Leinster football championship

Replying To royaldunne:  "Now you disappeared for a couple of years and now you reappear again trying to say anyone with a different opinion is me. I have one and only one account , sorry to disappoint you, but that is now bettystown, ziggy, htaem, bobjaffa, foreveroyal Ollie, and a couple from Dublin including one woman and now a county man of yours that you have accused of been me or i been them. I got to say it's quite funny in a pathetic way. But sure they you go. Btw I am none of them."
Royaldunne I missed that? Who accused you of been my good self?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/04/2017 22:49:16    1980625

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Excuse me, I seem to have stumbled onto the Meath forum by accident, apologies.

As you were..."
Again Kildare throwing digs at Meath. All the time on this forum . Never towards Dublin. Why are Kildare so like unresponsive against Dublin. Their supporters their team . It's like Dublin have beaten them over and over again. And most teams and supporters would hate an opposition that does that to them. But Kildare there almost no emotion when it comes to Dublin. But Meath on the other hand. They play like Kerry and and their supporters passionately dislike Meath football. Even though I would say kildare are Meaths only true bogey team. Meath have won 18 times Kildare have won 17 times in games between both counties. If Kildare concentrated on Dublin more it would to their own benefit. Not one Kildare supporter on this forum has addressed their Dublin problem. Their only interested in digs against Meath . It would be travesty if this current crop of talented young Kildare footballers don't win at least 2 leinsters. There good enough. But Dublin are massive mental barrier for them to overcome. Where is the passion that men like Glen Ryan Davy Dalton Willie McCreery Martin Lynch and Dermot Earley displayed at the end of the 90s. We need to see more of that passion from Kildare for their sake and for leinster footballs sake

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 23:07:51    1980628

Liam Hayes once said there weren't enough lunatics in Kildare. Perhaps one county has a monopoly on the loony fringe in the province!

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 19/04/2017 00:39:59    1980642

Replying To Lyons2000:  "Again Kildare throwing digs at Meath. All the time on this forum . Never towards Dublin. Why are Kildare so like unresponsive against Dublin. Their supporters their team . It's like Dublin have beaten them over and over again. And most teams and supporters would hate an opposition that does that to them. But Kildare there almost no emotion when it comes to Dublin. But Meath on the other hand. They play like Kerry and and their supporters passionately dislike Meath football. Even though I would say kildare are Meaths only true bogey team. Meath have won 18 times Kildare have won 17 times in games between both counties. If Kildare concentrated on Dublin more it would to their own benefit. Not one Kildare supporter on this forum has addressed their Dublin problem. Their only interested in digs against Meath . It would be travesty if this current crop of talented young Kildare footballers don't win at least 2 leinsters. There good enough. But Dublin are massive mental barrier for them to overcome. Where is the passion that men like Glen Ryan Davy Dalton Willie McCreery Martin Lynch and Dermot Earley displayed at the end of the 90s. We need to see more of that passion from Kildare for their sake and for leinster footballs sake"
Right we get it. Meath don't fear Dublin. Kildare do. Something about hay & Boylan the herb man. Great! Why use 10 words when you can use 4 million!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/04/2017 07:33:28    1980655

Replying To OLLIE:  "Royaldunne I missed that? Who accused you of been my good self?"
St conleth. Anyone who ever agreed with a post of mine he thinks is me under a different username. Now Ollie as you know I would never assume to cone near your wisdom when it comes to gaa.
I think it wa about 5 years ago when eezee was in charge in Kildare.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/04/2017 08:20:53    1980662

Replying To royaldunne:  "St conleth. Anyone who ever agreed with a post of mine he thinks is me under a different username. Now Ollie as you know I would never assume to cone near your wisdom when it comes to gaa.
I think it wa about 5 years ago when eezee was in charge in Kildare."
Jaysus Royaldunne if that was the case you would have well over 30,000 posts at this stage.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 19/04/2017 10:59:08    1980706

The unanswered question for me here is do Meath fear Dublin?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/04/2017 11:27:54    1980719

Replying To TheUsername:  "The unanswered question for me here is do Meath fear Dublin?"
Haha ye think?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/04/2017 11:56:48    1980729

The unanswered question for me here is do Meath fear Dublin?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts:541 - 19/04/2017

The lady doth protest too much, methinks.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 19/04/2017 12:14:03    1980738

I haven't bothered to read the whole thread but gonna assume it is essentially all about how Meath don't fear the Dubs (well from one poster in anyways!).

Meath don't fear the Dubs. 2 wins this century. No fear ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 19/04/2017 12:33:49    1980751

If Meath don't fear Dublin how come crowds have dwindled ?
I remember when Meath looked at Dublin like a leopard eyeing up an antelope those days are gone for all the bravo talk on a site like this you do your real talking on the pitch and Meath for a long time have been about as useful as firelighters in hell , Leinster is all the poorer for it and a once great rivalry is no more.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/04/2017 12:48:17    1980758

Meath people are by nature a straight to the point ignorant sort of people. We don't suffer fools and we don't fear anyone. We firmly believe that sometimes you are good enough and sometimes you aren't. We also know Dublin 's dominance is coming to an end. It's the circle of life really. Teams get a good bunch of players together and win all around them, but the miles clock up and the slightest little things stop favouring them. The width of a post in the league final is an example of this, 12 months ago that ball would have bounced back into Alan Brogans hands and he would have buried it in the net. When Brogan, Flynn and Connelly aren't in top form then Dublin are in trouble, add in disrupting Cluxton's kicks outs and many teams would be well on the way to beating Dublin. While Dublin have good players on the bench these 4 are curial and to a certain extents currently irreplaceable all at once. Now for the rest of Leinster, Westmeath and Wexford have had good runs in the league and would defiantly be looking at progressing as far as they can in Leinster before giving the back door a good run. On the other side Louth had a great league and should beat Wicklow and could be strong enough to beat Meath and Kildare if things go their way. Kildare is a strange one, would have thought they would have beaten Galway comfortably in the league 2 final as their "B Side" should have beaten Galway in the last round of the League. But they were very poor in that final. Leaving some question marks over their ability for the year ahead. Now to my own county, we have a nice crop of talented players working well under a good manager and we were improving as the league progressed which is a good sign. Lads are currently playing well with their clubs so hopefully that will help keep them ticking over until the championship starts as the break between the last round of league games and the 4th of June is a long one. The Louth (sorry Wicklow but from what we seen so far this year, ye have been poor) game will be tight and close but we are capable of winning it and that should ignite Meath for the remaining games in Leinster where we must believe we can beat whoever we are playing. Its all going to be fun and interesting and I just can't wait for it to kick off….

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 19/04/2017 14:45:10    1980807

Replying To anto_meath:  "Meath people are by nature a straight to the point ignorant sort of people. We don't suffer fools and we don't fear anyone. We firmly believe that sometimes you are good enough and sometimes you aren't. We also know Dublin 's dominance is coming to an end. It's the circle of life really. Teams get a good bunch of players together and win all around them, but the miles clock up and the slightest little things stop favouring them. The width of a post in the league final is an example of this, 12 months ago that ball would have bounced back into Alan Brogans hands and he would have buried it in the net. When Brogan, Flynn and Connelly aren't in top form then Dublin are in trouble, add in disrupting Cluxton's kicks outs and many teams would be well on the way to beating Dublin. While Dublin have good players on the bench these 4 are curial and to a certain extents currently irreplaceable all at once. Now for the rest of Leinster, Westmeath and Wexford have had good runs in the league and would defiantly be looking at progressing as far as they can in Leinster before giving the back door a good run. On the other side Louth had a great league and should beat Wicklow and could be strong enough to beat Meath and Kildare if things go their way. Kildare is a strange one, would have thought they would have beaten Galway comfortably in the league 2 final as their "B Side" should have beaten Galway in the last round of the League. But they were very poor in that final. Leaving some question marks over their ability for the year ahead. Now to my own county, we have a nice crop of talented players working well under a good manager and we were improving as the league progressed which is a good sign. Lads are currently playing well with their clubs so hopefully that will help keep them ticking over until the championship starts as the break between the last round of league games and the 4th of June is a long one. The Louth (sorry Wicklow but from what we seen so far this year, ye have been poor) game will be tight and close but we are capable of winning it and that should ignite Meath for the remaining games in Leinster where we must believe we can beat whoever we are playing. Its all going to be fun and interesting and I just can't wait for it to kick off…."
I like your enthusiasm and while I might not share it Id be delighted to be proven wrong , beating Kerry and Mayo is always fun but a rivalry with a noisy neighbour now that is class , so heres hopping someone grows a pair and steps up.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/04/2017 14:59:42    1980816

Replying To Damothedub:  "If Meath don't fear Dublin how come crowds have dwindled ?
I remember when Meath looked at Dublin like a leopard eyeing up an antelope those days are gone for all the bravo talk on a site like this you do your real talking on the pitch and Meath for a long time have been about as useful as firelighters in hell , Leinster is all the poorer for it and a once great rivalry is no more."
Two things. Bad planning on CB during hay days.
And bad management.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/04/2017 15:04:59    1980820

Replying To anto_meath:  "Meath people are by nature a straight to the point ignorant sort of people. We don't suffer fools and we don't fear anyone. We firmly believe that sometimes you are good enough and sometimes you aren't. We also know Dublin 's dominance is coming to an end. It's the circle of life really. Teams get a good bunch of players together and win all around them, but the miles clock up and the slightest little things stop favouring them. The width of a post in the league final is an example of this, 12 months ago that ball would have bounced back into Alan Brogans hands and he would have buried it in the net. When Brogan, Flynn and Connelly aren't in top form then Dublin are in trouble, add in disrupting Cluxton's kicks outs and many teams would be well on the way to beating Dublin. While Dublin have good players on the bench these 4 are curial and to a certain extents currently irreplaceable all at once. Now for the rest of Leinster, Westmeath and Wexford have had good runs in the league and would defiantly be looking at progressing as far as they can in Leinster before giving the back door a good run. On the other side Louth had a great league and should beat Wicklow and could be strong enough to beat Meath and Kildare if things go their way. Kildare is a strange one, would have thought they would have beaten Galway comfortably in the league 2 final as their "B Side" should have beaten Galway in the last round of the League. But they were very poor in that final. Leaving some question marks over their ability for the year ahead. Now to my own county, we have a nice crop of talented players working well under a good manager and we were improving as the league progressed which is a good sign. Lads are currently playing well with their clubs so hopefully that will help keep them ticking over until the championship starts as the break between the last round of league games and the 4th of June is a long one. The Louth (sorry Wicklow but from what we seen so far this year, ye have been poor) game will be tight and close but we are capable of winning it and that should ignite Meath for the remaining games in Leinster where we must believe we can beat whoever we are playing. Its all going to be fun and interesting and I just can't wait for it to kick off…."
4 of the last U21 Leinster wins In another U21 final in 2017

Look at our club scene at present

Dubs dominance in Leinster is here for a while yet, and saying that it's not isn't going to change what's coming.

Kildare/Meath/Westmeath are not going to win Leinster this decade

We have young players that cant even get on the panel that would be playing for Kildare/Meath/Westmeath right now

Paul Hudson would be considered a star in ant other Leinster county

I don't think a few on this topic from Leinster realise what we have at our disposal at present

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/04/2017 15:09:16    1980821

Excellent post, yeah we are a crowd of our own. It probably stems from the high kings and ruling the country. We just wont accept defeat or even the concept of it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/04/2017 15:26:02    1980826

Replying To jimbodub:  "4 of the last U21 Leinster wins In another U21 final in 2017

Look at our club scene at present

Dubs dominance in Leinster is here for a while yet, and saying that it's not isn't going to change what's coming.

Kildare/Meath/Westmeath are not going to win Leinster this decade

We have young players that cant even get on the panel that would be playing for Kildare/Meath/Westmeath right now

Paul Hudson would be considered a star in ant other Leinster county

I don't think a few on this topic from Leinster realise what we have at our disposal at present"
I am well aware of the talent that is available to Dublin, I am also well aware that underage success does not equate to senior success. Look at Cavan & Tyrone in Ulster. Both have been very successful at under 21 & minor respectively but they haven't secured an Anglo Celt Cup for Cavan or Sam for Tyrone. Connolly and Flynn are the central out field players for everything good about Dublin football. If they are off form then the quality ball just wouldn't go through to Brogan, Kilkenny nor will there be the frees for Rock to convert. In a high pressure game like a final / semi final the smallest of gains for an opposing team could be enough to beat Dublin. Dublin supporters seem to forget that this well oiled Dublin team is not actually a machine, they are human and as such pron to errors. Do the Meath supporters believe that their current team has the ability to capitalise on these errors if / when they occur, yes.
In reality you have about 6 teams (Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan) in the country with very little between them. This was clear in the league with all the draws and some surprise results. The next 6 or so could beat any of them if things go their way, in this group I would include Cavan, Galway, Kildare, Cork, Down and Meath.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 19/04/2017 17:30:26    1980861

Replying To royaldunne:  "Excellent post, yeah we are a crowd of our own. It probably stems from the high kings and ruling the country. We just wont accept defeat or even the concept of it."
Pity the not "accepting defeat, or even the concept of it" mentality of your countymen hasn't made its way to your senior football team who have lay down and had their asses handed to them on a plate in our last few meetings.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/04/2017 18:19:06    1980878

Replying To waynoI:  "Pity the not "accepting defeat, or even the concept of it" mentality of your countymen hasn't made its way to your senior football team who have lay down and had their asses handed to them on a plate in our last few meetings."
I've never seen a bad manager not bring down a good team, I have seen a good manager bring up a bad team though. Even around laytown Wayne you must het the feeling that this new Meath are alot different to last few years, all seriousness you must be hearing about it, just a few hundred yards down the road from you they all expecting big things.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/04/2017 19:29:13    1980896

I think we are witnessing the starting of a new faith here.

I can understand the sentiment Dublin give Meath a national profile. Not being afraid of them a sense of being, Hope of Beating Dublin a sense of meaning.

Can I point something out though, all your reactions show classic defense mechanisims, denial, rationalisation, projection/sublimination (Kildare), regression to the good old days. I think the thing you guys are defensive about is the reality Dublin have overtaken to Meath to such an extent that beating Dublin is an achievement, you have all just written four pages of it. Do you think Dublin sit around talking about beating Meath or have even thought about them as an entity.

If your not afraid of Dublin, why have you written five pages about beating Dublin, surely you should be talking about winning All Ireland and not Being afraid of Dublin as an achievement. That's the difference in the winning mentality Dublins minds are on the third Sunday in Sep. Meath is on not being afraid to beat Dublin.

That my friends is why you have no chance in getting close to Dublin, your grandkids might see it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/04/2017 20:52:28    1980922