Leinster football championship

Replying To Lyons2000:  "You don't to seem to know where the confidence from Meath is coming from. It's comes from a certain thing that is still very important in the GAA. And that is tradition. GAA can change in many ways but tradition will always play a part. Why were Kerry the team to stop Dublins record. Yes good manager, yes good players. But why was it Kerry?. Tradition played a massive role. And Meath have some tradition when it comes to Dublin.

I find it very interesting and telling that Dublin supporters cannot even listen to Meath supporters showing some confidence. It's like they are saying how dare think you can beat Dublin. Everyone should bow to Dublin. It's a sign of massive insecurity on Dublin supporters part that they will not even listen to the idea of Meath being more confident. They don't care about Kildare or Louth. Both those counties are beaten before they even walk into the field in Croke Park v Dublin. Kildare have a talented group of players coming through. But Kildare have no belief that they can beat Dublin. That's why Dublin would rather big up Kildare then Meath. Kildare have only beaten Dublin in 1 leinster final in 90 years. That says it all.

Who has the best record against the Dubs in leinster ?Meath . Who has the best record in the country v the Dubs? Meath. What is the only county has beaten Dublin in every decade since the 1930s ? Meath . What county last hammered Dublin in leinster? Meath. What were the last county to hammer Dublin at underage level in leinster? Meath. Which county decade after decade have knocked Dublin from its pedestal? Meath. The answer is always the same.

This were the believe comes from. Meath have beaten 12 times and 6 draws in over the last 40 years. The next counties with the next best record v the Dubs in leinster is Kildare and Laois on two wins and no draws. Meath were 6 times more likely to beat Dublin then any other county in leinster in the last 40 years. That is where the believe comes from."
You could apply the same logic in munster with Cork and Kerry. Cork have much more of a 'tradition' of beating Kerry than any other county in Munster. Dont see any rebels on here crowing about beating Kerry though.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 17/04/2017 20:24:38    1980221

Replying To Lyons2000:  "You don't to seem to know where the confidence from Meath is coming from. It's comes from a certain thing that is still very important in the GAA. And that is tradition. GAA can change in many ways but tradition will always play a part. Why were Kerry the team to stop Dublins record. Yes good manager, yes good players. But why was it Kerry?. Tradition played a massive role. And Meath have some tradition when it comes to Dublin.

I find it very interesting and telling that Dublin supporters cannot even listen to Meath supporters showing some confidence. It's like they are saying how dare think you can beat Dublin. Everyone should bow to Dublin. It's a sign of massive insecurity on Dublin supporters part that they will not even listen to the idea of Meath being more confident. They don't care about Kildare or Louth. Both those counties are beaten before they even walk into the field in Croke Park v Dublin. Kildare have a talented group of players coming through. But Kildare have no belief that they can beat Dublin. That's why Dublin would rather big up Kildare then Meath. Kildare have only beaten Dublin in 1 leinster final in 90 years. That says it all.

Who has the best record against the Dubs in leinster ?Meath . Who has the best record in the country v the Dubs? Meath. What is the only county has beaten Dublin in every decade since the 1930s ? Meath . What county last hammered Dublin in leinster? Meath. What were the last county to hammer Dublin at underage level in leinster? Meath. Which county decade after decade have knocked Dublin from its pedestal? Meath. The answer is always the same.

This were the believe comes from. Meath have beaten 12 times and 6 draws in over the last 40 years. The next counties with the next best record v the Dubs in leinster is Kildare and Laois on two wins and no draws. Meath were 6 times more likely to beat Dublin then any other county in leinster in the last 40 years. That is where the believe comes from."
Insecurity? Fear? of Meath? Had to pick myself up off the ground after a fit of laughing, listen lad, dress it up with stats, tradition, romance etc all you want, truth is, you are going down, probably to Kildare , and if not, god help ye!
Meath will beat us someday, but probably with 15 different players than ye have now (probably 15 little Dubs all grown up) because they are not good enough, end of!
Your best player would do well to make our panel :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 17/04/2017 20:37:09    1980223

Replying To St.Conleth:  "You could apply the same logic in munster with Cork and Kerry. Cork have much more of a 'tradition' of beating Kerry than any other county in Munster. Dont see any rebels on here crowing about beating Kerry though."
That just sums up Kildare football for me. Instead of saying fair play to the Meath men in believing they beat Dublin. And then say Kildare can beat Dublin also. No they don't say that. Instead it's just about point scoring against Meath.

For when Meath beat Dublin, it's a good day for Kildare football and leinster football . When Kildare beat Dublin, it's a good days for Meath football and leinster football as a whole. But instead on focussing on beating Dublin. The real obstacle in leinster. Kildare would rather score points against Meath.

When are Kildare going to realise that they need to focus on Dublin more then Meath. The best footballers I have seen play Meath have not been Kerry or Tyrone or Galway. They have been Kildare and Louth. When kildare play Meath they play like 15 all stars eg 97,98 2003, 2010 and 2011. These are all Kildare best performances against a successful county in recent times. But when it comes to Dublin it's almost like don't even try. Look at the last few record hammering v the Dubs. I known Dublin are strong now. Bur this has gowing on nearly 100 years. Kildare beating Meath over and over again. To the extent where I would say Kildare are Meaths only true bogey team. But when it comes to Dublin they throw in the towel before the game starts. If Kildare crowed more and believed they could beat Dublin more , leinster football wouldn't be in the state it is at the moment.

Regarding Meath supporters crowing. The Meath supporters on this message board said they are confident. The Dublin supporters responded saying Meath will not beat Dublin. Then I responded by saying we have a great tradition v Dublin. What's really wrong with that. Any chance Kildare get v Meath they knock us down. On and off the field. Bur when it comes to Dublin , they don't want to know.
Regards Cork v Kerry. Cork v Kerry is not a great example of the best rivalry. Kerry have dominated Cork for decades. Cork were only successful v Kerry in the late 50s and late 80s and early 90s . Throughout the 20s, 30s, 40s early 50s ,60s, 70s, early 80s this decade and this decade. Kerry have had long periods of success over Cork. Cork could not beat kerry. for years. Cork is really a hurling county. You ask a Cork hurling fan if they can beat Kilkenny or Tipp, I'm sure many will still believe they can.

If Kildare focused all their energy on Dublin it would be great for all leinster. Men like Glen Ryan in the late 90s. Stood up to Dublin. That's what Kildare needs now. Becuase if you want to win leinster you have to beat Dublin.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 17/04/2017 20:58:15    1980231

Replying To realdub:  "Insecurity? Fear? of Meath? Had to pick myself up off the ground after a fit of laughing, listen lad, dress it up with stats, tradition, romance etc all you want, truth is, you are going down, probably to Kildare , and if not, god help ye!
Meath will beat us someday, but probably with 15 different players than ye have now (probably 15 little Dubs all grown up) because they are not good enough, end of!
Your best player would do well to make our panel :D"
Dublin arrogance has always been and always will be their downfall. I believe Meath will beat Dublin. And there is thousands of Meath people who think the same. Laugh at it all you like. But I can ensure one day you will be sitting Croke Park after Meath beating Dublin. And saying to yourself ,how did that happen. Simple we always believe we can get the measure of Dublin . Dublin responses says allot. We are entitled to have different opinions. But if someone says they can beat Dublin in leinster. The Dubs wouldn't even listen to it. It's like how dare say think you could beat us. Well I'm saying and I believe it . And I'm not the only Meath person who believes it.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 17/04/2017 21:04:22    1980233

Replying To lilypad:  "Different animal? so you're going from a kitten to a puppy then> :)"
Dont worry you , as Kildare wont get within a asses roar of Leinster final.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/04/2017 21:42:43    1980246

Replying To Lyons2000:  "That just sums up Kildare football for me. Instead of saying fair play to the Meath men in believing they beat Dublin. And then say Kildare can beat Dublin also. No they don't say that. Instead it's just about point scoring against Meath.

For when Meath beat Dublin, it's a good day for Kildare football and leinster football . When Kildare beat Dublin, it's a good days for Meath football and leinster football as a whole. But instead on focussing on beating Dublin. The real obstacle in leinster. Kildare would rather score points against Meath.

When are Kildare going to realise that they need to focus on Dublin more then Meath. The best footballers I have seen play Meath have not been Kerry or Tyrone or Galway. They have been Kildare and Louth. When kildare play Meath they play like 15 all stars eg 97,98 2003, 2010 and 2011. These are all Kildare best performances against a successful county in recent times. But when it comes to Dublin it's almost like don't even try. Look at the last few record hammering v the Dubs. I known Dublin are strong now. Bur this has gowing on nearly 100 years. Kildare beating Meath over and over again. To the extent where I would say Kildare are Meaths only true bogey team. But when it comes to Dublin they throw in the towel before the game starts. If Kildare crowed more and believed they could beat Dublin more , leinster football wouldn't be in the state it is at the moment.

Regarding Meath supporters crowing. The Meath supporters on this message board said they are confident. The Dublin supporters responded saying Meath will not beat Dublin. Then I responded by saying we have a great tradition v Dublin. What's really wrong with that. Any chance Kildare get v Meath they knock us down. On and off the field. Bur when it comes to Dublin , they don't want to know.
Regards Cork v Kerry. Cork v Kerry is not a great example of the best rivalry. Kerry have dominated Cork for decades. Cork were only successful v Kerry in the late 50s and late 80s and early 90s . Throughout the 20s, 30s, 40s early 50s ,60s, 70s, early 80s this decade and this decade. Kerry have had long periods of success over Cork. Cork could not beat kerry. for years. Cork is really a hurling county. You ask a Cork hurling fan if they can beat Kilkenny or Tipp, I'm sure many will still believe they can.

If Kildare focused all their energy on Dublin it would be great for all leinster. Men like Glen Ryan in the late 90s. Stood up to Dublin. That's what Kildare needs now. Becuase if you want to win leinster you have to beat Dublin."
Yeah Kildare problem are numerous, I would take it as a certainty that should we beat Louth then a Leinster final is inevitable. Louth are a lot more dangerous than Kildare. I would be very surprised if Meath didn't beat Kildare by 6/7 without even having to go at full tilt. While Kildare will be a force in coming years, this one the just don't have enough to beat Meath.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/04/2017 21:48:27    1980248

Replying To Lyons2000:  "Dublin arrogance has always been and always will be their downfall. I believe Meath will beat Dublin. And there is thousands of Meath people who think the same. Laugh at it all you like. But I can ensure one day you will be sitting Croke Park after Meath beating Dublin. And saying to yourself ,how did that happen. Simple we always believe we can get the measure of Dublin . Dublin responses says allot. We are entitled to have different opinions. But if someone says they can beat Dublin in leinster. The Dubs wouldn't even listen to it. It's like how dare say think you could beat us. Well I'm saying and I believe it . And I'm not the only Meath person who believes it."
Ah c'mon I'm poking at ya, Dublin Meath slagging and all that, I'm not arrogant at all. Meath will always believe they have a chance against Dublin, blind optimism they call it, but it's a healthy attitude and it's good you haven't lost all hope, that would NOT be healthy!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 17/04/2017 21:49:25    1980249

meath for leinster...all the way. i'm 100% convinced, but then again there is reality.

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 17/04/2017 21:54:00    1980251

wouldnt like to be Lyons2000 tomorrow morning when be wakes up from a full weekend binge on the sauce or whatever your on.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 17/04/2017 22:28:01    1980264

All I'm saying yes Dublin will more then likely will win this year. But I give Meath a chance this year . But wholeheartly I am certain Meath will beat Dublin in the next 2-3 years. Which would be great. But still the main aim of Meath football is become the dominant force in leinster. I cannot say if that's going to happen. All the cards are stacked in Dublina favour. But it would be not be impossible for Meath to become All Ireland contenders. There's no law brought in by the Dubs yet stopping us.

It's very simple. Meath have not been in Division in 16 years. We have been 13 years in Division 2 and 3 in Division 3. People think we were in Division 1 in 07. But that was not a proper 8 team Division. The last time Meath were in Division 1 was the last time Meath were in an All Ireland final , 2001. The last time Meath were in Division 1 for a long period was in the late 90s which happens to be the last time Meath were winning All Irelands. It's linked . Even more so now. If you play and stay in Division 1 you become a top team.

Now I know THE Dubs will laugh at Meath being so long in Division 2. But it explains Meath lack of sucess. The reason also Meath have had a long period of lack sucess compared to other eras has been Alex Ferguson effect. When a manager stays in a job for more two decades when he leaves all the tensions and problems come to surface. Man Utd have spent nearly 1/4 billion and three managers to replace Ferguson. Meath are on their 6th manager in 10 years since Boylan. Boylan departure was a traumatic experience for Meath the same as Ferguson leaving Utd. Also Dublin went up a level. Also We did feck all at underage. And getting out of div 2. Division 2 is very tricky Division. For Meath it's full of Ulster teams and rivals. We have had problems with the blanket defence like under kick and catch counties like Down and Galway. And Division 2 has sometime being like a mini Ulster championship. While also we have had so. many local rival counties in the divsion eg a Kildare Cavan Westmeath Monaghan . Who always up their game v Meath.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 17/04/2017 22:50:47    1980272

Meath have finished 3rd 3 times in the last 4 years in Division 2. Meath have to be a good bet to go up next year. It would not be a sporting miracle for McEntee to promote Meath next year. It is very possible. And while yes it will be difficult to stay on in Division 1. Again it would not take a sporting miracle for Meath to stay in Division 1. It's possible. Stay in Division 1 you become a top team. That's what Meath have to do. It's going to tough. But not impossible. So that's why I believe will beat Dublin in the coming years.
Meath have one of the youngest teams in the country. Average age 23. Only 2 players who were playing in 2010. Dublin have 9 players who were playing in 2010. Dublin have one of oldest squads , if not the oldest in the country.
Between 2019-2021 you are going to see a lot of Dublin retirements. Between 2019 -2021 allot of the Meath players will be reaching their peak average will 26, 27. Meath will definatly beat Dublin during that period. Dublin have conveyor belt of talent. But do they one of the best goalkeeper ever of all time to replace Cluxton?. Do they have as talented a player to replace your Connolly?. Do they have another Brogan? Basically a forward that could considered an all time great. Basically Dublin have to replace a group of all time greats with another group of all time greats. That is what a Kilkenny and Kerry do. Kilkenny had Keher in the 70s Heffernan in the 80s Carey in the 90s and Shefflin in the noughties. Kerry has O Connell in the 60s Sheedy in 70s and 80s Fitzgerald in 90s and Cooper in the Noughties. They have produce great players ^team decade after decade. Dublin have only dominated gaelic football twice : in the mid 70s and now during the last 90 years. Can they do what Kerry and Kilkenny do. That's the next challenge for Dublin. It's hard to get to top of the pedestal. But it's even harder to stay there.

This Dublin currrently reminds me of Meath teams in 1991 and 2001. Stopped beating teams comfortably hammer. Then barely beating teams and making comebacks. We didnt know it af the time but on 91 and 01 Meath were in decline. Dublin are showing signs of decline . The signs are there. And Meath will be stronger in the next 5 years much stronger then in the previous 5.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 17/04/2017 23:09:54    1980277

We see this same thread every year....Dublin are 6/4 for the All-Ireland....Meath are 80/1......

Meath in fairness do seem to be improving but they are light years behind Dublin and haven't been a factor in football for years. They would be down the pecking order in every other province, so to say that they have a chance against Dublin is ridiculous.

If Dublin get beaten by Kerry, Mayo or Donegal/Monaghan/Tyrone, it will be a big surprise. To get beaten by Meath ( who aren't guaranteed to make it that far) would be the biggest shock in recent GAA history. Not going to happen.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 17/04/2017 23:36:04    1980284

Andy McEntee and Gerry is the best managerial team we have had since Boylan. I have already seen three or four improvements in this league I have not seen since Boylan.
1 Fitness . Fitness has been a problem for a long time in Meath football. Look at the second half collapses. They have now stopped. Meath looked fitter this year more then anytime in the last few years.
2 Kickout Strategy -Even under Boylan our kickout stradegy was drive our to the middle. Under the McEntee for the first time ever I have seen a kickout strategy which is more Dublin like . Well organised and well planned.
3 intensity -In some of the performance this year I have seen an intensity I have not seen in Meath for years. Forwards particularly are now fighting and winning ball they shouldn't. This has been always the hallmark of Meath football eg O Rourke and Geraghty. Also the work rate has improved. It's more Boylan like workrate.

4 The forward play has also improved . Who were the top scorers in Division 2. No not Kildare or Galway. Meath were the top scorers in Division 2.
5 Comebacks. The 9 point comeback v Cork was the first proper comeback Meath have done in league or championship since Boylan retired as far as I can see.

There has been improvements this year. We did not get into Division 1. But we did start with experimental team which cost us. And by the end of the league there was nearly 8 or 9 changes to the team. In the first year theres always going to ups amd downs. We are still young and still making mistakes eg holding on to ball etc. This will come with experience. We are definatly going in the right direction. This is a completely new Meath team. No one knows what they can achieve because they are just beginning.

According to Colm Keys in the Indo no county has had such an overhaul of players as Meath have had in the last 2, 3 years. The last few years were a transtion period that saw the end of the 07 -10 team. This is a new team under an exciting new manager with young players with potential eg Keoghan, Harnan, Power ,Menton ,Rooney, Sullivan, McMahon and lenihan. Also we are startin to get our act together at under age level. So I would expect more sucess at minor and under 20 level in the next few years. Meath are always stong at the end of the ecade eg 49, 67, 87, 88 and 99. I can see that trend continuing in the next few years.
I wonder will anyone answer these messages properly. Or will it be the usual sneering and ha ha ha comments. Or will the Dublin supporters be making comments like how dare say you can win. Dublin supporters were not as arrogant and as precious in the 80s and 90s as they are now. Dublin have become incredibly arrogant recently. It will be their downfall. It always has been.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 17/04/2017 23:44:26    1980285

Fully agree with some of the Meath posters Kildare have always lacked self believe particularly against Dublin, who ever faces Dublin it be either Kildare or Meath in the Leinster final must approach the game with the believe that they will win, and who knows maybe they will just do that

Kingoreilly (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 18/04/2017 00:22:55    1980289

Replying To county man:  "We see this same thread every year....Dublin are 6/4 for the All-Ireland....Meath are 80/1......

Meath in fairness do seem to be improving but they are light years behind Dublin and haven't been a factor in football for years. They would be down the pecking order in every other province, so to say that they have a chance against Dublin is ridiculous.

If Dublin get beaten by Kerry, Mayo or Donegal/Monaghan/Tyrone, it will be a big surprise. To get beaten by Meath ( who aren't guaranteed to make it that far) would be the biggest shock in recent GAA history. Not going to happen."
Things change football very quickly.

If you said in 1959 that Down would win 3 All Irelands in the next decade. You would have been laughed at
If you said in 1973 that Dublin would win All Ireland in the following year you would have been laughed
If you said in 1985 after Laois defeated Meath that Meath would play in 4 of the next 5 all ireland finals. You would have been laughed at.

If you said in 1993 when TIpp were hammering Clare that Clare would win an All Ireland in 95 you would have been laughed at.

If you said in early noughties when Sligo defeted Tyrone that Tyrone would win 3 All Ireland in 5 years you would be laughed at.

If you said in 09 that Donegal would win All Ireland in 2012. You would have been laughed at.

Things changes . Teams come and go. Great teams appear then decline and new teams appear. It happens all the time. This time last year Dublin hammered Kerry in the league final. This year Kerry defeated Dublin in the league final. Things change.
Your a limerick man. Your playing Tipp in the championship. I'm not sure it could be Cork. Letd say Limerick are playing Tipp in hurling. Most counties would not give Limerick a hope of beating limerick . But I'm sure as a limerick man when.the sliotar is thrown in a part of you always believe you can put it up to Tipp.
Tradition and rivalry has a role I don't care what anyone says. If people disagree they know nothing about the GAA.

Just the point this happens every year. Meath were in transition. This is now a new Meath team under new management. No one can be certain what's going to happen in the next few years. Just because Dublin have been dominate in the last 5 years does not necssary mean this will continue. Some culchies would want to cope onto themselves stop being in awe of Dublin Dublin are there to be beaten and thats what Meath football has always stood for. The same way Limerick hurling has always took the fight to Tipp.
I don't know which is worst Dublin arrogance or
. NO I'm wrong Dublins arrogance is unbearable

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 00:23:03    1980290

Only a matter of time so before people are calling for Meath to be split.

Again...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 18/04/2017 11:09:51    1980364

Replying To Lyons2000:  "Things change football very quickly.

If you said in 1959 that Down would win 3 All Irelands in the next decade. You would have been laughed at
If you said in 1973 that Dublin would win All Ireland in the following year you would have been laughed
If you said in 1985 after Laois defeated Meath that Meath would play in 4 of the next 5 all ireland finals. You would have been laughed at.

If you said in 1993 when TIpp were hammering Clare that Clare would win an All Ireland in 95 you would have been laughed at.

If you said in early noughties when Sligo defeted Tyrone that Tyrone would win 3 All Ireland in 5 years you would be laughed at.

If you said in 09 that Donegal would win All Ireland in 2012. You would have been laughed at.

Things changes . Teams come and go. Great teams appear then decline and new teams appear. It happens all the time. This time last year Dublin hammered Kerry in the league final. This year Kerry defeated Dublin in the league final. Things change.
Your a limerick man. Your playing Tipp in the championship. I'm not sure it could be Cork. Letd say Limerick are playing Tipp in hurling. Most counties would not give Limerick a hope of beating limerick . But I'm sure as a limerick man when.the sliotar is thrown in a part of you always believe you can put it up to Tipp.
Tradition and rivalry has a role I don't care what anyone says. If people disagree they know nothing about the GAA.

Just the point this happens every year. Meath were in transition. This is now a new Meath team under new management. No one can be certain what's going to happen in the next few years. Just because Dublin have been dominate in the last 5 years does not necssary mean this will continue. Some culchies would want to cope onto themselves stop being in awe of Dublin Dublin are there to be beaten and thats what Meath football has always stood for. The same way Limerick hurling has always took the fight to Tipp.
I don't know which is worst Dublin arrogance or
. NO I'm wrong Dublins arrogance is unbearable"
You can also add in if you said that Meath would win the All Ireland in 1996 after they were hammered by the Dubs by ten points in 1995.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/04/2017 11:38:40    1980380

Great to read some of the Meath posters comments in here, what's the point of sport if you don't have belief in your own team and own people. No doubt if they get beaten later in the year there will be some posters back to rub their noses in it but I love the passion and faith they have, it would be great to see more of it from other counties.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/04/2017 11:55:16    1980388

Replying To OLLIE:  "You can also add in if you said that Meath would win the All Ireland in 1996 after they were hammered by the Dubs by ten points in 1995."
You could go on and on with a list like this

If you said in 1978 that Offaly would win 4 hurling All Ireland in the next 20 years When they had yet to win a leinster title.
You would have been laughed and you would have been considered off your rocker

If you said in winter 1990 that Down Donegal and Derry would be the next three All Ireland champions you would have been laughed and have been considered off your rocker

If you said in 1997 that Galway would be All Ireland champions in 1998 you would have been laughed and considered off your rocker

If you said in 2012 that Clare would win the Hurling All Ireland the next year you would have
been laughed and considered off your rocker.

The only thing we can be certain off is uncertainty. Kerry and Dublin are always strong. But their strenght can increase and decrease. I do think we are entering a new era. There's a lot young teams emerging in the country. For example Meath, Kildare, Galway, Roscommon, Cork, Tyrone , Armagh , Louth, Westmeath, Cavan all have young teams. I could see in the next 5 to 6 two All Ireland champions coming from the above. Cork , Tyrone and Galway would be obvious choices. But if you look at the past there is a strong possibility of a wild card team or two no one could really predict. I would like to think Meath. But I think Armagh are very much underachieving. I don't think McGeeney is getting the most out of Armagh. Imagine if Osin Mconville and McEntee brothers took over Armagh.I don't think they would be in Division 3. There is a Ulster title in this Armagh group under proper management. And once a team wins a Ulster title you have to say it would mean they could be All Ireland contenders. Ulster teams have such a great record v Kerry and Dublin and won so many All Irelands in the last 25 years. I think Armagh are a real dark horse who definatly underachieving.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 18/04/2017 15:51:21    1980485

It's far too early to say if we're improving. We looked a little bit more consistent towards the end of the league but it's stretching it to say we've improved a lot. Kildare deservedly topped the table and I think it's fair to say they are ahead of us in Leinster based on performances so far this year. We still haven't had any success at minor or under 21 level for a long time so our foundations are poor. While Dublin look a little more vulnerable Kerry still needed an Anthony Maher rugby tackle to win the League Final so I think it will still be a few years before ourselves or Kildare can challenge them.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 18/04/2017 16:26:59    1980501