Davy Fitz

Replying To football first:  "What exactly does the suspension mean? If he is prevented from being involved in all team preparations, then 8 weeks is fair and justified. If the ban just means that he can't be on the sideline for the first round of the championship, then the punishment is very lenient. A three-match sideline ban would seem more appropriate."
good luck following davy and where the team train around.i doubt it will reach that farce of a stage.what do the gaa do,follow him around?
if we get over the rr winners,it surely will be one hell of an atmosphere in wexford park v kilkenny,i just hope this side show does not upset that preparation for what was a moment of madness by 2-3 people and only 1 punished for their part in it.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/04/2017 16:51:34    1981210

Replying To perfect10:  "good luck following davy and where the team train around.i doubt it will reach that farce of a stage.what do the gaa do,follow him around?
if we get over the rr winners,it surely will be one hell of an atmosphere in wexford park v kilkenny,i just hope this side show does not upset that preparation for what was a moment of madness by 2-3 people and only 1 punished for their part in it."
the instigator of the incident got punished...you're describing it like there was a dust up between 3 players and only one got a ban.
crossing the white line, mouthing at the ref
and taking on opposition players was complete stupidity.
it might all work in your favour, bit like LHR described. next comes the seige mentality...

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 20/04/2017 17:34:10    1981224

Look he got excited and got banned for his trouble, big deal let's move on. I have to laugh at some of the present day pundits, who at times crossed their own particular lines as players, castigating Fitzgerald today, he who is without sin etc etc, they all know how passions can rise in the heat of battle and have little place in having a pop at Davy, even if he is as mad as a box of frogs

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/04/2017 19:40:20    1981247

Replying To skillet:  "the instigator of the incident got punished...you're describing it like there was a dust up between 3 players and only one got a ban.
crossing the white line, mouthing at the ref
and taking on opposition players was complete stupidity.
it might all work in your favour, bit like LHR described. next comes the seige mentality..."
He didn't really 'take on' opposition players though. As you rightly pointed out , "crossing the white line, mouthing at the ref", after that O'Meara comes over and by the looks of it tells him to get off the effin pitch (fair enough with that), but then when he's leaving the pitch Forde comes over and gives him the butt of the hurl. watch the replays, hes walking away from Forde, who comes over and has a go, not the other way round.

Anyways, he's got an 8 week ban (deservedly in my opinion), and has no one to blame for it but himself. And I don't think these antics work in his or Wexfords favour either, they certainly didn't in the long run when he was over Waterford or Clare.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 20/04/2017 19:42:50    1981248

GAA were dead right to hand out the 8 weeks, I'm a huge fan of Davy and what he brings, but this is the kind of stuff that you see at times in club games and then all hell breaks loose. You just can't have a manager running on like that, having seen him up close in action at colleges level I'm pretty sure the ref would have heard him...

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1895 - 20/04/2017 20:39:21    1981265

Replying To Bon:  "GAA were dead right to hand out the 8 weeks, I'm a huge fan of Davy and what he brings, but this is the kind of stuff that you see at times in club games and then all hell breaks loose. You just can't have a manager running on like that, having seen him up close in action at colleges level I'm pretty sure the ref would have heard him..."
I have rose the following and no one seems to "want" to remember or draw comparison to a degree...in 2011 all Ireland hurling final a squabble occurred and in it Tommy Walsh while prodding his hurl at a Tipperary player struck Brian Gavin the referee, drawing blood if you dont mind...he may not have meant it, but whether he did or not he rose his hurley striking the referee!!!...Gavin played it down (dont ask me why) Walsh from what I saw from various angles of it swung a chopping motion towards a Tipp player..his hurl just didnt jump out of his hand or anything...Michael Duignan mentions it in the commentary but being obsessed with Tommy Walsh at the time wasnt going to say any thing bad about him...What I am saying is Davy Fitz ran in on pitch, he shouldnt have, Tipp players ran to engage with him, they shouldnt have, Davy Fitz said he done it part to lift his players, he was foolish to say that..whatever about running in to remonstrate with ref whom he didnt get to from my recollection of Sundays event...and so what, its the talk of the GAA over who Davy Fitz is and his charachter etc..and an 8 game ban for running in to argue with the ref???..2 games maybe and a county board fine maybe too...Tommy Walsh done worse in my oppinion and no action was taken..he struck the ref, while not intentional and I want to acknowledge that, he ws swininging at someone else...Pat Horan sent off Brian O'Meara for Tipp against Wexford in 2003 for "a striking motion" towards a Wexford player I think...I think the whole Davy Fitz thing is being blown out of proportion when compared to the Walsh incident but no one wants to go there...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 21/04/2017 00:18:51    1981306

I wonder will he be allowed two way radio contact with the stand in manager on the sideline....

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 21/04/2017 01:44:19    1981312

Replying To Brianmac78:  "How have the GAA come down hard on him? In 8 weeks what does he miss? A game v Kerry Laois or offaly. Wexford wont need him to beat them. What happens at midnight on the Saturday June 10 the 8 week ban is up no? The day they play Kilkenny in the Leinster semi. The only way this ban is anyway hard on him is if hes barred from attending training and contacting his squad in those 8 weeks"
Just for information, Offaly are not in the round robin hurling championship.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1729 - 21/04/2017 11:29:26    1981395

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I have rose the following and no one seems to "want" to remember or draw comparison to a degree...in 2011 all Ireland hurling final a squabble occurred and in it Tommy Walsh while prodding his hurl at a Tipperary player struck Brian Gavin the referee, drawing blood if you dont mind...he may not have meant it, but whether he did or not he rose his hurley striking the referee!!!...Gavin played it down (dont ask me why) Walsh from what I saw from various angles of it swung a chopping motion towards a Tipp player..his hurl just didnt jump out of his hand or anything...Michael Duignan mentions it in the commentary but being obsessed with Tommy Walsh at the time wasnt going to say any thing bad about him...What I am saying is Davy Fitz ran in on pitch, he shouldnt have, Tipp players ran to engage with him, they shouldnt have, Davy Fitz said he done it part to lift his players, he was foolish to say that..whatever about running in to remonstrate with ref whom he didnt get to from my recollection of Sundays event...and so what, its the talk of the GAA over who Davy Fitz is and his charachter etc..and an 8 game ban for running in to argue with the ref???..2 games maybe and a county board fine maybe too...Tommy Walsh done worse in my oppinion and no action was taken..he struck the ref, while not intentional and I want to acknowledge that, he ws swininging at someone else...Pat Horan sent off Brian O'Meara for Tipp against Wexford in 2003 for "a striking motion" towards a Wexford player I think...I think the whole Davy Fitz thing is being blown out of proportion when compared to the Walsh incident but no one wants to go there..."
I am surprised it took so long to bring KK into it,to compare the 2 incidents is absolutely ridiculous,if the ref didnt take any action against Tommy Walsh that was his decision,Tommys was the hurley that made contact but his wasnt the only hurley swinging in that incident,there have been many incidents where players from every county committed fouls and no action was taken,why bring up the Tommy incident,to give a little balance,in the 2012 AI semifinal Richie Power had his helmet pulled straight off his head,thats a red card offence,not alone was there no action taken against the Tipp player but Tipp got a free,why didnt you mention that incident?as for comparing the 2,Davy is a manager with responsibilities to his team,there is no way Davy or any manager should cross the white line,Davy is a passionate hurling man and gave great service to Clare as player but he must accept that he cannot enter the field of play in the manner he did,if Davy cannot maintain his discipline how can he keep discipline in the panel,he has to show example to his players and also all the young boys and girls of Wexford to whom he is bringing great hope and excitement,I hope that Wexford maintain their improvement,,it is good for the game that all hurling people love,and if they beat us I will say good luck to them,it will be a great day in Wexford Park when we meet,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 21/04/2017 14:52:30    1981480

All management should stay off the pitch at all times. I can't bear it when they are standing a yard or so inside the pitch - I love when they get careered into by players. That should teach them a lesson not to stand there anymore. I think it happened to Davy against Limerick when he was managing Clare. All this ranting and raving by managers on the sideline does nothing- players don't hear them and if they do they don't take a blind bit of notice. Davy deserved a ban. I think the gaa have to do something as well about these "water carriers" who are running onto the pitch every two minutes with messages. Dan the Man was at it in the drawn semi final last year and if you had a GPS tracker on him im sure he covered more ground than most of the Waterford players.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 21/04/2017 15:44:51    1981500

".....it is good for the game that all hurling people love,and if they beat us I will say good luck to them,it will be a great day in Wexford Park when we meet,"
mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts:363 - 21/04/2017 14:52:30 1981480

IF we meet mooncat, if we meet. And as I have always said, I've yet to hear any condescending remark in my life from a Kilkenny whereas we have heard it from practically every Munster county at some stage! Bar Waterford. Good luck to Kilkenny this year, ye won't be as far away as many make out.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 21/04/2017 15:59:31    1981509

Fairplayalways (Offaly) -It is being blown out of all proportions, one would think that he killed someone. It appears that officialdom are becoming like the politicians -making decisions based on media response. I see some posters keep saying that an example should be made of him by imposing a severe sentence. Everyone playing have been involved in incidents and many go unpunished. If it was not on TV there would have been less of an uproar. Probably the biggest incident was the Tip player getting his thumb broken.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 21/04/2017 21:36:39    1981575

Replying To mooncat:  "I am surprised it took so long to bring KK into it,to compare the 2 incidents is absolutely ridiculous,if the ref didnt take any action against Tommy Walsh that was his decision,Tommys was the hurley that made contact but his wasnt the only hurley swinging in that incident,there have been many incidents where players from every county committed fouls and no action was taken,why bring up the Tommy incident,to give a little balance,in the 2012 AI semifinal Richie Power had his helmet pulled straight off his head,thats a red card offence,not alone was there no action taken against the Tipp player but Tipp got a free,why didnt you mention that incident?as for comparing the 2,Davy is a manager with responsibilities to his team,there is no way Davy or any manager should cross the white line,Davy is a passionate hurling man and gave great service to Clare as player but he must accept that he cannot enter the field of play in the manner he did,if Davy cannot maintain his discipline how can he keep discipline in the panel,he has to show example to his players and also all the young boys and girls of Wexford to whom he is bringing great hope and excitement,I hope that Wexford maintain their improvement,,it is good for the game that all hurling people love,and if they beat us I will say good luck to them,it will be a great day in Wexford Park when we meet,"
I have been consistent in raising the Tommy Walsh issue well before last Sundays incident...many hurls might have been flying in the incident with Brian Gavin but go and look at the video and Tommy Walshes makes a fair chopping motion and whether you like it or not he HIT the referee!!....Brian Gavin was a soft man not to card him for it, and the GAA were as bad not to pull him up on retrospectively...as you say its one thing getting worked up and all that but you have to keep a lid on it...Davy Fitz at worst was going into talk to the referee, not assault him, so I cannot see what the big deal is, compared to Tommy Walsh hitting the referee either intentionally or not, he swung his hurl and hit the referee...one player pulling the helmet off another player is another thing, and some of Kilkennys 4 in row team had a few butts of hurls into under the chin and a few face guards tugged at while the ball was dropping and were not copped until that night in the Sunday game, Eddie Brennan tackle on Seamus Hickey was disgraceful too..but now Ime going down the road you went above....lets keep it to the referee and Manager and player incident, if Davy Fitz gets 8 weeks for going in on the field, fair enough, Tommy Walsh should have got 8 months for hittting the referee...if he had been acting agressively he wouldnt have hit the referee..I am sorry but I dont think we will aggree on this one...lets hope Wexford can carry their form into the Leinster championship and make it competitive...we are all hurling folk on here etc...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 21/04/2017 21:41:12    1981576

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I have been consistent in raising the Tommy Walsh issue well before last Sundays incident...many hurls might have been flying in the incident with Brian Gavin but go and look at the video and Tommy Walshes makes a fair chopping motion and whether you like it or not he HIT the referee!!....Brian Gavin was a soft man not to card him for it, and the GAA were as bad not to pull him up on retrospectively...as you say its one thing getting worked up and all that but you have to keep a lid on it...Davy Fitz at worst was going into talk to the referee, not assault him, so I cannot see what the big deal is, compared to Tommy Walsh hitting the referee either intentionally or not, he swung his hurl and hit the referee...one player pulling the helmet off another player is another thing, and some of Kilkennys 4 in row team had a few butts of hurls into under the chin and a few face guards tugged at while the ball was dropping and were not copped until that night in the Sunday game, Eddie Brennan tackle on Seamus Hickey was disgraceful too..but now Ime going down the road you went above....lets keep it to the referee and Manager and player incident, if Davy Fitz gets 8 weeks for going in on the field, fair enough, Tommy Walsh should have got 8 months for hittting the referee...if he had been acting agressively he wouldnt have hit the referee..I am sorry but I dont think we will aggree on this one...lets hope Wexford can carry their form into the Leinster championship and make it competitive...we are all hurling folk on here etc..."
You have a right bee in your bonnet about Tommy and KK,of course we all know they are the only team that foul,I most certainly did not even mention Davy til you brought Tommy into a discussion which had nothing to do with him,there have been many fouls committed down the years where refs didnt see or chose to ignore them and that was the end of it,Davys case is completely different,I will repeat my main point,Davy or any other manager should not cross the white line,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 22/04/2017 12:18:00    1981644

Cyril Farrell in todays Independent criticizing people who are having a go at Davy Fiitzgerald for being hypocrites (because they misbehaved themselves in the past) is exactly the kind of ****e thinking that ruins the GAA.

There is absolutely zero defense for what Davy Fitzgerald did, absolutely none and yet you have people trying to make some sort of defence for him.

Why can't people just accept he was 100% wrong to be on the field and accept that he has to serve a ban and that any manager being on the field is wrong and that it is 100% unacceptable.

No wonder there is so much trouble at clubs games when you see the amount of nonsense spoken in Davy Fitzgerald's favour after this incident.

He's very lucky it's only an 8 week ban if it was up to me he'd have gotten an 8 week ban a few years ago for his continual abuse of officials and now he'd be looking at a year long ban now.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 22/04/2017 12:38:32    1981652

Replying To mooncat:  "You have a right bee in your bonnet about Tommy and KK,of course we all know they are the only team that foul,I most certainly did not even mention Davy til you brought Tommy into a discussion which had nothing to do with him,there have been many fouls committed down the years where refs didnt see or chose to ignore them and that was the end of it,Davys case is completely different,I will repeat my main point,Davy or any other manager should not cross the white line,"
and I am being consistent is saying "hitting the ref is hitting the ref" whether you are swinging at someone else or not..once you hit the ref as part of bust up..you too cross the line end of no excuses..and Tommy was a very lucky man Brian Gavin or the GAA chose to ignore it...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 22/04/2017 13:55:39    1981663

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "and I am being consistent is saying "hitting the ref is hitting the ref" whether you are swinging at someone else or not..once you hit the ref as part of bust up..you too cross the line end of no excuses..and Tommy was a very lucky man Brian Gavin or the GAA chose to ignore it..."
is there anyone making excuses for what happened?I merely said that there were lots of hurleys swinging,I didnt make any excuse for Tommy,Brian Gavin didnt take any action so the incident was over like my contribution to this debate about Davy,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 22/04/2017 14:34:57    1981670

The one thing that always comes into my head when Davy gets wound up is this man is going to get a heart attack. And i mean that in all seriousness given some of his health problems. Look any of us could kick the bucket at any time but i wouldn't like to wake up to hearing bad news about Davy. It can't be good for him. A lot of managers and players can fake being wound up a little but he really loses it..

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 22/04/2017 21:45:16    1981772

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I have rose the following and no one seems to "want" to remember or draw comparison to a degree...in 2011 all Ireland hurling final a squabble occurred and in it Tommy Walsh while prodding his hurl at a Tipperary player struck Brian Gavin the referee, drawing blood if you dont mind...he may not have meant it, but whether he did or not he rose his hurley striking the referee!!!...Gavin played it down (dont ask me why) Walsh from what I saw from various angles of it swung a chopping motion towards a Tipp player..his hurl just didnt jump out of his hand or anything...Michael Duignan mentions it in the commentary but being obsessed with Tommy Walsh at the time wasnt going to say any thing bad about him...What I am saying is Davy Fitz ran in on pitch, he shouldnt have, Tipp players ran to engage with him, they shouldnt have, Davy Fitz said he done it part to lift his players, he was foolish to say that..whatever about running in to remonstrate with ref whom he didnt get to from my recollection of Sundays event...and so what, its the talk of the GAA over who Davy Fitz is and his charachter etc..and an 8 game ban for running in to argue with the ref???..2 games maybe and a county board fine maybe too...Tommy Walsh done worse in my oppinion and no action was taken..he struck the ref, while not intentional and I want to acknowledge that, he ws swininging at someone else...Pat Horan sent off Brian O'Meara for Tipp against Wexford in 2003 for "a striking motion" towards a Wexford player I think...I think the whole Davy Fitz thing is being blown out of proportion when compared to the Walsh incident but no one wants to go there..."
See you didn't mention the Padraig maher incident in 2012 all Ireland semi final that finished Michael Rice hurling career, Gerry Quinn incident 2004 all Ireland quarter final replay, wonder what your thaoughts on those two incidents also Benny Dunne pull down across Tommy Walsh 2009 all Ireland did he stay on the ground long after it had to get six stitches in a head injury after the match. As regards the Brian o Meara incident if the line man had to be doing his job properly that day the Wexford man would have been the only man sent off.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 22/04/2017 23:45:19    1981795

Replying To Laois76:  "The one thing that always comes into my head when Davy gets wound up is this man is going to get a heart attack. And i mean that in all seriousness given some of his health problems. Look any of us could kick the bucket at any time but i wouldn't like to wake up to hearing bad news about Davy. It can't be good for him. A lot of managers and players can fake being wound up a little but he really loses it.."
I agree with you

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 23/04/2017 00:11:42    1981800