegalman:  "Big congrats to the Dubs. I would have loved it if we had another week to prepare for the semi in breffni, we just couldnt compete on the day properly. Not saying that we would have won but we would have made a really close game of it."
Concur with DM. Congrats to Dublin on a fine win yesterday. Thoroughly deserved and a case of carrying on from where they left off against Donegal. From a financial perspective would have preferred a Galway win having backed them at 10/1 but from a Donegal viewpoint it was a boost in that the formline was strong in hindsight. Like DM would have liked Donegal to have gotten a fair crack of the whip in terms of time to prepare. Third game in 10 days versus a team with a 17 day rest was certainly not a level playing field. But under no illusions even with that time to prepare Donegal would have competed better but not suggesting they would win or anything.

Unfortunate to see this championship go. I for one feel there was no need for it just better planning in terms of fixtures and allocating time better. Again congrats to Dublin and commiserations to Galway. My feeling is that this was a very good year for the grade and suspect alot of the lads involved in the semi finals will square off again over the next 10-15 years.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 01/05/2017 00:56:11    1983711