Home Football Hurling Counties

Donegal - It's different up here!
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  
Page 1

26/08/2011 10:13:44
atlanticgael

As the Tourism slogan goes....Donegal is much different than elsewhere in Ireland. In some way, we don't take ourselves too seriously. As we get ready to head "up" to Dublin we take with us from all over the world the deep affection we tend to muster for our County side on days like this. The fact that its Dublin sort of adds to it but in reality we just like the day out and we like the fact that here we are on the verge of upsetting the entire form book again just like we did in 1992. We have the most seasoned and cynical of commentators scratching their heads at our turnaround since Crossmaglen last July. Donegal...in an All-Ireland semi and Dublin this time very very wary of us. Donegal...where did they come from....no centre of excellence....no hard core development squad stuff on par with Tyrone, Armagh etc...Donegal..the mythical party lads if you believe in that......Donegal a county where everyone smiles and waves at you.....and now here we are being described as cynical, hardy, physical, nightmare to play against....jeees and dont we love it.

As fans...we head to Dublin with this innocent swagger...kind of winking at the Dublin lads as we past Fagans...."Hows it goin".....and in the back of our minds thinking "you're worried now because yous don't know who you're playing because you only have a few minutes of a Kildare game to video analyse and that is it.....no point pulling out the Antrim tape for your backroom tape to edit". Is it any wonder Pat Gilroy hasnt said much....he can only name 4 or 5 Donegal players.

Anyway....we don't get too caught up in that as fans. We take it as we can. Its great though....not only do the Dubs not know what they are facing....we have only had less than two months to adjust to this success ourselves.....do you remember the first 25 minutes against Tyrone in the Ulster Semi.....sure it was like the past 19 years only worse!!!.....and we took long enough to shake off a poor Derry side as well. Yes we are only coming to terms with this craic and learning all the modern phrases so we can appear cool in Quinns after the fourth Heineken... "raising the intensity in the last quarter"........"sheer physicality"....."off the shoulder pass"......you'd need to write all this on your arm like!!

Anyway...to all those travelling "up" or flying "in" or watching on TV from afar......lets not do it any other way than the Donegal way......can you just imagine the Kerry fans on Sunday if we win....they'll be fairly confused going into a final with us.......

yes...its different up here.

Safe trip.
26/08/2011 10:44:56
dieharddonegal

Great post atlantic gael-would you consider going for President?!!!!!
26/08/2011 10:51:41
RMDrive

Quality, quality stuff. Maith an fear.
26/08/2011 10:58:16
up_donegal

atlantic gael you should be writing for the national papers - quality stuff
26/08/2011 11:07:34
apple12

i wish i could speak like that well said atlantic geal enjoy sunday!
26/08/2011 11:12:50
Tom1916
County: Armagh

brilliant post atlanticgael and good luck to Donegal, hope you take Sam home this year.
26/08/2011 11:26:24
paddy92

Excellent piece of Journalism man, You have it to a tee
26/08/2011 11:32:46
Lifford Gael

up_donegal is right. If you're not already involved in journalism then you should be.

Better than anything I've read in any paper in the build up to the game on Sunday!
28/08/2011 08:17:46
HowManyStepsRef

great stuff atlantic_gael, thought it was Chris Mc Nulty for a moment there
28/08/2011 11:10:21
smartie

Maith thĂș Atlantic gael, we'll enjoy it and hope for another day in dublin in september!

Result Pages:  1  
Page 1

please login or register to post a message